選擇題:使用上的重要須知

了解何時、如何使用這個最常用的問題類型。

選擇題是調查問卷的基本題型。

他們靈活性高、也很直觀,而且容易生成清楚又便於分析的資料。

由於選擇題會提供受訪者一套固定的答案選項,因此您收到的調查回覆也會有條有理,而且這種題型對受訪者而言也比較容易回答。

然而,您回收的資料將受限於您所提供的選項。

也就是說,如果您提供的答案選項不夠周全,您的結果便會有偏差的風險。

雖然選擇題是最簡單又直接的題型,但瞭解不同類別的選擇題及其使用上的細微差別也很重要。

問題類型:單選題或複選題

選擇題之間最基本的一個差異就是,要讓受訪者選擇多個回覆選項,或是單一回覆選項。

單選題是最常用的題型,它限制受訪者只能從預定的答案清單中挑選一個選項。

這種格式特別適合用在二元化的問題、評分的問題或度量的問題。受訪者可以同意或不同意一項陳述,但不會既同意又不同意;他可以在 10 分的淨推薦分數℠ (NPS) 等級上選出其中一個分數,比如說 7 分,但不會同時想選擇 7 分又想選擇 9 分。

單選題也特別適合用來讓受訪者從預訂的清單中挑選出一個最喜愛或最不喜愛的選項,或者讓他們從幾種意見中選出一個最接近自身意見的選項。

複選題的目的則略有不同。

與其用單選題的方式詢問「您最喜歡的披薩配料是什麼?」,不如用複選題來問「下面的披薩配料中,您喜歡哪些?」讓受訪者可以勾選所有適合的選項,而不用被迫只挑選一個。

likert scale template

撰寫調查問卷時,您可以自由決定使用哪種題型最為恰當。

標準選擇題的變化型態

一旦您決定好要用單選題或複選題後,還可以進一步決定是否要使用選擇題的眾多變化型之一。

例如,添加「其他」答案選項或意見欄位可以解決使用選擇題的常見缺點。當您提供一串固定的答案選項時,等於是強迫受訪者從您提供的選項中進行選擇,這可能會使您的結果產生偏差。

multiple-choice food survey example

想想看,如果您提供的答案選項裡剛好沒有某位受訪者真正想要回答的答案,怎麼辦?他只好從答案選項中選擇一個他根本不同意的答案,而這樣很可能會影響調查結果的可信度。

要解決此問題,有一種方法是在提供多個答案選項之餘,仍然讓受訪者有自己寫下答案的選擇。當您在撰寫調查問卷時,只要勾選「新增『其他』答案選項或意見欄位」方塊,就可以讓受訪者自己填寫回覆。

您將能夠在分析工具中查看受訪者寫下的意見,但您必須自己將每個寫下的回覆區分開來。請記住,「其他」選項應該是受訪者最不得已的選擇。如果太多人寫下他們自己的回覆,那麼會減弱你想在主要答案選擇之間做的比較。

評分表問題題型可自訂任何評分範圍——從 0 到 10、1 到 5、0 到 100 等——然後讓受訪者選擇最能代表其回應的數字點。

為了讓受訪者了解如何評分,您必須明確地在問題中或評分表上,說明評分表上的數字代表的是什麼概念。

multiple choice rating scale from 0 to 10
multiple choice rating scale from 0 to 10

上面兩個例子是撰寫淨推薦值 (NPS) 題型的不同方式。這類「推薦的可能性」問題可用於市場研究調查、客戶滿意度調查員工參與度調查

李克特量表或李克特式量表可能是最常用的評分量表。傳統的李克特量表會要求受訪者判定自己對一項陳述的同意或不同意程度,非常適合用來衡量受訪者的態度或行為,特別是他們針對敏感議題的態度或行為。舉例如下:

multiple choice rating scale from strongly agree to strongly disagree

您可以自行調整回覆選項,讓問題的答案更模糊或更明確。例如:

multiple choice question with agree or disagree option

其他選擇題格式

矩陣式問題

有時候您可能想要提出連續幾個有相同答案選項的問題。

例如一連串同意/不同意的問題,或一連串類似淨推薦值 NPS 的問題,全部都是讓受訪者在 1 到 10 挑選一個數字,表示他們有多可能將一項產品推薦給朋友。

如果您的調查問卷有這種情況,不妨考慮使用矩陣。使用矩陣式問題時,最好將問題內容簡化,因為大型矩陣會讓受訪者感到有壓力,特別是在行動裝置上。受訪者可能會覺得很難完成而放棄填寫,這樣會直接影響您的完成率。

