產品

SurveyMonkey 能滿足各種使用案例和需求。歡迎探索我們的產品,瞭解 SurveyMonkey 能為您提供什麼協助。

從全球首屈一指的線上調查問卷中,獲取以資料為導向的深入分析。

可與超過 100 款應用程式和外掛程式整合,讓您事半功倍。

建立並自訂線上表單,以收集資訊和付款方式。

利用內建的 AI 打造更優質的調查問卷並快速獲得獨到見解。

依實際需求量身打造解決方案,滿足您所有的市場研究需求。

範本

測量客戶對貴公司的滿意度和忠誠度。

瞭解如何讓客戶滿意,使他們成為您忠實的擁護者。

取得可化為實際行動的深入解析,以改善使用者的體驗。

向潛在客戶、受邀人等對象收集聯絡資訊。

輕鬆收集並追蹤活動邀請回函。

瞭解參加者的需要,使下一場活動更成功。

發掘能提升員工參與度並改善績效的深入解析。

瞭解與會者的想法和意見,把下一場會議辦得更好。

運用同儕意見回饋來協助員工改善績效。

打造更好的課程並改善教學方法。

瞭解學生對課程資料和教學狀況的評價。

瞭解客戶對您的新產品構想有何看法。

相關資源

使用調查問卷和調查資料的最佳實務

有關問卷調查、給企業的訣竅及其他主題的內容,都在我們的部落格。

SurveyMonkey 的使用教學與指南。

頂尖品牌如何透過 SurveyMonkey 推動成長。

瞭解 SurveyMonkey 如何有效地分析調查問卷資料,並協助您輕鬆打造更優質的調查問卷。

SurveyMonkey 標誌

您的線上調查問卷結果出爐了!接下來就得開始執行資料分析工作,以確實瞭解這些調查結果背後的意義、用簡明易懂的方式呈現,並做出相應的行動。有了調查結果統計數據,也擬定好資料分析計畫後,您就可以開始針對收到的結果進行統計分析了。SurveyMonkey 的調查問卷研究科學家是這樣分析並理解定量資料 (不同於定性資料) 的:他們會將報告重點環繞在能夠回答研究問題的問卷回覆上。即便是專家,要從原始資料獲得深入的見解也相當棘手。

為了達成調查目標,您可以採用我們內部專家所建議的問卷調查研究方法。這樣一來,一旦調查結果出爐後,您就能夠運用我們提供的所有資料分析工具,包括統計分析、資料分析、表格和圖表等,有效地分析您的資料。

讓分析師加入您的團體方案,使資料能發揮更大的影響力。

完善的資料分析能力是獲得重要資訊和解析,以制定明智商業決策的關鍵。不過,您同時也要注意有哪些問卷設計的潛在誤區會把分析工作變得更複雜,或影響分析結果。 

使用太多開放式問題會讓分析工作更耗時、更複雜,因為它們產生的調查結果是質性的,沒有可以量化的標準。反之,封閉式問題產生的調查結果分析起來就容易許多。具誘導性或偏誤的問題,或太撲朔迷離、錯綜複雜的問題,也會為分析工作帶來巨大負擔。擁有正確的工具和實做知識,能使您輕鬆又有效地分析調查結果。

進一步閱讀如何使用封閉式與開放式問題

SurveyMonkey 具備充分的資料分析技術,能協助您把原始資料輕鬆化為可操作的深入解析,並用美觀易懂的圖表呈現。您可利用自動製作圖表和文字雲等功能,將硬邦邦的資料變成栩栩如生的知識。舉例來說,情感分析能夠從好幾十萬或百萬則的文字回覆中,立即辨別出人們的整體情緒。您可以查看正面、中性和負面情緒的整體摘要,或進一步篩選各個情緒的詳情,以看出特別需要關注的問題。如果要挖掘更深入的細節,您也可以就單一問題查看不同情緒的回答。這麼做就等於把文字回覆變成一組量化的資料了!

文字雲是將最常出現的字詞用視覺畫面呈現出來,讓您能快速解讀開放式回覆的要點。您可用各種方式自訂文字雲的樣貌,包括選擇特定文字的色彩或字體、隱藏無關緊要的字詞等等。

我們提供非常多樣的功能和工具,能幫助您解決分析上的難題,並快速產生圖表及有力的報告。瞭解如何透過 SurveyMonkey 迅速完成上司突然要求的書面報告。

準備好踏出第一步了嗎?

