Réaliser des études qualitatives

Tirer le meilleur parti de vos données qualitatives.

Données qualitativesUne étude qualitative est une méthodologie de recherche moins structurée qui permet d’obtenir des informations détaillées sur les motivations et raisonnements sous-jacents. L’objectif final est de développer une connaissance approfondie d’un sujet ou d’un problème d’un point de vue individuel.

Une étude qualitative se définit comme toute forme de collecte d’informations qui a pour but de décrire, mais pas de prévoir (cela relève de l’étude quantitative). Une étude qualitative est souvent utilisée pour engendrer une hypothèse, qui est ensuite testée à l’aide d’une étude quantitative.

Avantages des études qualitatives

Concevoir un sondage quand vous ne connaissez pas les attitudes, les opinions générales d’un groupe ou même les termes qu’il utilise, c’est un peu comme traverser une rue les yeux bandés : vous savez où vous voulez aller, mais il est dangereux de vous lancer sans effectuer d’abord un repérage.

L’étude qualitative est de nature exploratoire, vous aidant à comprendre les informations détaillées sur un sujet ou un problème. Vous pouvez alors formuler une hypothèse avant de rassembler des données qui vous aideront à décider si votre hypothèse est correcte ou non.

Inconvénients des études qualitatives

Même sur une étude qualitative peut fournir des informations riches et détaillées sur un sujet ou un problème, elle touche généralement un nombre restreint de personnes (ou échantillon), ce qui signifie qu’elle est limitée à une simple description ; une étude qualitative ne peut pas vous aider à prendre une décision ou à arriver à une conclusion. Ainsi, bien qu’une étude qualitative puisse vous aider à comprendre comment les gens décrivent l’emballage de votre produit, elle ne peut pas vous dire quel est l’emballage le plus efficace.

Guide électronique gratuit d'écriture de sondages Profitez de conseils de nos experts en sondages pour apprendre à formuler des sondages efficaces qui génèreront des résultats fiables.

Lisez le guide →

Importance d’une étude qualitative dans les sondages

Imaginons que vous créez un sondage de satisfaction pour un restaurant avec comme objectif final d’identifier et d’améliorer les points faibles de votre restaurant. Vous pouvez décider de demander aux personnes interrogées de noter leur niveau de satisfaction sur le service, la carte et la qualité de la nourriture.

Bien que cette liste puisse sembler complète à première vue, il est tout à fait possible qu’une partie importante des personnes interrogées ne soient pas satisfaites sur des points qui n’ont pas été traités ou trop peu pour être inclus dans le sondage, comme la propreté ou l’ambiance du restaurant. Avec une étude qualitative même limitée, vous pourriez identifier les questions que vous pourriez poser avant même de commencer. Sans étude qualitative, votre sondage pourrait passer à côté de problèmes potentiels.

De plus, une étude qualitative peut vous guider vers des termes spécifiques que vous devriez utiliser pour être plus proche des personnes interrogées. En tant que restaurateur, vous connaissez probablement les termes point de vente ou système de point de vente, mais de nombreuses personnes interrogées ne connaîtront pas ces termes. Certaines études qualitatives initiales peuvent vous aider à affiner les termes que les personnes interrogées ou clients utilisent fréquemment et ceux qui ne leur diront rien.

Formes d’études qualitatives

Les études qualitatives peuvent prendre de nombreuses formes. Voici un aperçu rapide de certaines méthodes de collecte de données qualitatives :

Entretiens : Les entretiens permettent de collecter des informations détaillées en face à face, servant à mieux comprendre un sujet ou un problème. Imaginons que vous prévoyez d’effectuer un sondage qui mesure la satisfaction des clients au sujet de votre entreprise.

Avant de créer le sondage, il peut être judicieux d’organiser des entretiens pour obtenir des informations sur la culture de l’entreprise, les conditions de travail et autres particularités de votre entreprise ou de votre domaine. Les entretiens vous permettent également de poser des questions de suivi, de lire le langage corporel et de saisir des indices subtils, ce qu’une étude plus quantitative serait incapable de faire. En plus de permettre d’en savoir plus sur un sujet, les entretiens peuvent être utilisés pour créer des études de cas et rassembler les opinions d’experts.

Études de cas : Vos clients peuvent être votre principal point de vente. Pensez à la popularité de Yelp ou des avis sur Amazon. De nombreuses personnes lisent des avis tiers avant de décider d’acheter un produit ou choisir un restaurant. Rassembler des avis positifs ou demander à vos plus fidèles clients de fournir « leur histoire » génère des informations précieuses permettant de gagner des clients potentiels.

Les entretiens détaillés avec des clients forment souvent la base d’études de cas les plus intéressantes. Vous pouvez également recueillir ces témoignages en ajoutant une question ouverte dans votre sondage et en utilisant les réponses que vous recevez (sans oublier de toujours demander la permission d’utiliser les déclarations du client avant de rendre publics ses commentaires privés).

