線上問卷製作 – 規劃樣本大小

我實際上需要將調查問卷傳送給多少人?

範例大小圖例

當您詢問「我需要多少位受訪者?」時,您真正想問的問題是「我需要多大的樣本才能準確地預估我的目標對象?」這些概念很複雜,所以我們將程序分成 5 個步驟,好讓您能輕鬆計算自己的理想樣本大小以及確保您調查問卷結果的準確性。

5 個步驟,確保樣本準確地預估您的目標對象:

步驟1

您的目標對象為何?

我們所謂的目標對象是指您希望瞭解的整組人群 (您的樣本將取自確實完成調查問卷的人)。

所以,舉例來說,如果您希望瞭解如何在法國行銷您的牙膏,您的目標對象就是法國居民。 如果您嘗試瞭解您牙膏公司任職員工理想中的假期天數,則目標對象就是牙膏公司的員工。

無論對象是國家或公司,判定您嘗試瞭解的目標對象是至關重要的第一步。 知道您的目標對象是誰之後,確定目標對象 (大約) 是由多少人組成。 舉例來說,大約有 1,100 萬人住在法國,我們猜您的牙膏公司員工數應該會比這個數字少。

知道人數是多少了嗎? 這樣我們就能進行下一步了…

步驟2

您需要何種程度的準確性?

把這個步驟當成評估您願意承擔調查問卷結果可能因為未針對全部目標對象進行調查而稍微失準之風險的程度。所以,您需要回答以下兩個問題:

  1. 您需要答案反映目標對象看法的確切程度為何?
    這就是您的誤差範圍。所以,舉例來說,如果 90% 的樣本喜歡葡萄口味的泡泡口香糖。5% 的誤差範圍會對該數字的相反看法增加5%,這代表實際上您的樣本有 85-95% 喜歡葡萄口味的泡泡口香糖。5% 是最常使用的誤差範圍,但您可以根據自己的調查問卷,設定介於1-10% 的誤差範圍。我們不建議您將誤差範圍調高到 10% 以上。
  2. 您对樣本能準確對目標群體進行採樣有多麼確信?

    這種確信程度稱為置信水平。置信水平即所選樣本影響所獲結果的可能性。常見的計算方式如下。如果您從目標群體中隨機挑選 30 多個樣本,那麼您在一個樣本上所獲得的結果與在其他 30 個樣本上獲得的結果顯著不同的概率是多少?置信水平為 95% 表示您在 95% 的時間裡會獲得相同的結果。 95% 是最常使用的置信水平,但您可以根據自己的調查問卷,將置信水平設定為 90% 或 99%。我們不建議您將置信水平降到 90% 以下。
步驟3

我需要多大的樣本?

使用下列圖表、選取概略的目標對象,然後選擇您的誤差範圍以預估完成調查問卷所需人數。

鑒於您已經從步驟 1 和步驟 2 獲得人數,請查看下方簡便的圖表,以瞭解您需要多大的樣本…

目標對象 誤差範圍 置信水平
10% 5% 1% 90% 95% 99%
100 50 80 99 74 80 88
500 81 218 476 176 218 286
1,000 88 278 906 215 278 400
10,000 96 370 4,900 264 370 623
100,000 96 383 8,763 270 383 660
1,000,000+ 97 384 9,513 271 384 664

注意:這些資訊僅作為概略的指導方針。此外,如果目標對象超過 100 萬人,您可能會希望稍微四捨五入到最接近的百位數。

步驟4

人們的回應速度將如何?

很抱歉,不是每個收到您調查問卷的人都會填寫問卷。

收到調查問卷後實際填寫的人數百分比稱為「回覆率」。 預估回覆率有助於您判斷需要發送多少調查問卷數量,才可取得完成問卷所需數量。

回覆率因許多因素而有顯著差異,例如:與目標對象的關係、調查問卷長度和複雜性、動機和調查問卷主題等。 如果是與收件人之前毫無關係的線上調查問卷,介於 20-30% 的回覆率就算是相當成功了。 如果您之前從未對目標對象進行過調查,介於 10-15% 的回覆率是比較保守和安全的預估數字。

步驟5

所以,我要把調查問卷寄給多少人?

這部分很簡單!

只要將您從步驟 3 得到的數字除以在步驟 4 得到的數字即可。 那就是您的魔術數字。

所以,舉例來說,如果您需要 100 個會使用洗髮精的女性幫您填寫調查問卷,而且您認為這些會使用洗髮精的女性,其中有 10% 會真的填寫您寄出的調查問卷,那您就只需要寄給 100/10% 個女性 – 也就是 1000 人!

Survey Sample Size

How many people do I really need to send my survey to?

Sample Size Illustration

When you're asking "how many survey respondents do I need?", what you're really asking is, "how big does my sample need to be in order to accurately estimate my population?" These concepts are complex, so we've broken the process into 5 steps, allowing you to easily calculate your ideal sample size and ensure accuracy in your survey's results.

5 steps to make sure your sample accurately estimates your population:

Step 1

What is Your Population?

By population we mean the entire set of people who you want to understand (your sample is going to be the people from this population who end up actually taking your survey).

So, for example, if you want to understand how to market your toothpaste in France, your population would be residents of France. If you're trying to understand how many vacation days people who work for your toothpaste company would like to have, your population would be employees of your toothpaste company.

Regardless of whether it's a country or a company, figuring out what population you're trying to understand is a vital first step. Once you know what your population is, figure out how many people (roughly) make up that population. For example, roughly 65 million people live in France and we're guessing that your toothpaste company has fewer employees than that.

Got your number? Okay then let's keep going…

Step 2

How Accurate Do You Need To Be?

Think of this step as an assessment of how much of a risk you're willing to take that the answers you get to your survey will be off by a little bit due to the fact that you're not surveying your entire population. So here are your two questions to answer:

  1. How sure do you need to be that the answers reflect the views of your population?
    This is your margin of error. So if, for example, 90% of your sample likes grape bubble gum. A 5% margin of error would add 5% on either side of that number, meaning that actually 85-95% of your sample likes grape bubble gum. 5% is the most commonly used margin of error, but you may want anywhere from 1-10% for a margin of error depending on your survey. Increasing your margin of error above 10% is not recommended.
  2. How sure do you need to be that the sample accurately samples your population?
    This is your confidence interval. A confidence interval is the likelihood that the sample you picked mattered in the results you got. The calculation is usually done in the following way. If you picked 30 more samples randomly from your population, how often would the results you got in your one sample significantly differ those other 30 samples? A 95% confidence interval means that you would get the same results 95% of the time. 95% is the most commonly used confidence interval but you may want a 90% or 99% confidence interval depending on your survey. Decreasing your confidence interval below 90% is not recommended.
Step 3

How Big a Sample Do I Need?

Using the chart below, select your approximate target population, then choose your margin of error to estimate the number of completed surveys you'll require.

Now that you have your numbers from Step #1 and Step #2 check out this handy chart below to figure out how big a sample you'll need…

Population Margin of Error Confidence Interval
10% 5% 1% 90% 95% 99%
100 508099 748088
500 81218476 176218286
1,000 88278906 215278400
10,000 963704,900 264370623
100,000 963838,763 270383660
1,000,000+ 973849,513 271384664

Note: These are intended as rough guidelines only. Also, for populations of more than 1 million you might want to round up slightly to the nearest hundred.

Step 4

How Responsive Will People Be?

We're sorry to say that not everybody you send your survey to will fill it out.

The percentage of people who do actually fill out a survey that they receive is known as the "response rate". Estimating your response rate will help you determine the total number of surveys you'll need to send out to obtain the required number of completed surveys.

Response rates vary widely depending on a number of factors such as the relationship with your target audience, survey length and complexity, incentives, and topic of your survey. For online surveys in which there is no prior relationship with recipients, a response rate of between 20-30% is considered to be highly successful. A response rate of 10-15% is a more conservative and a safer guess if you haven't surveyed your population before.

Step 5

So How Many People Do I Send It To?

This part's easy!

Just divide the number you got from Step #3 by the number you got from Step #4. That's your magic number.

So, for example, if you need 100 women who use shampoo to fill out your survey and you think about 10% of these shampoo-using women that you send the survey to will actually fill it out, then you need to send it to 100/10% women – 1000!

Looking for the right people to take your survey? Meet SurveyMonkey Audience.

SurveyMonkey Audience has millions of survey respondents ready to provide the answers you need to make critical decisions. Each survey taker has been profiled against hundreds of demographic, lifestyle, occupation and geographic data points, so that you can survey the exact group whose feedback matters to you. In as quickly as two days, a project can be launched, the full set of data can be collected, and the results ready made for analysis — all within your existing SurveyMonkey account.
Learn more »