  1. 檢視最主要的那幾道調查問卷問題
  2. 決定樣本大小
  3. 使用交叉分析表篩選結果
  4. 基準、趨勢和比較資料
  5. 處理數據
  6. 推斷出結論

首先,讓我們說明要如何用主要研究問題計算調查結果。實證研究問題是您問卷中最重要的部分嗎?您有考慮進行概率抽樣嗎?別忘了,您的主要研究問題應該在您設定調查目標時,就已經大概想好了。

舉例來說,假設您舉辦了一場教育會議,然後邀請與會來賓填寫活動後意見調查,則您的主要研究問題可能會是:「與會來賓對本次會議的整體評價如何?」現在,您必須挑出由這道主要問題所衍伸出的具體問題,然後檢視所收集到的回答:

您預計明年還會參加這場會議嗎?

答案選項
71%852
不會18%216
不確定11%132
總計1,200

注意到了嗎?您已經從回覆獲得了幾個百分比 (71%、18%) 和原始數據了 (852、216)。這些百分比代表了選取特定答案的人的數量百分比。換句話說,這些百分比表示在回答該問題的所有人當中,選取各個答案的人各佔多少比例。如此看來,在您的受訪者當中,有 71% 的受訪者 (1,200 名受訪者中的 852 名) 預計明年會再次參加。

此表也顯示有 18% 的受訪者明年不打算參加,而 11% 的受訪著表示不確定。

充分瞭解樣本大小,是確保您能正確並有效分析調查結果的關鍵因素之一。樣本大小指的是需要有多少人接受調查並完成回覆,您的調查結果才會具有統計顯著性。即使您是統計學家,決定調查樣本數量也決不是簡單的差事。不過,SurveyMonkey 提供的誤差範圍計算器可為您免去瞎猜和處理複雜運算的過程,直接替您算出您必須調查多少人,才能確保調查結果的誤差範圍不會太大。

您可以對 SurveyMonkey Audience 在全球超過 130 個國家合作的 1.75 億名受訪者有信心。

還記得嗎?當您在設定調查問卷目標並制訂分析計畫時,曾思考過要把哪些子群組的受訪者拿出來作分析與比較,現在要開始執行當初的計畫了。舉例來說,假設您想知道教師、學生及行政人員分別如何回答「明年是否會再次參加本會議」,為了進行比較,您會需要製作交叉分析表,以統計出每個子群組的回答狀況:

不會不確定總計
教師80%
320
7%
28
13%
52
400
行政人員46%
184
40%
160
14%
56
400
學生86%
344
8%
32
6%
24
400
受訪者人數8522161321,200

從這個表格可以看出大多數學生 (86%) 及老師 (80%) 都打算明年繼續參加這個會議。但是,與會的行政人員則不同,只有不到一半 (46%) 的人願意參加!我們其他的調查問卷問題可望協助您找出原因,瞭解如何針對行政人員改善會議內容,讓他們更願意明年繼續參加。

在進行資料建模時,您也可以運用篩選器來輔助資料分析。篩選指的是將資料範圍縮小到一個特定的子群組,並排除其他子群組。也就是說,此時的任務不是在不同的子群組之間互相比較,而是想知道某個特定群組如何回答某個問題。結合不同的篩選器有助於進一步查明資料的準確性。

例如,您可將範圍限制在僅限女性 (或僅限男性);接著再依與會來賓的身分類型重新製作交叉分析表,以比較女性行政人員、女性教師及女性學生的結果。當您在對資料做分析篩選時,有一件事必須特別留意:每套用一組篩選器或交叉分析表,您的樣本就會變小。為了確保結果具有統計顯著性,建議您使用樣本大小計算工具

當您想要快速呈現資料分析結果,而且確保人人都能理解時,運用圖表可說是不二法門。SurveyMonkey 的圖表工具能幫助您將分析結果用清晰且脈絡化的方式呈現出來,使資料更容易被理解和使用。  

交叉列表又稱交叉分析表報告,是用來深入檢視數據資料一項很有用的工具。交叉分析表會將您的資料製表,依相同背景或相同回覆將受訪者分成群組,讓您可以比較不同群組分別怎麼回答。這麼做能更加瞭解不同群組的受訪者,並看出他們之間的主要差異。

假設您的會議意見調查問卷上有一題關鍵問題是:「整體而言,您對本次會議的滿意程度為何?」 

您的結果顯示,有 75% 的與會者滿意本次會議。聽起來是非常棒的結果。不過,您應該會希望有一些其他內容,可供您與自己的結果做比較。比方說,本次會議比去年好嗎?或是比較差?不過,要如何才能與其他會議比較呢?

您可透過基準化分析,將當前收集到的資料與過去的資料做比較,以判斷您所在的產業和市場正在經歷什麼變化,以及您與競爭對手的表現差異。

假設您在去年會後的會議意見調查問卷中也問了相同的問題,那麼您就能進行趨勢比較了。專業的調查人員經常說「趨勢是你的朋友」,如果去年的滿意度是 60%,那就表示今年滿意度提升 15 個百分點了!至於滿意度提升的原因,調查問卷中其他問題的回覆應該要能提供一些答案。

如果您沒有去年會議的資料,那麼就從今年開始,每年都持之以恆地收集會議後意見吧。這就是基準化分析的精髓:建立一個基準或基線值,往後就能將新的數據與之比較,直接看出變化趨勢。除了與會來賓的滿意度之外,其他問題也都可以做基準化分析,使您能年復一年地追蹤與會來賓對同一場會議的想法,這就叫作縱向資料分析

您甚至可以追蹤不同子群組的資料。假設學生及教師滿意度每年均有增加,但行政人員的滿意度卻沒有增加,您就能仔細檢視行政人員對各個問題的回覆,以便找出行政人員滿意度較其他與會者低的原因。

現在您已經知道有多少人表示會再次參加這場會議了,但您要如何確定這些回答確實值得信賴呢?這些回答真的能幫助您做出更完善的決策嗎?您必須注意資料品質夠不夠好,同時也必須瞭解統計顯著性的各項組成要素。

在日常生活中,「顯著」這個詞是表示「重要」或「有意義」的;而在調查問卷分析及統計的領域中,「顯著」所代表的是「評估的準確性」。這就是為什麼調查結果中總是會有數值用「正負多少」來表達,具體來說,它的意思是該調查結果的準確度有達到夠特定的信心水準,而不是誤打誤撞的。我們不應該用不準確 (不具統計顯著性) 的結果來推導結論,因為那會帶來很大的風險。在評估統計顯著性時,您首要的考慮因素是樣本的代表性,也就是實際接受調查的這群人,與您想研究的目標群眾在組成上有多「相似」。

如果完成調查問卷的人當中有 90% 為男性,但男性只佔所有與會來賓人數的 15%,那可就麻煩大了。若您對您想研究的群眾認識越深,當數據越符合您對這些群眾的瞭解時,您對調查結果就能更具信心。在這個例子中,您會希望完成調查問卷的受訪者有 15% 為男性,因為這就表示您的樣本相當具有代表性。

如果您的調查樣本是從一群已知的族群中隨機挑選的,就能夠用很直接的方式來推算出統計顯著性。在這裡,樣本大小是主要影響因素之一。假設 1,000 名與會來賓當中,只有 50 人回覆您的調查問卷,五十 (50) 是一組很小的樣本,會產生很大的誤差範圍。簡而言之,您的調查結果不會具有顯著性。

假設您詢問調查問卷受訪者,在會議中的 10 個小組座談會中參加了幾個,而您得到的結果如下:

12345678910總計平均分數
出席 # 場10%
100
0%
0
0%
0
5%
50
10%
100
26%
280
24%
240
19%
190
5%
50
1%
10
1,0006.1

建議您針對分析平均值進行分析。別忘了,平均值有三種,分別為平均數、中位數及眾數。

在上方表格中,參與座談會的平均數為 6.1。這裡回報的平均值為平均數,應該是您最熟悉的平均值。若要確定平均數,您可以將數據加總,並除以您加總數據的量。在此範例中,有 100 位受訪者參與了 1 個座談會;50 位受訪者參與了 4 個座談會;而 100 位受訪者參與了 5 個座談會,以此類推。因此,您將這些數字相乘後加總,並除以與會者總數。

