5 大類市場區隔和運用方法

何謂市場區隔?

「顧客想要什麼色的車都可以……只要是黑色的就好。」亨利·福特

最早期的行銷觀念是提供最容易生產的產品,而不是如何滿足客戶的需求。在 1909 年,由於黑色的漆乾得最快,所以每個人的車都是黑色的。

現代市場研究人員知道不同的客戶有不同的需求,為了判斷客戶的需求,他們已經學會將人們根據人口統計資料、行為、地點、購買習慣和其他可能影響購買型態的因素,細分成不同的市場區隔。

市場區隔是根據人們的一些共同特徵,將一個大群體區分成數個子群體的過程。每個子群體內部的共通點可能是某個人口統計特徵 (年齡、性別等)、地理位置、態度、行為或幾種不同特徵的集合。

一名消費者可能可以被歸類至多個區隔市場。例如說,一名女性可以是 Y 世代 (人口統計資料中的性別和年齡)、住在農村地區 (地理位置)、喜歡購買當地生產的食品 (購買習慣),而且最好是來自有堅定人道精神的公司 (態度)。

商業機構會透過市調研究,以多種變數組合建立許多區隔市場,這麼做都是為了找到潛在客戶,也就是所謂的目標市場。這個目標市場成員擁有的共同特徵,使他們成為最有可能購買特定產品或服務的一群人。

市場研究人員會根據不同的目標,採取不同的區隔策略:市場區隔的目標是辨識出一群特定的目標市場或群體,因此強調地理區隔 (例如:大都會區、指定行銷區域 (DMA)、州、地區、國家等);消費者區隔的目的則是瞭解這些群體的行為和態度,會將既有的客戶群區分成更小的次群體。雖然兩者的研究設計、資料收集和分析的過程非常類似,但側重的區隔面向不同。

in-article-cta
您知道您的目標市場有哪些特徵嗎?
只要幾分鐘,讓 SurveyMonkey 消費者區隔解決方案幫助您找到答案。
瞭解更多

為什麼要做市場區隔?

市場區隔的目標是為每個區隔市場建立詳細檔案,當這些區隔市場被明確定義出來後,市場研究人員就能選出最有可能購買其產品或服務的一群人。

為了達到目標,市場研究人員會透過下面三個步驟來解析這些人的樣貌和購買產品的原因。

  • 做出區隔。市場研究人員會根據一些共同特徵將市場分類。
  • 鎖定目標。選出最有可能購買其產品或服務的目標市場或群眾。
  • 定位。研究出什麼產品、價位、促銷活動和地點組合最容易吸引這些群眾來購買其產品。

聽起來好像很容易,但許多大公司都花數百萬美元做市場研究,目的就是為了精準找出目標市場,增加產品的成功率。每個市場很可能都已經有銷售類似產品的其他競爭者,所以分析、研究您的競爭者是非常重要的。

將目標受眾分離出來之後,市場研究人員就必須定義出自家產品與眾不同之處:是比競品還要好、還要快、還要便宜,或是還要高階呢?要找到答案,目標必須先瞭解目標受眾遇到的難題,以及如何用有創意的方式協助他們解決這些難題。企業會透過產品差異化,讓自家的產品和服務脫穎而出,成為某個問題的最佳解決方案,藉此創造競爭優勢。

為什麼企業需要做市場區隔,為什麼要專注於如何解決客戶問題呢?研究顯示,在每年上市的 30,000 種新產當中,95% 都以失敗收場。如果公司企業能先辨識出目標市場,找出目標群眾面臨的問題,打造能夠解決該問題的產品,就更有機會打敗競爭對手。

市場區隔的例子

企業會用不同的方式對市場做出區隔。下面舉三個例子

完全不做區隔。企業可能會使用大眾行銷的方式,透過無差異的策略將產品銷售給廣泛大眾。舉例來說,公司賣的若是像鹽巴這類容易取代的大眾化商品,可能不必花太多精力做市場區隔。

