利用員工參與度問卷調查打造更好、更有效率的工作環境

除了員工滿意度之外您更需正視的問題

何謂員工參與度?

員工參與度指的是員工於每日工作中感到受重視且投入的程度。關於員工參與度應由哪些特定範疇組成,人力資源專家和研究人員尚未有定論,但它的核心在於員工是否投身於公司的使命和成就。

員工參與度調查問卷不僅能衡量員工幸福程度,它還能衡量員工對於公司的使命和成果有多投入。員工參與度之所以非常重要,是因為它是企業健康的重要指標,也是能幫助企業看出哪裡需要改善的好方法。

馬上就試試我們的員工參與度調查問卷範本吧!

取得最全面的參與度解決方案
利用有社會科學根據、自動又快速的參與度調查專案,打造更好的工作環境
立即使用

為何要衡量員工參與度?

當員工投入自己的工作,就會感到更充實、更有衝勁,當然也就會更有生產力。有研究案例發現,參與度高的員工比其他員工的生產力高出 22%

這就是為什麼員工參與度對於一家公司的成功扮演了這麼重要的角色。參與度較高的員工生產力與也較高,為公司帶來的利潤也比較多。我們所說的可不是什麼小幅度的增長——蓋洛普調查發現,員工參與度高的公司,每股收益最高能超過同業競爭對手 147%。

從這樣的績效成長可看出,企業不僅應該衡量員工參與度,而且不能不做。

員工參與度 vs. 員工滿意度

員工參與度和員工滿意度的差別何在?儘管兩者有重疊之處,員工參與度事實上比員工滿意度涵蓋更多範疇。換言之,參與度高的員工極可能滿意度也高,但滿意度高的員工則不見得參與度高。

學術界對於員工參與度的確切範疇辯論得很激烈,但根據一些近期相關研究的觀點,我們可以知道一份好的員工參與度調查問卷應衡量許多因素,包含:

上司的領導行為

管理方式的好壞是員工參與度的成敗關鍵。這不只關乎高階管理人員對待員工是否和善,或其行為是否符合倫理規範——這些當然都很重要,但關鍵是在組織的每一個階層都展現出有效的領導行為。好的領導行為表示主管們能有效地傳達公司價值、有效地溝通,並做出適當的後續跟進行動。一份優良的員工參與度調查問卷能衡量從經理級人員到「長」字輩的高階主管是否具備這些好習慣:請使用我們的管理績效範本

工作的本質

大部分的人不會單純只想要一份輕鬆的工作。人們通常喜歡接受日常工作中的挑戰和測試,有挑戰性的工作可能會帶給員工極大的激勵——前提是員工必須清楚知道該任務與公司績效息息相關。運用員工參與度調查問卷詢問員工他們的工作多有挑戰性 (或激勵性),以及他們是否能看出其工作績效與公司表現之間的關聯。

員工有野心是好事。有野心的員工可能會是您團隊中最自動自發、生產力最高的成員,但是您得讓他們清楚知道您會怎麼提拔他們。若他們一直看不到升遷的希望,您可能就會有失去他們的風險。員工有清晰的職涯目標很重要,但也得靠公司伸出援手。您的員工是否有受教育和指導的機會?發送員工參與度調查問卷能協助您瞭解員工是否清楚看見發展機會,以及他們在前進的路上是否獲得需要的支援。

以公司為榮

員工對公司的榮譽感會表現在工作上。他們是公司使命的虔誠信徒,且渴望看見公司成功。這樣的態度會呈現在工作績效上:因為當他們以公司為榮,也就會以工作為榮。培養這種榮譽感不是單純讓員工感覺良好而已,還要讓他們能專注、與同事合作無間,並隨時準備好解決問題。

顯然,員工花很多時間與同事互動。任何公司,不論規模大小,都必須思考員工在職場上的關係:他們如何互動、如何看待彼此的能力,以及他們認為公司勞動團隊的優點與弱點為何。員工對同事的觀感,可能會大大影響他們達成公司目標的士氣和信心。不管您實施什麼員工參與度管理策略,都應該針對這些議題進行員工調查。

透過調查問卷打造參與度策略

單單衡量員工參與度,並無法促進工作團隊的參與感。除了研讀調查結果外,您還必須找出哪裡要改善,並將員工參與度策略付諸實施,以達到改善的目的。這才是重點所在。

第一步:決定您要研究的範圍

您或許只對衡量及改善某幾項員工管理因素有興趣。舉例來說,您可能只想放大檢視貴公司的管理績效對員工參與度的影響。若是如此,您可能會想採用「管理績效調查問卷範本」,或擷取「員工參與度調查問卷範本」中,與管理績效有關的部分。

但如果您是要透過問卷調查來制定員工參與度策略,上述方法可能會不夠全面。如果您一開始就偏重某一主題,可能會錯過其他需要改進的地方;比如說,與管理績效相比,職涯發展機會或許是影響貴公司員工參與度的更大因素呢!