中位數則是另一種平均值。中位數就是中間值,也就是落在 50% 這個位置的值。從上面的與會者出席場次數目表來看,我們可以找到一個剛好把受訪者分為左邊 500 人和右邊 500 人的中間點。也就是說,中位數就是「6」個場次。這個數字能排除離群值 (極端值) 對整體資料造成的負面影響。

最後一種平均數是眾數。眾數是指最常見的回覆。在這個例子中,眾數是六。260 位調查問卷參與者參加了 6 個座談會,在其他座談會參加的次數中,6 次是出現最多次的。

如果您的調查結果是來自李克特量表,就也能使用平均數及其他類型的平均值來做分析。

當您要把調查結果做成報告時,先想想這些資料可闡明什麼敘事觀點。

假設您的會議獲得了毫不出色的整體評分,那麼您可以深入探討其中的原因。您的資料可能顯示與會來賓對這場會議的每個方面幾乎都給予極高的評價,包括各場會議、課程、社交活動及飯店等,唯獨就對本次會議舉辦的城市極不滿意。(或許是因為時逢寒冷的 1 月,會議地點辦在北海道根本不適合出門!)

這就是您可以採用的敘事:會議辦得很精采,但地點選得不好。若要在冬天舉辦會議,宿霧或台北或許是比較好的選擇。

在做資料分析和報告時,因果及相關也是您應該思考的面向。

每個人消化理解資訊的方式不盡相同。幸好,SurveyMonkey 提供了五花八門的資料分析方式,讓您能依照不同目標,用不同的方式獲取並呈現資訊,還能建立各式各樣的圖表和報告,使調查結果更容易被理解。

以下幾個常見問題或許能為您提供分析資料的方向:

縱向資料分析 (也稱為「趨勢分析」) 基本上就是追蹤特定因素隨著時間的變化。一旦建立好基準,往後就能判斷數據是否有所變化,以及變化的情形。假設您的會議滿意度在三年前為 50%,兩年前為 55%,去年為 65%,而今年為 75%——恭喜!您會議滿意度正在逐年上升!您的縱向資料分析結果顯示了滿意度呈持續上升的趨勢。

因果關係描述的是一個因素導致另一個因素發生;而相關性描述的則是兩個變數雖然同時發生變化,但該變化並非來自彼此的影響。例如,喝熱可可和戴毛手套是有相關性的兩個變數:當喝熱可可的人變多時,戴毛手套的人也會變多。但這兩件事並沒有哪個是因、哪個是果,它們都是由第三個因素 (天氣變冷) 所造成的。

天氣變冷會影響熱可可的飲用量,以及戴毛手套的可能性。寒冷的天氣是自變數,而熱可可的飲用量及戴毛手套的可能性則是應變數。以前述之會議意見調查問卷的例子來說,寒冷的天氣可能會使與會者對會議所在的城市感到不滿意,進而影響對會議整體的滿意度。

最後,若要進一步瞭解調查問卷中變數間的關係,必須進行迴歸分析。

迴歸分析是一種進階的資料視覺化及分析方法,可讓您檢視兩個以上的變數之間的關係。迴歸分析有許多類型,而調查問卷科學家會依所要探討的變數來選擇要使用哪種迴歸分析。不過,所有的迴歸分析方法都有一個共同點——其目的都是為了探討某一或多個自變數對某一應變數的影響。在分析調查問卷資料時,我們可能會想知道哪個因素對與會者的會議滿意度影響最大。是會議場次的數目嗎?主講者嗎?是社交活動嗎?還是地點?透過迴歸分析,調查問卷科學家就能判斷與會者對會議各個面向的滿意度,怎麼影響他們整體的滿意度。

這個結果便能告訴您下次可以做什麼改變,讓會議更成功。假設您付了一大筆錢邀請一流的演講人來當擔任開場主講,而與會來賓對這位主講人及整體會議都給了很高評價。光看這兩件事實,您可能會直覺認為邀請又貴又厲害的主講人是會議成功的關鍵,而迴歸分析可以協助您判斷是否果真如此。也許您會發現,主講人的聲望確實是影響會議滿意度的最大關鍵,若是如此,明年您可能得考慮再次邀請有名的主講人。但如果迴歸分析顯示出,雖然大家對主講人都非常滿意,但這件事並沒有特別影響來賓對會議的滿意度,若是如此,您或許可以考慮把這筆高昂的演講費花在其他更重要地方。

如果您花時間仔細地分析調查問卷資料的健全性,就會更加瞭解要如何運用手上的資料,協助您做出更完善的決策。

調查問卷資料是您最強大的工具之一

透過不陳腐、不無聊、又能帶出深刻見解的資料分析方式,您可以推動公司成長,還能深化客戶關係並維持公司競爭力。SurveyMonkey 提供多樣化的方案,讓您不用擔心超出預算。 

工具組目錄

探索我們專為特定角色或產業設計的眾多工具組,幫助您善加利用意見回饋。

探索 SurveyMonkey Enterprise 功能

利用 SurveyMonkey 的企業級安全性、隱私與合規標準,以及資料整合功能,大規模地管理意見回饋。

了解頂級品牌如何利用 SurveyMonkey 推動業務成長

加入一流品牌的行列,使用 SurveyMonkey 打造可推動業務成長的致勝產品和體驗。

透過及時品牌追蹤深入解析,推動品牌策略

善用工具管理品牌健全度、提升品牌知名度,並使品牌觀感隨著時間進化。註冊免費帳戶,立即試用品牌追蹤調查問卷。

收集調查問卷資料可使用調查問卷收集特定受訪者的相關資訊。收集調查問卷資料可取代或補充其他資料收集類型 (包括訪談、焦點小組等) 的不足。使用調查問卷收集到的資料也可以提高員工向心力、瞭解消費者行為並改善顧客體驗。

縱向資料分析 (也稱為「趨勢分析」) 基本上就是追蹤特定因素隨著時間的變化。一旦建立好基準,往後就能判斷數據是否有所變化,以及變化的情形。假設您的會議滿意度在三年前為 50%,兩年前為 55%,去年為 65%,而今年為 75%——恭喜!您會議滿意度正在逐年上升!您的縱向資料分析結果顯示了滿意度呈持續上升的趨勢。

因果關係是指兩個因素一個為「因」,一個為「果」,而相關性則是指兩個變數會一起變動,但兩者卻不會互相影響。比如說,喝熱可可和戴毛手套分別為彼此有相關性的兩個變數——當越多人開始喝熱可可,也會有越多人開始戴毛手套;反之亦然。但是,這兩件事並不會相互影響。事實上,它們都同樣受制於另一項因素,也就是天氣——當天氣變寒冷,這些行為就會出現。天氣冷會增加熱可可的銷售量,同時也會提高人們戴毛手套的可能性。天氣冷是獨立的變數,而熱可可的銷售量及人們戴毛手套的可能性則是彼此相關的變數。以會議意見調查問卷這個例子來說,天氣冷可能會導致與會者對會議所在城市不滿意,進而影響對會議整體的滿意度。最後,若要進一步瞭解調查問卷中各個變數之間的關係,您必須進行迴歸分析。

迴歸分析是一種進階的資料視覺化及分析方法,可讓您檢視兩個以上的變數之間的關係。迴歸分析有許多類型,而調查問卷科學家會依所要探討的變數來選擇要使用的迴歸分析類型。然而,所有的迴歸分析方法都有一個共同點——它們的目的都是為了探討一或多個自變項對某個依變項的影響。在分析調查問卷資料時,我們可能會想知道影響與會者對會議滿意度的最重大因素為何。是座談會的數量嗎?是主講人嗎?是社交活動的內容嗎?還是場地?透過迴歸分析,調查問卷科學家就能判斷與會者對會議各個面向的滿意度,分別如何影響他們對會議整體的滿意度。

這種方式也能提供一些深入分析和見解,告訴您下次會議時可以改進的部分。假設您付了很大一筆費用請主講者來主持您的第一場座談會。與會者對這位主講者及會議整體給出了很高評價。根據這兩個因素,您可能會認為邀請有名 (且昂貴) 的主講者是會議成功的關鍵。迴歸分析可以協助您判斷是不是果真如此。您可能會發現,主講者的聲望是會議滿意度的主要因素。若是如此,明年您可能會再次邀請有名的主講者。但假設迴歸分析顯示出,雖然所有人都喜歡主講者,但這對於與會者對會議的滿意度並沒有多大的幫助。若真是如此,您或許應該考慮把這筆費用花在其他方面。如果您花時間仔細地分析調查問卷資料的健全性,就會更加瞭解要如何運用手上的資料,協助您做出更明智的決策。

馬上行動,讓我們協助您進行分析。

Products

SurveyMonkey is built to handle every use case and need. Explore our product to learn how SurveyMonkey can work for you.

