Produkte

SurveyMonkey eignet sich für alle Zwecke und Bedürfnisse. Testen Sie unser Produkt, um zu sehen, wie SurveyMonkey für Sie funktionieren kann.

Erhalten Sie datengestützte Erkenntnisse vom einem weltweit führenden Anbieter von Online-Umfragen.

Erledigen Sie mehr dank über 100 Apps und Plugins.

Erstellen Sie passgenaue Formulare zur Erfassung von Daten und Zahlungen.

Mit der integrierten KI erstellen Sie bessere Umfragen und bekommen schnelle Erkenntnisse.

Maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Ihre gesamte Marktforschung

Vorlagen

Messen Sie Kundenzufriedenheit und Loyalität für Ihr Business.

Erfahren Sie, wie Sie Ihre Kund:innen begeistern und sie zu Fürsprechenden machen.

Erhalten Sie umsetzbare Erkenntnisse und verbessern Sie die Customer Experience.

Erfassen Sie Kontaktinformationen von Interessenten und Eingeladenen.

Erfassen Sie mühelos Zu- und Absagen für Ihr nächstes Event.

Finden Sie heraus, was die Teilnehmenden wollen, damit Sie Ihr nächstes Event optimieren können.

Verbessern Sie mit fundierten Erkenntnissen das Engagement und Ihre Ergebnisse.

Erhalten Sie Feedback von Ihren Teilnehmenden, um bessere Meetings zu gestalten.

Nutzen Sie Feedback von Kolleg:innen, um die Mitarbeiterleistung zu verbessern.

Erstellen Sie bessere Kurse und optimieren Sie die Lehrmethoden.

Erfahren Sie, wie Studierende das Lehrmaterial und die Präsentation bewerten.

Erfahren Sie, was Kund:innen von Ihren neuen Produktideen halten.

Ressourcen

Best Practices für Umfragen und Umfragedaten

Unser Blog, u. a. mit Tipps zu Umfragen und Business

FAQs und Tutorials für die Verwendung von SurveyMonkey

Wie Top-Marken mit SurveyMonkey das Wachstum steigern.

Vertrieb kontaktierenAnmelden
Vertrieb kontaktierenAnmelden

Erfahren Sie, wie Sie die Leistung Ihres Kundenservice messen und das Maximum aus Ihren Daten herausholen. Sollen wir gleich loslegen mit der Erfassung von Kundenfeedback? Am besten nutzen Sie dazu unser Kundenfeedback-Muster und können Ihre Befragung dann blitzschnell versenden.

Lächelnder Mann, der einen geöffneten Laptop hält; neben ihm Chat-Blasen und ein Screenshot einer Umfrage


Nach dem CX-Bericht 2023 von SurveyMonkey sind für 90 % der Kundinnen und Kunden bei der Wahl ihrer Marken Kundenservice und Support wichtig. 

Es geht sogar so weit, dass 57 % nach einer schlechten Erfahrung gar keine Geschäfte mehr mit diesem Unternehmen machen würden. Das sind ganz schön einschüchternde Zahlen. Die gute Nachricht dabei ist, dass der Kundenservice ein Kommunikationskanal ist, den Sie voll und ganz unter Kontrolle haben und dessen Leistung Sie wesentlich einfacher messen können als zum Beispiel andere Kommunikationswege wie die sozialen Medien oder die Mundpropaganda.

Und Kundenservice macht in der Tat einen Unterschied, denn nur für 2 % der Befragten sind Kundensupport und -service überhaupt nicht wichtig.

Wie können Sie also die Kundenerwartungen erfüllen oder sogar übertreffen? In einem ersten Schritt sollten Sie sich aufmerksam die Leistungskennzahlen (KPIs) des Kundenservice ansehen.

In diesem Artikel gehen wir auf die Kundenservice-Metriken ein, die Unternehmen zur Erfolgsbewertung einsetzen. Darüber hinaus geben wir Beispiele von Bewertungsskalen, da Sie mit diesen zuverlässige Daten erfassen können.

