何謂購買意願及如何用調查問卷測量

在預測銷售量、收入和利潤時,購買意願是最重要的數據之一。

瞭解消費者的購買意願有助於您為各類業務做出有效率的決策,例如,如果能夠約略估計客戶近期是否有意願購買、會買多少,您就能夠預測庫存、減少浪費並提升成本效益。 

銷售專家也能夠藉由這項資訊,把精力放在真正有效的地方。如果試圖向無意購買的消費者推銷,往往只會浪費力氣。 

因此,購買意願對於行銷來說是很強大的資訊。本文將深入說明什麼是購買意願、它受到哪些因素影響,以及如何用調查問卷測量它。

in-article-cta
隆重介紹 Momentive.ai
透過專為商業人士設計的人工智慧平台迅速獲得準確的深入解析,以掌握未來趨勢。
瞭解更多

何謂購買意願?

購買意願 (Purchase intent) 也稱作買家意願 (Buyer intent),旨在描述哪些客戶有意願且傾向在特定一段時間內向您購買某個產品或服務;這段時間通常設定在未來 6-12 個月內。 

首先,讓我們先舉例說明購買意願所代表的意義。假設某個消費者正在考慮購買新沙發,而「考慮」什麼時候會變成「意願」,完全取決於他正在客戶歷程的哪個階段。例如:

第一階段:察覺或發現需求

在察覺階段,客戶開始發現自己對特定產品有需求,像是家裡沙發太舊、壞掉或樣式過時。這時,客戶雖然已經發現購買需求,但可能還需要花時間做研究,不見得馬上就會產生購買意願。

第二階段:興趣或搜尋

客戶購買歷程的第二階段是搜尋資訊。客戶會開始搜尋市場上不同產品和服務的資訊,這些資訊來源可能是家具店網站、訂購目錄,或詢問身邊親朋好友過去的購買經驗。這個時候客戶的購買意願還很低,而且對於要向哪家零售店購買尚未有強烈的想法。瞭解客戶是否處於這個階段,對於投放廣告或提升品牌知名度等行銷策略會很有幫助。 

第三階段:欲望

當消費者收集的資訊已足夠讓他們做出購買決策時,他們就能開始評估不同產品的優缺點了。此時,購買意願已經成形,您需要關心的是客戶是否考慮向您購買。

第四階段:行動

在客戶歷程接近尾聲時,客戶終於購買了某項產品,並且馬上使用或過一段時間後開始使用。不過,根據研究顯示,有時候消費者的實際購買行為會偏離原本的計畫,例如本來可能決定要買組合式沙發,進了店裡卻改變主意。因此,您在這個階段該做的是收集越多資訊越好,盡可能全面瞭解某個購買決策的各種細節,像是客戶的預算等等,以便更能滿足其需求。

由此可見,購買意願比表面上看起來的更複雜,而且客戶在客戶歷程中會遇到各種轉捩點,使購買意願產生改變。像是從一開始廣泛搜尋商品和服務,到後來仔細研究他人對某個特定產品的評論。如果想要能夠滿足客戶的需求,瞭解他們在這段歷程中的哪個階段非常重要。 

我們再來看看會影響購買意願的其他幾個因素: 

影響購買意願的因素

會影響購買意願的因素舉例如下:

  • 季節性

有些產品在特定季節賣得特別好,但季節性差異有時並不容易看出來,因此,您最好直接向客戶詢問季節是否會影響他們購買您的產品的意願、有什麼影響。舉例來說,有些人會等到雨季開始的時候再買雨鞋,而有些比較精明的人則喜歡等到過季時再去買特價品。

  • 目前的客戶滿意度

這是影響購買意願的關鍵因素。不滿意的客戶比較有意願與您的競爭者做生意。以下我們將會告訴您如何利用客戶滿意度調查問卷來測量客戶有多喜歡您既有的商品和整體品牌。如需進一步的資訊,也歡迎參閱我們詳細的市場研究指南

  • 客戶人口統計特徵

視您提供的產品或服務而定,客戶的人口統計特徵可能會影響其購買意願,例如,收入水準不同的客戶,購買特定產品的頻率也會不一樣。收集購買意願的資料時,建議您也一併收集客戶的人口統計資料,以便比較不同細分市場的意願。

  • 廣告

廣告的目的就是提升銷售,所以當然也會影響消費者的購買意願,我們只能希望它的效果是增加購買意願而不是降低。如果想要深入瞭解如何評估您的廣告效益以及其對購買意願的影響,歡迎閱讀這篇關於品牌追蹤調查問卷的文章。

