產品

SurveyMonkey 能滿足各種使用案例和需求。歡迎探索我們的產品,瞭解 SurveyMonkey 能為您提供什麼協助。

從全球首屈一指的線上調查問卷中,獲取以資料為導向的深入分析。

可與超過 100 款應用程式和外掛程式整合,讓您事半功倍。

建立並自訂線上表單,以收集資訊和付款方式。

利用內建的 AI 打造更優質的調查問卷並快速獲得獨到見解。

依實際需求量身打造解決方案,滿足您所有的市場研究需求。

範本

測量客戶對貴公司的滿意度和忠誠度。

瞭解如何讓客戶滿意,使他們成為您忠實的擁護者。

取得可化為實際行動的深入解析,以改善使用者的體驗。

向潛在客戶、受邀人等對象收集聯絡資訊。

輕鬆收集並追蹤活動邀請回函。

瞭解參加者的需要,使下一場活動更成功。

發掘能提升員工參與度並改善績效的深入解析。

瞭解與會者的想法和意見,把下一場會議辦得更好。

運用同儕意見回饋來協助員工改善績效。

打造更好的課程並改善教學方法。

瞭解學生對課程資料和教學狀況的評價。

瞭解客戶對您的新產品構想有何看法。

相關資源

使用調查問卷和調查資料的最佳實務

有關問卷調查、給企業的訣竅及其他主題的內容,都在我們的部落格。

SurveyMonkey 的使用教學與指南。

頂尖品牌如何透過 SurveyMonkey 推動成長。

如何建立市場定位策略

您的公司靠什麼在競爭者當中脫穎而出呢?您有哪些產品和服務是競爭者無法提供的?您要怎麼讓客戶與您的互動既獨特又難忘呢?

答案的核心,其實就是如何辨識、建立和執行有效的市場定位策略。

市場定位策略的目的是在眾多競爭者當中界定並突顯您的獨特性。在競爭日益激烈的市場當中,擁有強大的市場定位策略已成為推銷公司和產品並做出差異化的關鍵,因為它有助於建立品牌忠誠度,吸引並留住新客戶,達到增加營收的最終目的。

in-article-cta

獲得專家提供的調查問卷設計、抽樣和分析技巧。

現代日常生活中,隨處可見成功市場定位所帶來的價值。有些品牌賣的雖然只是一般日常商品,卻因為有效的市場定位成功吸引並打動消費者,而在市場上佔據了指標性的地位。

星巴克就是很典型的例子。世界上有多不勝數的餐廳、商店和咖啡店在賣咖啡,各式各樣的咖啡。在競爭這麼激烈的市場中,星巴克找到了屬於自己的配方,推出多樣化的商品,並靠著獨特的品牌形象和舒適悠閒又有活力的店面氛圍,成功吸引到許多超忠實的顧客,總是願意花比一般咖啡店昂貴的價格,就是要喝一杯星巴克。

蘋果是另一個經典案例。市面上有各式各樣的個人電腦和電子裝置,而且大部分都比蘋果公司的產品便宜許多,但蘋果產品靠著簡約美觀的設計和吸引人的品牌形象成功深得顧客喜愛,成功的品牌定位讓其 iOS 系列產品的價值歷久不衰,甚至持續成長。

自己進行產品定位。獲得市場研究專家分享的秘訣。

制定市場定位策略的目的是為了讓公司產品或服務的價值被消費者看見,打動現有客戶並吸引新客戶,展現出與眾不同的特色,甚至贏過其他競爭品牌。

若沒有成功的定位策略,星巴克就只是一間平淡無奇的咖啡店,蘋果公司也只是一般的電腦和手機製造商。追根究柢,這兩家公司其實就是咖啡店和電子產品製造商,但為什麼幾乎沒有人覺得他們這麼普通?這就是定位策略重要的原因。

市場定位的目標是明確界定您要服務的對象、選擇這些對象的原因、找出競爭對手及如何與對手做出差異化。有了這些知識,您就能夠有效透過行銷、品牌經營和進入市場策略,鞏固並展現您的市場定位,以做出差異化並提升客戶的參與度、忠誠度,甚至把他們變成您的擁護者。