做少數區隔。公司可能會找出一個或少數幾個高度特異化的目標市場,為某項特殊產品開拓利基市場。例如:獨家訂製的高級時裝、手工藝術品、客製化機械零件等。

做非常細密的區隔。又叫做市場「超區隔」,讓市場研究人員可以針對每個細分出來的區隔市場建立獨特的行銷方式,與客戶維持更緊密而長久的關係。例如:髮型沙龍這類個人化服務、亞馬遜這種會根據買家消費記錄推薦類似商品的線上零售店。

市場區隔是確保產品行銷成功的第一步。無論業主想要行銷給消費者或商家,市場區隔都能幫助業主更加瞭解其客戶的問題以便提出解決方案。

5 大類市場區隔

您可以用很多方法區隔市場,以找到正確的目標受眾。五種最常見的區隔變數包括人口統計資料、心理變數、行為、地理位置和企業統計結構。

如何使用人口統計區隔

要做人口統計區隔,必須先假定擁有特定共同特徵的人,也會擁有類似的生活型態、品味和興趣,進而影響他們形成特定的購物習慣。人口統計資料經常會與其他區隔方式結合使用,以辨識出最有可能購買某項產品的目標市場。

人口統計資料包括年齡、性別、職業、收入、教育等各種因素,使用調查問卷是收集這些資料的方法之一,您可以在調查問卷中放上這些問題

  1. 您今年幾歲? 
  2. 您的家庭總收入是多少? 
  3. 您接受的最高教育程度是?
  4. 您的家庭有幾名成員?
  5. 您認同的自我性別是?
  6. 您住的房子是買的還是租的?
  7. 您主要住處的郵遞區號是?
  8. 您的婚姻狀況是已婚、離異或單身?
  9. 您的國籍或種族是?
  10. 您有幾名子女?

人口統計區隔的優勢是容易收集,您甚至可以透過政府來源,如美國勞工部數據或中華民國行政院主計處提供的家庭、收入、教育和健康等資訊來滿足行銷或商業用途。有些企業也會透過應用程式來追蹤接觸史、旅遊型態等更細的人口統計資料。用調查問卷收集的目標受眾人口統計資訊,比公開來源的研究資料來要具體而深入,更有機會變成可採取行動的深入解析。

做完人口統計區隔之後,市場研究人員還可以用相同的資訊來做客戶區隔,透過人口統計資料和行為資訊來判斷:

  • 自家產品的市場機會有多大。
  • 自家品牌與競爭品牌比起來怎麼樣。
  • 具備哪些人口統計特徵的人群最有可能購買其產品。
  • 怎麼樣的廣告活動最可能引起目標市場的熱烈迴響。

如果結合行為特徵和其他變數,人口統計區隔更能提供寶貴的深入解析,讓您知道目標市場當中的哪些特定客戶會購買產品,並更加瞭解如何用正確的行銷廣告吸引他們。

in-article-cta
您上次審視您的目標市場人口資料是什麼時候?
市場瞬息萬變。SurveyMonkey 消費者區隔解決方案能幫助您重新聚焦。
瞭解更多

如何使用心理變數區隔

心理變數區隔是將人們依照其性格、生活方式、社會地位、活動、興趣、意見主張、態度等特性分組。收集心理變數資料的目的在於揭露人們做出某種選擇背後的動機,剛好可以補全人口統計資訊的不足。

企業會透過心理變數市場區隔來瞭解:

  • 消費者對其產品或服務有何看法
  • 消費者真正想要的是什麼,以及原因
  • 其目前的產品或服務有哪些缺口和痛點
  • 未來的互動機會
  • 如何與其目標受眾溝通會更有效

市場研究人員會用三大調查問卷題型來收集心理變數資訊。

定性的開放式問題,舉例來說,詢問「您在……方面遇到最大的挑戰是什麼」這類問題,能讓您對於受訪者遇到的難題有更深的了解。

語意差異量表問題讓受訪者針對產品、公司或其他屬性作出評分,是市場研究人員瞭解他們態度的方法。

如何使用行為區隔

行為市場區隔旨在描述理想客戶購買過程的每一個具體步驟,包括他們想要什麼、為什麼想要、他們追求什麼效益,以及他們是透過什麼方式來尋找能滿足自身需求的產品或服務。

行為區隔可用來研究企業對消費者 (B2C) 和企業對企業 (B2B) 的市場區隔。企業一旦瞭解人們為什麼購買,就能更精準地傳遞行銷訊息。這些行為包括:

購買的理由。買家在意的是價格、評價、安全性,還是其他條件?他想要解決的問題是什麼?

