在市場研究中使用焦點小組的時機

這年頭有意追求成長的企業,幾乎都免不了要聽取顧客評論,無論是網路或實際聚會活動。但是調查問卷或焦點小組,是取得重要的顧客回饋意見的最佳方式嗎?

要在這些研究方法之間做出選擇,最好先弄懂這幾個問題的答案:什麼是調查問卷?什麼是焦點小組,又該如何進行?焦點小組和調查問卷分別有什麼優點和缺點?它們分別該使用在什麼時機?

以下是一些焦點小組和調查問卷的答案和定義,可協助您為您的專案找到最適當的研究方法,無論您是正在從事使用者研究、開發新的產品或服務,或是試圖評估顧客滿意度。

什麼是焦點小組?

焦點小組是一小群人聚集在互動式的情境,通常是一個房間或網路視訊會議裡,在受過訓練的主持人引導下,討論特定的主題。進行活動的地點是中性的地點——而不是公司自己的會議室等地方,讓顧客可以隨心所欲地,說出對討論的產品和服務的真正想法。

這是聆聽真實使用者和潛在顧客第一手回饋意見的絕佳方式。執行焦點小組運作的這些技術訣竅,可以在程序中加入足夠的彈性,使其能夠在途中做出變更,或深入探討對話過程中提到的特定主題。

調查問卷是向大量人群寄送或展示的問卷,他們的回覆可以代表更大的群體所抱持的態度和觀點。(您可以進一步了解樣本大小和另一個關鍵概念,誤差範圍。)

調查問卷經常被歸類為定量研究,能夠以結構化資料的形式,提供決定性的答案:統計、趨勢等。但是調查問卷的優點在於,它們也能包含定性的問題。

例如,在詢問如下的定量問題之後……

您再次購買本公司產品的可能性有多大?

  • 極有可能
  • 很有可能
  • 應該可能
  • 不太可能
  • 完全不可能

……您可以接著問定性的問題,例如:

您認為我們的哪一項產品最適合您的需求,為什麼?

除了一般性地測量這個人再次購買這些產品的可能性以外,這個包含文字方塊供受訪者撰寫答案的問題,還可讓您得到更深入的回饋意見,了解一名真實顧客對您的產品的態度。如果您知道如何執行問卷調查,您就可以同時取得剛性資料,和得知受訪者行動背後的理由及方法。

調查問卷可讓您問問題,然後評量幾乎任何事。其篇幅短則一題,長則數百題。(不過請小心問卷答題倦怠。)

回答格式可以包含選擇題、評分表和開放式問題。在預算和時間這兩方面,調查問卷都提供了相當大的彈性。

然而,調查問卷有一個地方必須保持固定:一旦您開始進行問卷調查,就不應該做太多改變,因為您的題目必須維持一致,才能在多次進行問卷調查的機會中收集到準確的資料。

何時該使用焦點小組

現在您已經了解了焦點小組和調查問卷的定義,也可以看出兩者間有什麼差異,和這兩種研究方法在關於您的特定需求方面,分別有什麼優缺點。

第一個建議是寫下您想要回答的問題。

  • 您會滿足於從單因子問卷得到的回答,還是認為您可能需要進行更深入的對話,詢問後續問題和聆聽更完整的解釋?
  • 您想要尋求有關方向的資訊 (例如您的顧客有哪些未解決的需求),還是統計上的證據 (您現有顧客中有多少人買了您的新產品)?
  • 您只需要依據少數意見就能安心地做出決策,還是在繼續進行之前,需要來自更大樣本的客戶回饋意見?

依照經驗法則,如果您想和顧客對話,以協助提供方向,請採用焦點小組。不過,如果您已經有定義完善的問題,需要找到一大群或多群顧客讓您詢問,調查問卷可能更適合您的需求

這兩種方法的組合,也能提供極佳的深入見解,因為它們都可以用於類似的目標,例如 A/B 測試產品開發研究。如果合併使用,焦點小組可以提供靈感,而調查問卷可以提供事實驗證。