Opinions d’experts : De nombreuses personnes utilisent les opinions d’experts pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur un sujet particulier. Par exemple, vous aimeriez peut-être en apprendre plus sur un sujet que vous ne maîtrisez pas (comme, hum, les bonnes pratiques de sondage !). Dans ce cas, il serait certainement préférable d’organiser quelques entretiens avec des experts du sujet. Ainsi, vous pourriez poser plusieurs questions ouvertes et bénéficier des informations de qualité nécessaires pour mieux comprendre le sujet.

Groupes de discussion : Généralement dans une salle ou en ligne, un groupe de discussion réunit un petit groupe de personnes pour partager leurs idées sur un sujet donné. Un groupe de discussion vous permet d’évaluer les réactions d’une petite partie de votre audience cible au cours d’une discussion de groupe contrôlée mais ouverte. Cette forme d’étude est une formidable méthode pour tester comment votre audience cible perçoit un nouveau produit ou une nouvelle stratégie marketing.

Questions de sondage ouvertes : Les questions ouvertes, qui se présentent le plus souvent sous la forme d’une zone de texte dans un sondage, permettent aux personnes interrogées de fournir une réponse unique (à l’opposé des réponses prédéterminées parmi lesquelles choisir). Cette approche donne aux personnes interrogées la liberté de dire exactement ce qu’elles ressentent sur un sujet, ce qui vous fournit des données exploratoires qui peuvent révéler des opportunités, des questions ou même des citations à réutiliser. Vous pourrez ensuite utiliser ces informations pour compléter les chiffres que vous avez recueillis dans votre sondage. Ce sont souvent ces réponses ou exemples qui génèrent des indications plus solides que toutes les moyennes et pourcentages.

Recherche par observation : Cette approche permet d’observer des clients ou des personnes dans leur environnement réel. Un parfait exemple consiste à observer des personnes en train de faire leurs courses dans une boutique. Combien de temps leur faut-il pour trouver ce qu’elles cherchent ? Ont-elles l’air à l’aise dans leurs contacts avec votre personnel ? Où se rendent-elles en premier, et après ? À quel moment quittent-elles la boutique sans avoir effectué d’achat ? Ces observations dans le monde réel peuvent engendrer des découvertes que des formes de recherche directes, telles que les groupes de discussion et les interviews, pourraient manquer.

À présent que vous vous êtes familiarisé avec les techniques d’étude qualitative, découvrez-en plus sur les techniques d’étude quantitative, ou la combinaison des deux pour obtenir de meilleures informations à partir de vos données !

Cet article fait partie du projet Surveys 101 de SurveyMonkey. Nous espérons aider le plus grand nombre à créer des sondages intelligents. Découvrez-en plus sur le projet et sur notre implication dans la communauté de recherche.

Conducting Qualitative Research

Making the most of your qualitative data.

Create a Survey Today

Qualitative research is a less structured research methodology used to gain in-depth information about people’s underlying reasoning and motivations.

The end goal is to develop a deep understanding of a topic, issue, or problem from an individual perspective.

Qualitative research is defined as any form of information collection that’s meant to describe, but not predict, as in the case of quantitative research. Often qualitative research is used to come up with a hypothesis, which is then tested using quantitative research.

The pros of qualitative research

Designing a survey when you’re unaware of a group’s general attitudes, opinions, or even words they use to describe your topic is similar to walking across a street blindfolded: You know where you want to go, but it’s dangerous to start your journey without investigating the landscape first.

Qualitative research is exploratory in nature, helping you understand detailed information about a topic or issue. You can then formulate a hypothesis before gathering data that will help you decide whether your hypothesis is correct or incorrect.

The cons of qualitative research

While qualitative research can provide rich, detailed information about a topic or problem, it often is only conducted among a small number of people (or sample) which means that it’s limited to only describing something—qualitative research can’t help you make a decision or come to a conclusion. So while qualitative research can help you understand how people are describing the packaging design of your product, it isn’t able to give you insight on which packaging design is more appealing.

Why qualitative research matters in surveys

Let’s say you are creating a restaurant feedback survey with the end goal of identifying and improving upon your restaurant’s weak points. You may decide to ask respondents to rate their level of satisfaction with your restaurant’s customer service, menu selection, and food quality.

Though this list may seem extensive at first, it’s completely possible for a significant portion of respondents to be most dissatisfied with issues that were overlooked or too minor to include in the survey, such as the restaurant’s cleanliness or ambiance. With a small amount of qualitative research, you could identify which issues you should to ask about before you even get started. Without qualitative research, your survey could miss potential issues.

Additionally, qualitative research can inform you of which specific words you should be using to be more relatable to your respondents. As a restaurateur, you’re probably familiar with the term POS or point-of-sale system, but many of your respondents will be unfamiliar with that term. Some initial qualitative research can help you refine which terms your respondents or customers commonly use and which one will go over their heads.

Forms of qualitative research

Qualitative research takes many forms. Here’s a quick look at a few ways that you can collect qualitative data:

Interviews

Interviews collect in-depth content in a one-on-one setting that can be used to better understand a topic or issue. Let’s say you were planning on conducting a survey measuring worker satisfaction in your company.

Before creating your survey, it could be beneficial to conduct interviews to gain some context of the company culture, working conditions, and other concerns that are specific to your company or area. Interviews also give you the opportunity to ask follow-up questions, read body language, and pick up on other subtle cues that a more quantitative research method might not. In addition to learning more about a topic, interviews can also be used to create case studies and gather expert opinions.

Case studies

Your clients can be your number one selling point. Think about the popularity of Yelp or reviews on Amazon: Many consider third party reviews before they decide what product to purchase or which restaurant to go to. Gathering positive referrals or getting your most loyal customers to provide “their story” creates valuable content for winning over potential clients and other customers.

Conducting in-depth interviews with customers often creates the most compelling case studies. Alternatively, you can collect these stories by adding an open-ended question in your survey and using the responses you receive (though remember to always request to use a customer’s statements before placing their private comments in the public eye).

Expert opinions

Many people use expert opinions to gain informed insights on a particular topic. For example, you may be interested in learning about a topic that you don’t know much about (like, ahem, survey best practices). In this case, you’re probably best off conducting a few interviews with experts on the subject. This way, you can ask several open-ended questions and receive the high-quality information needed to better understand the topic.

Focus groups

Usually done in person or online, a focus group asks a small group of people to discuss their thoughts on a given subject. A focus group allows you to gauge the reactions of a small number of your target audience in a controlled but free-flowing group discussion. This form of research is a great way to test how your target audience would perceive a new product or marketing strategy.

Open-ended survey questions

Most often taking the form of a text box in a survey, open-ended questions allow your respondents to provide a unique answer (as opposed to providing a list of predetermined responses to select from). This approach gives respondents the freedom to say exactly what they feel about a topic, which provides you with exploratory data that may reveal unforeseen opportunities, issues, or quotes. You can then use this information to support the hard numbers you’ve collected in the survey. Often it is these quotes or examples that create more powerful statements than many averages and percentages.

Observational research

This approach involves observing customers or people in their actual element. A perfect example would be watching shoppers while they visit your store. How long does it take them to find what they are looking for? Do they look comfortable interacting with your staff? Where do they go first, second? When do they leave without making a purchase? These real-world observations can lead you to findings that more direct forms of research, like focus groups and interviews, would miss.

Now that you’ve learned about qualitative research techniques, learn more about quantitative research techniques, or how to marry the two to get better insights from your data!

This article is part of SurveyMonkey’s Surveys 101 project. We hope to help more people create smart surveys. Learn more about the project and our involvement in the research community.

You may also like:

Customer Satisfaction Surveys

Want to know what your customers are saying about you? Customer satisfaction surveys can help you find out what people think of your company, get feedback on customer service, and more.

Visit Page 

Employee Surveys

When you listen to your employees, you can make decisions that build a happier workplace. Want to measure performance? Engage or motivate your employees? Employee surveys can help.

Visit Page 

Event Surveys

Organizing an event is tough work. Who’s coming? What’s their schedule? Event surveys can give you a clearer picture. When you’re done, get post-event feedback to improve for next time.

Visit Page 

3 quick tips to improve survey response rates

Here are some ideas to ensure that respondents will answer your surveys.

1. Be quick

If your survey is short and sweet, there's a greater chance that more respondents will complete it.

2. Offer incentives

Little incentives like small discount or an entry into a drawing can help ensure respondents complete your survey.

3. Buy a targeted audience

With SurveyMonkey Audience, you can purchase access to an audience who meets specific demographic criteria for your survey. It's a great way to get targeted responses from a specific group.

Why do 25+ million people use SurveyMonkey?

Free

Send an unlimited amount of surveys and polls with our FREE plan

Easy to Use

Create and monitor your survey directly over the Internet - we've made it easy to get started, learn and use.

Intuitive Design

There's no need to be a programmer or an engineer - if you can check email or use Facebook, then you can use SurveyMonkey.

Real Time Results

You can view your data as it comes in, keeping it to yourself or allowing others to see it.

Trustworthy & Experienced

SurveyMonkey has helped over 20 million satisfied customers gather information online.

Expands with Your Needs

SurveyMonkey PRO plans enhance your ability to gather & interpret information with advanced analytics and more.