如果您的矩陣很大,導致受訪者必須一直上下左右捲動調查問卷,請務必將問題分開或減少答案選項的數量,讓調查問卷更容易填寫。

rating scale from 1 to 5, with 1 being poor and 5 being excellent for pizza toppings

下拉式問題

一般選擇題通常會在問題下方列出所有答案選項,但下拉式問題則會提供一個可捲動的清單,讓受訪者從中選取答案。

若您的選擇題有很長一串簡短的答案選項,就非常適合使用下拉式問題,例如詢問受訪者居住地或出生年份的題型。

請勿太頻繁地使用下拉式問題。在大多數的情況下,同時能看見所有的答案選項,有助於讓受訪者在看出各個選項之間的關聯性。

multiple choice dropdown menu of pizza toppings
multiple choice dropdown menu with pizza topping options

排名問題

排名問題可讓受訪者排出心目中的答案順序。

例如,您可以讓受訪者排出心目中前五名的比薩配料,這樣不但可以知道受訪者是否喜歡義式臘腸,還能順便知道義式臘腸是否贏過其他口味。

排名問題可以提供給您的資訊,比一般的選擇題更多。

不過,相較於一般的選擇題,排名問題更難分析。

排名問題可讓您知道各個答案選項在受訪者心目中的地位,但它無法告訴您受訪者對這些選項真正的喜歡程度,以及選項之間喜歡的差別有多少。因此,除非您關注的是受訪者在個人層面的偏好,而非所有受訪者的平均值,否則排名問題可能只會把您的工作變得更複雜。

ranking scale for each pizza toppings from 1 to 5 in a dropdown menu

選擇題的優點

選擇題是在 SurveyMonkey 最常被使用的問題類型。這不僅是因為大多數人都覺得選擇題是「標準」的問題類型,其實選擇題也擁有其他問題類型所沒有的優點。

1. 簡單

按個按鈕比打字輸入回應要容易得多。您的調查問卷越方便填寫,獲得的答案就會越完整。

您通常會明確地讓受訪者從兩個或更多個選項當中做選擇:同意或不同意?是或不是?您認為我們應該做得更多、更少、或已經剛剛好了呢?在上面的例子中,提供幾個選項讓受訪者做選擇是最好的方法。

2. 選擇題可為答案選項提供具體的定義

在撰寫問題的時候,您通常會思考受訪者可能會如何回答問題。在這種情況下,選擇題通常是最佳的問題類型。

假設您知道受訪者支持哪個政治候選人。如果有 20 個候選人可供選擇怎麼辦?有些受訪者本來就知道自己要投票給誰了,所以無論如何 (無論您是否預先提供答案選項) 他們都能輕鬆地回答這個問題。

不過,對於大多數的人來說,提供答案選項可以幫助他們回答問題,而且對你也有幫助。整理開放式問題的答案可不是輕鬆的差事,但要分析封閉式問題的答案卻很容易。

使用選擇題可以讓您不必面對錯字連篇或隨便寫寫的答案,這會讓您輕鬆很多;而且您也不用擔心米老鼠會出現在下一任總統的候選名單上。

3. 選擇題可以引導受訪者回答問題

選擇題的另一個好處是,可以為受訪者提供他們應該如何回答的線索。您在選擇題底下提供的答案選項,就暗示了您希望受訪者怎麼回答問題。

例如,如果您的問題是關於受訪者何時出生,一看到答案選項,受訪者就能立即知道他們必須提供確切的出生日期 (1975 年 1 月 3 日),還是只需提供出生年份 (1975) 即可。

相較於讓受訪者自行寫下回覆,提供答案選項還能巧妙地讓受訪者提供更多的資訊。例如在使用李克特量表的時候,您提供的答案選項越多,他們就越願意量化自己同意或不同意的程度 (即「同意」、「強烈同意」或「稍微同意」)。

在將調查問卷發送出去之前,請仔細斟酌您的選擇題,因為您提供的答案選項會決定您可以如何運用所得到的結果。例如,提供「其他」答案選項可能有方便之處,但也可能使資料分析變得更加困難。

4. 選擇題在行動裝置上比較好看

針對行動裝置進行最佳化是當今調查領域的重要課題之一。在美國的 SurveyMonkey 受訪者之中,大約每 10 個人就有 3 個人是在智慧型手機或平板電腦上填寫調查問卷的。