Get data-driven insights from a global leader in online surveys.

Integrate with 100+ apps and plug-ins to get more done.

Build and customize online forms to collect info and payments.

Create better surveys and spot insights quickly with built-in AI.

Purpose-built solutions for all of your market research needs.

Templates

Measure customer satisfaction and loyalty for your business.

Learn what makes customers happy and turn them into advocates.

Get actionable insights to improve the user experience.

Collect contact information from prospects, invitees, and more.

Easily collect and track RSVPs for your next event.

Find out what attendees want so that you can improve your next event.

Uncover insights to boost engagement and drive better results.

Get feedback from your attendees so you can run better meetings.

Use peer feedback to help improve employee performance.

Create better courses and improve teaching methods.

Learn how students rate the course material and its presentation.

Find out what your customers think about your new product ideas.

Resources

Best practices for using surveys and survey data

Our blog about surveys, tips for business, and more.

Tutorials and how to guides for using SurveyMonkey.

How top brands drive growth with SurveyMonkey.

Contact SalesLog in
Contact SalesLog in

Learn how SurveyMonkey can help you analyze your survey data effectively, as well as create better surveys with ease.

SurveyMonkey logo


The results are back from your online surveys. Now it’s time to tap the power of survey data analysis to make sense of the results and present them in ways that are easy to understand and act on.After you’ve collected statistical survey results and have a data analysis plan, it’s time to begin the process of calculating survey results you got back. Here’s how our survey research scientists make sense of quantitative data (versus qualitative data). They structure their reporting around survey responses that will answer research questions. Even for the experts, it can be hard to parse the insights in raw data. 

In order to reach your survey goals, you’ll want to start with relying on the survey methodology suggested by our experts. Then once you have results, you can effectively analyze them using all the data analysis tools available to you including statistical analysis, data analytics, and charts and graphs that capture your survey metrics.

Add analysts to any team plan for even bigger impact.

Sound survey data analysis is key to getting the information and insights you need to make better business decisions. Yet it’s important to be aware of potential challenges that can make analysis more difficult or even skew results. 

Asking too many open-ended questions can add time and complexity to your analysis because it produces qualitative results that aren’t numerically based. Meanwhile, closed-ended questions generate results that are easier to analyze. Analysis can also be hampered by asking leading or biased questions or posing questions that are confusing or too complex. Being equipped with the right tools and know-how helps assure that survey analysis is both easy and effective.

With its many data analysis techniques, SurveyMonkey makes it easy for you to turn your raw data into actionable insights presented in easy-to-grasp formats. Features such as automatic charts and graphs and word clouds help bring data to life. For instance, Sentiment Analysis allows you to get an instant summary of how people feel from thousands or even millions of open text responses. You can review positive, neutral, and negative sentiments and a glance or filter by sentiment to identify areas that need attention. For even deeper insights, you can filter a question by sentiment. Imagine being able to turn all those text responses into a quantitative data set.

Word clouds let you quickly interpret open-ended responses through a visual display of the most frequently used words. You can customize the look of your word clouds in a range of ways from selecting colors or fonts for specific words to easily hiding non-relevant words.

Our wide range of features and tools can help you address analysis challenges, and quickly generate graphics and robust reports. Check out how a last-minute report request can be met in a snap through SurveyMonkey.

Ready to get started?

  1. Take a look at your top survey questions
  2. Determine sample size
  3. Use cross tabulation to filter your results
  4. Benchmarking, trending, and comparative data
  5. Crunch the numbers
  6. Draw conclusions

First, let’s talk about how you’d go about calculating survey results from your top research questions. Did you feature empirical research questions? Did you consider probability sampling? Remember that you should have outlined your top research questions when you set a goal for your survey.

For example, if you held an education conference and gave attendees a post-event feedback survey, one of your top research questions may look like this: How did the attendees rate the conference overall? Now take a look at the answers you collected for a specific survey question that speaks to that top research question:

Do you plan to attend this conference next year?