您甚至能夠進行問卷調查,了解核心人口的統計資料,作為焦點小組的準備工作,例如這家網路床墊公司使用 SurveyMonkey Audience 進行的策略。

焦點小組和調查問卷的優缺點

現在來看看焦點小組和調查問卷的優勢和劣勢,讓您可以有心理準備,自己是在充分知情下做出決定。

焦點小組 – 優點

  • 能夠聽到顧客以自己的說法和見解,所表達出的回饋意見,是您所能得到最個人化的顧客評論。
  • 發掘您的團隊可能沒有考慮到,但是對顧客很重要的想法和問題。
  • 享受在討論過程中提到問題,然後隨即進行深入探討的彈性。

調查問卷 – 優點

  • 快速得到回饋意見。依照受訪者人數,可以在 24 到 48 小時內得到結果。
  • 研究只要設計一次,就能在很長一段時間內使用許多次。這使您能夠訂出調查結果的基準,以及在數個月或數年內偵測趨勢。
  • 回饋意見可能更為坦率直接,因為這些意見是在較私密的環境下提出,而且通常是匿名的。
  • 各種類型的顧客都能同時回覆,而且其回覆可依許多變數區分。

焦點小組 – 缺點

  • 費用支出包括參加者的招募和酬勞、設施的租金、主持人和/或經紀人費用,有時還有為了取得不同人口統計群體的觀點,而前往多個地點的交通費用。
  • 如果直言不諱的參加者主宰整場討論,可能會有得到扭曲結果的風險。
  • 由於必須投入大量的時間,因此合格的參加者可能不易徵求。
  • 您必須投資相當多的時間和精力,才能組織和運行焦點小組。

調查問卷 – 缺點

  • 如果您沒有顧客的聯絡資訊,可能不易徵求適當的參加者。
  • 如果要詢問後續問題,必須進行另一次研究。
  • 顧客可能沒有方法主動告知您,他們對於調查問卷中未包含的問題有哪些意見反映。

焦點小組和問卷調查執行方式的 5 個秘訣

現在您已經心裡有數,知道哪一種研究方法比較適合您的目標。幸運的是,在實施這兩種方法的準備工作方面,有一些相似的地方。

  • 目標、目標,還是目標。所有成功的研究專案,都是從明確的目標開始。請確認團隊知道主要的研究問題是哪些,以及您希望以專案的結果,作為哪些決策的資訊來源。徵求您組織中重要利害關係人和外部合作夥伴的意見,以確保您從一開始就做法正確。從頭來過會耗費大量的時間和金錢。
  • 招募參加者。在這個研究專案中,您需要聆聽誰的意見?另外一件同樣重要的事,就是您想要排除誰?請以人口統計的觀點思考這個問題,以確保您的受訪者能代表正確的目標受眾,並顧及這些人是否為目前或潛在的顧客。
  • 建立內容。如果您已經決定要採用焦點小組,您必須制訂討論指南:讓主持人可以在小組討論中使用的腳本。他們應該詢問什麼問題,需要對您的產品或服務了解多少,才能回答參加者的任何問題?如果您選擇調查問卷,這個步驟就意味著撰寫問卷。SurveyMonkey 的專家可以協助您:這是他們的撰寫理想調查問卷問題的提示
  • 考慮參加者準備工作。您是否希望參加者在抵達焦點小組現場或回覆調查問卷之前,先進行任何活動或家庭作業?請通知他們,並且準備好這些內容。
  • 您需要預算嗎?如果使用調查問卷,您必須衡量為受訪者提供獎品的優缺點。您可以閱讀這篇深入探討物質獎勵這種做法優缺點的文章。給予酬勞是焦點小組研究的慣例,因為您要求參加者付出較多的時間和精力。

如何使用焦點小組和調查問卷進行有效的使用者研究

現在越來越多的公司,正在執行所謂的使用者研究,其中牽涉到深入了解在實際情況下,顧客如何使用產品和服務——不管推出這些產品或服務的公司,有什麼樣的計畫和期待。

焦點小組和調查問卷可以協助實施該方式的行銷人員、產品經理和設計人員,這屬於使用者導向設計中一個正在成長的學派。

Usability.gov 建議在設計專案的每一個階段中,都要使用網路調查問卷:

  • 了解使用者
  • 建立內容
  • 設計產品
  • 測試產品原型以微調最終版本

不過,他們建議只在前三個階段中依靠焦點小組。

Virgin America 是一家使用網路調查問卷,了解顧客對其服務之感受的公司。這家航空公司依靠 SurveyMonkey 問卷重新擬定他們的空廚菜單,加入更多新鮮食品和更多洋芋片 (意外嗎?),以及其他顧客服務的改善措施。

了解使用者的觀點和期待,也包含市場調查的其他面向,例如顧客滿意度「傾聽顧客聲音」研究。如果您有興趣深入了解這些主題,請務必閱讀我們的進行市場研究調查的終極指南

準備好展開消費者研究了嗎?

您應該很清楚,在市場研究和消費者意見反映的世界中,一切並不是非黑即白。因此在許多案例中,要採用焦點小組還是調查問卷這個問題,應該理解為要如何使用它們,以及這兩者分別在何時能為您達成目標的選擇。

幸好,現在您擁有所有必要的資訊,對於應如何為您的產品和服務,取得有效的顧客評論和意見回饋,您可以做出充分了解下的決定。選擇正確的研究方法,可以讓一切豁然開朗。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

When to use focus groups in your market research

Customer reviews are pretty much indispensable for businesses looking to grow these days, no matter whether they are online or brick-and-mortar. But are surveys or focus groups the best way to obtain crucial customer feedback?

To choose between these types of research methods, it’s useful to understand the answers to a few questions: What is a survey? What is a focus group, and how do you run it? What are the respective advantages and disadvantages of focus groups and surveys? When should you use each?

Here are a few answers and definitions of both focus groups and surveys to help you land on the most appropriate research method for your project, whether you’re working on user research, developing a new product or service, or trying to measure customer satisfaction.

What is a focus group?

A focus group is a small gathering of people in an interactive setting, generally a room or an online video conference, where they discuss a specific subject under the guidance of a trained moderator. It takes place in a neutral location–as opposed to a company’s own offices, for example–so customers can feel comfortable saying what they really think about the products or services discussed.

This is a great way to hear firsthand feedback from actual users and potential customers. Those who know how to run a focus group will build enough flexibility into the process to be able to make changes on the fly, or dive deeper into a particular topic that may come up during the conversation.

A survey is a questionnaire that’s sent or presented to a large number of people, whose responses represent the attitudes and views of an even larger group . (learn more about sample size and another key concept, margin of error.)

Surveys tend to be classified as quantitative research, which provides conclusive answers in the form of structured data: Statistics, trends, and so on. But surveys are great in that they can also include qualitative questions.

For example, after asking a quantitative question like…

How likely are you to purchase any of our products again?

  • Extremely likely
  • Very likely
  • Somewhat likely
  • Not so likely
  • Not at all likely

…you might follow up with a qualitative one like:

Which one of our products did you find the most appropriate to your needs and why?

This question–including a text box for the respondent to write their answer–would allow you to get deeper feedback into an actual customer’s attitude toward your products, in addition to the general measurement of how likely that person is to purchase them again. When you know how to conduct a survey, you can get both the hard data and the why’s and how’s behind your respondents’ actions.

Surveys let you ask questions and measure just about anything. They can be as short as one question and as long as several hundred. (Be mindful of survey fatigue, though.)

Answer formats can include multiple choice, rating scales and open-ended questions. In terms of both budget and timing, surveys offer a lot of flexibility as well.

There’s one aspect, however, in which surveys need to stay constant: Once you start running a questionnaire, you shouldn’t make too many changes– because your questions need to be consistent in order to collect accurate data over many instances of survey-taking.

When to use a focus group

Now that you understand the definition of focus group and the definition of survey, you can see what the differences are between them and what pros and cons each research methodology has in relation to your specific needs.

The first suggestion is that you write down the questions you’re trying to answer.

  • Are you going to be satisfied with the answers from a one-way questionnaire, or do you think you may need to go into a deeper conversation with follow-up questions and longer explanations?
  • Are you looking for directional information (what unsolved needs your customers may have, for example) or statistical proof (how many of your existing customers bought your new product)?
  • Will you feel comfortable making decisions based on a handful of opinions, or do you need customer feedback from a larger sample size before moving forward?

As a rule of thumb, if you want to have a conversation with your customers that will help provide direction, pursue a focus group. If, however, you have well-defined questions and need to reach a large group or multiple groups of customers, a survey may better suit your needs.

The combination of the two methodologies can also provide tremendous insight since they can both be used for similar goals, such as A/B testing or product development research. In conjunction, the focus group can provide the inspiration while the survey may offer factual validation.

You can even prepare for a focus group by conducting a survey to understand your core demographic, like this San Francisco market research firm did using SurveyMonkey Audience.

The pros and cons of focus groups and surveys

Now let’s look at the advantages and disadvantages of both focus groups and surveys, so that you can feel sure you’re making a fully informed choice.

Focus Groups – Pros

  • Hear feedback in your customers’ own words and voices, the most personal kind of customer review you can get.
  • Uncover ideas and issues that your team may not have considered but are important to your customer.
  • Enjoy the flexibility of diving deeper into issues that come up during the discussion.

Surveys – Pros

  • Get feedback quickly. Depending on the number of respondents, the results can be available in 24-48 hours.
  • Research may be designed once and used many times over a longer period. This also allows for benchmarking survey results and detecting trends over months and years.
  • Feedback may be more candid since it’s provided in a more private, often anonymous, setting.
  • Various types of customers can respond at the same time and their responses can be divided based on numerous variables.

Focus Groups – Cons

  • Expenses include recruitment and compensation of participants, facility rental, moderator and/or agency fees, and sometimes travel to multiple locations to get perspectives from different demographics.
  • There’s a risk of receiving skewed results when outspoken participants dominate the discussion.
  • Recruiting qualified participants may be hard due to the time commitment involved.
  • You need to invest significant time and effort to organize and conduct a focus group.

Surveys – Cons

  • Recruiting the right participants may be difficult if you do not have contact information for your customers.
  • Asking follow-up questions requires conducting additional research.
  • Customers may not have a way to proactively give you feedback on issues not included in the survey.

5 tips on how to conduct focus groups and surveys

Now you have an idea of which research method will suit your goals better. Fortunately there are some similarities in the work involved when the time comes to prepare for implementing them.

  1. Goals, goals, goals. All successful research projects start with clear objectives. Make sure that the team knows what the main research questions are, and what decisions you hope to inform with the project’s results. Get input from the key stakeholders in your organization and outside partners to ensure that you get it right the first time. Do-overs are expensive in time and money.
  2. Recruit participants. Whose opinion do you need to hear in this research project? Just as important, who do you want to exclude? Think about this question in terms of demographics, to make sure that your respondents represent the right target audience, and in terms of whether they are current or potential customers.
  3. Develop the content. If you’ve decided to go with a focus group, you need to work on a discussion guide: A script for the moderator to use in the groups. What questions should they ask and what do they need to know about your product or service to answer any questions from participants? If you’ve chosen a survey, this step entails writing the questionnaire. SurveyMonkey’s experts can help: Here are their tips for writing good survey questions.
  4. Consider participant preparation. Do you want the participants to do any activity or homework before they arrive to the focus group or respond the survey? Let them know and get that content ready.
  5. Do you need a budget? In the case of surveys, you need to weigh the pros and cons of offering rewards to your respondents. You can read this in-depth article on the pros and cons of the practice known as incentivizing. Compensation is customary in the case of focus groups, since you’re asking for a bigger time and energy commitment from your participants.

How to use focus groups and surveys for effective user research

More and more companies these days are conducting what is known as user research, which involves a deep look into how customers use products and services in real life–regardless of the plans and expectations of the company launching those products or services.

Focus groups and surveys can help marketers, product managers and designers practice this method, which is part of the growing discipline of user-centered design.

Usability.gov recommends using online surveys for all stages of a design project:

  • getting to know the user
  • creating the content
  • designing the product
  • testing prototypes to refine the final version

However, it suggests relying on focus groups for the first three stages only.

Virgin America is one company that used online surveys to find out how its customers felt about its services. The airline relied on SurveyMonkey questionnaires to revamp its in-flight menu with more fresh food and more potato chips (surprised?), among other improvements to its customer service.

Understanding your users’ views and expectations also includes other aspects of market research, like customer satisfaction or ‘voice of the customer’ research. If you’re interested in looking at this topic in depth, make sure you read our ultimate guide on how to conduct market research surveys.

Ready to start your consumer research?

You know well that nothing is black and white in the world of market research and consumer feedback. So the question of whether to use a focus group or a survey, in many cases, is better understood as a choice of how to use them and when each of them can serve your purposes.

Fortunately, now you have all the information you need to make an informed decision about how to get effective customer reviews and feedback on your products and services. Choosing the right research method can make all the difference.