調查問卷的各種問題類型

如果您想尋求有用的見解,一開始的方向就必須正確。調查的成敗主要取決於您獲取資訊的方式,以及您是否問對問題。

在貿然開始撰寫問題之前,請想好要如何使用透過那些問題蒐集到的答案。要問直接一點的問題嗎?要問分類的問題嗎?一旦清楚調查目標及您想蒐集的資訊,您就知道該使用哪種類型的問題了。

熱門的調查問卷問題類型

以下介紹幾個最常用的調查問卷問題類型,以及如何利用它們建立優質的調查問卷。若要檢視各種調查問卷題型的樣貌,請造訪調查問卷範例問題頁面。

選擇題

選擇題是最受歡迎的調查問卷題型。受訪者可從您設定好的答案清單中選取一或多個選項。這類問題直覺性高、可輕易靈活運用、產生的資料易於分析,且選項之間有互斥性。由於選項是固定的,因此您的受訪者會覺得填寫起來比較輕鬆。

最重要的是,選擇題產生的回覆資料有條有理,很好分析。

選擇題也有多種格式。若您想要設計一份既有吸引力又能蒐集到乾淨資料的調查問卷,建議您多多了解屬於選擇題的各種題型變化:

單選或複選

選擇題最基本的型態是單選選擇題。單選題採用選項按鈕 (每一個圓圈按鈕代表清單上的一個選項),而且只容許受訪者選取一個答案。這種型態最適合用在二分法問題、評分問題或測量尺度的問題。

複選選擇題通常會搭配方形核取方塊,受訪者可勾選所有適合的選項。例如,「您會喝下列哪些汽水品牌?」

「其他」選項

選擇題最大的缺點就是它會將回覆限制在預定的選項清單中,這可能會使結果產生偏誤。假如某些受訪者找不到適合他們的選項,怎麼辦?他們可能只好隨便選一個答案,這樣可會大大影響調查結果的準確性。

要解決此問題,您可以在答案選項後面新增一個「其他」選項或意見欄位。當受訪者看見此選項或欄位,便知道他們可以選擇用自己的文字 (而不見得一定要選取您設定好的答案選項) 來回答您的問題。

評分表

評分表問題 (亦稱為等級或次序問題) 會顯示任何範圍 (0 至 100、1 至 10 等) 內的答案選項,讓受訪者選取最能準確代表其回覆的數字。

Net Promoter Score® 問題評分表問題的好例子,它讓客戶用 0 至 10 分表示自己把某樣產品或服務推薦給他人的可能性有多大。

使用排名問題和數值評分表時,請務必讓受訪者知道每個數字或數值代表什麼意思。例如,假設您問:「您有多喜歡冰淇淋?」卻沒有說明評分表上各個數值的意義,那您就無法掌握受訪者的回答到底代表什麼意思。

李克特量表

您很可能早就看過此題型了。李克特量表問題是您在調查問卷中經常看到的「您同意或不同意」問題,專門用來衡量受訪者的意見和感受。

李克特量表問題會提供受訪者一連串的選項,舉例來說,從「毫無可能」到「極有可能」。它極為適合用來了解特定類型的意見反應,例如,客戶滿意度調查問卷就常使用李克特量表來衡量客戶的意見或態度。

矩陣式問題

如果您想連續問幾個具有相同回覆選項的問題,矩陣式問題是您的最佳選擇,他的效用就如同一連串的李克特量表問題或評分表問題。雖然矩陣式問題可以將大量的內容簡化,但請務必謹慎使用,因為一大組的矩陣式問題可能會令人感到混淆,而且很難在行動裝置上作答。

下拉式問題

如果您的選擇題有一長串的答案選項,那不妨使用下拉式問題,比較不會造成受訪者的困擾。這個題型可以把眾多的答案選項放進一個可捲動的清單,以供選擇。

然而,有時候直接把所有的答案選項列出來,反而有助於讓受訪者更清楚該題目要問的重點,所以當您考慮在調查問卷裡使用多個下拉式問題時,請務必記住這點。

開放式問題

開放式調查問卷問題需要受訪者將答案輸入意見方塊,並且不提供特定的預設選項。您可以人工檢視個別的回覆,或讓文字分析工具幫您分析回覆。

如果您希望蒐集到容易分析的資料,那麼最好避免使用開放式問題。文字方塊比較適合用來蒐集質性資料,因為受訪者的文字意見通常不容易量化。受訪者自由寫下的意見往往有助於讓您發現您長期忽略的機會或缺失,但如果您想要取得可分析資料,則最好使用適合做量化研究的封閉式問題。