如果您想制訂全面的參與度策略,請務必先對員工參與度有全盤的瞭解,接著再著重於特定的主題上。

掌握影響員工參與度的每個因素:我們的員工參與度調查問卷範本經過專業設計,能幫助您以宏觀的角度檢視問題。立即試用

第二步:找出要對症下藥的領域

完成問卷調查並找出哪些地方需要改善之後,您就必須開始排出優先順序。您的第一個反應可能會是想要處理決每個沒拿到滿分的領域,但是請不要這麼做,因為這樣做必定會耗費太多資源及管理人員的精力,導致最後的效果不彰。

相反地,請試著找出可一些能提升員工參與度的關鍵因素,並專心處理這些項目。要強迫自己只列出少少幾項優先重點並不容易,問問自己下面這兩個問題,可有助於縮小範圍:

  1. 「將資源用在何處,才會對員工參與度有最大的影響?」找出調查問卷結果中與您的預期相差最多之處。
  2. 「哪些行動能最有效地利用我的資源?」想想哪些方面最容易解決,最好是只要使用現有的資源或專業就能解決。

第三步:建立方案

無論您選擇採取什麼行動,請務必讓員工充分瞭解您的計畫,確保他們瞭解您會在何時、以何種方式實現您的計畫。公開透明是這個過程中很重要的一環。我們提倡企業應以 SMART——明確 (Specific)、可衡量 (Measurable)、可實現 (Attainable)、相關 (Relevant) 以及符合時效 (Time-bound)——作為目標。

第四步:持續進行您的方案

要怎麼判斷您的計畫是否有取得正面效益?當然就是再度發送員工參與度調查問卷。要不斷改善員工參與度,關鍵在於持續且經常性地衡量它。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

Build a better, more productive workplace with an employee engagement survey

Go beyond employee satisfaction and measure what matters most.

Create a Survey Today

What is employee engagement?

Employee engagement is the extent to which employees feel valued and involved in their everyday work.

There’s plenty of debate among human resources professionals and researchers about the particular dimensions that make up employee engagement. But at its core, it comes down to whether employees feel invested in their company’s mission and its success.

Running an employee engagement survey doesn’t just measure how happy employees are—it measures how dedicated they are to the mission and outcome of your company. Measuring employee engagement, then, is even more crucial: It’s an important indicator of the health of your business and a good way to spot areas for improvement.

Try out SurveyMonkey’s employee engagement survey template →

Why measure engagement?

When employees are engaged with their work, they’re more fulfilled and more motivated. That ultimately leads to higher productivity—as much as 22% in some cases.

That’s why employee engagement is so important to the success of your organization. An engaged workforce results in a more productive — and profitable — organization. We’re not talking about tiny increments here, either. Gallup found that companies with highly engaged workforces outperformed their peers by 147% in earnings per share.

Performance like this just goes to show: Businesses not only should measure employee engagement—they can’t afford not to.

Employee engagement vs. employee satisfaction

What’s the difference between employee engagement and employee satisfaction? While there’s overlap between the two, there are far more dimensions that define employee engagement than employee satisfaction. In other words, an engaged employee is most likely satisfied, but not all satisfied employees are engaged.

There’s a pretty robust debate among academics about what exact dimensions actually make up employee engagement. But based on an aggregate of findings from several recent studies on the matter, we can see that a good employee engagement survey will measure several factors, including:

Leadership behavior: Effective management can make or break your employee engagement. It’s not just whether your senior management treats employees well or whether they act ethically (of course, that’s important too!) It’s crucial to have effective leadership at every level of the organization. That means managers who articulate company values, communicate well, and follow up with appropriate actions. A good employee engagement survey will gauge these habits, from managers to C-level: You can use our management performance template.

Nature of work: Most people don’t actually want an easy job. They want to be challenged and tested in their day-to-day work. Challenging work can be immensely motivating for employees—as long as employees can see clearly how their work ties to the company’s performance. Use your employee engagement survey to ask your employees how challenging (and motivating) their work is—and whether there’s a clear line of sight between their performance and the company’s.

Career development: Ambitious employees are a good thing. They can be the most self-motivated and productive members of your team—as long as it’s clear to them how you can help them advance in their career. If it’s not, you’ll risk losing them. Clarity around career goals is important, but you’ve also got to offer a helping hand. Are your employees getting support from educational and mentoring opportunities? Running an employee engagement survey can help you find out if your employees can see a clear path forward and if they have the support they need to get where they want to go.

Company pride: When employees are proud of where they work, it shows. They’re true believers in your mission and they want to see your company succeed. That attitude translates to their performance: When people take pride in their company, they’ll take pride in their work. Fostering this feeling of pride isn’t just about making employees feel good about themselves. It makes them show up to work focused, aligned with their peers, and ready to tackle problems with commitment.

Colleagues: It goes without saying that we spend a lot of time interacting with our coworkers. In companies of every size, it’s important to think about the working relationships between employees: how they interact, how they view each other’s abilities, and what they see as the strengths and weaknesses of the workforce. How employees view their colleagues can have huge impact on their morale and faith in meeting company goals. Employee survey questions aimed at these issues should be a huge part of any employee engagement strategies you implement.

Using surveys to develop engagement strategies

Simply measuring employee engagement isn’t enough to foster an engaged workforce. You’ve got to read the results, uncover areas for improvement, and implement employee engagement strategies to meet them. That’s where the real work begins.

Step 1: Decide what you want to study

Maybe you’re interested in measuring and improving only a few of the factors of employee engagement. For example, you may only be interested in taking a closer look at how management performance is affecting employee engagement in your company. You may want to use the management performance survey template or extract only the portion of the employee engagement survey template that deals with management performance.

But if you’re really focused on using surveys to develop employee engagement strategies, this probably isn’t the best approach. When you home in on a specific topic from the beginning, you may miss out on other areas for improvement. What if career development opportunities—not management performance—are a bigger factor for employee engagement in your workforce?

If you’re trying to develop an overarching employee engagement strategy, it’s best to be comprehensive first and focus on specific parts second.

Get a pulse on every factor affecting your employee engagement: Our employee engagement survey template is specifically designed to provide a comprehensive look at the issue. Try it out →

Step 2: Identify areas for action

Once you’ve run your survey and found what areas need improvement, you’ve got to start prioritizing. Your first reaction will probably be to try to address every single area that received a less-than-perfect score. Try to suppress that reaction. You’ll only end up stretching your managers and resources too far, which will lead to mediocre results.

Instead, try to identify a few key drivers of your employee engagement and focus solely on those. Prioritizing only a few can be tough. To help narrow it down, ask yourself two questions:

  1. “Where can I use my resources so that they’re likely to have the largest impact on employee engagement?” Look for the places where your survey results are furthest from where you’d like them to be.
  2. “Which actions will use my resources most efficiently?” Think about which areas will be easiest to address—perhaps by using existing resources or expertise.

Step 3: Create a plan

Whichever action you choose, it’s important you communicate your plan to your employees and make sure they understand how and when you’ll carry it out. Transparency is crucial to this process. We advocate for keeping your goals SMART: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time-bound.

Step 4: Maintain your plan

How can you tell if your plan is having a positive effect? By sending an employee engagement survey, of course. The key to continue improving your employee engagement is to measure it consistently and measure it often.

Sample Training Templates

The list of potential training topics is endless. SurveyMonkey offers many surveys that can be used as-is or customized to cover many areas of training. Here are a few templates you might use with individuals, community residents, students and their parents, and employees.

expand

Customer Satisfaction and Customer Service

What do your customers think of their experience with your business or customer service representatives? Use this feedback to explore potential areas of customer-service training for employees.

Preview Template

expand

Learning Support and Parent Engagement

Find out how parents support students’ learning at home or engage with their children’s teachers. Use this feedback to develop training that helps parents guide their children to develop good study habits, handle problems or challenges at school, or achieve specific learning goals.

Preview Template

You may also like:

Customer Satisfaction Surveys

Want to know what your customers are saying about you? Customer satisfaction surveys can help you find out what people think of your company, get feedback on customer service, and more.

Visit Page

Employee Surveys

When you listen to your employees, you can make decisions that build a happier workplace. Want to measure performance? Engage or motivate your employees? Employee surveys can help.

Visit Page

Event Surveys

Organizing an event is tough work. Who’s coming? What’s their schedule? Event surveys can give you a clearer picture. When you’re done, get post-event feedback to improve for next time.

Visit Page

3 quick tips to improve survey response rates

Here are some ideas to ensure that respondents will answer your surveys.

1. Be quick

If your survey is short and sweet, there's a greater chance that more respondents will complete it.

2. Offer incentives

Little incentives like small discount or an entry into a drawing can help ensure respondents complete your survey.

3. Buy a targeted audience

With SurveyMonkey Audience, you can purchase access to an audience who meets specific demographic criteria for your survey. It's a great way to get targeted responses from a specific group.

Here's why millions of people rely on SurveyMonkey

Unlimited surveys

Send as many surveys and quizzes as you want—even with free plans.

Fast answers

Easily create and send professional surveys. Get reliable results quickly.

Expert approved

Access pre-written questions and templates approved by our survey scientists.

Real-time results

Check results on the go from any device. Spot trends as data comes in.

Fresh ideas

Surveys give you more than just answers. Get feedback and new perspectives.

Actionable data

Extract and share insights from your data with your team.