透過市場區隔找到目標市場

用幾分鐘的時間,就能從全球各地找到受訪者接受您的問卷調查。

就算您打造得出全世界最好的冷氣機,在南極洲大概還是賣不出去。同樣的道理對任何產品和服務都說得通:不管東西有多好,都得找到正確的目標市場才會有銷路。

這時市場區隔就派上用場了。這種行銷策略能幫助您辨識出您現有的客戶和想鎖定的對象有哪種類型,並協助您用適當的產品和訊息觸及他們。

本文將探討市場區隔的定義,說明它能如何引導您找到目標市場,以及您可利用哪種市場區隔調查深入了解您的客戶。

SurveyMonkey Audience 擁有強大的受訪群,範圍擴及全球 130+ 個國家,涵蓋超過 1.75 億名消費者。

市場區隔是根據某些共同特徵,將廣大的消費者群體或目標市場劃分為子群體的過程。劃分的依據可能是人口統計資料 (年齡、性別等)、地理位置、態度和行為。

市場區隔與您的目標市場有何關係?

一個人可能同時屬於數個不同的群體。他可能因為擁有某種興趣或需求而屬於某個群體,同時因為居住在特定地區而屬於另一個群體,又因為剛好屬於某個年齡層而被分類到另一個群體。對於在做市場分析的品牌或公司來說,這些子群體都是屬於不同的市場區隔。

不同企業的區隔策略有何重大差異?

假設您賣的商品是雨衣,男性、女性和兒童等不同人口統計區隔所反映的喜好就可能有極大差異。同樣的,以地理位置區隔來說,住在美國西雅圖或印度毛辛拉姆等多雨地帶的民眾對雨衣的看法和需求,可能會和住在美國亞利桑那州或澳洲阿得雷德等乾旱地帶的民眾非常不同。

一旦瞭解這些不同的區隔和區隔類型,您就可以開始進行客戶剖析,增進您從產品開發到廣告宣傳等各項計畫的效益,確保您在市場上創造佳績。

以下探討市場區隔的幾項優點。

只要花一點時間對目標市場做區隔,您就會發現這麼做能帶來許多好處。

假設您推出了一款美味的巧克力棒,要如何說服目標市場實際嘗試這項新商品呢?最有效的方法是先瞭解目標群眾最喜愛「巧克力棒」這類產品的哪些特點,或找到能促使他們嘗試新產品的動機來源。然而,這些喜好和動機來源往往因人而異,舉例來說,喜歡烹飪的人可能會偏愛容易均勻融化的巧克力片,而對於想帶巧克力去辦公室當零食吃的人來說,方便攜帶的尺寸想必更為重要。 

如果您的行銷訊息同時宣傳這款巧克力「好融化」又「適合當零食」,可能會混淆消費者,而且讓人感到資訊量過多。若將市場依人口統計資料、習慣和喜好等特性做適當的區隔,您就能為不同群體量身打造專屬的行銷訊息,以迎合他們的特定需求,大大增加將觀眾和目標客戶轉化為顧客的機會。 

強而有力的行銷訊息,需要搭配精準的廣告投放與之相輔相成。舉例來說,為了確保關於「好融化」的訊息能觸及喜歡烘焙的人群,您可能必須將相關廣告刊登在美食烹飪雜誌或烘焙資訊網站上。當您做了市場區隔,並了解不同區隔客群的需求之後,就會知道該如何觸及他們了。

客戶獲取成本 (Customer acquisition costs) 是一家公司投入的最重要成本之一,當中涵蓋所有為了觸及、聯繫並轉換潛在客戶所需的各種資源和策略,包括行銷預算、業務人員薪資、廣告費用、庫存維護等各種面向的開銷。如果您的業務、營運和行銷人員都了解不同區隔客群的需求和喜好,他們就能針對不同目標群體調整行銷訊息、銷售簡報內容和資源預算,進而減少資源的浪費並大幅降低成本。  

每個區隔客群的性格都不同。例如,有些客戶較容易對單一品牌忠誠,一旦找到心儀的品牌,就會產生依賴,並願意持續購買;有些客戶則反而喜歡嘗試各式各樣的品牌和商品,而且容易被折扣優惠吸引走。這表示有些區隔客群帶來的收益較高,而他們就是您應該鎖定的主要客戶群。不過,要找到這群人,您必須先對您的客戶進行區隔。