由於行動裝置的螢幕較小,而且沒有滑鼠或鍵盤可以使用,對於使用文字框或需要一直捲動螢幕的調查問卷來說,行動裝置不算是一個好的媒介。有時候收集開放式答案選項雖然重要,但如果您想讓調查問卷適合在行動裝置上填寫,請使用簡單的選擇題就好。

開始設計調查問卷前,請務必詳閱 SurveyMonkey 針對行動裝置將調查問卷最佳化的重要技巧。

選擇題這麼普遍是有原因的,它適用於多種情況。一旦您了解各種變化型的細微差別和使用時機,它將變得更有價值。

NPS®、Net Promoter® 及 Net Promoter® Score 是 Satmetrix Systems, Inc.、Bain & Company 與 Fred Reichheld 的註冊商標。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

Multiple Choice Questions: Everything You Need to Know

Learn when and how to use the most popular question type.

CR22_blog_choosing_v1.1iwMultiple choice questions are elemental to survey writing. They’re versatile, intuitive, and they yield clean data that’s easy for you to analyze.

Since they provide a fixed list of answer options, they give you structured survey responses and make it easier for your respondents to complete the survey.

However, the data you get back are limited to the choices you provide.

That means that if your answer options aren’t comprehensive, you risk bias in your results.

While it may be the question type that’s most straightforward, understanding the different types of multiple choice question and their uses is more nuanced.

Question types: Single answer vs. multiple answer

One of the basic differences between types of multiple choice questions is whether to let respondents choose multiple response options or just one.

Single-answer questions, the most common type, ask respondents to pick just one choice from a predetermined list.

This format really shines in binary questions, questions with ratings, or nominal scales. Someone can either agree or disagree with a statement, but he cannot do both; he can be at one point on a 10-point Net Promoter Score℠ (NPS) scale, but not several— he can be a 7, but not a 7 and a 9.

Single-answer multiple choice questions are also effective when you’re asking respondents to pick their favorite or least-favorite option from a predetermined list, or when asking them to select the option that comes closest to their own opinion.

Multiple-answer questions have a slightly different purpose.

If a single-answer multiple choice question asks “What is your favorite pizza topping?” a multiple-answer multiple choice question might ask “Which of the following pizza toppings do you like?” Here, respondents can check off all the choices that apply to them instead of being forced to pick just one.

multiple_choice

It’s up to you, writing the survey, to decide which form of the question is more relevant.

Create a Survey Today

Join millions of people making smarter decisions with SurveyMonkey.

Get Started →

Variations of the standard multiple choice question

Once you’ve determined whether you want your multiple choice question to have a single answer or multiple, you can decide whether you’d like to use one of the many variations of multiple choice question.

For example, Adding an “other” answer option or comment field can solve a common drawback of using a multiple choice question. When you give your respondents a fixed list of answer options, you’re forcing them to select only from the options you’ve provided, which can bias your results.

multiple_choice_otheroption

What if you don’t provide someone with the answer option he really wants to give? He may end up choosing an answer that he doesn’t agree with from your list of choices, which can affect the integrity of your results.

One way to address this problem is to provide several answer choices but still give respondents the option to write in their own custom response. When you’re writing your survey, simply check the box “Add an ‘Other’ Answer Option or Comment Field” and your respondents will be able to do exactly that.

You’ll be able to view the write-in comments in the Analyze tool, but you’ll have to do some extra work on your own to separate out each write-in response. Keep in mind that respondents should see the “other” option as a last resort. If too many people write in their own responses, it will weaken the comparisons you can make between your main answer choices.

Rating scale questions display a scale of any range—from 0 to 10, 1 to 5, 0 to 100, etc.—and ask respondents to select the numerical point on the scale that represents their response best.

In order for respondents to understand a rating scale, you must make explicit the relationship between the numbers on the scale and the concepts they measure, either in the question or on the rating scale itself.

multiple_choice_ratingscale1 multiple_choice_ratingscale2

The examples above are different ways of writing the Net Promoter Score, “the likeliness to recommend” metric that’s used on anything from market research surveys to customer satisfaction and employee engagement surveys.

A Likert scale or Likert-type scale is probably the most used rating scale. The traditional Likert scale asks respondents to pinpoint how much they agree or disagree with a statement. Likert scales are perfect for measuring respondents’ attitudes or behaviors, particularly when they relate to sensitive subjects. Here’s an example:

multiple_choice_likert

You can vary your response options to make the focus of your question more or less granular. For example:

MD-1348_MultipleChoice_graphic4b

Alternative multiple choice question formats

Matrix Questions

Sometimes you may want to ask several questions in a row that each have the same response options.