人口統計問題

若您對受訪者的背景或收入水準等相關資訊有興趣,請使用人口統計調查問卷問題。如果運用得當,這類問卷問題可讓您更加了解目標受眾。人口統計問題是一種強而有力的工具,有助於將目標受眾根據各種特質加以區隔,進而給您更深入的見解。

一旦掌握了各種問題類型的精隨,您就會更知道如何充分利用蒐集到的資料。您會知道應該要使用哪個問題類型,才能向受訪者取得最重要的資訊。在那之前,您可以使用 SurveyMonkey 的調查問卷建立工具,讓我們協助您選擇最適合您問卷的問題。

設計問卷問題不要再用猜的

建立優質的調查問卷並沒有那麼困難,別在設計階段就放棄。我們有好幾百份免費、專家設計的調查問卷範本,都是由公司內部的專家和調查問卷科學家所製作,能幫助您在幾分鐘內建立好調查問卷。

如果您寧願自己從頭建立調查問卷,也歡迎使用我們的題庫,將現成又能取得有效答案的問題一個一個放進您的調查問卷。不管怎麼做,您都能擁有一份由方法論學者認證,能幫助您獲得公正結果的調查問卷。

針對行動裝置採用合適的問題和人性化的格式

您的調查問卷適合在行動裝置上填寫嗎?在美國,填寫 SurveyMonkey 調查問卷的人口中約有十分之三的人是在智慧型手機或平板電腦上填寫的。您可以快速檢討下列項目,了解如何選擇調查問卷的問題、如何設定調查問卷的格式,以確保您的調查問卷與行動裝置完美相容。

  • 調查問卷中的問題以選擇題為主
  • 限制每頁的問題數量
  • 調查問卷要儘量簡短,以便將放棄繼續作答的情況減到最少
  • 只將最重要的問題設為必答
  • 調查問卷的格式編排要簡約 (應避免讓進度欄或標誌等佔據太多空間)
  • 避免使用影像 (因為行動裝置的螢幕空間不大)
  • 在各類行動裝置上測試您的調查問卷
  • 使用簡短且易於辨識的調查問卷 URL,以鼓勵更多人連結到您的調查問卷

掌握各種調查問卷題型的精隨和使用時機相當重要。一旦熟悉不同的調查問卷問題,您就會知道要怎麼向受訪者取得最重要的資訊,進而獲得比以往更有用的資料。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

How to choose the right survey questions

Survey Question Types Illustration

Looking for insights? It’s important to start off on the right foot. The way you get information and the survey questions you use play a big role in a successful survey.

Before you rush into writing your survey questions, ask yourself how you intend to use the answers from your survey. Once you know the goals of your survey and the information you’d like to collect, you’ll be able to choose survey question types easily.

Popular survey question types

Below are some of the most commonly used survey question types and how they can be used to create a great survey. To see what each type of survey question might look like, visit the sample survey questions page.

Multiple choice questions

Multiple choice questions are the most popular survey question type. They allow your respondents to select one or more options from a list of answers that you define. They’re intuitive, easy to use in different ways, and they help produce easy-to-analyze data. Because the answer options are fixed, your respondents have an easier survey-taking experience.

Most importantly, you’ll get structured survey responses that produce clean data for analysis.

Multiple choice questions also come in many different formats. If you’d like to make an engaging survey that also gives you clean data, we suggest getting to know more about the most popular variations of multiple choice questions:

Single answer vs. multiple answer
The most basic variation is the single-answer multiple choice question. Single answer questions use a radio button (circle buttons representing options in a list) format to allow respondents to click only one answer. They work well for binary questions, questions with ratings, or nominal scales.

Multiple-answer multiple choice questions are commonly shown with square checkboxes. They allow respondents to check off all the choices that apply to them. For example, “Which of the following soda brands do you drink?”