要記得,市場定位不是一句口號或標語而已。口號和標語固然重要,但若少了深思熟慮的定位策略和相關手法的配合,它們就不會產生該有的效果。如果您的口號或標語讓人覺得空泛虛假,反而會造成反效果,不如不要。現代消費者的眼睛是雪亮的,哪些公司沒有價值而只會說大話,消費者都看得出來。

由此可見,市場定位策略是影響一家企業成敗的重要因素,但是要怎麼做呢?關鍵在於採取有重點、有規劃的步驟,為您的公司找到一個既真誠、合乎情理又與眾不同的市場定位。

以下是實現定位策略的步驟。

in-article-cta

50 多種人口統計屬性分類,把 130 多個國家、超過 1.44 億名目標受眾的優勢發揮到極致。

如同生活中很多事情一樣,預先做功課很重要。以市場定位來說,您必須先透過市場研究深入認識您的目標受眾,瞭解他們的喜好、需求、態度和行為。  

您可以運用專門鎖定目標受眾的市場研究資源來瞭解您的理想客戶是哪些人,您可以為他們解決什麼問題。問卷調查能幫助您快速找到哪些人最有可能購買您的產品。您也可以同時調查國內和全球各地的受眾,拓展您的研究範圍。

界定理想受眾的範圍對市場研究來說極為重要。您可以使用人口統計、買家行為和心理變數調查問卷收集資料來瞭解您的客戶和目標客群,然後透過調查問卷、觀察、面談和客戶資料進一步描繪出您的理想客戶,好為公司和產品確立一個有效的市場定位。

以目標受眾的資料作為基礎,您可以發展出兩到三個買家人物誌,對他們進行產品、訊息和定價的概念測試。在產品上市前,您也可以向這些理想受眾收集優質的目標受眾資料,以評估您的產品和競爭力。

要打敗競爭對手,您必須先了解對方。透過調查您的目標受眾,您便能從客戶的角度檢視對手的強項和弱點。當然,您也必須瞭解其他資訊,如市場規模、競爭者數量、客戶的品牌偏好和競品等等,才能做出有意義的比較。

SurveyMonkey 的市場研究調查問卷能揭示您的目標受眾對競爭者及他們的商品有何看法。典型的問題包括:

  • 您有多常使用這類產品?
  • 提到這類產品時,您會想到哪個品牌?
  • 您有聽過我們這家公司嗎?
  • 您曾向我們的競爭對手買過任何產品嗎?
  • 您對該公司的產品有多滿意?

競爭分析能顯示出您與競爭對手的差異化因素,讓您發現您在所處的競爭環境中有何與眾不同之處,進而打造獨特的價值主張。市場研究調查問卷範本能幫助您快速獲得這些資訊,以免您的市場定位或產品不符合客戶的需求。

在您對您的市場、客戶和競爭對手有較深的瞭解之後,就可以將注意力移向確立價值主張。

價值主張是一個簡短的陳述,定義了您提供給目標受眾的獨特價值,以及您與競爭者不同之處。您寫下的價值主張必須讓人看得出您是誰、提供什麼獨特的產品,以及客戶能從您的產品獲得什麼好處,它也是指引公司下一步行動的重要指標。

要確立價值主張,一個簡單又有效的方法是運用哈佛大學商學院策略與競爭力中心所研發出的三道問題。讓您的團隊針對這三道問題做腦力激盪,就能有效找到符合目標客戶需求的價值主張。

這三道問題是關於公司內部運作方式以及公司提供給客戶的價值。 

  1. 您要服務的是哪些客戶?
  2. 您要滿足的是哪些需求?
  3. 怎樣的定價能夠帶給客戶價值,同時又能讓公司獲利?

仔細思考這三個問題,以您獲得的答案作為基礎,就能找到一個在客戶需求、市場現實和公司盈利目標取得平衡的價值主張。

您可以用產品定位調查問卷調查您的目標受眾,為您的產品找到差異化的方式,以取得競爭優勢。做問卷調查可以快速掌握理想客戶的想法,協助您找到產品定位,確保產品在市場上脫穎而出。 

一旦確立或更新了公司的價值主張之後,就可以開始擬定市場定位聲明。該聲明必須能反映出公司的價值主張,引起客戶的共鳴,並顯示出您與競爭對手的差異。

一個好的市場定位聲明必須提到客戶會獲得什麼好處,以及貴公司如何提供與競爭者不同的產品和服務。該聲明也應該提及您的品牌個性、宗旨、特色,並明確定義出:

  • 您的目標受眾
  • 您將提供什麼產品和服務給他們
  • 您會如何提供您的產品和服務
  • 貴公司的企業宗旨
  • 您的產品和服務與競爭者有何差異

您的市場定位聲明必須真誠、簡短、以客戶為中心且令人印象深刻,這樣才能成為公司內部每個人在談論公司品牌時的指引方針。

記得以下幾個秘訣,您就能寫出讓公司內外的人都容易理解,又真實不虛偽的聲明。

  1. 少能勝多:保持簡短,有助於理解和記憶。
  2. 使用有力的字眼:您的聲明應該讓人印象深刻,且明確表達您的主要業務內容和做事方式。
  3. 反映公司的價值:說出您的核心商業價值,但不要過度誇大或使用空洞的詞彙。
  4. 做出承諾:告訴客戶您會為他們做什麼。
  5. 展現您的與眾不同:一定要讓您自己在競爭對手中脫穎而出。
  6. 定下明確的目標:您的定位聲明就是您的長期計畫,而您將來的新點子也必須以此為基準。

寫好市場定位聲明之後,一定要讓全公司知道,這樣員工在談論公司品牌時,才會持有一致的標準。但是別忘了,市場定位聲明不是一成不變的。變化是商業的常態,市場環境改變、新競爭者的出現、客戶的期待產生變化等等,都是企業經常必須面對的事實。您可能會需要更新聲明來反映這些變化,而做問卷調查、進行面談和收集客戶評論都是能讓您及時看出並預測趨勢變化的好幫手。

什麼是市場定位呢?下面舉出幾個擁有獨特品牌和忠實客戶的創新領導者供您參考。

範例 1:Trader Joe’s

在美國,Trader Joe’s 以獨家商品、優惠價格和有趣的員工聞名。該公司將自己定位為「全國性社區型連鎖超市」。優質的食品和獨樹一格的購物體驗讓 Trader Joe's 與其主要競爭者 Whole Foods 並駕齊驅。「我們不做特賣、沒有會員計畫,也不收會費或搞其他噱頭,只關注每天提供給顧客的價值。」

範例 2:Dollar Shave Club

一般人對刮鬍子有什麼要求?在美國,Dollar Save Club 知道目標受眾要的是平價又好用的刮鬍刀。刮鬍刀這種日常用品不應該難買又昂貴,Dollar Save Club 就是運用這個簡單的需求打出了一片天。如同他們在官網上所說的:「您在浴室會用到的刮鬍刀和其他任何理容用品,都能自動送到家,方便無比。」

範例 3:西南航空員工承諾

美國西南航空能營造獨特的飛行體驗,主要是因為員工承諾會「努力做到最好且永不放棄,藉此展現我的戰士精神。我不會過於嚴肅,會擁抱西南航空這個大家庭,藉此展現我風趣的態度。」

您為制定價值主張和市場定位聲明所做的研究和投入的努力,都有助於整體策略定位的建立和執行。

概念上,策略定位可說是一份藍圖,指引您在市場上充分運用獨特優勢以有效滿足客戶需求,同時讓生意持續成長。

實質上,策略定位融合了實務指南和行動計劃,是指導公司行銷、產品開發、客戶參與和整體公眾形象等相關決策和活動的方針。

策略定位的制定不能脫離現實。除了做研究、收集並分析客戶洞見之外,您也必須了解公司內部人員的觀點,特別是領導階層、銷售、產品開發和行銷溝通團隊。這麼做不僅可以收集到新點子,還能確定這些團隊對公司的定位有共鳴。

這樣的合作關係不僅有助於找到最佳策略定位,還有機會從組織內部的各個角落吸引到一群真心的擁護者,幫助您激發全體員工的認同,並對外發出一致訊息。

在發展整體策略定位時,競爭定位是關鍵考量。透過市場研究並分析客戶對您競爭對手的看法之後,您應該要很清楚競爭對手在市場上的定位、他們的優勢,以及潛在的缺點和弱點。

有了這些背景知識,您就能夠在競爭局勢中更精準地找到您可以拿下的地盤,看出自己的差異化優勢,以及如何宣傳這些優勢以建立更高的客戶忠誠度,並吸引對競品可能感到不滿意的潛在客戶。