如何利用調查問卷測量購買意願

如果客戶還在尋尋覓覓,建立品牌知名度就是關鍵;如果客戶已經準備好要購買了,推出促銷活動和折價券則可能有助於將他的購買意願化為實際行動。以下來看看哪些調查問卷能用來收集有利於預估購買意圖的資料。 

品牌追蹤調查問卷

品牌追蹤調查問卷非常適合用來判定購買意願,因為它能夠一次監測品牌多個面向的健康狀況,包括品牌知名度、使用情況、品牌聲譽、形象和觀感等。如果客戶知道您的品牌,而且有正面的印象或觀感,他向您購買的機會就會比較高。不過請記得,這些指標瞬息萬變,所以您必須持續收集資料,以隨時掌握自家品牌的健全度。

in-article-cta
您的品牌在市場上表現如何?
馬上調查。Momentive 的品牌追蹤解決方案能協助您評量品牌表現,而且快速又有效率。
瞭解更多

產品測試調查問卷 

產品測試調查問卷能透過客戶提供的意見回饋和見解,來了解他們的購買意願。例如,有些家具公司會讓客戶先在家試用某個產品一段時間,可能是幾個禮拜甚至幾個月,這麼做有機會提升客戶的滿意度 (客戶滿意度將於下一段說明) 並滿足他們的需要。您可以利用產品測試調查問卷詢問客戶在試用您的產品或服務時的心得和感受,這麼做也能有效看出他們會不會真的購買。 

客戶滿意度調查問卷

行銷漏斗經常忽略「忠誠度」這項指標。別忘了忠誠客戶願意購買的額度通常比新客戶還多,因此瞭解忠誠客戶的購買意願無比重要。我們建議您將調查客戶滿意度當作第一步,瞭解客戶對您的產品或服務是否滿意,知道他們有多高的機會再次光顧。若要掌握更全面的情況,您還可以考慮對競爭對手的客戶做問卷調查,畢竟,對您的競爭對手不滿意的客戶可能會有意願向您購買。

廣告測試調查問卷

您可能已經發現廣告費用越來越高昂,因此,確定您的廣告經費有花在刀口上非常重要,也就是說,您必須收集能夠幫助您瞭解廣告效果的資料。廣告測試調查問卷能協助您看出不同廣告概念的效果,以便判定哪個最能引起客戶的共鳴並增加其購買意願。在花任何一毛錢打廣告之前,先針對一小群消費者做測試絕對是值得的,您可以藉此看出哪個廣告最能打動他們、哪個廣告缺乏影響力,然後打造最強大的廣告活動來增強他們的購買意願。至於要調查的對象,您可以選擇一群目標受眾,也就是年齡、性別和職業等人口統計特爭與您的目標客戶相近的一群消費者。在廣告活動結束之後,我們建議您透過品牌追蹤來衡量該廣告對銷售的影響。 

購買意願調查問卷問題

可以用來測量購買意願的題型有很多,而每種題型都能設計來收集不同類型的資訊,因此,當您在選擇要問的問題時,必須先考慮您這份購買意願調查問卷的大目標。以下有幾個例子供您參考:

李克特量表問題

李克特量表問題旨在測知受訪者個意見和感覺,以判斷人們對您的產品或服務有何想法。例如,假設您想知道某一特定客戶群將來光顧的可能性多高,可以詢問他們對以下這個陳述的同意程度。

陳述:我在接下來的 12 個月內可能會購買新沙發。 

  1. 強烈不同意
  2. 不同意
  3. 沒有同意或不同意
  4. 同意
  5. 強烈同意

收集了這項資訊,您就能夠將有購買意願和沒有購買意願的客群或目標受眾分開來,以便將資源都集中於正確的目標受眾身上,才能有效提升業績。最高兩個選項的總分 (Top 2 Box score) 分析法在這個時候特別有用,它將李克特量表問題中最前面兩個答案選項 (在這個例子當中是「同意」和「強烈同意」) 所獲得的回覆數相加,所得的數字就代表了有多少人對這個陳述有正面感受。以這個例子來說,最高兩個選項的總分在某種程度上可以預測消費者的購買意願。深入瞭解您可以如何使用李克特量表這類調查問卷問題洞察客戶行為。

