如何在 Excel 中建立隨機樣本

我們在這裡得到了很多關於隨機樣本以及如何建立它們的問題(它告訴我們關於我們客戶的一兩件事以及他們如何精於調查問卷)。我們有一個快速簡單的技巧,讓您可以在 Excel 中生成隨機樣本。但首先讓我們提供一些關於隨機抽樣的背景知識,以及在調查時應該使用它的原因。

抽樣的速成課程

您可能會問,什麼是隨機樣本,為什麼需要? 調查你的客戶好吧,比方說,您想要調查您的客戶,了解您如何滿足他們的需求,以及您如何做得更好。您的整個客戶基礎是全部人口。您顯然不會調查這個人口中的每一個人。也許您沒有他們所有人的聯繫資訊。也許他們不會全部都回覆您的調查問卷。無論是什麼原因,您能夠與調查聯繫的客戶群都是您的抽樣框架。實際上與您的調查聯繫的人以及實際填寫的人都是您的樣本。您希望確保隨機選擇樣本(於是,隨機抽樣),以確保抽樣框中的每個人都有相同的機會被選中。

您不想只選擇一個「任意樣本」,20 個最近訂購的人,按字母順序排列的最後 20 位客戶等等。所有這些方法都具有內在偏見。例如,如果您對最近 20 位客戶進行抽樣,他們可能是您最新的客戶,只熟悉您最近的產品或網站設計。藉由生成隨機樣本,您可以最大限度地減少從採樣框中選擇任意樣本所產生的偏差。

如何使用 Excel 生成隨機樣本

這聽起來令人生畏,但實際上您並不需要是統計學家或數學狂才能做這件事。您所需要的只是一個 Excel 試算表!只需將您的採樣框—您有聯繫資訊的客戶—放入您的試算表中即可。在 Excel 中擁有抽樣框(潛在調查受訪者)後,您可以輕鬆選擇隨機抽樣。例如,如果您有 3,000 個客戶,並且您希望選擇 500 個隨機樣本來接收客戶滿意度調查,請按照下列步驟操作:

  1. 在試算表中增加新的一欄,並將其命名為 Random_number
  2. 在標題行下方的第一個儲存格中,鍵入 “= RAND()”
  3. 按下 “Enter” 後,儲存格中將出現一個隨機數字
  4. 將第一個儲存格複製並粘貼到此欄中的其他儲存格中
  5. 每列包含一個隨機數後,按 Random_number 欄對記錄進行排序
  6. 選擇前 500 個電子郵件地址。這些將是 3000 個電子郵件地址中隨機的 500 個

要確保隨機樣本中的受訪者數量具有統計顯著性,請查看此部落格貼文。隨機樣本可以輕鬆地從大量人群中獲取以下任何一項的意見反映:

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

How To Create A Random Sample in Excel

We get a lot of questions around here about random samples and how to create them (which tells us a thing or two about our customers and how survey smart they are). We have a fast, easy trick for you to generate a random sample right in Excel, but first let’s provide a bit of background about random sampling and why you should use it when you survey.

A Crash Course in Sampling

What is a random sample, you may be asking, and why would you need one? Well let’s say, for example, that you want to survey your customers to understand how you’re meeting their needs, and how you could do better. Your whole customer base is a population. You’re obviously not going to survey every single person in this population. Maybe you don’t have all of their contact information. Maybe they won’t all reply to your survey. Whatever the reason, the group of customers you have the ability to contact with your survey is your sampling frame. And the people you actually contact with your survey and who actually fill it out are your sample. You want to make sure your sample is randomly selected (hence, a random sample) to make sure that everyone in your sampling frame has an equal chance of being selected.

You don’t want to just select a “convenience sample,” the last 20 people who ordered from you, the last 20 customers when they’re listed alphabetically, etc. All these methods are inherently biased. If you sample the last 20 customers for example, they may be your newest customers who are only familiar with your most recent products or website design. By generating a random sample, you’re minimizing the bias that results from picking an convenience sample from your sampling frame.

How to Generate a Random Sample Using Excel

This can sound daunting, but you don’t actually need to be a statistician or mathlete to do this. All you need is an Excel spreadsheet! Just put your sampling frame—the customers you have contact info for—into your spreadsheet. Once you have your sampling frame (potential survey respondents) in Excel, you can easily select a random sample of them. For example, if you have 3,000 customers and you would like to select a random sample of 500 to receive a customer satisfaction survey, follow these steps:

  1. Add a new column within the spreadsheet and name it Random_number
  2. In the first cell underneath your heading row, type “= RAND()”
  3. Press “Enter,” and a random number will appear in the cell
  4. Copy and paste the first cell into the other cells in this column
  5. Once each row contains a random number, sort the records by Random_number column
  6. Choose the first 500 emails. Those will be the random 500 out of 3000 emails.

To make sure the number of respondents in your random sample are statistically significant, check out this blog post. Random samples make it easy to get feedback from a large population for any of the following:

There you have it, survey-makers. Have you tried it out and have a use case for us? Share them with us in the comment section below. We’d love to hear your stories.

3 quick tips to improve survey response rates

Here are some ideas to ensure that respondents will answer your surveys.

1. Be quick

If your survey is short and sweet, there's a greater chance that more respondents will complete it.

2. Offer incentives

Little incentives like small discount or an entry into a drawing can help ensure respondents complete your survey.

3. Buy a targeted audience

With SurveyMonkey Audience, you can purchase access to an audience who meets specific demographic criteria for your survey. It's a great way to get targeted responses from a specific group.

Here's why millions of people rely on SurveyMonkey

Unlimited surveys

Send as many surveys and quizzes as you want—even with free plans.

Fast answers

Easily create and send professional surveys. Get reliable results quickly.

Expert approved

Access pre-written questions and templates approved by our survey scientists.

Real-time results

Check results on the go from any device. Spot trends as data comes in.

Fresh ideas

Surveys give you more than just answers. Get feedback and new perspectives.

Actionable data

Extract and share insights from your data with your team.