總歸一句,您的公司必須在市場上「為人所知」。您是產業中的元老還是新秀,是最大規模或最懂創新的公司?有沒有贏過科技獎、客戶服務獎或最佳職場的頭銜?您注重以充滿趣味又有創意方式與客戶互動嗎?這些都是您可以在市場上展現出獨特性的切入點。

您也可以藉由闡述您為所屬產業帶來的價值,讓公司脫穎而出,成為令人印象深刻的品牌。在《定位:爭奪用戶心智的戰爭》一書中,作者屈特和賴茲說,目標「不是在產品中或您自己的腦袋中為您的問題尋找解決方案,而是在潛在客戶的腦袋中為您的問題尋找解決方案」。

若想讓您的公司或品牌烙印在消費者的心中,取得「第一」或「特殊」的頭銜會很有幫助。一家公司在業界取得領先地位,主要是靠以下三種方式

在營運方面領先:如果您的公司很有效率,可能會以較低成本做出產品,提供較低的價格。

在產品方面領先:您可能用業界第一個、最好的,或最創新的產品來吸引客戶。

在客戶親密度方面領先:您待客如親,而且非常瞭解客戶遇到的問題,因此能提供最有效的產品、服務或解決方案。

鮮少有公司能在這三方面都佔得上風,一般來說,比較合理的目標是專心在其中一個領域取得領先,然後以此為基礎來構築公司和品牌在市場上的定位。競爭定位有助於將您的名稱深植於客戶心中,成為他們遇到問題時的首選解決方案。

您的市場定位策略必須與時俱進。您必須持續評估您的品牌,才能跟得上不斷變化的市場趨勢和客戶期待。以下幾個訣竅能幫助您在必要時重新定位。

訣竅 1:回歸基本。以客戶的角度出發。用市場研究調查問卷來比較您和競爭對手的品牌,以看出市場上的任何缺口和機會。

訣竅 2:重新審視您的買家人物誌。您的客群樣貌有改變嗎?透過問卷調查來建立新的買家人物誌往往有助於解決您面臨的新挑戰。

訣竅 3:針對新的競爭對手做調查。業界出現了新的競爭者嗎?您可以用市場研究調查問卷範本輕鬆快速地瞭解這些新進者的表現如何。消費者對競爭對手的品牌觀感也可能會改變,您必須知道他們哪裡表現出色,才能有效與之競爭。

訣竅 4:重新定位您的競爭對手。透過重新定位競爭對手來重新定位您自己。

舉例來說,泰諾 (Tylenol) 剛上市時,公司必須想辦法讓一直以來都依賴阿斯匹靈的消費者改變心意。他們沒有把宣傳重點放在自己的特色和優勢,而是攻擊阿斯匹靈會刺激胃黏膜、導致出血的弱點。泰諾藉由指出對手的弱點來展示自己如何解決客戶的問題,很快就征服市場,成為消費者首選的止痛藥。

訣竅 5:知道自己是哪方面的領導者。您的優勢可能在於成本、產品或客戶關係。您的領導地位改變了嗎?是否影響到您的品牌?如果是,您就需要重新評估您的領導地位了。請記得,第一、難忘、獨特這類標籤對一個品牌的成功極為重要。透過調查問卷,您的目標受眾能夠迅速告訴您他們的想法,幫助您保持競爭力。

要做市場定位,對目標受眾進行問卷調查是既符合成本效益,又能快速獲得相關資料及深入解析的好方法。

小組研究調查旨在追蹤目標受眾的觀感如何隨著時間變化。透過在不同時間點對目標受眾作調查 (又稱作縱貫研究),您將能即刻發現他們觀感的任何變化。您可以追蹤的趨勢很多,包括品牌識別、競爭品牌、包裝、定價等等,如果調查問卷設計得宜,一定會為您帶來明確且可化為實際行動的調查結果