評分表問題

評分表問題是讓受訪者以數字的高低 (例如 0–10 的數字範圍) 來表達其意向。舉例來說,您可以請受訪者用數字表達他們會選擇您的產品或服務而非您競爭對手的產品或服務的機會有多高;這樣您就能夠大概知道受訪者對這兩邊的消費意願有何差別。 

排名問題

排名問題能幫助您瞭解特定產品或服務有多受歡迎。這類題型對於瞭解處於購買歷程早期的消費者特別有用,因為它能讓您看出您與競爭對手在市場上的相對地位,或您的哪類產品對哪類客戶群特別有吸引力。 

例如,您可能會用這樣的排名問題:

請將以下沙發品牌以您個人的喜好程度排名。 

答案選項則會列出幾個客戶可能會考慮的不同品牌。如果您的品牌被排在比較後面,就表示您必須努力提升品牌健康了。 

選擇題

選擇題是最常被使用的題型,對受訪者來說也很好回答,可說是收集意見的好工具。在這種題型當中,答案選項一目了然,讓受訪者可以很有效率地作答。選擇題能夠用來判定客戶預計購買的時間表,這項資訊對預測銷售和需求極為重要。舉例來說,您可能會詢問受訪者:

問題:您預計什麼時候會購買新沙發?

  1. 3 個月後
  2. 6 個月後 
  3. 12 個月後
  4. 我近期沒有購買新沙發的計畫

收集到這項資訊以後,您的銷售團隊便能將注意力放在近期有打算購買的客戶,而避免將銷售資源用在不確定或完全沒有計畫在近期購買的對象上。

選擇題可以幫助您量化最近可能發生的購買行為,以便估計收入。您可能會問這樣的問題:

問題:您會願意花多少錢購買新沙發? 

  1. 大約 10,000 元
  2. 大約 15,000 元
  3. 大約 20,000 元
  4. 大約 30,000 元
  5. 30,000 元以上

這類問題能夠讓您知道您應該將行銷重點放在哪裡。舉例來說,如果大部分的客戶只願意花 10,000 元台幣購買新沙發,那麼您可能就得針對沙發商品推出促銷活動或其他行銷花招來吸引他們購買。

準備開始測量購買意願

既然您已經瞭解什麼是購買意願、為什麼要測量它,以及如何使用調查問卷收集重要的相關資料了,相信您也準備好著手進行調查了。如果需要協助,請看我們的品牌追蹤器能如何幫助您測量並分析購買意願;如果想要測量某個新的行銷活動對購買意願的影響,歡迎閱讀這篇指南

開始進行您的市場研究

全球調查問卷受訪群

把您的調查問卷寄給具有代表性的樣本,收集有效的市場研究資料。

研究服務

讓我們的專業調查團隊協助您進行市場研究計畫。

專家解決方案

利用自動化的分析和報告程序來完成創意和產品概念測試。

如要閱讀更多市場研究資源,請造訪我們的網站地圖

SurveyMonkey Logo

What is purchase intent and how to measure it with surveys

When it comes to projecting sales, revenues and profits, purchase intent is one of the most important data points that you’ll need to know.

Purchase intent helps you make efficient decisions across other areas of your business. For example, if you have a rough estimate of whether and how much your customers are willing to buy in the immediate to near future, you’ll be able to predict your inventory, minimize waste and optimize costs by understanding purchase intent. 

It also makes it easier for sales professionals to know where to focus their efforts. Attempting to sell to customers who have no intent to make a purchase is often a difficult sale to fulfill. 

So, when it comes to marketing, purchase intent is a powerful piece of information. In this article, we’ll go into more detail about what purchase intent is, the factors that are likely to shape it, and crucially, how to measure it, using surveys.

in-article-cta
Introducing Momentive.ai
Shape what’s next with an AI-powered platform that allows business leaders to gain accurate insights in record time.
Learn more

What is purchase intent?

Purchase intent, also known as buyer intent, describes the extent to which customers are willing and inclined to buy a product or service from you within a certain period of time, typically over the next 6 or 12 months. 

First, let’s clarify what we mean by purchase intent by using an example. Imagine that a customer is starting to think about buying a new sofa. The precise point when that consideration turns into intent depends on exactly where the customer is in the customer journey. For instance:

Stage 1: Awareness or need recognition

At the awareness stage of the journey, the customer becomes aware of their need to purchase a certain product. For instance, a customer may recognize that their sofa is outdated or no longer fits in their preferred room design, or it may be damaged. The customer recognizes the need to buy at this stage, but they may not necessarily be ready to translate this need into intent because preliminary research needs to be conducted.