場合或活動。消費者是為了某個假期或特殊節日購買的嗎?企業客戶是為了在年底前把預算花掉嗎? 

產品效益。買家想買的是最新科技、最安全的產品,還是想要成為第一個嘗試最新產品的人?

買家旅程階段。買家想要知道其他購買資訊嗎?還是他只想先買一次試試看? 

互動程度。買家是會關注您最新產品的死忠粉絲嗎?

這些是買家在購買產品時會展現出的一些行為模式。市場研究人員一旦瞭解消費者或其他企業為什麼購買其商品,就能把該資訊轉化成行銷策略的一部分,強化這些行為模式。

如何使用地理區隔

地理區隔是將人們根據其居住、工作、旅遊的地方分組。地理位置對購買習慣的影響很大,市場研究人員可以利用這些資訊來打造有效的行銷訊息。

市場研究人員會使用的地理區隔變數很多,包括國家、地區、縣市、鄉鎮、村里、氣候帶或郵遞區號等。除了這些以外,文化和人口密度 (都市或鄉下) 對市調研究來說也是關鍵變數。上述這些地點變數會影響人們遇到的問題,以及市場研究人員可以如何協助他們解決。

在不同氣候帶行銷不同植物,就是地理區隔很好的例子。天竺葵最適合生長在陽光普照的炎熱地區,而藍雲杉則適合有寒冷冬天的地區。市場研究人員必須深入了解一個地區的氣候,才能知道哪種植物、土壤和園藝用品在當地能夠賣得好。再舉一個咖啡公司的例子:市場研究人員必須瞭解一個地區的平均氣溫,才能知道熱咖啡和冰咖啡分別在什麼時候會賣得最好。

居住地與消費方式有極高的相關性,從吃的東西到開的車輛都會受影響。一個地區的文化規範也會影響人們的信仰和理念,導致他們特別偏好某些產品。舉例來說:在大城市的辦公室裡上班或在家工作,會影響一個人的穿著和使用的科技產品。地方旅遊業者也會利用地理行銷來推廣旅館、活動、餐廳。

地理區隔的優點是有很多線上資料來源,所以相對容易取得。有了地理區隔資訊,市場研究人員可以針對不同地點的目標受眾打造專屬的行銷訊息,也可以搭配其他區隔變數 (像是人口統計資料等),建立更完整的目標市場檔案庫。

in-article-cta
每年有多達數百萬人遷徙至不同的地方居住。您目標市場的地理組成是否已經改變了呢?只要幾個小時,讓 SurveyMonkey 消費者區隔解決方案幫助找到答案。
瞭解更多

如何使用企業統計區隔

企業統計區隔之於 B2B 企業,就如同人口統計區隔之於 B2C 企業。企業統計區隔旨在描述目標企業市場的特徵,包括產業類別、員工人數、法律結構、公司規模、財務狀況及其他商業相關變數。

B2C 企業的市場可能動輒就有好幾千名客戶,但 B2B 企業鎖定的目標市場可能只有少少幾家商業化公司。收集企業統計資料能讓市場研究人員瞭解一家企業在其目標市場中有何優勢和生存能力。他們會關注目標企業的財務表現和成長,以判斷某個區隔市場是正在成長或衰退。

企業統計資料可以從中央或地方政府的網站上、商業期刊或其他產業來源取得。市場研究人員也會用調查問卷收集其 B2B 目標市場的其他特定資料。

企業統計資料的例子包括:

產業分類 - 中華民國行業標準分類。

所有權和法律結構 - 所有權結構,包括獨資經營、有限責任公司、有限責任合夥公司、私有公司和公開發行股票公司。

經營年資 - 一家企業經營了多久,一定程度上反映了它的財務能力和產業經驗。

員工人數 - 員工人數可顯示一家公司有多大。

地點 - 地點可能包括辦公室、廠房或店面。

客戶和產品 - 這家企業製造或販售什麼產品?目標受眾是誰?