For example, consider a series of Agree/Disagree questions, or a series of rating questions asking your respondents to pick the number from 1 to 10 that indicates how likely they are to recommend a product to a friend (much like the NPS).

If this is the case for your survey, consider using a matrix. While matrix questions simplify the question content, very large matrices can be burdensome for respondents, especially on mobile devices. Respondents might abandon surveys that are difficult to complete, which can impact your completion rates.

If your matrix is so large that respondents will have to continuously scroll right or down, you should break up your questions or reduce the number of answer choices you provide so that your survey is easier to complete.

multiple_choice_matrix

Dropdown questions

Instead of displaying all of the answer choices beneath the question, the dropdown question gives respondents a scrollable list to select their answer from.

Dropdown questions work best for questions that have a long list of brief answer choices, such as asking a respondent for his home state or birth year.

They should be used sparingly. For most multiple choice questions, having all choices visible at the same time will give respondents context as they are answering the question.

multiple_choice_dropdownmultiple_choice_dropdown

Ranking questions

Ranking questions let your respondents choose the order of answer choices that best fit their opinions.

For example, asking respondents to rank their top five pizza toppings tells you not just whether someone likes pepperoni, but how much in relation to the other flavors available.

If you want to capture more information than you can from simple multiple choice questions, then a ranking question might be best for you.

Ranking questions are more difficult to analyze than regular multiple choice questions.

They give you a sense of whether a respondent likes one answer choice more than another, but they don’t tell you how much more. So unless you are specifically interested in respondents’ preferences at the individual level and not just on average, ranking questions might add more complication to your survey than needed.

 

multiple_choice_ratingscale

The benefits of multiple choice questions

Multiple choice questions are the most common question type used on SurveyMonkey. It’s not just because they’re the question type most people consider to be the “standard.” They also have specific advantages that other question types don’t.

They’re simple. It’s much easier to click a button than to type in a response. And the more accessible you make your survey the more completed responses you’ll get.

Oftentimes you’ll want to explicitly ask respondents to choose from two or more options: Do you agree or disagree? Yes or no? Do you think we should be doing more, less, or that we’re doing the right amount? In these cases, it’s best to provide the choices for your respondents to choose from.

They give response options concrete definitions. Often you’ll write survey questions with an idea of how respondents might answer. In situations like this, multiple choice is usually the best question type.

Let’s say you are asking people to pick which political candidate they’ll vote for. What if there are 20 candidates to choose from? If some respondents already know who they are going to vote for—great! They’ll have an easy time answering this question no matter what.

For most people, though, having the response options available in front of them will be a big help. It helps you, too. Sorting through answers to open-ended questions can take a lot of work, but analyzing data from closed-ended questions is easy.

It will make your life a lot easier when you can analyze your survey results without having to weed out responses with spelling mistakes or write-ins that aren’t serious. That way, Mickey Mouse will never appear on your shortlist for the next president.

They help guide your respondents. One benefit of multiple choice options is that they give your respondents context for how they should answer. Providing response options in a multiple choice format indicates how specific or general you want the respondents’ answers to be.

For example, does someone need to report his exact birthdate (January 3, 1975), or just the year (1975)?

Response options can also subtly nudge your respondents to provide more details than they would on their own. Think of a Likert scale. The more response options you provide, the more they are able to quantify how much they agree or disagree (i.e. “Agree,” “Agree strongly,” or “Agree Somewhat”).

Think carefully about your multiple choice questions before you send out your survey because the answer options you provide will determine the ways you can use your results. For example, providing an “other” answer option may be convenient, but it might make it more difficult to analyze your data.

They look better on mobile devices. Mobile optimization is an important consideration in the survey world today. Roughly 3 in 10 people taking SurveyMonkey surveys in the U.S. do so on a smartphone or tablet.

With such small screens and no mouse or keyboard to use, mobile devices aren’t good mediums for surveys that use text boxes or require a lot of scrolling. There’s a time and a place for open-ended answer options, but for mobile surveys, stick with simple multiple choice options.

Make sure to read SurveyMonkey’s top tips for survey mobile optimization before designing your survey.

Multiple choice questions make up the bulk of survey questions for a good reason. They’re useful in a broad range of situations, and they’re especially valuable once you understand the subtleties of how to use each type.

NPS®, Net Promoter® & Net Promoter® Score are registered trademarks of Satmetrix Systems, Inc., Bain & Company and Fred Reichheld.