Stage 2: Interest or search

The second stage of the consumer purchasing journey is to search for information. At this point, the consumer begins to look for and research information about various products and services on the market before making their ultimate decision. Customers have a number of different sources of information available to them. For instance, in our sofa example, customers might research websites belonging to various furniture stores, order catalogs, or speak to friends and family about their previous purchases. The customer has a weak intent to buy and may not have a firm idea about which retailer to purchase from. Knowing whether customers are at this stage in their journey will help to inform marketing activities such as your advertising or efforts to improve awareness of your brand. 

Stage 3: Desire

Once the consumer has gathered sufficient information to inform their purchase decision, they're in a position to evaluate the alternative products that are available to them. At this stage, purchase intentions are solidified, and you’ll be interested in whether customers are considering buying from you

Stage 4: Action

Towards the end of the customer journey, the customer actually buys the product and consumes it, either immediately, or at a later date. However, research shows that there are occasional differences between what a consumer plans to do and what they actually do. For example, customers may have settled on purchasing a sectional sofa but change their mind at the last minute when they enter the store to make the purchase. So, at this stage, you should gather as much information as possible about the specifics of the intended purchasing decision such as the amount customers expect to spend. This will help you better meet their needs.

As you can see, purchase intent is more complicated than it would otherwise appear, and customers have different purchase intentions at different inflection points along the customer journey. They may shift from searching broadly for products and services to looking at reviews for a specific product right before they're about to make a purchase. It’s crucial for you to know where they're in that journey if you are to serve their needs. 

Let's take a look at some of the other factors that shape purchase intent. 

Factors affecting purchase intent

Examples of some of the factors that impact purchase intent include:

  • Seasonality

Certain goods tend to be sold at different times of the year. However, this is not always obvious, so make sure you find out directly from your customers whether and how seasonality is impacting purchase intent for your products. For example, some people buy rain boots once it starts raining, but others are more savvy and buy out of season in order to get deals.

  • Existing customer satisfaction

This is a key driver for purchase intent. Believe us: dissatisfied customers are more likely to have intent to buy elsewhere. Below, we’ll show you how to use customer satisfaction surveys to capture insight into how happy your customers are with your existing products and your brand overall. There’s also more information in our detailed market research guide.

  • Customer demographics

Depending on your product or service, customer demographics might shape purchase intent. For instance, customers of different income groups might purchase certain goods more frequently. When collecting data on purchase intent, we recommend gathering a variety of customer demographic metrics so that you can compare intent across different customer segments.

  • Advertising

Advertising is designed to drive sales, and so you should expect it to affect purchase intent, and hopefully in positive ways. For more information on how you can evaluate your advertising efforts and their impact on purchase intent, read a recent article about brand tracking surveys.

How to measure purchase intent with surveys

If a customer is at the search stage of their journey, building brand awareness will be key. If a customer is ready to buy, however, promotions and coupons might turn those intentions into a sale. Let’s take a look at some surveys that can be used to gather data that will assist in the estimation of purchase intent. 

Brand tracking surveys

Brand tracking surveys are great for determining purchase intent. That’s because brand tracking surveys monitor several different aspects of the health of your brand at the same time, including awareness of your brand, usage and consumption of your brand, brand reputation, image, and perceptions. If customers have a positive image or perception of your brand and are aware of it, this increases the chances that they'll actually buy from you. Remember, however, that these aspects change all the time. So, it's crucial to continually track changes in your brand health.

in-article-cta
How is your brand performing?
Find out, fast. Quickly and efficiently measure brand performance with a brand tracking solution from Momentive.
Learn more

Product testing surveys 

Product testing surveys can help collect feedback and insights from customers about purchase intent. For example, some furniture companies now allow customers to trial furniture at home over a period of weeks or even months. This improves the chances that the customer will be satisfied (more on customer satisfaction next), and that their needs are met. Consider using a product testing survey to get feedback from customers on their experiences testing your product or service, because this will provide you with an excellent prediction of whether or not they'll actually buy it. 

Customer satisfaction surveys

One aspect of the marketing funnel that is often overlooked is the loyalty end of the funnel. Don’t forget that loyal customers tend to spend more than new customers, and so understanding purchase intent among loyal customers is critical. As a first step, we recommend administering customer satisfaction surveys. Determining whether customers are satisfied with your product or service can help provide insightful data on the chances of that customer making another purchase in the future. For a fuller picture, also consider administering customer satisfaction surveys to your competitors’ customers. After all, customers that are not satisfied with your rivals’ offerings may have purchase intent for yours.