市場規模 - 他們的市場有多大?有哪些競爭者?

做市場區隔的好處

做好市場區隔,等於是為後續所有重要市場活動打下成功的基礎,包括產品概念的形成、產品發布、行銷訊息、廣告等。企業在這塊領域中投入了大筆資源,為的就是要瞭解理想中的客戶會面臨哪些問題,要如何開發有價值的產品和服務來解決這些問題。

花這麼多時間和精力做市場區隔,對企業到底有什麼好處?

更有效的廣告活動

2019 年,美國 P&G (幫寶適和汰漬等著名消費日用品的製造商) 花了 107 萬美元在廣告上,成為當年美國廣告花費第二高的公司。第一高是亞馬遜公司,砸下高達 110 億美元。

企業在重砸數十億美元做行銷和廣告之前,會先確切瞭解目標受眾是誰、需求是什麼。現代市場研究人員會從目標受眾身上收集大量資料,以確定他們打造出的行銷訊息會在對的時間吸引到對的消費者。

問卷調查是測試行銷訊息是否能打動目標受眾的好方法。市場研究人員會先假設調查問卷受訪者會如何反應,然後再用調查結果來打造更好的行銷訊息,讓宣傳活動更成功。

開發正中消費者需求的商品

企業經常有很多產品創意,但他們必須確定這些創意確實能解決目標受眾面臨的問題。如果不做市場區隔,可能會浪費時間和精力開發一項聽起來好像很酷的商品,結果根本賣不出去。

問卷調查可以用來測量目標市場的水溫。只要幾個小時,您就能夠迅速瞭解:

  • 自家公司是否正在解決目標市場遇到的問題。
  • 自家公司有哪些產品創意很有機會受到市場歡迎。
  • 自家公司的產品概念是否有適當的功能、包裝和標誌做搭配。
  • 買家會願意用多少價錢購買您的商品。

如果能精準設定目標受眾,然後從他們身上取得真實的回應,企業就能專注於開發目標受眾最有可能購買的產品。

in-article-cta
想知道您的新產品創意是否會成功嗎?SurveyMonkey 的產品概念分析解決方案能為您找到答案。您會獲得與產業基準比較後的產品績效計分卡。
瞭解更多

發現新的趨勢和機會

趨勢改變得很快。雖然社群媒體能讓您看出消費者的行為是否有改變,但如果沒有用其他方法進行測量的話,很難知道這些新的行為是否真的代表新的機會。

瞭解目標市場的行為是市場區隔的核心。當新的趨勢開始成形,市場研究人員必須瞭解它確實是全新的機會,或只是短暫的潮流。

發現客戶遇到的新問題、創造新的行銷訊息、測試新的產品概念,這些都是市場研究人員的職責。為了及時發現新機會,市場研究人員必須經常對目標受眾做調查,以瞭解他們的想法,以及他們是否依然對目前的產品感到滿意。

舉例來說,Y 世代的民眾佔了總消費量的 25%,因此是市場研究人員關注的重點群體之一。他們喜歡科技,是科技產品的最大消費群,而且比之前的世代還願意換牌子。如果您的目標受眾當中有 Y 世代的族群,要透過持續互動讓他們保持品牌忠誠度是一項很大的挑戰。

提供有助於公司順利營運的資訊

市場區隔能帶來與客戶相關的豐富數據,而且其他部門也能夠使用。以 B2B 企業來說,行銷和銷售的關係經常密不可分,銷售人員非常倚賴行銷部門收集到的有效潛在客戶名單來推動營收;定價人員也需要瞭解市場和競爭資訊以維持自家產品的價格競爭力;而製造部門絕對不想讓工廠作業員因為訂單量暴增而加班,讓他們知道買家需求趨勢能避免製造量趕不上需求的狀況。

