概念測試

如果您有一個遠大的構想,您一定不希望它出任何差錯。如果在把構想付諸實踐之前先進行概念測試,您會省下許多時間和金錢。概念測試旨在讓您直接從目標市場徵詢消費者的意見,然後根據這些意見把產品構想、廣告活動、新標誌,甚至是網站登陸頁面做得更好。您可以快速展開簡單的投票,或反覆進行複雜的調查專案,一切都以您的需求為準。

本文將簡單介紹概念測試,期盼讓新手和專業使用者都能快速上手。如果您要更深入了解,歡迎參閱我們的概念測試完整指南

進行概念開發測試的方式與理由

概念測試是指在將想法付諸實行並呈現在大眾面前之前,先交由特定的目標受眾評估的過程。從產品概念到廣告宣傳等眾多項目都可用概念測試先行評估。

舉例來說,假設某行銷團隊花了一整天用腦力激盪的方式討論行銷活動的創意點子。會議結束後,他們得到了十幾項方案,其中一些看起來非常有潛力。對於行銷專業人員而言,在展開一項新的行銷活動以前,必須先探討以下問題的答案:

  • 這個廣告有比競爭對手的廣告吸睛嗎?
  • 這個廣告能抓住觀眾/聽眾注意力嗎?
  • 觀眾會認得這個品牌嗎?
  • 觀眾信任這個品牌嗎?
  • 哪個因素會讓觀眾決定購買?
打字機

找到這些問題的答案以後,您就能輕鬆選出最理想的廣告概念,甚至有助於您改良產品。

進行上述這樣的概念測試專案看似要花很多時間,但最終卻能為公司省下大量時間和金錢。概念測試能帶來下列兩大優勢:

想對客戶或目標市場測試您的構想嗎?瞭解您可以採用哪些測試方法

1. 它可以避免您選錯點子。無論公司型態和規模大小如何,往往都禁不起構想未經測試就貿然實施而導致的嚴重後果。下面的具體事例和研究說明了將錯誤構想付諸實行後必須付出的昂貴代價。

很遺憾,採用錯誤的構想往往必須付出極大的代價。

錯誤的構想也會對公司商譽產生負面影響,進而嚴重阻礙公司成長,甚至連維持穩定都難。舉例來說,公司若商譽不良,其聘僱成本會高出 10%,而保留現有人力的所需成本則會高出超過 20%。如果因為採用錯誤的構想,而影響了客戶的體驗,會發生什麼情況?95% 的客戶會把負面的體驗告訴他人,使觀望中的潛在客戶卻步。

2. 它可以幫助您說服公司內其他人支持您的想法。您是否曾有過這樣的經驗:對自己的構想很有信心,相信它一定會成功,但就是爭取不到團隊支持?如果您能證明某個構想會獲得消費者青睞,這樣您就能說服您的團隊;畢竟,既然目標市場的消費者都喜歡它了,誰會覺得它行不通?

眼鏡 A/B 概念測試

概念測試對於行銷人員和產品經理而言極為重要。但是他們真正的感想呢?對此,我們決定直接對他們展開意見調查,獲得結果如下:

72% 的廣告專業人員表示在推出廣告之前先進行測試是非常重要的。他們的說法是,要讓廣告發揮成效,就必須深入瞭解哪些是——而哪些不是——消費者真正的需求;因此,預先測試廣告效果可以讓廣告更有成效。

產品經理也強烈認同這樣的說法:85% 的產品經理表示,測試是他們取得成功的關鍵因素。

儘管廣告從業人員和產品經理都認同測試的重要性,但在接受本次調查的受訪者當中,會實際進行概念測試的人還不到半數。也就是說,如果您能自己建立測試,便很有機會脫穎而出。

您也可以改良自己製作調查問卷的方法,藉此提高競爭優勢。若想瞭解如何設計調查問卷的問題,歡迎參閱我們有關消除順序誤差的貼文;我們也建議,在查看調查問卷回覆前,請先瞭解前兩個選項方塊的得分

概念測試問題的運用方法

如何將這些概念測試方法付諸應用?好問題!只要選對測試方法,各類商業問題都能迎刃而解。以下舉例說明:

標誌測試

需要瞭解客戶對您的新標誌可能會有什麼迴響嗎?還是想知道您的新標誌究竟能否傳達出您的優勢 (例如信任、創新或樂趣)?線上調查問卷是測試各種創意概念及設計的好方法,協助您決定哪個標誌最能從視覺上完美呈現您的品牌理念。

概念測試冠軍獎盃

想要激盪設計調查問卷問題的靈感,請參閱我們通過調查問卷方法學驗證的標誌測試調查問卷範本

網站設計

打算重新設計網站或架設新網站嗎?不妨與網站的潛在使用者分享您的設計概念,藉此瞭解目標對象當中一部分人的想法,並協助您確認設計是否有缺陷。

在您開始收集針對您網站的意見反應前,請瀏覽一下我們的網站意見反應調查問卷範本中所列出的問題。

廣告、登陸頁面及轉換率

許多線上行銷人員會對網站的標題、圖片及內容進行測試,以找出最完美的訊息和設計組合。什麼樣的廣告最吸睛?廣告是否夠有說服力,足以吸引訪客點擊?點擊的訪客最終是否成為客戶?這種測試方法能有效地大幅提升轉換率。

暫時撇開數字不談,直接聆聽客戶的心聲。他們的意見或許會引導您走向超乎預期的方向,或是驗證您透過數字獲得的資訊。如果您需要一些靈感,讓我們的廣告/文案測試調查問卷範本協助問出正確的問題。

定價與升級

打算利用獎勵方案吸引消費者選用升級的新產品或新服務嗎?還在思考怎樣改良定價制度嗎?運用遷徙路徑測試評估初期反應,從中掌握消費者重視哪些功能與好處,然後再擬定升級測試,以判斷新產品線能否創造銷售佳績。

名稱測試

公司或產品的名稱會大大影響在目標市場中的銷售成績。它不僅代表了產品和服務的內容、能為顧客帶來的好處,甚至可以引發消費者的某種情感或共鳴。想要知道測試公司或產品名稱時應該問哪些問題才適當,請參閱我們的名稱測試調查問卷範本

價格測試調查問卷範本

您目標市場中的消費者對於價格的敏感度有多高?他們對於貴公司所屬產業的產品價值通常滿不滿意?利用我們的價格測試調查問卷範本來進行分析。

包裝測試

瞭解您的產品包裝傳達了什麼樣的訊息給消費者。我們的包裝測試調查問卷範本能協助您評估目標受眾是否認為您的包裝獨特、吸睛又有質感。

訊息傳遞

您所傳遞的訊息是否能獲得目標受眾的迴響?它能否有效傳達貴公司產品或服務價值?它的可信度高嗎?詢問您的目標受眾來確切掌握這些問題的答案。您也可以詢問員工,看看他們是否瞭解公司所傳遞的訊息,並將這些訊息融入他們的日常工作中

傳遞給目標受眾的訊息

找不到適合的受訪者來填寫您的調查問卷嗎?SurveyMonkey Audience 能讓您輕鬆觸及目標市場並測試所有概念。

產品及概念的開發

瞭解在您的產品當中哪些功能是必備的,而哪些功能對營收無益。基本上,這代表您必須確定產品的製造品質好不好,以及它在使用上的簡便度高不高。您可以運用產品概念及可用性測試,確保您的產品符合客戶期望。

在您展開調查前,請先閱讀詢問受訪者對特定產品相關之意見反應的最佳方法。另外,您亦可參閱我們通過調查問卷方法學驗證的市場研究產品調查問卷範本

概念測試有很多種形式,包括產品概念、廣告、公司/產品的可能名稱等都可以是被測試的對象。在進行這些測試的過程當中,您等於間接讓目標受眾幫助於您的團隊確定哪些作法有效、哪些則否,然後再踏出下一步。長期下來,您的團隊便能夠將全副心力用來實現最棒的構想,並避免犯下難以抹滅的錯誤——請參閱本文

熱門範本:

市場研究——產品調查問卷範本

利用客戶的意見反應來確保產品上市成功。

瀏覽網頁

市場研究——服務調查問卷範本

定義目標市場、衡量品牌知名度並擴大顧客群。

瀏覽網頁

網站意見調查問卷範本

找出使用者瀏覽您的網站時,每個行為背後的因素。

瀏覽網頁

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

When you have a big idea that you want to get right, it can save you a lot of time and money to concept test it before you bring it to the world. Concept testing allows you to refine a product concept, ad campaign, new logo, or even a landing page by getting feedback directly from your target market. It can be as simple and quick or iterative and sophisticated as you need.

Here are some ideas to help beginners and pros get it right. And when you’re ready to delve deeper, make sure to also read our comprehensive guide to concept testing.

How and why to perform concept development tests

The definition of concept testing is the process of getting an idea evaluated by your target audience before it becomes available to the public. It includes anything from product concepts to ad campaigns.

As an example, say a marketing team holds a day-long brainstorming session to come up with ideas for an advertising campaign. When the session is over, there are dozens of options on the table, and a few seem like real winners. Here are some questions that a marketing professional might want to know the answers to before launching a campaign:

  • Does this ad stand out against my competitors’ ad?
  • Does this ad capture viewers/listeners attention?
  • Do you recognize this brand?
  • Would you trust this brand?
  • Which button would make you buy?

vintage typewriter

The answers to these questions make it easy to choose a concept to go with, and they help hone the final product.

Doing a concept testing project like the example above can take a lot of time but it ends up saving your organization time and money. Consider the following two benefits of concept testing:

Want to test a concept with customers or your target market? Learn more about your testing options.

1. It prevents you from choosing bad ideas. Companies of all shapes and sizes are vulnerable to making mistakes if they don’t test their ideas first. Below are specific examples as well as a study, showing that when a bad idea moves forward, it can be costly.

  • A brand whose online ad is perceived as annoying is, all else equal, $.153 more expensive per ad displayed. Given the number of times an ad gets shown, this can become expensive, quickly
  • Package design can make or break product sales. Cigarette maker Marlboro, for example, was mandated by the Australian Government to stop using its logo and typeface on its packaging. This contributed to the biggest decline in Australia’s purchase and consumption of cigarettes in 20 years
  • Logo designs can cost brands millions of dollars. This makes the prospect of failure all the more scary. As a modern day example, BP (Britain-based oil and gas company) spent 136 million pounds on a new logo that’s been widely controversial

Unfortunately, the consequences of pursuing a bad idea are often significant.

A bad idea leads your business to have a negative reputation, which heavily influences your organization’s ability to grow, or even, remain stable. For example, the process of hiring becomes 10% more expensive when a company has a bad reputation, while the cost of retaining workers grows by more than 20%. And when your bad idea impacts a customer’s experience? 95% will share it with others, deterring prospects from purchasing your products or services.

2. It can help you get others in your company behind your ideas. Do you ever have ideas that you’re confident will work but you can’t get buy-in from your team? Proving that an idea is popular with consumers can convince your team to pursue it. After all, if consumers in your target market like it, who’s to say it won’t work?

Concept testing seems to be essential for marketers and product managers. But how do they really feel about it? To find out, we went ahead and surveyed them directly. Here’s what they told us:2 ads with girl smiling

72% of advertising professionals said it’s important to test an ad before it’s launched. Doing so can make the ad more successful, they said, because effective ads stem from an in-depth understanding of what consumers really want (and what they really don’t).