Ad testing surveys

As you probably know, the costs of advertising are spiralling. So, it’s crucial to be confident that your advertising monies are well spent - and that means gathering data about the impact of your advertising. Ad testing surveys are helpful for determining the performance of advertisements, in order to determine which messaging resonates with customers and which can therefore influence purchase intent. Before you spend a penny on advertising, it's worthwhile testing various messages on a pilot group of consumers to see which land, and which lack impact. That way, you can craft advertising campaigns that have the power to drive purchasing intent.  Select an audience that mimics your consumers in terms of demographics like age, gender and occupation.  And, once you’ve finished with your advertising campaign, we recommend brand tracking to measure impact. 

Purchase intent survey questions

There are a number of different question types that you can use to measure purchase intention. Each question format can be used to yield different types of information, so you will need to consider the objectives of your purchase intent survey when selecting questions. We have some examples to help you below:

Likert scale survey questions

Likert Scale questions are used to gauge respondents’ opinions and feelings, and can determine how people feel about your product or service. For example, in order to gauge the likelihood of a future purchase from a target set of customers,  you might present respondents with the following statement, and ask them to indicate their degree of agreement.

Question: I will probably buy a new sofa in the next 12 months. 

  1. Strongly disagree
  2. Disagree
  3. Neither agree nor disagree
  4. Agree
  5. Strongly agree

Using this information, you’ll be able to disaggregate your target audience into customers who have stronger and less strong purchase intentions, and to focus your efforts to drive sales at the appropriate audience. Top 2 Box score analysis is especially useful here. It combines the top two responses of a Likert scale question (in this case, agree and strongly agree) to create a summary of positive sentiment towards a statement. In this case, combining the top 2 scores can help to reach a measure of purchase intent. Learn more about how you can use Likert style survey questions for insight into customer behaviors.

Rating scale questions

Rating scale questions ask respondents to rate intentions on a numeric scale, such as a 0–10 scale. For instance, you might ask survey respondents to rate the likelihood that they would choose your product or service over those offered by a competitor. This will give you a sense of purchase intentions relative to purchase intentions of competing products. 

Ranking questions

Ranking questions can help you to understand the popularity of their product or service.  These types of questions are particularly insightful when delivered to customers who are at an earlier stage in the purchasing journey, because it can help to to understand where you stand relative to your competitors, or which of your product lines are more appealing to certain categories of customers. 

An example ranking question you might use is:

Rank the following sofa brands in order of preference. 

Answer options might include a few different choices that a customer would rank. If your brand is scored low in this list, this is an indicator that you need to work on your brand health

Multiple choice questions

Multiple choice questions are the most popular survey question type and are easy for respondents to answer, making data collecting easier when conducting surveys.  That’s because survey respondents are presented with a series of answer options, which reduces their sense of burden and enables them to move through the survey quicker. Multiple choice questions are useful in determining the timescale over which customers are willing to make purchases - vital information for projecting sales and demand. For instance, you might ask survey respondents:

Question: When do you expect to buy a new sofa?

  1. In the next 3 months
  2. In the next 6 months 
  3. In the next 12 months
  4. I have no plans to buy a new sofa in the near future

Armed with information gleaned from this question, your sales department can focus their attention on customers that are willing to commit to a purchase in the immediate to near future,  and can avoid customers who are uncertain or have no plans to make a purchase in the near future. 

Multiple choice questions are also useful in quantifying estimated future purchases, helping you to estimate revenues. A question you might administer to get at this crucial information is:

Question: How much would you be willing to pay for a new sofa? 

  1. Around $500
  2. Around $1000
  3. Around $2000
  4. Around $3000
  5. $3000+

This is critical information in helping you to make efficient decisions about whether to focus your marketing attention.  For instance, if it turns out that most of your customers expect to pay around $1000 or less for a sofa, promotions and other marketing efforts should be focused on this line of products.

Get ready to start measuring purchase intent

Now that you know what purchase intent is, why it's important to measure it, and how to use surveys to capture all important purchase intent data, you might be ready to get started.  Click information on how our brand tracker can help with measuring and analyzing purchase intent. Or, if you are ready to measure the impact of a new marketing campaign on purchase intent, see this guide.

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting

To read more market research resources, visit our Sitemap.