市場區隔資料絕對不只對行銷部門有用,如果將這些資料分享給整個企業,您的客戶會獲得更好的服務。

建立品牌信任

一家企業的目標不會只是把產品賣給目標受眾而已,他們還必須與客戶建立關係,這樣客戶將來才會繼續購買他們的產品。一旦客戶開始認識、愛上並繼續購買某家企業的產品,這就表示他對這家企業有一定程度的品牌信任。

in-article-cta
您與您目標受眾之間的關係如何?
不知道要如何建立品牌信任嗎?SurveyMonkey 品牌追蹤器可以幫助您。
瞭解更多

做市場區隔可以看出哪些目標受眾很可能會購買,而且不只購買一次。透過建立良好的品牌形象,企業便能開始提升品牌知名度,並建立目標市場對自家品牌的信任。以客戶的信任為基礎,再加上有效的行銷訊息、新產品、有價值的內容,搭配當下的市場資訊,公司便能建立更好的客戶體驗,讓消費者和 B2B 客戶願意再次回來光顧。

iPhone 使用者、哈雷機車車主、星巴克的忠實客戶都是品牌信任的最佳體現。這些企業透過自家的產品和服務,成功建立了一群死忠粉絲。

對目標市場做市場區隔能讓您知道您理想中的客戶正面臨什麼樣的困難、會做出哪些行為。有了這些資訊,您才能建立真正有效的解決方案,培養客戶的長期信任,進而創造公司和客戶雙贏的局面。

開始進行您的市場研究

全球調查問卷受訪群

把您的調查問卷寄給具有代表性的樣本,收集有效的市場研究資料。

研究服務

讓我們的專業調查團隊協助您進行市場研究計畫。

專家解決方案

利用自動化的分析和報告程序來完成創意和產品概念測試。

SurveyMonkey Logo

5 types of market segmentation and how to use them

What is market segmentation?

“Any customer can have a car painted any color that he wants - so long as it is black.” Henry Ford

In the early days of marketing, companies offered products that were easy to manufacture without much concern for a customer’s need. In 1909, black paint dried the fastest, so that was the color of the car that all buyers purchased.

Today, marketers realize that customers have diverse needs. To identify what customers want, marketers have learned to divide people into market segments based on their demographics, behaviors, location, purchasing habits, and other factors that influence their buying patterns.

Market segmentation is the process of dividing a broad population into subgroups according to certain shared factors. These groups may have common demographics (age, gender, etc.), geographic location, attitudes, behaviors, or a combination of similar characteristics.

A consumer may belong to multiple market segments. For instance, a female may be a Millennial (gender and age demographic), living in a rural area (geographic location), who likes to buy her food locally (purchasing habit) from companies with a solid humanitarian ethic (attitude). 

Businesses perform market research to create market segments that include multiple variables. Their challenge is to find potential customers, known as their target market, that combine shared factors, making them the group that is most likely to buy their products and services.

Marketers use different segmentation strategies depending on their goals. The goal of market segmentation is to identify a target market or group of people.  Market segmentation will have greater emphasis on the geographic market segments (e.g. metro areas, DMAs, states, regions, countries).  Consumer segmentation is used to find out the behaviors and attitudes of those groups. Customer segmentation divides the existing customer base into separate groups. While the methods for study design, data collection, and analysis are similar, they focus on different aspects of segmentation.

in-article-cta
Do you know your target market’s characteristics?
Find out in minutes with SurveyMonkey Consumer Segmentation.
Learn more

Why use market segmentation?

The goal of market segmentation is to develop detailed profiles of each market segment. Once these segments are clearly defined, marketers choose the segments with the highest potential of buying their products and services.

To achieve that goal, marketers go through a three-step process that clarifies who people are and why they buy products.