概念測試調查問卷能迅速鑑定您構思的新產品有沒有商業潛力。每年約有 95% 的新產品都以失敗收場,提早蒐集資訊能為您省下時間、金錢,還能避免品牌形象受損。

市場研究是公司和品牌能否成為領導角色的關鍵。您可以透過面談、市場研究調查問卷、消費者觀察、客戶評論和其他資料來知道如何成功走進客戶內心。

深入認識您的客戶是第一步,因為這樣您才能瞭解並解決他們的問題。要做到這點,您必須先界定您的目標受眾,然後問對問題,以確保您有優質的資料可以信賴。

要擬定強大的市場定位策略,無疑需要付出許多心力和專注力,但潛在的回報很大。有了明確、獨樹一格、容易辨識的市場定位,您就更能發揮優勢,克服弱點,打造出深受客戶喜愛的成功品牌。

把您的問卷寄給具有代表性的樣本,收集有效的市調資料

讓我們的專業調查團隊協助您進行市調計畫

利用自動化的分析和報告程序來完成創意和產品概念測試

如要閱讀更多市場研究資源,請造訪我們的網站地圖

SurveyMonkey Logo

How to create a market positioning strategy

What is a market positioning strategy?

What sets your company apart from your competition? What products and services do you offer that your competitors cannot? How can you connect and engage with customers in unique and memorable ways?

Answers to these questions are at the heart of identifying, defining, and executing on an effective market positioning strategy.

A marketing positioning strategy is designed to carve out and amplify an identity different from your competitors. In an increasingly competitive marketplace, a strong market positioning strategy is key to promoting and differentiating your company and products in ways that build deep brand loyalty, attract and retain new customers, and, ultimately, drive strong revenue growth.

in-article-cta
Best practices to market research before you start
Get tips on survey design, sampling, and analysis from survey experts.
Read our ultimate guide

Evidence of the value of successful market positioning is readily available in our daily lives. Brands that have gained iconic status have done so by effectively positioning themselves in engaging and inspiring ways—even if they’re selling products that are largely everyday commodities.

Starbucks is a prime example. Countless restaurants, stores, and yes, coffee shops, sell a wide array of java. Yet in a crowded market, Starbucks found the right blend of good coffee, a wide array of offerings, distinctive branding, and an inviting yet bustling atmosphere to position itself in ways that garners deep devotion among their customers—devotion so deep that those customers will pay more for a cup of coffee at Starbucks than they are willing to at less distinctive competitors.

Apple is another classic example. There are plenty of personal computers and electronic devices on the market, most of which are considerably less expensive than Apple products. Yet Apple has been able to maintain and grow the value of their iOS products by staking claim to market positioning anchored by clean and beautiful design, simplicity, cool, and engaging branding that customers love.

Perform your own product positioning. Get tips straight from market research experts.

Why do you need a positioning strategy?

You need a marketing position strategy because it drives home the value of your products or services in ways that resonate with current customers, attracts new ones, and sets you apart  and hopefully above your competitors.

Without a positioning strategy, Starbucks is a run-of-the-mill coffee store and Apple is a computer and phone manufacturer. In reality, that is what both those companies are, but the fact that hardly anyone thinks of them that way should tell you all you need to know about why a positioning strategy matters a lot.

Your goal in crafting a marketing position is to clarify who you serve, why you serve them, which competitors are vying for your business and how you are differentiated from those competitors. Armed with that insight, you can execute on marketing, branding and go-to-market strategies that reinforce and amplify your marketing position to differentiate your company and build stronger customer engagement, loyalty, and even advocacy.

Keep in mind that market positioning is more than just a slogan or tagline. Those are important for sure, but they are only as effective as the well-thought out positioning strategy and tactics supporting them. A slogan or tagline that rings hollow to customers is arguably worse than not having one at all. Consumers today are savvy, and they can readily detect when a company doesn’t live up to its own hype.

So clearly a market positioning strategy is an important component of a successful business. But how do you make it a reality? The key is to take a focused and well-planned approach to developing a marketing position that is authentic, defensible, and distinctive to your company.

What follows is a step-by-step approach to making it happen.

in-article-cta
Respondents to your surveys, sourced from around the globe
Tap into an audience of 144M+ people in 130+ countries using over 50 attributes.
Try SurveyMonkey Audience

How to create a market positioning strategy

Step 1: Dig into market research

Like many things in life, it’s essential to start by doing your homework. In this instance that means conducting market research to gain deeper insights about your target audience, their preferences, needs, attitudes and behaviors.  

You can use market research resources for audience targeting to understand who your ideal customers are and what problems you can solve for them. Surveys are a great way to quickly identify which people are most likely to buy your products. You can also get insights from both domestic and international audiences to expand your research.