市場區隔可成為創造利潤的重要工具,因為做了市場區隔後,您會更了解客戶的需要,進而避免不必要的行銷活動,用更精準的廣告訊息和行銷計畫,鎖定最有價值的客戶。例如,Spotify 近年來的利潤成長主要歸功於精準的市場區隔,以及透過推薦引擎技術搭配地理位置資料,向 1.58 億名訂閱用戶推薦他們可能會喜歡的歌曲。 

認識客戶區隔的優勢之後,該怎麼實際進行區隔呢?為了成功利用市場區隔降低成本、改善行銷手法並提高利潤,您必須辨識出有效的市場分群:也就是擁有可測量、可接近、足量、可操作的特性。這四項因素的分別說明如下。  

有價值的客群是能夠測量的,也就是說,您必須要能夠收集關於每種區隔的人數、喜好和需求、購買力等等的量化資訊。缺少這些數據,您就無法制定出精準、有效又強大的行銷計畫。因此,您首先必須知道您的產品或服務是否有市場,接著估算整體市場中可能有多少潛在客戶,然後再進行市場區隔。這麼一來,您就能夠將各個區隔的人數與整體市場做比較。

透過每個客群的特徵和行為,您應該能夠判斷如何以合乎成本的方式觸及他們。舉例來說,假設您要鎖定的一大目標是家庭主婦,您也許可以在他們經常造訪的網站上投放廣告。 

有效的客群必須有能力購買您的產品或服務。對公司來說,花費時間、金錢和力氣來觸及一群購買力小的客群完全不符合商業邏輯。即使您有辦法把這群人全部變成您的客戶,他們的低購買力可能也無法與您投注的龐大資源相提並論。 您應該嘗試確定每一組客群的形象特徵、購買力和對營收的潛在貢獻能力,然後將心力和資源投注在足量性最高的客群上。

每個區隔客群彼此之間應該有明確區別,並且必須能夠有效回應您的行銷策略,以創造價值。為了確保您區隔出來的客群具可操作性,您需要透過市場測試來找出對特定客群最有效的行銷策略。我們有一系列的專業工具能夠協助您:像是廣告創意分析,可用來測試創意行銷活動的影響力,以及訊息和宣言分析,可用來確保您傳達的訊息對目標客群有效。 

接下來,我們將一起探討幾種最常見的市場區隔類型。

市場區隔問卷調查能協助您迅速了解目標市場中各式各樣消費者有什麼共通性和差異性。以下是您在尋找目標市場時可以思考的一些市場區塊類型:

想要瞭解您的現有客戶和潛在客戶,基本人口統計資料是最關鍵的資訊,包括他們的年齡、收入、教育程度等。人口統計區隔是十分有用的市場區隔方式,而且對任何行銷計畫來說都是很理想的第一步。(歡迎到我們的人口統計調查問卷頁面深入了解這個主題。) 您可用來進行人口統計區隔的客戶特徵包括:

  • 性別
  • 年齡
  • 收入程度
  • 婚姻狀態
  • 教育程度
  • 種族 
  • 宗教

人們居住的地方也會影響其與不同公司的互動,例如,假設您是車商,您會發現住在鄉下地區的人對車輛的需求和喜好與住在市區的人非常不同。您需要了解目標客戶住在哪裡,然後針對當地的價值觀調整行銷方式。做地理區隔時可能會收集的資訊包括:

  • 社區鄰里
  • 郵遞區號
  • 國際區碼
  • 城市
  • 省或州
  • 地區
  • 國家 (若貴公司為國際事業)

心理區隔是根據消費者的社經地位及生活型態來劃分目標市場,目的在於了解隱藏在購買行為背後的情緒。由於一個人的生活型態和社經地位會影響其態度、價值觀、習慣和意見,您可藉由心理區隔來解析人們做出某個行為、購買某項商品或養成某個習慣的根本原因,進而提升公司的銷售力。