  • Segment. Marketers divide the market into categories based on shared traits.
  • Target. They choose the market or target, who are most likely to buy their products.
  • Position. Marketers research what product, price, promotion, and place combinations will attract customers to buy their products.

Sound easy? Large companies spend millions of dollars researching markets to find the right target market that will increase a successful product's chances. Each market will likely have other companies who sell similar products, so research on competitors and their products is essential.

Once marketers isolate their target audience, they must define what is different about their product? Is it better, faster, cheaper, or more advanced than competitive products? To answer that question, marketers should understand their target audience's problems and how they can creatively solve those problems. Companies create a competitive advantage for themselves through product differentiation, helping their products and services stand out as solutions for buyers’ issues.

Graph of key drivers

Why should companies use the market segmentation process and focus on how to solve customer problems? According to research, over 30,000 new products are launched each year, and 95% of them fail. By identifying a target market, isolating their problems, and creating a product that solves those problems, marketers have a higher probability of success over their competitors.

Market segmentation examples

Companies use different approaches to segment their markets. Here are three examples:

No segmentation.  Companies use mass marketing to sell their products to everyone, using an undifferentiated strategy. For example, commodities like salt or generic items with many substitutes may not spend much effort segmenting their market.

Few segments. Firms may use one or more narrowly defined target markets to create a highly focused niche market for specialized products. Example: exclusive high fashion apparel, handmade art, or customized machinery parts.

Thousands of segments. Known as hyper-segmentation, marketers can customize a one-to-one marketing approach for each customer to develop a long-term relationship. For example, personalized services like hair salons and online retailers like Amazon offer personalized recommendations based on purchase history.

Market segmentation is the first step for successful product marketing. Whether companies are marketing to consumers or businesses, market segments help companies better understand their customers’ problems and solve them.

5 types of market segmentation

There are many ways to segment markets to find the right target audience. Five ways to segment markets include demographic, psychographic, behavioral, geographic, and firmographic segmentation.

How to use demographic segmentation

Demographic segmentation assumes that people with common characteristics will have similar lifestyle patterns, tastes, and interests that will influence their purchasing habits. Demographics are often combined with other segmentation approaches to develop target markets with the greatest likelihood of buying their products.

Demographics include factors like age, gender, occupation, income, and education. Surveys are one way to collect demographic information and may consist of these questions:

  1. What is your age? 
  2. What is your household income? 
  3. What is your highest level of education?
  4. How many members are in your household?
  5. What gender do you identify as?
  6. Do you own or rent your home?
  7. In what zip code is your primary residence?
  8. Are you married/divorced/single?
  9. What is your nationality/race?
  10. How many children do you have?

The advantage of demographic segmentation is that it is easy to collect. Government sources, including the Bureau of Labor Standards, provide household, income, education, and health data for marketing strategy and business goals. Companies have also developed apps that track more granular demographic data for contact tracing and travel patterns. Surveys also reveal the specific demographics of a target market instead of available research data sources and uncover actionable insights.

After using demographics for market segmentation, marketers can use this same information for customer segmentation. Using demographics and behaviors, they can identify:

  • How big the market opportunity is for their product.
  • How their brand compares to the competition.
  • Which demographics are most likely to buy our product or service.
  • Which advertising campaigns will resonate best with their target market.

When combined with behavior traits and other variables, demographic segmentation provides valuable insights to understand which specific customers within their target market will buy products and better understand how to reach them with the right marketing messages.

in-article-cta
Have you revisited your target market demographics lately?
Change happens fast. Get refocused with SurveyMonkey Consumer Segmentation.
Learn more

How to use psychographic segmentation 

Psychographic segmentation divides people into groups based on their personality, lifestyle, social status, activities, interests, opinions, and attitudes. Psychographics is an excellent complement to demographics because they identify the motivations behind why people make particular choices.

Companies use psychographics for market segmentation to understand:

  • How consumers perceive their products and services
  • What consumers really want—and why
  • Gaps or pain points with their current products or services
  • Opportunities for future engagement 
  • How to better communicate with their target audience

Marketers collect psychographic information using three types of survey questions.