Product-focused managers strongly agreed: 85% said that testing is vital to their success at work.

Despite the importance they all place on testing, less than half of those we polled actually conduct concept tests. This means creating your own test may be a big opportunity to get a leg up on the competition.

You can also widen your competitive advantage by improving your ability to write surveys. For help on writing survey questions, check out our post on eliminating order bias. And before you look at your survey responses, learn about Top 2 Box scores.

Ways to use concept testing questions

How can you apply these concept testing methods? We’re glad you asked! All sorts of business challenges can be solved with the right type of testing. Here are a few examples:

Logo testing

Need to understand how customers might respond to your new logo? Or, trying to figure out if your new logo communicates a benefit (like trust, innovation, or fun)? Online surveys are a great way to test different creative concepts and designs—to ultimately come up with a logo that best visually communicates your brand.

top prize

To help you brainstorm your survey questions, check out our survey-methodologist approved Logo Testing Survey Template.

Website design

Redesigning your site or launching a new one? Sharing your design concepts with people who will one day interact with them is a great way to see what a sample of your target population thinks—and of course, make sure you get everything right.

Before you begin collecting feedback on your website, take a look at the questions from our Website Feedback Survey Template.

Ads, landing pages, and conversions

Many online marketers test headlines, images, and content on their websites to identify winning combinations of messages and designs. Which ad tends to grab the most eyeballs? Is the ad compelling enough to click on? And do the people who click become customers soon after? This method of testing can give your conversion rate optimization efforts a real boost.

Move beyond the numbers and hear from individuals directly. Their feedback might push you in a new direction you hadn’t anticipated or validate what the numbers you already have to tell you. If you need help brainstorming, our Ad/Copy Testing Survey Template can help you ask the right questions.

Pricing and upgrades

Planning to offer consumers an incentive for upgrading to a new product or service? Thinking about a new pricing system? Use migration path tests to assess initial reactions, and spot the key features and benefits consumers are looking for. Then, develop upgrade tests to see if your new product line will result in a boost in sales.

Name testing

The name of your company or product has a big impact on its success in the target market. It tells them what you offer, the benefits they can expect to receive, and can even elicit certain feelings. To help you brainstorm the right questions for testing either company or product names, check out our Name Testing Survey Template.

Price Testing Survey Template

How price-sensitive are consumers in your target market? And are they typically satisfied or dissatisfied with the value of products in your category? Find out with our Price Testing Survey Template.

Package testing

Learn what your packaging tells consumers about your product. Assess if it’s unique, visually appealing, and considered high quality by your target audience with our Package Testing Survey Template.

Messaging

Will your messaging resonate with your target audience? Does it effectively communicate the value your product or services have to offer? And is it believable? Ask your target audience to know for sure. It may also be worth checking with employees to see if they both understand and incorporate your messaging into their day-to-day work as well.

woman holding ball

Having trouble finding the right people to take your survey? Test any and every concept on your target market using SurveyMonkey Audience.

Product and concept development

Find out which features a product should include, and which ones add nothing to your bottom line. This often involves determining the manufacturing quality of your product and understanding its ease of use. Use product concept and usability tests to ensure your product meets customers’ expectations.

Before you launch your survey, read about the best ways for asking product-specific feedback. Also, check out our survey methodologist-approved, Market Research Product Survey Template.

Concept testing comes in a variety of forms—from product concepts, ads, or potential names for your company/product. The process of testing things on your target audience helps your team find out what works and what doesn’t before deciding how to best move forward. Over time, this helps your team focus on executing the best ideas while staying away from mistakes that leave a lasting impression—like this.

Top template:

Market Research — Product Survey Template

Ensure a successful product launch with feedback from customers.

Visit Page

Market Research — Service Survey Template

Define target markets, measure brand awareness and grow your customer base.

Visit Page

Website Feedback Survey Template

Find how why users do what they do when they visit your site.

Visit Page