Answer choices
Yes71%852
No18%216
Not sure11%132
Total1,200

Notice that in the responses, you’ve got some percentages (71%, 18%) and some raw numbers (852, 216). The percentages are just that—the percent of people who gave a particular answer. Put another way, the percentages represent the number of people who gave each answer as a proportion of the number of people who answered the question. So, 71% of your survey respondents (852 of the 1,200 surveyed) plan on coming back next year.

This table also shows you that 18% say they are planning to return and 11% say they are not sure.

Having a good understanding of sample size is also key to making sure you are accurately and effectively analyzing your survey results. Sample size is how many people you need to take your survey and complete responses to make it statistically viable. Even if you’re a statistician, determining survey sample size can be a challenge. But SurveyMonkey takes the guesswork and complexity out of the process with its easy-to-use margin of error calculator that helps you determine how many people you need to survey to ensure your results help you avoid your margin or error.

Trust the panel of respondents provided by SurveyMonkey Audience—175M+ people across 130+ countries.

Recall that when you set a goal for your survey and developed your analysis plan, you thought about what subgroups you were going to analyze and compare. Now is when that planning pays off. For example, say you wanted to see how teachers, students, and administrators compared to one another their responses about attending next year’s conference. To figure this out, you want to dive into response rates by means of cross tabulation, or use cross tab reports, where you show the results of the conference question by subgroup:

YesNoNot sureTotal
Teacher80%
320
7%
28
13%
52
400
Administrator46%
184
40%
160
14%
56
400
Student86%
344
8%
32
6%
24
400
Total respondents8522161321,200

From this table you see that a large majority of the students (86%) and teachers (80%) plan to come back next year. However, the administrators who attended your conference look different, with under half (46%) of them intending to come back! Hopefully, some of our other questions will help you figure out why this is the case and what you can do to improve the conference for administrators so more of them will return year after year.

A filter is another method of data analysis when you’re modeling data. Filtering means narrowing your focus to one particular subgroup, and filtering out the others. So, instead of comparing subgroups to one another, here we’re just looking at how one subgroup answered the question. Combining filters can give you pinpoint accuracy in your data.

For instance, you could limit your focus to just women, or just men, then re-run the crosstab by type of attendee to compare female administrators, female teachers, and female students. One thing to be wary of as you slice and dice your results: Every time you apply a filter or cross tab, your sample size decreases. To make sure your results are statistically significant, it may be helpful to use a sample size calculator.

Graphs can be a regular go-to tool when you aim to quickly demonstrate the results of your data analysis in a way that is easy for anyone to understand. It’s easy to create graphs with SurveyMonkey that provide clarity and context to your analysis which, in turn, makes using the data in more targeted and actionable ways.  

Cross tabulations, otherwise known as crosstab reports, are useful tools for taking a deeper dive into your data. Crosstabs structure your data into a table that groups respondents based on shared background information or survey responses, allowing you to compare each group’s answers to one another. This helps you better understand each group of respondents and uncover how they differ from each other.

Let’s say on your conference feedback survey, one key question is, “Overall how satisfied were you with the conference?” 

Your results show that 75% of the attendees were satisfied with the conference. That sounds pretty good. But wouldn’t you like to have some context? Something to compare it against? Is that better or worse than last year? How does it compare to other conferences?

Benchmarking can provide answers to these questions and more by readily allowing you to make comparisons to past and current data to identify trends in your industry and marketplace, and see how you stack up against them.

Well, say you did ask this question in your conference feedback survey after last year’s conference. You’d be able to make a trend comparison. Professional pollsters make poor comedians, but one favorite line is “trend is your friend.” If last year’s satisfaction rate was 60%, you increased satisfaction by 15 percentage points! What caused this increase in satisfaction? Hopefully the responses to other questions in your survey will provide some answers.

If you don’t have data from prior years’ conferences, make this the year you start collecting feedback after every conference. This is called benchmarking. You establish a benchmark or baseline number and, moving forward, you can see whether and how this has changed. You can benchmark not just attendees’ satisfaction, but other questions as well. You’ll be able to track, year after year, what attendees think of the conference. This is called longitudinal data analysis.

You can even track data for different subgroups. Say for example that satisfaction rates are increasing year over year for students and teachers, but not for administrators. You might want to look at administrators’ responses to various questions to see if you can gain insight into why they are less satisfied than other attendees.