Wenn Fachleute über die Kundenerfahrung (Customer Experience, CX) bzw. das Kundenerlebnis reden, dann haben sie die gesamte Customer Journey (Kundenreise) im Blick, von dem ersten Kennenlernen einer Marke bis zum Kauf und darüber hinaus. Es geht also um jede Interaktion, die Kundinnen und Kunden auf allen Kanälen mit Ihrer Organisation haben. Es geht um den Gesamteindruck Ihrer Marke.

Kundenservice ist dabei ein Bestandteil der Customer Experience. Hierbei dreht es sich um den direkten Umgang Ihres Kundenservice mit Interessierten und Bestandskunden. Ziel eines jeden Kundenservice-Teams ist die Beantwortung von Fragen und das Lösen von Problemen auf schnelle, effiziente und sorgfältige Weise.

Organisationen setzen dabei Kennzahlen der Customer Experience ein, um proaktiv die Treue, Zufriedenheit, Stimmung der Kundschaft sowie weitere Parameter zu messen. Einige dieser Leistungskennzahlen beziehen sich ausschließlich auf den Kundenservice und sind daher eher reaktiver als proaktiver Natur. 

Es gibt zwei wesentliche Leistungskennzahlen bzw. KPIs, die Ihnen helfen, ein klares Bild der Leistung Ihres Kundenservice zu erhalten. Mit der einen können Sie Kundenfeedback erfassen, indem Sie an Ihre Kundinnen und Kunden Umfragen zur Kundenzufriedenheit senden, nachdem diese mit Ihrem Support interagiert haben. Das Feedback, das Sie erhalten, ist in jedem Fall subjektiv, auch wenn es quantifizierbare Daten liefert.

Die zweite dieser Kennzahlen ist eine Input-Kennzahl, die getrackt werden kann. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist die Zeit, die Ihr Kundenservice bis zu einer Antwort auf eine Kundenanfrage benötigt. Mithilfe solcher Input-Metriken können Sie aus der objektiven Leistung und dem Feedback, das Sie von Kundinnen und Kunden erhalten, ein umfassendes Bild davon erhalten, wo Ihr Kundenservice die Kundenerwartungen erfüllt und wo noch nachgebessert werden sollte.

Im Folgenden haben wir verschiedene Kennzahlen und Inputs aufgeführt, die aus Feedback gewonnen werden und die in Kundenservice-Teams zur Beurteilung der Leistung herangezogen werden.

Vielleicht kennen Sie bereits die NPS-Frage (Net Promoter® Score): „Wie wahrscheinlich ist es, dass Sie dieses Unternehmen einer Freundin/einem Freund oder einer Kollegin/einem Kollegen weiterempfehlen werden?“ Die Kundinnen und Kunden können dann ihre Auswahl auf einer Skala von 0 (überhaupt nicht wahrscheinlich) bis 10 (äußerst wahrscheinlich) treffen. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, wie treu sie Ihrer Marke sind.

Eine solche Net Promoter® Score-Umfrage kann an jedem Punkt der Customer Experience gesendet werden. Da die NPS-Frage in der Regel nicht an ein bestimmtes Ereignis gebunden ist, funktioniert sie auch in verschiedenen Kontexten wunderbar.

Wenn Sie diese beispielsweise als Teil einer Feedbackbefragung zum Kundenservice senden, werden Sie erkennen, wie Ihr Supportteam die Treue Ihrer Kundinnen und Kunden zu Ihrer Marke beeinflusst.

Senden Sie eine SurveyMonkey-Erhebung, die eine NPS-Frage beinhaltet, wird der NPS-Wert für Sie automatisch berechnet. Zum Berechnen Ihres eigenen Scores können Sie den NPS-Rechner nutzen. Und das sagen die Ergebnisse aus:

  • Kundinnen und Kunden, die einen Wert von 0 bis 6 wählen, werden Detraktoren genannt. Ihre Meinung könnte dem Image Ihrer Marke schaden.
  • Kund:innen, die einen Wert von 7 oder 8 wählen, sind Indifferente. Sie sind zwar zufrieden, bleiben Ihrer Marke womöglich aber nicht treu.
  • Kunden, die eine Bewertung von 9 oder 10 ausgewählt haben, sind Promotoren. Diese sind sehr zufrieden und würden Ihr Unternehmen weiterempfehlen.
  • Die Indifferenten spielen beim NPS-Wert keine Rolle. Um den NPS zu berechnen, ermitteln Sie zunächst aus der Gesamtzahl der Befragten die Prozentwerte der Promotoren und Detraktoren und setzen dann diese Formel ein: Promotoren in % - Detraktoren in % = NPS. 
NPS-Gleichung
  • Der NPS-Bereich geht von -100 bis +100. Die NPS-Benchmarks für den Kundenservice sind je nach Branche unterschiedlich. Für den E-Commerce beispielsweise liegt der Durchschnittswert bei 62, während er für Internet- oder Softwareanbieter bei 4 liegt. Prüfen Sie selbst anhand der NPS-Benchmarks, wie Sie im Vergleich zu Ihrer Branche dastehen. 
  • Der NPS ist eine Momentaufnahme der Leistung Ihres Teams. Sein Vorteil liegt darin, dass der Wert leicht über die Zeit getrackt werden kann. Sollte sich der Wert kontinuierlich verschlechtern, ist es höchste Zeit, sich die Daten genau anzusehen.
  • Nehmen Sie in Ihre Umfrage eine offene Frage auf, die die Kundinnen und Kunden bittet, ihre Wertung zu begründen. Bei einer Wertung von 6 können Sie beispielsweise diese Frage stellen: „Was müsste unser Unternehmen ändern, um von Ihnen eine noch bessere Bewertung zu erhalten?“ Damit Sie ein klares Bild der Datentrends erhalten, können Sie sich die einzelnen Beantwortungen ansehen oder ein leistungsstarkes Textanalysetool einsetzen.
Umfrage zur Produktzufriedenheit zur Marktforschung

Während Sie den schon erwähnten NPS gut dafür nutzen können, um die Wirkung Ihres Teams auf die Kundentreue zu verstehen, benötigen Sie eine andere Kennzahl, wenn es darum geht, wie gut Ihr Team die Kundinnen und Kunden unterstützt: die Kundenzufriedenheitsbewertung (CSAT). (Erfahren Sie hier mehr über den Einsatz von NPS und CSAT im Vergleich.)

Es gibt viele verschiedene Beispiele für Fragen zur Kundenzufriedenheit. In einer Erhebung zum Kundenservice könnte etwa eine solche Frage stehen: „Wie zufrieden waren Sie mit der Reaktionszeit unseres Kundensupports?“

Für die Antworten in Befragungen zur Kundenzufriedenheit wird üblicherweise eine Skala von 1 (Äußerst unzufrieden) bis 3 (oder 5 oder 10, Äußerst zufrieden) zur Verfügung gestellt. Zur Ermittlung des CSAT betrachten Sie nur den Kundenkreis, der mit Ihrem Kundenservice zufrieden ist.

Sie berechnen den CSAT, indem Sie die Zahl der Zufriedenen durch die Gesamtzahl der Befragten teilen und das Ergebnis mit 100 multiplizieren. 

Die CSAT-Gleichung

Eine Studie von SurveyMonkey zeigt, dass 91 % der Verbraucher und Verbraucherinnen wahrscheinlich ein Unternehmen weiterempfehlen, das ein positives und müheloses Kundenerlebnis bietet. Der Customer Effort Score (CES) misst, wie einfach oder schwierig es für die Kundinnen und Kunden ist, bei der Interaktion mit Ihrem Produkt oder Service die gewünschte Aufgabe zu erledigen.

In einer CES-Umfrage könnte beispielsweise gefragt werden: „Wie leicht war es für Sie, Ihr aktuelles Problem mithilfe unseres Kundensupports zu lösen?“ Die Antwortoptionen könnten von „Viel leichter als erwartet“ bis „Viel schwerer als erwartet“ reichen.

Products

SurveyMonkey is built to handle every use case and need. Explore our product to learn how SurveyMonkey can work for you.

Get data-driven insights from a global leader in online surveys.

Integrate with 100+ apps and plug-ins to get more done.

Build and customize online forms to collect info and payments.

Create better surveys and spot insights quickly with built-in AI.

Purpose-built solutions for all of your market research needs.

Templates

Measure customer satisfaction and loyalty for your business.

Learn what makes customers happy and turn them into advocates.

Get actionable insights to improve the user experience.

Collect contact information from prospects, invitees, and more.

Easily collect and track RSVPs for your next event.

Find out what attendees want so that you can improve your next event.

Uncover insights to boost engagement and drive better results.

Get feedback from your attendees so you can run better meetings.

Use peer feedback to help improve employee performance.

Create better courses and improve teaching methods.

Learn how students rate the course material and its presentation.

Find out what your customers think about your new product ideas.

Resources

Best practices for using surveys and survey data

Our blog about surveys, tips for business, and more.

Tutorials and how to guides for using SurveyMonkey.

How top brands drive growth with SurveyMonkey.

Contact SalesLog in
Contact SalesLog in

Learn how to measure customer service and get the most out of your data. Ready to start collecting customer feedback? Use a template to create and send a survey in minutes.

Smiling man holding open laptop with chat bubbles and survey screenshot next to him


According to our SurveyMonkey 2023 State of CX Report, 90% of consumers say customer service and support are important for the brands they like. 

In fact, more than half (57%) say they’d stop doing business with a company after a poor experience. Scary, right? The good news is that customer service is one channel you can control and measure more easily than others, like social media or word-of-mouth.

And customer service makes a difference. Only 2% say customer service and support aren’t important at all.

So, how can you meet (and even exceed) customer expectations? The first step is to make sure you’re paying attention to the customer service metrics that matter.

In this article, you’ll learn about customer service metrics companies use to evaluate success. You’ll also see customer service rating scale examples that enable reliable data.

When professionals talk about the customer experience (CX), they talk about the entire customer journey, from brand discovery to purchase and beyond. It’s every interaction a customer has with your organization across every channel—and their overall impression of your brand.

Customer service is one piece of the customer experience. It’s how your organization directly supports both prospective and current customers. The goals of a customer service team are to answer customer questions and solve issues quickly, efficiently, and with care.

Organizations use customer experience metrics to proactively track brand loyalty, customer satisfaction, consumer sentiment, and more. Some of these metrics are specific to customer service, which is more reactive versus proactive. 

There are two types of metrics you can use to understand your customer service performance. First, you can collect customer feedback by sending customer satisfaction surveys to customers after they interact with your support team. The feedback you collect is subjective, even if it yields quantifiable data.

The second type of customer service metrics you can track are your input metrics, like how long it takes your service agents to respond to customer requests. These inputs can help you draw conclusions between your objective performance and the feedback you’re getting from customers.

Here are the different types of customer feedback metrics and inputs that customer service teams use to evaluate their performance.

You might know of the Net Promoter Score® (NPS) question: “How likely would you recommend this company to a friend or colleague?” Customers choose a number from 0 (not at all likely) to 10 (extremely likely). Your results show how loyal customers are to your brand.

You can send a Net Promoter Score survey at any point in the customer experience. The NPS question works well in different contexts because it’s usually not tied to one specific event.

When you ask the NPS question in a customer service feedback survey, you’re able to understand how your support may impact customer loyalty to your brand.

When you send a SurveyMonkey survey that includes the NPS question, your score is calculated for you. If you need to calculate your own score, you can use an NPS calculator. Here’s how it works:

  • Customers who choose 0 to 6 are detractors. Their opinions may harm your brand image.
  • Customers who choose 7 or 8 are passives. They’re satisfied but may not stay loyal to your brand.
  • Customers who choose 9 or 10 are promoters. They’re the most satisfied and may recommend you to others.
  • Passives aren’t included in your NPS. Figure out the percentages of promoters and detractors you have from your total number of respondents, then use the formula % of promoters - % of detractors = NPS. 
How to calculate NPS equation
  • Your NPS can range from -100 to +100, and NPS customer service benchmarks differ by industry. For example, the average score for the ecommerce industry is 62, while it’s 4 for internet and software services. See how you compare to others in your industry with Net Promoter Score benchmarks
  • NPS provides a quick snapshot of your team's performance. It’s one number you can easily track over time. If you see the number consistently decreasing, it’s time to dig into the data.
  • Include an open-ended survey question asking customers why they gave you a particular rating. For example, if someone gives you a 6, include the follow-up question: “What changes would this company have to make for you to give it an even higher rating?” You can look at individual responses or use a powerful text analysis tool to quickly understand data trends.
Product satisfaction survey for market research

While you should use NPS to understand your team’s impact on customer loyalty, you need the Customer Satisfaction Score (CSAT) to measure how well your team is supporting customers. (Read more about when to use NPS vs. CSAT.)

There are many different examples of customer satisfaction questions. For a customer service survey, ask a question like: “How satisfied were you with the response time of our customer support team?”

Customer satisfaction survey answers are usually on a scale of 1 (extremely dissatisfied) to 3, 5, or 10 (extremely satisfied). To get your CSAT score, you only consider customers who are satisfied with your customer service.

Calculate CSAT by dividing the number of satisfied customers by the total number of respondents and multiplying by 100. 

CSAT equation

Our research shows that 91% of consumers will likely recommend a company after a positive, low-effort experience. The Customer Effort Score (CES) measures how easy or difficult it is for customers to achieve tasks when interacting with your product or service.

For example, in a Customer Effort Score survey, you could ask: “How easy was it for you to resolve your recent issue with our customer support?” Answer choices can range from “Much easier than I expected” to “Much more difficult than I expected.”

Your resulting CES will be between 0 and 100, which shows the total number of customers who respond positively to the question.

To calculate CES, divide the sum of the responses by the total number of responses and multiply by 100. 

Customer effort score (CES) equation
  • You can calculate your CES for any type of customer service interaction, like phone, email, social media, chat, and in-person support.
  • Why should you care about CES? You can significantly improve your customer service by figuring out exactly what is frustrating customers the most.
  • Just like NPS, the Customer Effort Score is one number. You should track it over time but also make sure you’re collecting open-ended feedback so you can understand why customers gave you the rating they did. Learn more about how to use CES.

Also known as first reply time, first response time (FRT) measures the average time a customer service agent takes to respond to a customer request or ticket.

(Total first response times / Total number of resolved tickets) x 100 = FRT

  • FRT differs by industry, product, and channel. For example, it generally takes organizations longer to respond to emails than a phone call. It can be difficult to understand what’s considered a good FRT. A good place to start is the Customer Service Quality Benchmark Report, which shows the average FRT for 2023 is 4 hours and 42 minutes.
  • Our 2023 State of CX Report shows that 80% of consumers expect a response to customer service requests within one business day.
  • Use automated responses to let customers know you received their request and that you’ll get back to them soon. This doesn’t replace an actual reply, but you can set expectations for how long customers can expect to wait and give them confirmation that their request went through.

Total handling time / Total number of calls = AHT

*Total handling time includes total talk time, total hold time, and after-call work

  • AHT differs by industry, and this Talkdesk 2021 Global Contact Center KPI Benchmarking Report doesn’t include after-call work in their calculation of AHT. But you can get a good idea of industry benchmarks like healthcare (3 minutes, 11 seconds) or retail, ecommerce, and consumer goods (3 minutes, 29 seconds).
  • Remember that AHT is only part of the picture. Although it’s generally better to have a lower AHT, it’s a good idea to benchmark against yourself, too. You may only have service agents working on the most complex cases, while chatbots or AI resolves simpler cases.
  • You can reduce AHT by ensuring your service agents are well-trained and have short, clear scripts to help them solve common issues. It’s also a good idea to create checklists for your service agents so they can be consistent and efficient when responding to tickets.

First contact resolution: This is the percentage of customer service requests and calls that are resolved during the first customer interaction.