這類研究可以揭示客戶與您提供的特定產品或服務如何互動。例如,客戶多久購買一次這些產品和服務?在哪裡購買?有些客戶可能將您的產品視為日常必需品,有些客戶則可能將它視為奢侈品,偶爾才使用,您必須將這兩種客戶區分開來,對他們使用不同的行銷策略。

不同類型的市場區隔可在不同的業務專案中發揮效用,這些不同的專案可能包括行銷活動、產品開發,以及客戶體驗與支援計畫等。以下介紹在哪些情況下進行市場區隔可能對您的公司有利:

當您需要調查潛在客戶時,就是進行市場區隔的好機會。舉例來說,若您要發送一份新產品概念調查問卷給一大群人,可以在問卷裡加上人口統計資料方面的問題,以便瞭解不同性別的訴求、哪個年齡層可能是您應該注重的行銷對象,以及要改進哪些面向才能擴大市場規模。不管是在概念測試建立品牌或開發產品的階段,市場區隔都是實用的策略。

無論您的對象是顧客、客戶還是病患,不同個體對同一品牌的印象很可能有天壤之別。建議您在 CAST (客戶滿意度) 調查問卷中加入市場區隔的題目,這樣更容易聚焦問題所在,進一步改善客戶服務

市場區隔的應用不只侷限於這些情境。活動規劃人員可以透過區隔將贊助商與一般出席者區別開來;教育工作者可以透過區隔來了解男、女學生之間,或教師和行政人員之間的差異;人力資源部門可以依職級、任職時間或部門等條件來區隔調查的結果。

市場區隔的重點在於,您必須在撰寫調查問卷之前,就先思考清楚要如何進行區隔。若沒有提出正確的問題,等到要分析調查結果的時候,您可能會發現所蒐集到的資料無法按照您所希望的方式做區隔。一般來說,人口統計資料是用來了解客戶的最基本資料,值得您好好深入分析研究。

只要問對方向,人口統計調查問題就能為您取得分析市場區隔所需的關鍵資料。知道目標市場的年齡、性別、收入和教育程度 (以及其他因素),有助於釐清客戶的面貌。

歡迎參考下列的人口統計調查問卷範本,在您的市場區隔調查問卷中加入專家設計的適當問題。

如果您的目標市場在美國,您可以使用我們準備的這份調查問卷範本來收集年齡、居住地、收入、教育程度等關鍵的人口統計資料。這份範本是針對美國消費者所設計,可作為您深度分析目標市場的第一步。

這份典型客戶人口統計範本很適合企業對企業 (B2B) 模式的公司使用:如果您的行銷對象是其他公司,可以利用這份範本瞭解他們的客戶或顧客群,進而更加瞭解他們的需求。當您知道客戶的典型客戶是哪些人之後,您才能更明確地知道他們希望從您身上獲得什麼。

目標市場人口統計調查問卷不僅收集市場的人口統計資料,也同時想瞭解目標市場對於特定產品或服務的市場環境有何洞見,以便結合這兩方面的資訊進行分析。例如,您可以詢問目標受眾對競爭品牌的熟悉度,或他們會購買並使用哪類型的產品。 

準備好開始用市場區隔觸及目標受眾了嗎?我們建議您按下列 5 個步驟執行:

  1. 定義您的市場
    首先,您必須定義您的整體市場,也就是確立出您的商品或服務的目標群體。這乍聽之下似乎很簡單,但要準確估算市場規模其實並不容易。瞭解如何利用超過 50 項屬性來定義您的目標受眾
  1. 區隔您的市場
    接著依照您整體市場的特性來進行市場區隔,像是以人口統計、心理變數、地理位置等因素做區隔。您可將此步驟視為初步區隔,待進一步測試之後再定案。
  1. 認識您的市場
    第三步驟是利用市場研究來認識您區隔出的客群。您可以閱讀這篇市場研究指南,但簡單來說,您在這個階段的目的是瞭解不同客群的期待和需要、他們的喜好、曾購買哪些產品和服務、他們對您競爭對手的觀感,以及他們的消費和購買習慣。 
  1. 建立客戶區隔
    根據您從市場研究工作獲得的洞見,確立您的客戶區隔方式。您的初步區隔策略可能非常成功,也可能需要些微調整。客戶區隔定案之後,您就可以為每個客群建立客戶剖析檔案,詳細描述他們的特徵、規模和購買力。
  1. 測試您的行銷策略
    最後,當然就是要對每個區隔客群測試不同的行銷策略。這是做市場區隔最重要、卻又經常被忽略的一步。如果沒有針對不同的客群量身打造能真正打進他們心坎裡的行銷方式,那麼就失去做市場區隔的意義了,因此一定要確保您的行銷訊息和文案都是針對不同區隔客群而設計的。

準備好要用市場區隔觸及目標市場了嗎?歡迎立即向我們的市場研究專家請益。我們可以協助您設定做市場區隔調查研究的目標受眾範圍,還能協助您打造調查問卷。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

SurveyMonkey Logo
Plans & Pricing

Reach your target market using market segmentation

In just minutes, you can find respondents from around the globe to take your surveys.

You can have the best air conditioner in the world but you’re likely to have trouble selling it in Antarctica. The same rule applies to any product or service—no matter how good it is, the other half of the equation is finding the right target market for it.

This is where market segmentation comes into play. This marketing strategy lets you identify the different types of customers that you have and that you want, and it helps you reach them with the right product and the right message.

Let’s review the definition of market segmentation, how it relates to finding your target market, and what types of market segmentation surveys you can use to know your customers in-depth.

Rely on survey respondents you can trust
SurveyMonkey Audience has a robust survey panel of more than 144 million people across 130+ countries.
Get an estimate

What is market segmentation?

Market segmentation is the process of dividing a broad population or target market into subgroups of consumers according to certain shared factors. These can be based on demographics (age, gender, etc.), geographic location, attitudes, and behavior.

How does market segmentation relate to your target market?

A single person could be part of various different groups. They might share common interests or needs with one group, be residents of the same area as another, or be the same age as another. Each of those subgroups could be a market segment for the brand or company doing the analysis.

How can segmentation strategies vary drastically for different businesses?

Let’s say you sell raincoats. Demographic segments like men, women, and children probably have drastically different preferences from one another. Similarly, geographical segmentation might reveal that people who live somewhere where it rains often—like Seattle or Mawsynram—might view raincoats differently from someone who lives in Arizona or Adelaide.

When you understand these different segments (and segment types) you can begin to craft customer profiles that allow you to better improve initiatives from product development to advertising in order to make sure you’re hitting the mark.

Let’s focus on some of the advantages of market segmentation.

Advantages of market segmentation

Once you’ve spent some time segmenting your target market, you’ll be in a great position to enjoy its benefits.

Stronger marketing messages

Let’s say you have come up with a tasty new chocolate bar. How can you convince your target market to try it? The most effective approach would be to find out what your target audience likes about chocolate bars, or what motivates them to try something new. However, those likes and motivations are likely to differ based on certain characteristics of your prospective customers. For example, people who like cooking might be looking for chocolate that melts well, while workers who take chocolate snacks to the office might be looking for something that fits in their lunchbox. 

Including messages about both the meltability and snackability of your chocolate in the same marketing communications can be confusing and might lead to message overload. When you segment your market according to characteristics like their demographics, habits and preferences, you’ll be able to tailor your marketing messages to each group to meet their individual and specific needs—putting you in a strong position to convert viewers or targeted accounts to customers. 

Targeted advertising

Linked to stronger marketing messages is targeted advertising. For instance, if you want to make sure messages about the meltability of your new chocolate reach bakers, you might want to invest in ads in cooking magazines or on baking websites. When you segment your market, as well as learn more about different segments’ needs, you also find out how best to reach them.

Lower acquisition costs

Customer acquisition costs are one of the most significant costs for businesses. These costs include all of the resources and strategies you use to reach, contact and convert prospective customers into buying customers - things like your marketing budget, your salespeoples’ salaries, advertising costs, inventory maintenance, and more. If your salespeople, operations staff, and marketers understand the different needs and preferences of different customer segments, they will be able to tailor their messaging, sales pitches, and resource budgets, so that there will be less waste of resources, and costs can be significantly reduced.  

Attracting the right customers

Not all customer segments are created equal! For example, some customers have a tendency to be more loyal than others; once they’ve found the right brand, they’re willing to stay with them, and may spend more. Others prefer to switch between different brands and products and can be enticed away with deals. These differences mean that some segments of customers bring in more revenue than others—and these are the ones you should be targeting. But to do that, you’ll first need to slice your customers by segment.

Enhanced profits

Market segmentation can actually be a crucial tool in building profits. That’s because when you segment your market, you’ll have a much better understanding of the needs of your customers, which means that you can avoid wasteful marketing activities, and invest in messaging and initiatives that better appeal to your most valuable customers. For instance, Spotify’s recent profit growth has been attributed to the way it segments and understands its 158 million subscribers—using its recommendation engine to locate and suggest songs that it knows each individual customer will love. 

Effective market segments

Now you know the advantages of customer segmentation, how should you go about segmenting? In order to bolster your chances that market segmentation will help lower costs, improve marketing efforts and drive profits, you’ll need to identify effective market segments: segments that are measurable, accessible, substantial, and actionable. Let’s take a look at each of these factors in turn.  

Measurable

In order for your customer segments to be of value, they should be measurable. In other words, you should be able to gather quantifiable information about each segments’ size, preferences and needs, and purchasing power. Without this data, you won't be able to create targeted, effective and impactful marketing campaigns. So, first find out whether a market exists for your product or service, and then measure how many possible customers exist in the overall market, before moving on to perform market segmentation. That way you can measure the size of each segment relative to the overall market.

Accessible

The characteristics and behaviors of each of your segments should help you identify the best way to reach them at an affordable cost. For instance, if you find that a significant segment you’re targeting is housewives, you might be able to access them through, for example, placing advertisements on the kinds of websites that they like to visit. 

Substantial

An effective customer segment is one that has the ability to purchase your product or service. It just doesn’t make business sense to spend time, money, and effort trying to reach a tiny segment. Even if you do manage to convert most of them to customers, their low spending power represents a waste of resources.  You should try to define the profile, purchasing power, and potential contribution to your bottom line of each segment, and then focus your efforts on the most substantial segments.

Actionable

Each segment should be differentiated from one another, and should be able to respond to your marketing strategies in a way that yields value. To ensure that your segments are actionable, you’ll need to try to find out which marketing strategies are most effective for certain segments through market testing. We have a range of handy expert tools to help you: tools like our Ad Creative Analysis for testing the impact of creative campaigns, or our Messaging and Claims Analysis, which you can use to make sure your messages land with your target segments. 

Now, let’s look at the most common types of market segmentation.

Types of market segmentation

Market segmentation surveys help you quickly understand what the various members of your target market have in common—and how they differ. Here are a few different types of market segments you can apply to find your target market:

Demographic segmentation

Some of the most critical data points on existing and potential customers are their basic demographics, Some of the most critical data points on existing and potential customers are their basic demographics, like how old they are, what their level of income is, how far they went in their education, etc. Demographic segmentation is often a useful way to divide up your target market, and is generally a good first step in any marketing initiative. (You can research this topic in-depth on our demographic survey page.). The types of characteristics that you can use to build demographic segmentation include:

  • Gender
  • Age
  • Income Level
  • Marital Status
  • Education
  • Race 
  • Religion

Geographic segmentation

Where people call home can drastically change how they respond to interactions with your company.. For example, if you’re selling cars, you’ll find that the needs and preferences of people who live in rural areas are very different from those that reside in the inner city. Learn where your target customers live and tailor your marketing efforts to account for their local values. Examples of data points you might consider using for geographic segmentation include:

  • Neighborhood
  • Postal or ZIP code
  • Area code
  • City
  • Province or state
  • Region
  • Country (if your business is international)

Psychographic segmentation

Psychographic segmentation is a way of dividing the target market based on socioeconomic class or lifestyle preferences. Psychographic segmentation helps decode the emotional elements of buying that might otherwise seem mysterious. That’s because there’s a relationship between lifestyle preferences/socioeconomic status and things like attitudes, values, habits, and opinions. Psychographic segmentation, therefore, helps you get to the bottom of why people act the way they do, make certain purchases or adopt certain behaviors and habits - crucial insight you can use to drive sales.