You know how many people said they were coming back, but how do you know if your survey has yielded answers that you can trust and answers that you can use with confidence to inform future decisions? It’s important to pay attention to the quality of your data and to understand the components of statistical significance.

In everyday conversation, the word “significant” means important or meaningful. In survey analysis and statistics, significant means “an assessment of accuracy.” This is where the inevitable “plus or minus” comes into survey work. In particular, it means that survey results are accurate within a certain confidence level and not due to random chance. Drawing an inference based on results that are inaccurate (i.e., not statistically significant) is risky. The first factor to consider in any assessment of statistical significance is the representativeness of your sample—that is, to what extent the group of people who were included in your survey “look like” the total population of people about whom you want to draw conclusions.

You have a problem if 90% of conference attendees who completed the survey were men, but only 15% of all your conference attendees were male. The more you know about the population you are interested in studying, the more confident you can be when your survey lines up with those numbers. At least when it comes to gender, you’re feeling pretty good if men make up 15% of survey respondents in this example.

If your survey sample is a random selection from a known population, statistical significance can be calculated in a straightforward manner. A primary factor here is sample size. Suppose 50 of the 1,000 people who attended your conference replied to the survey. Fifty (50) is a small sample size and results in a broad margin of error. In short, your results won’t carry much weight.

Say you asked your survey respondents how many of the 10 available sessions they attended over the course of the conference. And your results look like this:

12345678910TotalAverage rating
# sessions attended10%
100
0%
0
0%
0
5%
50
10%
100
26%
280
24%
240
19%
190
5%
50
1%
10
1,0006.1

You might want to analyze the average. As you may recall, there are three different kinds of averages: mean, median and mode.

In the table above, the average number of sessions attended is 6.1. The average reported here is the mean, the kind of average that’s probably most familiar to you. To determine the mean you add up the data and divide that by the number of figures you added. In this example, you have 100 people saying they attended one session, 50 people for four sessions, 100 people for five sessions, etc. So, you multiply all of these pairs together, sum them up, and divide by the total number of people.

The median is another kind of average. The median is the middle value, the 50% mark. In the table above, we would locate the number of sessions where 500 people were to the left of the number and 500 to the right. The median is, in this case, six sessions. This can help you eliminate the influence of outliers, which may adversely affect your data.

The last kind of average is mode. The mode is the most frequent response. In this case the answer is six. 260 survey participants attended six sessions, more than attended any other number of sessions.

Means and other types of averages can also be used if your results were based on Likert scales.

When it comes to reporting on survey results, think about the story the data tells.

Say your conference overall got mediocre ratings. You dig deeper to find out what’s going on. The data show that attendees gave very high ratings to almost all the aspects of your conference — the sessions and classes, the social events, and the hotel—but they really disliked the city chosen for the conference. (Maybe the conference was held in Chicago in January and it was too cold for anyone to go outside!) 

That is part of the story right there—great conference overall, lousy choice of locations. Miami or San Diego might be a better choice for a winter conference.

One aspect of data analysis and reporting you have to consider is causation vs. correlation.

People digest and understand information in a range of different ways. Fortunately, SurveyMonkey offers a ton of different ways for you to analyze survey data so you can assess and present the information in ways that will be most useful to meet your goals and create graphs, charts, and reports that make your results easy to understand.

Here are some of the common questions that we can help you navigate as you build up your survey analysis chops:

Longitudinal data analysis (often called “trend analysis”) is basically tracking how findings for specific questions change over time. Once a benchmark is established, you can determine whether and how numbers shift. Suppose the satisfaction rate for your conference was 50% three years ago, 55% two years ago, 65% last year, and 75% this year. Congratulations are in order! Your longitudinal data analysis shows a solid, upward trend in satisfaction.

Causation is when one factor causes another, while correlation is when two variables move together, but one does not influence or cause the other. For example, drinking hot chocolate and wearing mittens are two variables that are correlated — they tend to go up and down together. However, one does not cause the other. In fact, they are both caused by a third factor, cold weather. 

Cold weather influences both hot chocolate consumption and the likelihood of wearing mittens. Cold weather is the independent variable and hot chocolate consumption and the likelihood of wearing mittens are the dependent variables. In the case of our conference feedback survey, cold weather likely influenced attendees dissatisfaction with the conference city and the conference overall. 

Finally, to further examine the relationship between variables in your survey you might need to perform a regression analysis.