產品

SurveyMonkey 能滿足各種使用案例和需求。歡迎探索我們的產品,瞭解 SurveyMonkey 能為您提供什麼協助。

從全球首屈一指的線上調查問卷中,獲取以資料為導向的深入分析。

可與超過 100 款應用程式和外掛程式整合,讓您事半功倍。

建立並自訂線上表單,以收集資訊和付款方式。

利用內建的 AI 打造更優質的調查問卷並快速獲得獨到見解。

依實際需求量身打造解決方案,滿足您所有的市場研究需求。

範本

測量客戶對貴公司的滿意度和忠誠度。

瞭解如何讓客戶滿意,使他們成為您忠實的擁護者。

取得可化為實際行動的深入解析,以改善使用者的體驗。

向潛在客戶、受邀人等對象收集聯絡資訊。

輕鬆收集並追蹤活動邀請回函。

瞭解參加者的需要,使下一場活動更成功。

發掘能提升員工參與度並改善績效的深入解析。

瞭解與會者的想法和意見,把下一場會議辦得更好。

運用同儕意見回饋來協助員工改善績效。

打造更好的課程並改善教學方法。

瞭解學生對課程資料和教學狀況的評價。

瞭解客戶對您的新產品構想有何看法。

相關資源

使用調查問卷和調查資料的最佳實務

有關問卷調查、給企業的訣竅及其他主題的內容,都在我們的部落格。

SurveyMonkey 的使用教學與指南。

頂尖品牌如何透過 SurveyMonkey 推動成長。

運用 SurveyMonkey 提供的眾多範例問題和調查問卷範本,建立無可挑剔的調查問卷。

SurveyMonkey 標誌

需要意見回饋是常有的事,但建立調查問卷似乎很難。還好事實並非如此,因為我們大幅簡化了建立調查問卷的流程!您可以運用我們提供的範例問題、預先撰寫好的調查問卷範本和自動產生的各式圖表,輕鬆建立調查問卷。

想要收集一個群體的資訊或意見,用什麼方法最好呢?當然是發送調查問卷。做問卷調查是改善公司整體最簡單也最有效率的方法。不過,您必須知道,製作調查問卷的最大關鍵在於問題的設計,因為這會影響您能否獲得您真正需要的資料。

線上調查問卷,顧名思義,就是透過網路向特定一群人士詢問聚焦於特定主題問題的方法。您可以利用收集到的意見和見解,做出更好的商業決策。

透過網路發送調查問卷、測驗和調查表的作法具有顯著的優勢,但也伴隨著一些挑戰。請別擔心,我們已將整個過程簡化了。本文將逐一說明建立線上調查問卷的十個簡單步驟,不過在那之前,我們想先用些許篇幅讓您更瞭解線上調查問卷。

自訂您的調查問卷的外觀和風格,並透過多種管道寄出。來看看大部分的調查問卷建立者都使用哪些功能。

一般民眾可能都曾經回答過書面、電話或線上形式的調查問卷。如果您是分析調查問卷的人,一定會同意線上調查問卷在分析上具有優勢。

自書面調查問卷發明至今,整個問卷調查領域已經十分現代化了。線上調查問卷的回覆率向來較高,主要是因為受訪者可以在任何裝置上填寫。獲得更多提升調查問卷回覆率的技巧 >

隨著科技日新月異,線上問卷調查已成為比雇用代理機構或市調公司更便宜的選項。您不再需要為了建立、發送和收集問卷而編列大筆預算,而且組織中的整個團隊只要使用單一平台就能完成所有流程。

若您選擇建立線上調查問卷,每當有受訪者提交資料,您就能立即查看。透過 SurveyMonkey,您可輕易分析調查結果,並將其轉化為可付諸行動的見解。由於不用回收紙本問卷,您收集到的回覆將會即時進入線上調查問卷系統當中,完全排除了人工輸入回答可能產生的錯誤。瞭解其運作方式

建立線上調查問卷很容易。SurveyMonkey 最基本的方案就包含了眾多範例問題及問卷範本,幾乎囊括了所有使用情境,包括活動規劃、客戶滿意度、員工參與度等等。我們的調查問卷佈景主題和自訂項目能讓您迅速打造出格式排版和整體設計都無可挑剔的調查問卷。您也能夠即時查看從受訪者收到的調查結果,我們的平台還會使用機器學習和 AI (人工智慧) 技術為您自動分析資料,連使用進階篩選和交叉分析表報告都不費吹灰之力。此外,由於受訪者可以在任何裝置上填寫您的調查問卷,他們也會感到非常方便。

我們的平台能讓您輕鬆調整線上調查問卷的格式,把您需要問的問題以理想的排版配置呈現。我們題庫中的問題甚至還包含現成的答案選項可供您使用。 您不需要任何程式設計相關知識,就能打造出完全符合期待的調查問卷,這是一項巨大優勢!

有些受訪者在與真人面對面訪談或講電話時,無法坦白直率地做出回應。人們在隱私度高的情境下比較容易表露真正的感受。線上填寫問卷能夠有效消除面對面訪談時可能產生的偏誤。進一步瞭解如何消除調查問卷的偏誤 >

線上調查問卷可省下印刷、郵寄或面對面訪談的成本,資料也不需要手動輸入到資料庫,一切都會自動完成。這是一項巨大優勢,減少讓員工進行所有調查工作的成本,使問卷調查成為更負擔得起的研究方式。

SurveyMonkey 能夠讓您建立符合 508 條款WCAG 2 規範的無障礙調查問卷。您可使用我們的無障礙調查問卷核對清單,來確保依賴螢幕閱讀器的人士也能填寫您的調查問卷。我們還提供現成的無障礙調查問卷設計,協助實現對視障者友善的調查問卷環境。

潛在的作弊行為

如果您的調查問卷太冗長、問題措辭不夠清楚,或整體設計太過複雜,受訪者可能就不會據實回答。受訪者是私下填寫調查問卷的,所以不見得會回答得很準確,可能隨便點選幾個答案就交出去了。若受訪者只是為了獲得獎勵而填寫問卷,這種情況會更為明顯。

抽樣方式和可觸及的受訪者有限

有些族群幾乎沒機會使用網際網路,或比較不可能回覆線上調查問卷。這影響到的不只是受訪者人數而已,也會影響到調查結果的人口統計結構。如果您的調查問卷需要收集額外的回覆,SurveyMonkey Audience 會是您的好幫手。

受訪者配合度不一

您寄出的線上調查問卷可能會被刪掉或忽略。各大電子郵件用戶端都會替收件人整理分類郵件,而透過電子郵件寄出的調查問卷很可能會直接被分類為垃圾信件,不會出現在收件人的主要信箱中。

幾乎沒有監督機制,也沒有人主持

雖然不使用真人採訪具有某些優勢,但也會導致其他方面的問題。採訪者能將不夠清楚的問題做進一步解釋,或請受訪者更詳細說明其提供的回答。少了這項機制的把關,受訪者可能會因為做出不正確的假設而回答錯誤。

以下四種調查問卷經常被企業用來收集關鍵資訊以做出重大決策:客戶滿意度、員工參與度、市場研究、客戶意見回饋;它們分別能為商業規劃、人資、產品開發和客戶關係等部門收集重要的資訊。

客戶滿意度調查問卷能幫助您瞭解客戶對您的產品、服務及商業行為有什麼感覺和想法。這類調查問卷收集到的資訊能夠用來做出必要的改變和改進,好讓客戶更滿意、更忠誠,也願意繼續與您的品牌互動。

客戶滿意度調查問卷可以用來:

  • 鑑定客戶服務代表的能力
  • 瞭解客戶對貴品牌的滿意度
  • 找出能引起客戶共鳴的產品或服務
  • 精確點出有待改進之處
  • 衡量客戶忠誠度
  • 改善客戶體驗

員工參與度調查問卷能幫助您掌握員工對貴公司品牌、服務、公司本身及管理層面有什麼感覺和想法。收集這類回覆能幫助您瞭解當前公司整體運作的成效,也能顯露出尚待改進的面向。員工參與度調查問卷能讓您的員工更投入工作、更快樂並更有生產力。

員工參與度調查問卷可以用來:

  • 打造更有包容性的工作場所
  • 瞭解員工對薪水、福利和津貼的感受
  • 評估工作滿意度
  • 檢驗主管的能力
  • 執行離職面談

深入瞭解 SurveyMonkey Enterprise 能如何幫助組織打造更快樂又更有生產力的工作環境。 

從小型新創公司到財星 500 大企業,沒有公司不使用市場研究做為決策依據。市場研究調查問卷能幫助您瞭解目標市場對您的產品、服務和整個品牌有何需求和期待。面臨重大商業決策時,千萬不要靠直覺,一定要做研究。

市場研究調查問卷可以用來:

  • 瞭解目標受眾對您的品牌、產品和服務有什麼意見
  • 評估市場缺口,辨識成長機會
  • 推出新產品
  • 評估廣告活動的成功度
  • 衡量品牌知名度
  • 得知您在眾多競爭對手當中的地位

掌握市場需求、產業趨勢和買家意見回饋,您才能做出更好的決策。歡迎探索 SurveyMonkey 市場研究解決方案。 

透過客戶意見調查問卷,讓客戶協助您改善的公司業務。在客戶歷程的各個階段收集客戶的意見回饋,以評估品牌知名度、購買體驗、客戶留存率和忠誠度。

客戶意見調查問卷可以用來:

  • 更加瞭解您客戶的行為、觀感和態度
  • 衡量品牌知名度與市場心理
  • 識別您購買流程中的痛點
  • 提供最佳化客戶服務
  • 提升客戶忠誠度

瞭解線上調查問卷的所有好處之後,您準備好要利用這些優勢了嗎?在實際開始建立調查問卷之前,您必須先完成幾件事:

在思考要如何建立調查問卷時,首先最重要的事是確定您想要建立調查問卷的原因。換句話說,您的目標是什麼?

有了明確和具體的目標,您設計的問題才能夠有效取得您所需要的回答。而想要找出您的調查問卷目標,您可以問自己下列幾件事:

  • 還有誰會看見並使用這些回覆? 
  • 我希望獲得哪些見解? 
  • 我最終想要做何決定?

一旦想清楚自己為什麼想做問卷調查,您就可以開始建立調查問卷了。本文將告訴您如何運用下列重要技巧,打造出能收集到寶貴見解的調查問卷。

您的目標是什麼?您希望從這份調查問卷中獲得什麼資訊?在開始構思問題之前,您心中必須有一個明確的目標,這樣您收集到的資料才會與您想知道的內容相關。這麼做能確保您設計出的調查問卷有助於該目標的實現。

要達到這項目標,誰會是您的目標受眾?您必須明確定義出您要向誰收集資料,是客戶、員工,還是具有某些人口統計特徵的族群?您必須判斷哪些人能夠提供您需要的見解。假設您想知道自家品牌的知名度,您可能會想要鎖定整個市場,或是早就知道貴公司存在的特定族群。然而,假設您想知道自家產品的表現如何,那您就必須鎖定已經在使用這些產品的人,也就是您的客戶。

將調查問卷中的問題數限制在必要的最小數量,只要能收集到您需要的資訊即可,不要用多餘、無關的問題轟炸受訪者。問題本身也應保持簡短明確,這樣有助於提升回覆的質與量。我們建議每份調查問卷最多不要超過十道問題。如果您必須問更多問題,不妨考慮用一些獎勵回饋受訪者,如折價券等。

調查問卷的內容必須清楚好懂,這一點非常重要。如果有必要,最好建立多語言調查問卷,並且採用符合目標受眾文化規範的用語。建議您不要使用像是「業務範圍」、「思維領導力」或「成長駭客」這類商務用語,盡量用清楚、簡潔而自然的語言,表達您想透過調查問卷表達的訊息。

在寄出調查問卷之前,先做測試。讓幾名團隊成員或目標受眾中的幾名人士來試填一下您的調查問卷,這麼做能不僅有助於發現漏洞,還能暴露出哪些問題可能設計得不夠清楚,以便在正式發送調查問卷前先行修正。深入瞭解如何讓團隊協力進行問卷調查。 

視您的調查問卷類型和受眾對象而定,有時提供獎勵可能會增加回覆率。大部分的人都喜歡在付出之後獲得回饋。SurveyMonkey 的研究顯示,提供獎勵平均可讓回覆率增加 50%。建議您盡量讓獎勵的價值與受訪者的付出相等,如果獎勵太高,有些人可能會故意多填寫幾次調查問卷來獲得更多獎勵,您所收到的調查結果就會失去價值。

您也可以寄送提醒給尚未回覆調查問卷的人,這麼做也能提升回覆率。您可以在寄出調查問卷的 48-72 個小時之後傳送提醒。如果需要傳送更多提醒,請限制在四次以內。請務必設定接收調查問卷回覆的截止時間,而且在那之後就不要再傳送任何提醒。

歡迎到我們的部落格尋找更多建立線上調查問卷的資源,您也可以隨時造訪我們的客戶支援中心,以瞭解我們能如何協助您打造最優質的調查問卷,早日實現您的目標。

在撰寫調查問卷時,您要進行許多選擇,但下列一些基礎規則能協助您每次都做出正確選擇。以下 10 個絕佳提示,可協助您建立能順利取得所需答案的調查問卷。

將類似問題分門別類,維持調查問卷的清楚邏輯和主要焦點。利用分頁符號、頁面標題和說明,協助人們了解調查問卷的問題及背景。

使用分頁符號將類似問題歸類在一起的例子

在一系列問卷調查中使用相同問題,甚至長期使用同一份調查問卷,都是建立基準和衡量受訪者態度轉變的好方法。

一系列測試受訪者態度的相似問題

受訪者都不喜歡太冗長的調查問卷。因此,當您在思考要如何建立調查問卷時,請記得盡量減少問題數量。歡迎瀏覽上百份的調查問卷問題範例及調查問卷範本,利用這些資源打造出最符合您需求的完美調查問卷。

您可利用我們的協作功能,與您的團隊一起製作並管理調查問卷。TechValidate 在 2019 年研究發現,在我們的客戶當中,有超過 80% 認為團隊協作使他們打造出更好的問卷,並獲得更好的調查結果。使用我們的協作功能,讓您的團隊更強大、更有效率,並更迅速地分享資料。

想要獲得大量的社會認同嗎?TechValidate 能幫助您取得客戶意見,並將收集到的資料變成個案研究、統計數據、客戶見證等等。 

建立調查問卷問題時一次只探索一個想法,確定受訪者能清楚了解您的問題。問題模糊、廣泛並包含太多部分,可能會造成混淆且難以回答

SurveyMonkey Logo
Plans & Pricing

Learn how to create a survey online in 10 easy steps

Explore our sample questions and survey templates, all accessible when you sign up today!

Deciding that you need feedback is easy, but creating a survey seems hard. We’re here to tell you it's not and that we make it really easy—from our sample questions, to our pre-written survey templates, and our automatic charts and graphs.

Online surveys

You want to collect information or feedback from a group. What’s the best way to do it? A survey, of course. A survey is the easiest, most efficient way to gain insights that will help you improve your business. But the most important thing to know about surveys is that questions have to be designed a certain way to yield the data you need.

An online survey is just what it sounds like—a method for asking focused questions from a defined group of people via the internet. You can use these opinions and insights to help drive your business decisions.

Offering your survey, quiz, or questionnaire online has definite advantages and a few challenges. But don’t worry, we’re here to make the process simple. We’ll get to our 10 easy steps to create your online survey, but first, let’s take a look at a little helpful information about online surveys in general.

Explore our most popular survey features
Customize the look and feel of your surveys, send them in a variety of ways. See what most survey creators are using.
Compare features

Advantages of online surveys

You may have experience in taking surveys on paper, by telephone, or online. But when you’re on the analysis end of surveys, it's clear that the advantage is within online surveys.

Increased response rate

Surveys have modernized from those being filled out by hand. Online surveys tend to get higher response rates because they can be done on any device. Get more tips for improving your survey rate >

Lower, more affordable costs 

As technology has advanced, online surveys have become the more affordable alternative to using agencies and market research firms. No need to set aside a large budget for creating, distributing, and collecting surveys—you can do it all from a single platform, accessible to your entire team or organization

Real-time access

When you create an online survey, the data from your respondents is available immediately. With SurveyMonkey, you can easily analyze your results and turn them actionable insights. With no need to collect a paper questionnaire, you get your responses in real-time. The margin of error is greatly reduced because answers are entered directly into the online survey system. See how it works

Convenience

Online surveys are easy to create. Even on our most basic plans, SurveyMonkey offers sample questions and templates for almost any use case—from event planning, to customer satisfaction, and employee engagement. Our survey themes and customizations will have you making perfectly formatted, beautiful surveys in no time. Results come in real-time and our platform will use machine learning and AI to automatically analyze the data for you. There aren’t even any hassles with our advanced filtering and crosstab reports. It’s convenient for your respondents, too! They can take your survey on any device.

Design flexibility

Our platform makes it easy to format an online survey. You can create the layout you want with the questions you need. Our Question Bank even offers answer choices, right out of the box.  No programming knowledge necessary. The flexibility to create exactly what you want is a huge plus. 

No interviewer

Some survey takers might feel uncomfortable being completely forthright when speaking to someone directly in-person or on the telephone. It’s much easier to open up when responding in private. The online process also eliminates any tendency toward bias that may be present during in-person interviews. Learn more about eliminating bias in your surveys >

Cost efficiency

Online surveys do not require printing, mailing, postage, or a person to conduct interviews. There’s no need to enter data manually into a database—it’s collected automatically. This is a huge advantage and makes offering surveys more affordable than having the staff to conduct the surveys.

Accessibility

SurveyMonkey empowers you to create accessible surveys that are Section 508 and WCAG 2 compliant. We have an accessible survey checklist to help you ensure that your survey will work with a screen reader. We also offer out-of-the-box survey designs that ensure they’re accessible to people with visual disabilities.

Challenges of online surveys

Potential fraud

If your survey contains too many questions, questions that are confusing, or is just too complicated, people may not answer truthfully. Respondents are answering the survey in private, so they may not be compelled to take the time to answer accurately—they could simply be clicking any circle to get the survey done. This is especially true if they are only taking the survey to receive a promised reward.

Limited sampling and respondent availability

Some populations have limited internet access or are less likely to respond to online surveys. This may affect not only the number of respondents but the demographic of your results as well. If you need additional responses for your surveys, SurveyMonkey Audience can help. 

Possible cooperation issues

Online surveys can be deleted or ignored. Popular email clients sort mail for recipients, so surveys sent via email may not be seen in their primary inboxes or disregarded as “junk mail.”

Little oversight or moderator

While the lack of an interviewer is a strength in some ways, it’s a challenge in others. An interviewer can clarify confusing questions or ask for more details to explain answers. Without that factored in, respondents may make inaccurate assumptions that make their answers erroneous.

Types of online surveys

These 4 common types of online surveys—customer satisfaction, employee engagement, market research, and customer feedback—provide businesses with key information to inform future goals and growth. Each one provides crucial data for business plans, HR departments, product development, and customer relationships.

Customer satisfaction

Find out how your customers feel about your products, services, and business practices with a customer satisfaction survey. The information gleaned from this type of survey can be used to make changes and improvements that will keep your customers happy, loyal, and engaged with your brand. 

Use customer satisfaction surveys to:

  • Determine the effectiveness of your customer service representatives
  • Find out customer satisfaction with your brand
  • Identify products or services that resonate with your customers
  • Pinpoint areas for improvement
  • Measure customer loyalty
  • Improve customer experience

Go beyond measuring customer satisfaction and build better customer experiences across your business. Learn more about GetFeedback, the CX solution offered by Momentive (the maker of SurveyMonkey).

Employee engagement

Get a handle on how your employees feel about many aspects of your brand, services, company, and management with an employee engagement survey. Responses to these survey questions help you understand the impact of your current systems and shine a light on areas that are in need of improvement. Keep your employees engaged, happy, and more productive with employee engagement surveys.

Use employee engagement surveys to:

  • Build a more inclusive workplace
  • Understand employee sentiment with salaries, benefits, and perks
  • Evaluate job satisfaction
  • Examine manager effectiveness
  • Perform exit interviews

Learn more about SurveyMonkey Enterprise, which can help organizations create happier, more productive workplaces. 

Market research

Business from small startups to Fortune 500 companies use market research to inform their decisions. Market research surveys help you understand what your target market wants and expects, whether for a product, service, or your overall brand. Don’t rely on your gut to make those important business decisions, do your research.

Use market research surveys to:

  • Find out your target audience’s opinion of your brand, product, or service
  • Assess what is missing from the market and opportunities for growth
  • Launch new products
  • Evaluate the success of an ad campaign
  • Measure brand awareness
  • Find out where you stand against competitors

Drive better decisions by capturing market needs, industry trends, and buyer feedback. Explore SurveyMonkey Market Research Solutions

Customer feedback

Your customers can help you improve your business through customer feedback surveys. Gather feedback throughout the customer journey to assess brand awareness, purchase experience, retention, and loyalty.

Use customer feedback surveys to:

  • Better understand your customers’ behaviors, perceptions, and attitudes
  • Measure brand awareness and sentiment
  • Identify pain points in your purchase flow
  • Optimize your customer service
  • Improve customer loyalty

Before creating your survey

So, now you’re ready to take advantage of all those benefits from an online survey. Here are a few things you need to do before you start actually creating the survey:

Determine the objective

The first and most important step when thinking about how to make a survey is to identify why, exactly, you want to create a survey in the first place. In other words, what’s the objective?

A concise and focused objective can help you make a survey that asks just the questions you need to get answers you can apply. Here are some things to ask yourself as you brainstorm your survey’s objective:

  • Who else will be seeing and using the responses? 
  • What insights am I hoping to gain? 
  • What decisions am I ultimately looking to make?

Familiarize yourself with our tips for creating a survey

Once you understand why you want to make a survey, you can move forward in building it. This page will show you how to create a survey that delivers invaluable insights through the following key tips. 

Introduce the survey’s purpose

What is your objective? Exactly what do you want to learn from this survey? Make sure you have a clear goal in mind before you begin formulating questions so your data is relevant to what you want to learn. This will help you design the survey to address your objective.

Determine your target audience

Who is your target audience for this objective? Clearly define who you want to receive data from—is it customers? Employees? Defined demographic groups? Determine what group of people is going to give you the insights you need. If you want to know about your brand awareness, then you’ll want to target the market, and perhaps a specific demographic that already knows your company. However, if you want to know how your product is performing, you’d reach out to the people already using it—customers.

Use survey questions judiciously

Keep your survey questions to the minimum necessary to collect the data you need. Don’t overwhelm respondents with extraneous queries. Short, focused questions will lead to better quality and quantity of responses. We recommend keeping surveys to 10 questions max. And if you need to go beyond that, consider offering respondents an incentive for providing their feedback, i.e. discounted coupons.

Speak the respondents’ language

It’s important to communicate clearly in your survey. This means literally creating a multilingual survey if necessary, as well as using language that reflects your target audience’s cultural norms. Stay away from corporate jargon like “vertical,” “thought leadership,” and “growth hacking.” Present your survey with clear, concise, natural language.

Test the survey

Before you send the survey out, test it. Have some of your team members or a few select members of your target audience take the survey. This will help you identify any glitches or questions that aren’t clear, so you can fix them before sending the survey to your full list. Learn more about collaborating on surveys as a team

Offer incentives

Depending on the survey and the audience, offering an incentive may increase your response rate. Most people like being rewarded for their time. SurveyMonkey research has found that incentives can improve your response rates by an average of 50%. Try to keep the incentive in line with what you’re asking of the participants. If the incentive is too large, you may receive fraudulent results as people take the survey multiple times to obtain the incentive.

Send reminders

Response rates can be improved by sending out reminders to those who have yet to respond to your survey. Send a reminder 48-72 hours after your initial survey request. If you need to send further reminders, limit them to 4. Make sure you’ve set a cutoff point for accepting surveys and don’t send any reminders beyond that point.

Get additional resources from SurveyMonkey

Find additional resources on creating online surveys from our blog, and visit our Help Center any time to learn how we can help you create the best survey for your purpose.

How to create a survey in 10 simple steps

There are a lot of choices to make when you’re writing a survey, but following some basic rules can help you make the right choices every time. Here are 10 great tips for creating a survey that gets you the answers you need.

1. Use formatting

Group similar questions to keep your survey logical and focused. Page breaks, page titles, and instructions help people understand what you’re asking and why.

Example of grouping similar questions together with page breaks

2. Send frequent surveys

Using the same question in a series of surveys or even using the same survey over time is a good way to build a baseline and measure changes in respondents’ attitudes.

A list of similar questions to test the respondents' attitudes

3. Be brief in your questions

Respondents really don’t like surveys that are too long. So, when you’re thinking about how to make a survey, just remember to minimize the number of questions you ask. Browse through hundreds of sample survey questions and survey templates to help you craft the perfect survey for your needs.

4. Enlist the help of others

Work on your survey with your team with our collaboration features. A 2019 TechValidate study revealed that more than 80% of our customers create better surveys and get better results when they collaborate. Empower your team, improve efficiency, and share data faster with collaboration.

Get your own social proof at scale. TechValidate captures and transforms customer feedback into case studies, statistics, testimonials, and more. 

5. Stick to specifics

Create survey questions that explore one idea at a time to make sure your respondents can understand what you’re asking. Vague, general, multi-part questions can be confusing and tough to answer.

6. Clarify in your survey question answers

Spell out everything that could be interpreted in more than one way. Want to know if someone is conservative in your political survey? Make sure you specify whether you’re talking about the way they dress, their politics, their preference in music or cuisine, or their political party preference.

List of very specific questions example

7. Keep questions relevant

Create a survey that keeps respondents focused by only showing them questions that directly apply to them. A great way to do this is by using skip logic to eliminate irrelevant questions.

Skip logic details

8. Go easy on yes/no questions

This type of closed-ended questions doesn’t capture people who are on the fence or the nuances of opinion. Yes/no questions are best for gathering a generic stat for something, such as 75% of people said they loved pizza. But this doesn’t give a scale of how much they love pizza or even what type of pizza they love. These types of questions can be valuable, but you won’t get much data if your entire survey includes them. Learn more about closed-ended vs open-ended questions

9. Know when to use matrix questions

Presented with a matrix, respondents will typically focus on filling out the grid rather than paying careful attention to each question—and that will damage your data quality. Be sure to check out our tips for writing matrix questions for guidance.

10. Rely on survey templates and the Question Bank

You don’t need to reinvent the wheel. Our survey template library is a great place to find the perfect survey style and questions. 

With that, you know how to make a survey that brings in the responses you need to make better decisions!

If you want to become a true survey expert, check out our steps on steps on writing survey questions. And if you want to create a survey more easily? We’ve got a ton of ready-to-use survey templates for you to choose from. From customer satisfaction to marketing to employee engagement templates, we have a variety of options to help you make a survey that shines. Finally, for even more tips more tips and tricks on creating great surveys, check out the SurveyMonkey blog.

Additional survey design resources

Take advantage of these great SurveyMonkey resources, and you’ll create a survey in no time!

  • Easy question creation - With 15 question types, including rating scales, multiple choice, and more, it’s easy to create online surveys from scratch. Or, choose certified questions from Question Bank, our library of question templates.
  • Custom branding - Customize the look and feel of your surveys. Add your logo, company name, colors, and images. Create your own survey URL and send respondents to a promotional landing page upon survey completion.
  • Advanced features - Get the data you need with required questions and response validation. Eliminate bias with random assignment (A/B testing) and randomization. Create interactive surveys with skip logic and question piping.
  • Find survey respondents - Reach your ideal target market by buying high-quality, well-targeted responses through our fast DIY market research solution SurveyMonkey Audience.
  • Make your survey anonymous - We’re often asked: “Is SurveyMonkey anonymous?” The answer is yes—if you want it to be. More often than not, you’re in a better position to decide if your audience wants the feedback to be kept private or to not; while our focus is kept on equipping you with the technology and know-how so you can make and act on that decision. Follow these 3 steps if you want your audience’s responses to be kept confidential.

Now that you know how to create an online survey, go ahead and get started with SurveyMonkey!

Get a quick start with our survey templates

Search our gallery of 150+ expert-written surveys for any project—customer satisfaction, employee engagement, market research, education, and more.

See how SurveyMonkey can power your curiosity