Identifying your ideal audience is critical to your market research. Demographics, buyer behavior, and psychographic surveys will provide you with data-driven insights about your customers and target prospects. Surveys, observations, interviews and customer data will further clarify who your ideal customer is, allowing you to better position your company and its products in the market.

Your target audience data lays the groundwork to develop two to three buyer personas you can use for concept testing of your products, messaging, and pricing. Surveying your ideal audience before you go to market provides the high-quality audience data you need to evaluate your products and your competition.

Step 2: Figure out your competition

To beat your competition, you must first understand them. Surveys from your target audience are excellent tools to learn what your customers view as your competitors’’ strengths and weaknesses. To make relevant comparisons, you will need information about the market size, number of competitors, customer brand preferences, and competing products.

SurveyMonkey’s market research surveys help you understand what your target audience thinks about your competitors and their products. Typical survey questions are:

  • How often do you use this product category?
  • When you think of this category, what brand comes to mind?
  • Have you heard of our company?
  • Have you purchased anything from the competitor?
  • How satisfied were you with the competitor’s product?

Competitive analysis will help identify key differentiators of your competitors providing greater insight into what sets you apart from the competition and creates your unique value proposition. Market research survey templates make it easy to gather this information quickly, helping you avoid the risks of developing a positioning or products that don’t fully align with your customer’s needs.

Step 3: Craft your value proposition 

Once you’ve gained a greater understanding of your market, your customers, and your competitors, you can turn your attention to crafting your value proposition.

A value proposition is a succinct way of defining the unique value you offer to your target audience, and how it differs from competitors. Writing a value proposition that captures who you are, your unique offerings, and how your customers benefit from them, provides a powerful reference point to guide your company’s next steps.

A simple and effective approach to crafting your value proposition uses three questions developed by Harvard Business School Institute for Strategy and Competitiveness. Brainstorming answers with your team will help you develop a value proposition that is sure to include the needs of your target customer.

These three questions focus on your internal operations and the value you provide to your customers. 

  1. Which customers are you going to serve?
  2. Which needs are you going to meet?
  3. What price will provide value for your customers and be profitable for your company?

Thoughtful answers to these three questions creates the foundation for a value proposition that balances the needs of your customers, the realities of the market, and your company’s revenue goals.

A product positioning survey with your target audience will help you differentiate your products for a competitive advantage. Surveys are a quick way to get the pulse of your ideal customers and help position your products so they will stand out from your competitors. 

Step 4: Develop a memorable market positioning statement

Once you have defined or updated your company’s value proposition, you can pivot to developing a market positioning statement that aligns with that value proposition in ways that  will resonate with customers and clearly differentiate you from competitors.

A good market positioning statement details the benefits that customers will receive and how your business offers and delivers products, services that differ from your competitors. It should include your brand’s identity, purpose, and unique features and clearly defines:

  • Your target audience
  • What products and services you will offer them
  • How you deliver your products and services
  • Your company’s purpose
  • How your products and services differ from your competitors

Your marketing positioning statement should be authentic, succinct, customer-focused, and memorable so it can serve as an accessible resource for how everyone in your company talks about your brand.

Here are some tips to keep In mind as you are writing your statement so it is easy-to-digest and rings true with both internal and external audiences.

  1. Less is more: Keep it brief so people understand and remember it.
  2. Use powerful words: Your statement should be memorable and clearly state what you do and how you do it.
  3. Reflect who you are: State your core business values without using too much fluff or big words.
  4. Make a promise: Tell customers what you will do for them.
  5. Say why you’re different:  Make sure you stand out from your competition.
  6. Put a stake in the ground: Your positioning statement clarifies what you will do for the long term and future ideas will be compared against it.

Once you have completed a marketing positioning statement make sure to roll it out throughout your company so everyone is aligned in how they are talking about your brand. And keep in mind that the statement may not be forever set in stone. Change is a constant in business -- market conditions shift, new competitors arrive on the scene, and customers’ expectations evolve. You may need to update your statement  periodically to reflect these changes. Surveys, interviews, and customer comments are ways to keep you on top of changes in the market and upcoming trends.

Market positioning examples

What is positioning in marketing? We can look to innovative leaders who have distinctive brands and a loyal customer following.