Behavioral segmentation

This type of research reveals how customers interact with your particular product or service. For example, how often do they buy it, and where? Position your marketing differently for those who use your product as a daily necessity versus those who see it as a luxury and use it only occasionally.

How to use market segmentation to reach your target market

The various types of market segmentation can be useful in different kinds of business projects, including marketing campaigns, product development, and customer experience and support initiatives. Here are a couple of examples of when this strategy may come in handy to your company:

Market research

When you survey potential customers who are likely to consider your product or service, you’ll have an opportunity to segment. For example, if you send a survey questionnaire about a new product concept to a broad group of people, adding demographic questions will help you understand the differing appeal to men and women, what age group you might want to focus your marketing efforts on, and what shortcomings you need to address to increase your market size. Segmentation can be a useful strategy in concept testing, branding, or product development.

Customer satisfaction

Whether you have customers, clients, or patients, it’s likely that different people have different experiences with your brand. Adding segmentation questions to your CSAT surveys makes it easier to pinpoint issues and improve customer service.

Other opportunities

Segmentation isn’t limited to those scenarios. Event planners might segment sponsors from attendees. Educators might look at the differences between boys and girls, or teachers and support staff. HR departments might segment survey results by job level, time with the company, or department.

The key is to think about how you will want to segment before writing a survey. If you don’t ask the right questions, you might not be able to segment your market the way you want to when the time comes to analyze your results. Most of the time, demographic data is the first type you want to collect about your customers. It’s worth taking a deeper look into it.

Understanding your target market with demographic surveys

A few well-directed demographic survey questions can help you obtain key data for your market segmentation analysis. Knowing your target market’s age, gender, income, and education levels (among other factors) can give you a much better sense of who they are.

Try these demographic survey templates to add the right expert-designed questions to your market segmentation questionnaire.

US demographics template

If your target market is based in the US, we’ve prepared a template you can use to gather key demographic data such as their age, location, income, and education levels. Our template has specifically been designed to capture data relevant to American consumers. Use this as your starting point for in-depth analysis.

Typical customer demographics template

The typical customer demographics template is useful if you’re a B2B firm: If you market to other businesses, you can ask them about their own customers to better understand their needs. Once you know who their typical customers are, you’ll gain critical insight into what they’re looking for from you.

Preview the typical customer demographics template 

Target market demographics survey template

A target market demographics survey is useful in combining knowledge about the demographics of your market with insight into the way they view the landscape for your product or service. For example, you can ask them about their awareness of competing brands, or the kinds of products that they buy and use. 

Get started with segmentation

Ready to begin reaching your target audience via market segmentation? We recommend the following 5 steps:

  1. Define your market
    First, you need to define your overall market. That means: identify the specific group of people at whom your product or service is aimed. While that seems straightforward, getting market sizing right can be a challenge. Learn how you can use more than 50 attributes to define your own target audience.
  1. Segment the market
    The next step is to perform the segmentation based on whatever is relevant for your market, such as demographics, psychographics or geographical factors. You can consider this step as a kind of rough draft of what will become the final segments - after they are validated and tested in the next step.
  1. Understand the market
    In step three, you’ll need to perform some market research in order to understand the segment. We have a deep dive here, but in general, you’ll want to try to find out things like what your different segments want and need, their preferences, what kinds of products and services they already buy, how they feel about competitors, and their spending and purchasing habits. 
  1. Create customer segments
    Based on the insight you gleaned from your market research activities, you can finalize your segments. It might be that you got the initial segmenting right, or you might need to refine your segmentation strategy. Once you’ve identified your customer segments, create customer profiles for each that describe their characteristics, size and purchasing power.
  1. Test your marketing strategy
    Finally, test your marketing strategies out on each segment. This is a crucial part of the market segmentation approach that is often overlooked. But, there’s little value to segmenting your market if you don’t tailor your marketing efforts towards them in a way that lands. So, make sure your marketing messages and communications are appropriate for each segment.

Ready to reach your target market using market segmentation? Reach out to our market research experts today. We can help you tailor an audience for conducting market segmentation surveys—and we even help you construct the survey.

See how SurveyMonkey can power your curiosity