Open-ended questions that use a qualitative approach include a question like, “What is your biggest challenge with…” will provide a deeper understanding of the respondent's problems.

Likert scale questions show how much the respondent agrees or disagrees with a statement, like “strongly agree” to “strongly disagree,” letting marketers know how important the topic is to them.

Semantic differential scale questions ask people to rate a product, brand, company, or other attributes, helping marketers understand their attitude.

How to use behavioral segmentation

Behavioral market segmentation describes specific steps in their ideal customer’s buying process, including what their ideal customers want, why they want it, the benefits sought, and how they go about getting their needs met.

Behavioral segmentation is used to study B2C and B2B market segments. When companies understand why people buy, they can better target their marketing messaging. Behaviors can include:

Purchasing reason. Are buyers searching for the best price, excellent ratings, safety considerations, or other criteria? What problem are they trying to solve?

Occasion or event.  Are consumers buying for a holiday or anniversary? Are B2B buyers trying to use up their budget before year-end? 

Product benefits. Is the buyer looking to purchase the latest technology, safest product, or be the first to buy the newest product?

Buyer’s journey stage. Does the buyer want information for a future purchase? Or are they looking to try out the brand for the first time? 

Engagement level. Is the buyer a die-hard fan looking for the latest product?

These are a few of the behaviors that buyers exhibit when they are purchasing products. When marketers know why consumers or businesses are buying their products, they can make it part of their marketing strategy to address those behaviors.

How to use geographic segmentation

Geographic segmentation allows marketers to group people based on where they live, work, or travel. The location has a significant influence on buying habits that marketers can use to develop their marketing messages.

Marketers use various geographic segmentation variables that include the country, region, state, province, town, climate zone, or zip code. Culture and population density (urban or rural) are also crucial variables to include in their market research. These location variables will influence what problems people have in that region and how marketers can solve it.

Global consumer panels

An example of geographic segmentation is marketing plants based on the climate zone. Geraniums will be best for hot and sunny locations and blue spruce for places with a harsh winter. Knowing the geographic area's details helps marketers identify which plants, soil, and gardening accessories will sell best in each climate. Here’s a similar example for a coffee company: knowing average temperatures can help marketers know when to market hot drinks vs. iced drinks at the local level.

Where a person lives can influence everything from their food choices to the car they drive. Cultural norms of the area influence their beliefs, causing them to choose one product over another. For instance, working in an office in a big city versus working from home will affect what they wear and what technology they use. Travel destinations also use geographic marketing to promote hotels, activities, and restaurants in the area.

The benefit of geographic segmentation is that the data is relatively easy to collect through online data sources. Marketers can also hone their messaging to the target audience of a specific location or combine it with other segmentation variables, like demographics, to build a complete profile of their target market.

in-article-cta
Millions of people move each year. Have your target market geographic profiles changed? Find out in hours with SurveyMonkey Consumer Segmentation.
Learn more

How to use firmographic segmentation

Firmographic segmentation is to B2B marketers what demographics is for B2C marketers. Firmographics explain their business target market characteristics and include their industry, number of employees, legal status, company size, financial standing, and other business-related variables.

A B2C market may have thousands of customers, but a B2B target market may have only a few large commercial companies in their target market. Firmographics provide information for marketers who want to understand companies' strengths and viability within their target market. They focus on their financial performance and growth trends to see if the market segment is growing or experiencing a decline.

Firmographic data is available through online sources like federal and state government websites, trade journals, and other industry sources. Marketers also use surveys to collect specific data about their B2B target market. 

Firmographic data examples include:

Industry classification - North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

Ownership and Legal Status - Ownership status, including sole proprietorships, limited liability corporations (LLCs), limited liability partnerships, private corporations, and public shareholder-owned corporations. 

Years in Business - Years in business can be an indicator of financial strength and industry experience.

Number of Employees - The number of employees shows how large the company is. 

Location - Locations may include offices, manufacturing plants, or stores. 

Customers and Products - What products the company makes or sells and who their target audience is.

Market Size - How large is their market, and who are their competitors.