The “other” answer option
A common drawback of multiple choice questions is that they force you to limit responses to a predetermined list of options. This can cause bias in your results. What if none of your answer options apply to your respondents? They might just choose a random answer, which could impact the accuracy of your results.

You can solve this problem by adding an “other” answer option or comment field. It should be listed at the end of all your choices. When respondents see it, they know they have the option of answering your question in their own words instead of yours.

Rating scales
In rating scale questions, the question displays a scale of answer options from any range (0 to 100, 1 to 10, etc.). The respondent selects the number that most accurately represents their response.

Net Promoter Score® questions are a good example of rating scale questions. They ask customers how likely it is that they would recommend a product or service using a scale of 0-10.

With numerical rating scales it’s important to give the respondent context. For instance, imagine you asked the question, “how much do you like ice cream?” Without explaining the value of the numbers on your scale, a numerical rating scale might not make much sense.

Likert scales
Chances are you’ve seen this question type before. Likert scale questions are the “do you agree or disagree” questions you often see in surveys, and are used to gauge respondents’ opinions and feelings.

Likert Scale questions give respondents a range of options—for example, starting at “not at all likely” scaling all the way up to “extremely likely”. That’s why they work well to understand specific feedback. For example, customer satisfaction survey questions often use a Likert scale to measure customer opinion or attitudes.

Matrix questions
If you want to ask a few questions in a row that have the same response options, matrix questions are your best option. A series of Likert scale questions or a series of rating scale questions can work well as a matrix question. Matrix questions can simplify a lot of content, but it’s important to use them carefully. Very large matrices can be confusing and difficult to take on mobile devices.

Dropdown questions
The dropdown question is an easy way to display a long list of multiple choice answers without overwhelming your respondents. With it, you can give them a scrollable list of answers to choose from.

Sometimes, showing all answer options at once can offer your respondents useful context about the question. Keep that in mind whenever you consider using more than one dropdown question in your survey.

Open-ended questions

Open-ended survey questions require respondents to type their answer into a comment box and don’t provide specific pre-set answer options. Responses are then viewed individually or by text analysis tools.

When it comes to analyzing data, open-ended questions aren’t the best option. It’s not easy to quantify written answers which is why text boxes are better for providing qualitative data. Allowing your respondents to offer feedback in their own words could help you uncover opportunities that you may have otherwise overlooked.

Demographic questions

Use demographic survey questions if you’re interested in gathering information about a respondent’s background or income level. When properly used, you’ll be able to gain better insights on your target audience. Demographic questions are powerful tools to segment your audience based on who they are and what they do, allowing you to take an even deeper dive in on your data.

Once you get the hang of survey question types, you’ll quickly get the most out of your data. Learning which survey question type to use helps you focus on the most important information you need from respondents. Until then, you can use our survey creation tools to help you choose the best questions for your survey.

Take the guesswork out of survey questions

Creating a great survey doesn’t have to be difficult. You could create one in minutes by choosing from one of our hundreds of free, expert-designed survey templates built by our in-house survey scientists.

Prefer to create a survey from scratch? Use our Question Bank to start populating your survey with ready made questions that can help you get the answers you need. Either way, you’re sure to have a survey our methodologists say will leave you with unbiased results.

Survey questions for mobile

Are your surveys ready to go mobile? Roughly 3 in 10 people taking SurveyMonkey surveys in the U.S. do so on a smartphone or tablet. Here’s a quick checklist from our survey scientists on how to make sure your surveys are mobile-optimized and mobile-friendly.

  • Use mostly multiple choice questions in your survey
  • Limit the number of questions on each page
  • Keep surveys as short as possible to minimize dropouts
  • Only require responses to your most important questions
  • Keep survey formatting simple—avoid progress bars or logos as they take up valuable space
  • Avoid using images—they take up valuable space on small screens
  • Test your survey on different mobile devices
  • Keep your survey URL short and easy to read so it can be linked anywhere

It’s important to know which survey question type to use and when to use it. Once you’re familiar with them, you’ll be able to focus on what you need from respondents, getting you far better data than ever before.

Looking for More Survey Templates and Survey Questions?

We’ve got a ton of resources that can help you create your next survey. Here’s a quick list of our most commonly used survey templates: