認識與瞭解您的品牌屬性

如何撰寫品牌調查問卷,找出消費者需要的產品或服務。

2014 年 2 月 24 日下午 2:13:36 截圖如果您從事行銷工作、經營自己的公司,或是在廣告業中,您可能已發現「品牌屬性」這個名詞。 這個名詞看起來很簡單明瞭 (您的品牌擁有的屬性),但是您是否曾經好好花時間來辨識您的品牌特性? 您知道客戶購買您目錄中的產品時尋找什麼樣的品牌屬性? 您對自己品牌特質的看法是否符合消費者的看法?

回答這些問題 (並從您的市場研究和廣告活動中猜測) 的最好方法之一是為消費者提一系列品牌屬性調查問卷;您可藉此瞭解您在哪些方面符合消費者期望,哪些方面不符合他們的期望。

最具權威的品牌研究

從建立調查問卷到尋找合適的填寫人選,使用 SurveyMonkey Audience 進行品牌研究最為輕鬆容易。

開始 

品牌屬性定義和範例

在行銷領域中,品牌屬性這個名詞有許多不同的定義;因此,我們現在就來釐清我們所用的定義。

我們對品牌屬性的定義是人們對整體類別中的一項產品產生的關聯性,以及人們對特定品牌 (包括您自己的) 產生的關聯。

例如,花生醬是品牌類別。 所以,在一般的花生醬類別中,人們會產生哪類品牌關聯性? 他們可能會說這個品牌有堅果的味道、那個有滑順或粗粒口感,以及另外一個含有許多蛋白質。 在購買花生醬時,一般人都對自己喜愛花生醬的類型有先入為主的觀念,然後,他們會根據自己覺得重要的屬性來選擇特定的品牌。

同時,為了銷售您的產品或服務,當談到消費者所要的花生醬時,您需要符合消費者的需求。 確認並溝通您的品牌屬性實際上可能相當複雜,特別是您本來不知道客戶如何看待您的品牌。 為瞭解客戶對您的品牌會哪些品牌屬性關聯,您必須使用付費和免付費調查問卷問題來查出這些屬性。

首先,進行第有開放式問題的初步調查問卷

特別是在您開始問消費者如何看符您的品牌以前,先瞭解他們一般如何看待您的品牌類別。 我們建議先針對您的目標市場內一小群人進行初步調查問卷;問怹們問放式問題,如:

  • 選擇花生醬時會尋找哪些特質?
  • 當您在考慮花生醬時,會想到哪些品牌?
  • 您會用哪些正面字詞來形容花生醬?
  • 您會用哪些負面字詞來形容花生醬?

當您的受訪者讀到這個問題:「選擇花生醬時會尋找哪些特質?」,他們可能回答:「全天然」、「低鹽」和「柔滑無粒」。 保留這些回覆資料 - 您需要這資料來建立下次的調查問卷。

接下來,利用正面和負面品牌屬性進行調查問卷,以便瞭解更多您的品牌。

現在,您有了消費者所選的理想花生醬資訊,以及他們認為花生醬的優缺點;您可以針對您所提供的產品或服務進行更多調查問卷。

利用您從開放式問題搜集取得的回答,來詢問封閉式的問題。 因為封閉式問題屬量化性質 (這些問題可產生能衡量的數字和數據),他們的回覆比開放式、質化 (敘述性、無法衡量) 的回覆更易分析。 例如,您可能會使用從初步調查問卷搜集而得的最多回答來提出下列問題:

購買花生醬時,您會尋找下列哪些特質? (選擇所有適用項目)

  • 全天然
  • 低鹽
  • 柔滑無粒
  • 其他 (請指定)

如果想瞭解消費者如何看待您的品牌形象,則從初步調查問卷搜集的回答整理一份完整清單,其中列有可能適用於您的產品或服務的正面和負面品牌屬性。

例如,如果受訪者對「您會用哪些負面字詞來形容花生醬?」的回答是「太油」或「不健康」,則將這些字加入清單內。 現在,您知道一般人選擇花生醬時想要什麼、不想要什麼,所以,您可撰寫一個這樣的問題:

下列哪些特質最能形容 <insert your brand name>? (選擇所有適用項目)

  • 全天然
  • 低鹽
  • 柔滑無粒
  • 太油
  • 不健康
  • 其他 (請指定)

瞭解您品牌形象的競爭實力

在您根據品牌屬性、正負品牌屬性搜集回答,並詢問有關您的品牌擁有的特質後,您就能開始漸漸看到實際情況。

消費者會指出整體類別的屬性、進行品牌關聯,確認他們個人要尋找什麼,以及根據他們如何看待您的品牌形象來提供回答。 從這項比較,您能找出一般人所希望和他們在您品牌看到的屬性之間有什麼差別;同時,您可利用回答來瞭解您的品牌資產,和客戶對您的品牌有多忠誠

想要管理和加強您的品牌識別度嗎? 請查看我們的品牌資源頁面,您可在此找到品牌文章和品牌調查問卷範本,其中包括:

品牌忠誠度調查問卷範本

品牌資產調查問卷範本

品牌知名度調查問卷範本

Identifying and Understanding Your Brand Attributes

How to write a brand survey that uncovers what consumers are looking for in a product or service

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 2.13.36 PMIf you work in marketing, run your own business, or are in the advertising industry, you’ve probably come across the term “brand attributes.” The term may seem straightforward enough – the attributes your brand has – but have you ever spent time formally identifying the characteristics of your brand? Do you know what brand attributes your customers look for when buying products in your category? And does your perception of your brand’s traits match that of consumers?

One of the best ways to answer these questions (and take the guesswork out of your market research and advertising efforts) is to give consumers a series of brand attributes surveys–so you can see where you’re meeting their expectations and where you may be falling short.

Powerful Brand Research

From creating surveys to finding the right people to take them, SurveyMonkey Audience makes brand research easy.

Get Started 

Brand attributes definition and examples

The term brand attributes actually has several different definitions within the marketing world, so let’s start off by clarifying what we mean when we use the term.

We’ll define brand attributes to mean the associations that people have with a product within its overall category, and the association that people have with particular brands (including yours).

For example, let’s say that peanut butter is the brand category. So in the general category of peanut butter, what types of brand associations do people have? They would probably say that it has a nutty flavor, it can be smooth or chunky, and that it has a lot of protein. When shopping for peanut butter, people will have their own preconceived notions of the type of peanut butter they prefer, and then they’ll pick a particular brand based on the attributes that they find important.

And in order to sell your product or service, you want to meet consumers’ needs when it comes to what they’re looking for in peanut butter. But identifying and communicating your own brand attributes can actually be quite complex, especially if you don’t know how your customers see your brand in the first place. A great way to understand the brand attributes that your customers associate with your brand is to survey them with aided and unaided survey questions.

First, run an initial survey with open-ended questions

Before you jump into asking consumers how they see your brand in particular, find out how they see your brand category in general. We suggest giving an initial survey to a small group within your target market that asks open-ended questions such as:

  • What are some traits you look for when choosing peanut butter?
  • When you think about peanut butter, what kind of brands come to mind?
  • What are some positive words you would use to describe peanut butter?
  • What are some negative words you would use to describe peanut butter?

When your respondents read the question, “What are some traits you look for when choosing peanut butter?,” they may provide answers like “all-natural,” “low-sodium,” and “no-stir.” Hold on to those responses–you’ll need them to create your next survey.

Next, run a survey with positive and negative brand attributes to learn more about your brand

Now that you have information from consumers about what they expect out of peanut butter–and what they think is good and bad about it–you can run more surveys that are specific to the product or service you offer.

Use the answers you collected from your open-ended questions to ask closed-ended questions. Because closed-ended questions are quantitative (they yield numbers and data that can be measured), their responses are easier to analyze than open-ended, qualitative (descriptive, unmeasurable) responses. For example, you might ask the following question using the top answers you collected from your first survey:

Which of the following do you look for when buying peanut butter? (Select all that apply.)

  • All-natural
  • Low-sodium
  • No-stir
  • Other (please specify)

And if you want to figure out how consumers view your brand image, use the answers you collected from your initial survey to put together a full list of both positive and negative brand attributes as they could be applied to your product or service.

For example, if respondents answered the question, “What are some negative words you would use to describe peanut butter?,” with “oily” or “unhealthy,” add those to the list. Now you know what people are looking for–and what they’re not–when it comes to peanut butter, so you can write a question like this:

Which of the following traits best describe <insert your brand name>? (Select all that apply)

  • All-natural
  • Low-sodium
  • No-stir
  • Oily
  • Unhealthy
  • Other (please specify)

See how your brand image stacks up

Once you’ve gathered answers based on industry brand attributes, positive and negative brand attributes, and asked about specific traits you think your brand has, you’ll start to see a picture emerge.

Consumers will identify overall category attributes, make brand associations, identify what they personally look for, and give answers based how they view your brand’s image. From this comparison, you’ll be able to identify the gaps between what people look for and the attributes that people see in your brand–and use the answers to understand how loyal customers are to your brand.

Want to manage and strengthen your brand identity? Check out our branding resource page where you can find branding articles and brand survey templates including:

Brand Loyalty Survey Template

Brand Awareness Survey Template