Benefits of market segmentation

Market segmentation is the basis for successful product concepts, launches, marketing messages, advertising, and other critical marketing activities. Companies invest crucial resources into understanding their ideal customer’s problems to solve those challenges with valuable products and services.

After investing time and effort into market segmentation, what is the benefit for companies?

Better advertising campaigns

In 2019, Proctor and Gamble, maker of consumer goods like Tide and Gain, spent $10.7 billion on advertising, making them the #2 advertiser in the US. Who claimed the top spot? Amazon, which spent $11 billion.

Companies spend billions of dollars on marketing and advertising when they know exactly who their audience is and what they want. Marketers now collect vast amounts of data on their target audience to ensure their marketing messages appeal to the right customer, at the right time, for the right products.

Surveys are a great way to test marketing messages to see if they resonate with the target audience. They start by creating a hypothesis about how they think their survey respondents will react. The survey results help them build better messages and more successful campaigns.

Develop on-target products

Companies have great ideas for new products, but they must determine if those ideas solve a problem for their target audience. Without market segmentation, companies will waste time and effort on a product that sounds good but doesn’t sell.

Surveys help take the pulse of a target market. Within a few hours, companies can quickly find out if:

  • They are solving a problem for their target market.
  • One or more of their ideas is a clear winner.
  • Their product concept has the right features, packaging, and logo.
  • If buyers will purchase the product and what price they will pay.

Getting the correct answers from a well-defined target market helps companies focus on successful products that their audience will buy.

in-article-cta
SurveyMonkey’s Product Concept Analysis will tell you if that new product idea is a winner. Receive a product performance scorecard with industry benchmarks.
Learn more

Identify new trends and opportunities

Trends change quickly. Social media can provide insights into new customer behaviors, but marketers don't know if they are viable opportunities unless those behaviors are measured. 

Understanding the behavior of a target market is the core of market segmentation. As new trends take hold, it is up to marketers to find out which ones are new opportunities and which ones will disappear overnight.

Marketers are responsible for identifying emerging customer problems, defining new marketing messages, and testing new product concepts. To identify new opportunities, marketers need to frequently test their target audiences for new insights and verify if customers still enjoy existing products.

For instance, Millennials represent 25% of purchases, making them a critical group to watch for many marketers. They like technology, are the biggest spenders and are much more willing to switch brands than previous generations. If Millennials are part of a target audience, staying engaged while keeping them loyal customers is a significant challenge.

Provide input to business operations

Market segmentation contains a robust data set that includes customer data that other departments can use to help the company succeed. In B2B companies, the Marketing and Sales departments are often closely linked, with Sales depending on Marketing to generate qualified leads that drive greater revenue. The department in charge of pricing products also needs market and competitive data to correctly price products, helping them maintain a competitive edge. And no manufacturing division suddenly wants to work overtime because of a sudden need for 100,000 widgets to meet increased demand, so sharing buyer trends demand keeps production on track.

Market segmentation data is not meant just for the Marketing department. It should be shared so the entire company can serve its customers.

Establish brand trust

Companies want to do more than just sell products to their target audience. They want to establish a relationship with their customers, so they keep buying from products. When customers know, love, and continually buy a company’s products, they have created a brand trust.

in-article-cta
What kind of relationship do you have with your audience?
Find out what it takes to build brand trust with SurveyMonkey Brand Tracker.
Learn more

Market segmentation identifies which audience is most likely to buy not just once but also to make future purchases. By creating a brand identity that customers appreciate, firms start to raise brand awareness and build a trusted relationship with their target market. They stay focused on that trust, creating marketing messaging, new products, valuable content, and current information, creating a customer experience that keeps consumers and B2B clients returning for future purchases.

Apple iPhone users, Harley Davidson bike owners, and Starbucks coffee drinkers are just a few examples of brand trust. These companies invested in their products and services to create die-hard fans of their products.

Target market segmentation helps marketers understand their ideal customers' problems and behaviors, creating solutions that build a long-term brand trust that benefits both parties.

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting