有效使用量化調查研究

確認量化方法並收集資料。

QuantData_LowRes量化調查研究可讓您將樣本群組的調查結果擴及至整個群組所有人。 量化調查研究是採取有系統的統計方式,可讓您有能力得到結論,並針對行動方案做出有把握的決定。

大多數量化調查研究是用來證明或反駁您在量化調查研究時所提出的預定假設。

量化問題占有大多數調查問卷的絕大部份內容,但通常運用的方式卻毫無效率。 在建立量化問題時,請確定該問題可讓您達到下列三個目標之一:

1. 界定您的受訪者特性: 所有封閉式問題目的旨在有效界定受訪者的特性。 這可能包含獲得下列資訊:

  • 特徵: 確認年齡、性別、種族、收入等。
  • 行為: 確認受訪者習慣,例如
  • 意見或態度: 確認受訪者的想法,例如一個人使用產品時有多滿意,或他們是否喜歡自己選出的政治人物。

瞭解這些特性有助您瞭解您的受訪者是什麼樣的人、他們如何反應,以及他們喜歡或期望什麼。

撰寫調查問卷的免費電子指南 我們的調查問卷專家會提供實用需知,讓您瞭解如何撰寫最佳調查問卷並取得可靠結果。

取得指南 →

2. 衡量數據趨勢 透過一段時間進行相同的調查問卷,您可開始瞭解數據中的趨勢。 意見可能是朝特定方向緩慢地形成,或您可能會找出季節性模式?  總而言之,觀察一段時間數據驅勢後,可讓您清楚說明和分析調查問卷結果。

例如,您要求客戶對您的客戶服務滿意度給予評分;評分標準為「非常滿意」至「非常不滿意」),您的客戶中有百分之 20 表示「非常滿意」。 雖然瞭解自己目前的競爭實力很好,但這個數據也成為量尺並用來測量您未來進步的程度。

比如,在第一次調查問卷後,您做了一些改變以便更符佮客戶的需求。 您現在就能再進行相同的調查問卷,並瞭解「非常滿意」客戶的百分比是否提高或下降。 這樣做可讓您有效衡量您的客戶滿意度在一段時間後的進步程度,同時可直接衡量兩次調查問卷之間新方案和程序的實施效果。

3. 比較群組: 調查問卷也可用來進行受訪者群組之間的比較。

我們回來討論上面的例子。 增加人口統計資料問題,並詢問受訪者的年齡、性別和收入,您就可比較一些問題:年紀較輕男性比較大女性更滿意您的服務?

透過比較不同群組,您可瞭解誰是您的目標對象、如何向他們傳達訊息,以及您的產品何時需要變更才能適用於特定市場。 您也可將滿意客戶的百分比與基準做比較,以便瞭解與競爭對手比較的實力高低。

量化調查研究的其他用途

除了調查問卷範圍外,您還可以不同方式使用量化調查研究。 請看下列多種方式範例:

1. 觀察真實的數據: 您有可能每天搜集數據,協助您依量化數據做出決定。 數據範圍從客戶多常瀏覽您的網站到您的銷售達到高峰的原因。 這類在現實世界搜集的資訊就是最近所稱的「大數據」;如同您自己進行的調查研究一樣,這些資訊對引導您做出果決定非常有用。

大數據會讓您瞭解一般人做了哪些事的許多資訊,但需注意的是,這些資訊很少會讓您知道人們為何採取特定方式的行為。 您必須為這方面進行更多質化和量化的調查研究。

2. 因果關係試驗: 若要設法瞭解之所以有點更好的「原因」,因果關係試驗是透過觀察在環境中加入某些事物時會如何,以期確定因果的關係。 這種新加入的元素可能是衡量銷售的廣告效果或員工參與度的辦公室派對等任何事情。

比如,您計劃變更所售產品的包裝,且您瞭解這樣做對銷售可能有影響。 您可以只在數個商店推出新包裝,然後比較這些新包裝與舊包裝的銷售額。 因果關係試驗是 A/B 版本測試背後所用的概念。

現在,您有這些工具可開始進行,但別忘了在進行前結合一些質化調查研究。若要瞭解如何在調查研究設計中運用兩種方式,請查閱本文章內容

本文章是 SurveyMonkey 調查問卷 100 專案中的一部份。 我們希望協助更多人建立明智的調查問卷。 瞭解更多專案及我們參與調查研究社群的資訊。

Using Quantitative Research Effectively

Identifying quantitative methods and collecting data.

QuantData_LowResQuantitative research allows you to generalize the results from a sample group to an entire group of people. Being both structured and statistical, quantitative research provides you with the ability to draw conclusions and make an educated decision on a course of action.

Most quantitative research is used to prove or disprove a predetermined hypothesis that you may have come up with while conducting qualitative research.

Quantitative questions take up the major bulk of most surveys, but are often used inefficiently. When creating a quantitative question, make sure it will allow you to reach one of these three goals:

1. Defining a characteristic of your respondents: All closed-ended questions aim to better define a characteristic of your respondents. This could include gaining information on:

  • A trait: Identifying age, gender, race, income, etc.
  • A behavior: Identifying respondent habits, such as hours spent on the internet each week, commuting habits, exercise routines, etc.
  • An opinion or attitude: Identifying respondent’s thoughts, such as how satisfied a person is with a product or whether they like their elected politician.

Knowing these characteristics helps you understand who your respondents are, how they act, and what they like or expect.

Free Survey Writing eGuide Get tips from our survey experts on how to write great surveys that'll get you reliable results.

Get the Guide →

2. Measuring trends in your data: By running the same survey over time, you can begin to recognize trends in your data. Maybe opinions are slowly shifting in a particular direction, or maybe you’ll recognize seasonal patterns?  Bottom line, looking at trends over time gives your survey results context.

For example, say you ask your customers to rate their satisfaction on your customer service a scale from “very satisfied” to “very dissatisfied,” and 20 percent say they are “very satisfied.” Though it’s good to know where you stand currently, this number can also be used as a yardstick to measure your progress in the future.

Let’s say after the original survey you make changes to better meet customer needs. You can now conduct the same survey again and see whether the percent of customers who are “very satisfied” has risen or fallen. This allows you to effectively measure the progress you are making with customer satisfaction over time, as well as directly measure the effects of new initiatives and processes implemented between surveys.

3. Comparing Groups: Survey questions can also be used to draw comparisons between groups of respondents.

Let’s go back to the example above. By adding demographic questions about your respondents’ age, gender, and income, you will be able to compare questions such as: are young men are more satisfied with your service than older women?

By comparing different groups, you’ll be able to figure out who to target, how to message them, and when your product needs to change to fit a particular market. You can also compare the percent of your customers who are satisfied to a benchmark in order to see how you stand compared to your competitors.

Alternate uses of quantitative research

Beyond the realm of surveys, you can also use quantitative research in various ways. Check out a couple of examples how:

1. Observing real data: Chances are you collect data every day that can help you make quantitatively driven decisions. It could be anything from how long a customer visits your website to what seasons your sales peak. This real world information, lately earning the name Big Data, can be just as useful in directing your decisions as conducting your own research!

Big Data can tell you a lot about what people do, but remember that it seldom tells you why they act a certain way. You’ll need more direct qualitative and quantitative research for that!

2. Causal experimentation: To try to understand that “why” a little better, causal experimentation seeks to determine a cause-effect relationship by watching what happens when something new is added to an environment. This new element could be anything from measuring the effect of a commercial on sales or office parties on employee engagement.

Say you plan on changing the packaging on something you sell, and you want to understand it’s potential impact on sales. You could introduce the new packaging in just a few stores and compare its sales to the old packaging. Causal experimentation is the concept behind A/B testing.

Now you’ve got the tools to hit the ground running, but don’t forget to incorporate some qualitative research before you do. For more information on how to use both in your research design, check out this article.

This article is part of SurveyMonkey’s Surveys 101 project. We hope to help more people create smart surveys. Learn more about the project and our involvement in the research community .

Get the Feedback eGuide