Example #1: Trader Joe’s

Known for their unique products, great prices, and fun staff, Trader Joe’s has positioned themselves as the “national chain of neighborhood grocery stores.”  Their high quality food and unique shopping experience is on par with their competitor, Whole Foods. “Maintaining our everyday focus on value is vital, which is why we don’t have sales, loyalty programs, membership fees, or any other gimmicks.”

Example #2: Dollar Shave Club

What does the average guy want from a shave? Dollar Shave Club knows their target audience wants a great shave at an affordable price. It shouldn’t be hard to buy razors, or expensive and Dollar Shave Club made their mark with a simple approach to grooming. As they say on their website, “Everything you need in the bathroom—from razor blades to grooming products—is automatically delivered to your door. It doesn't get any simpler than that.”

Example #3: Southwest Airlines Employee Promise

Southwest Airlines offers a unique flight experience, particularly due to their employee promise. Employees promise to “demonstrate my Warrior Spirit by striving to be my best and never giving up. I will express my Fun-LUVing Attitude by not taking myself too seriously and embracing my Southwest Family.”

Strategic Positioning

Your research, and the work you do to develop and define your value proposition and marketing positioning statement, all contribute to establishing and executing on your overarching strategic positioning.

Your strategic positioning provides the blueprint for how you aim to fully leverage your unique niche in the marketplace to most effectively meet your customer’s needs, while also growing your business.

In essence, strategic positioning represents a blend of the playbook and action plan that will guide ongoing decisions and activities regarding marketing, product development, customer engagement and your overall public persona.

Strategic positioning should not be developed in a vacuum. In addition to the research and customer insights you have gathered and analyzed, it’s important to get perspectives from those inside your company, particularly leadership, sales, product development and marketing and communication. This allows you to gather new ideas as well as getting affirmation that the positioning resonates effectively among all of these groups.

Collaboration such as this not only helps develop the most optimal strategic positioning, but it also can enlist an engaged team of advocates from across your organization to assure greater alignment and buy-in from all employees, as well as greater consistency of message to external audiences.

Competitive Positioning

A focus on competitive positioning is a key consideration as you develop your overarching strategic positioning. Through the market research and customer insights on your competitors you should have a clear picture of how your competitors have positioned themselves in the market, what their unique strengths are, as well as their potential weaknesses and vulnerabilities.

Against this backdrop you can more precisely stake your claim to where you fit within the competitive landscape; what your differentiating strengths are; and how to promote those strengths in ways that build deeper customer loyalty while attracting new customers who may be dissatisfied with your competitors’ offerings.

Ultimately, your company needs to be “known” for something in the market. Were you the first, the largest, the newest, the most innovative company in your industry? Have you won awards for technology, customer service, or best place to work? Do you focus on interacting with customers in fun or creative ways? These are all features that have the potential to distinguish you in your market.

Stating what value you bring to your industry will help you distinguish your company and become a memorable brand. According to the book, Positioning: The Battle for your Mind, the authors, Trout and Ries, say the goal is to “look for the solution to your problem not inside the product, not even inside your own mind. You look for the solution to your problem inside the prospect’s mind.”

To make your company and brand memorable, it helps to be “first” or “unique.” The three ways that companies become leaders in their industry include:

Operational leadership: If you are an efficient company, you might produce your products at a lower cost, and offer a lower price.

Product leadership: You may have the first, best, or most innovative product in your industry that attracts customers.

Customer intimacy: You treat your customers like royalty and offer products, services, and solutions that solve their problems because you know their problems in depth.

Companies rarely excel in all three areas. Typically, it makes sense to focus on one leadership area and use that as the way to position your company and your brand in the market. Competitive positioning helps make a name for yourself in your customer’s mind, making you the go-to solution for their problems.

Repositioning Tips

Your market positioning strategy will change over time. You may need to consistently assess your brand to keep up with market trends and changing customer expectations. Here are tips on how you can reposition your brand as times change.

Tip #1:  Go back to the basics. It all starts with the customer. Performing market research surveys that compare your brand to your competitors will show you where there are gaps and opportunities in the market.

Tip #2:  Review your buyer personas. Have your buyer personas changed? Conducting surveys that help you create new buyer personas will help you solve their new challenges.

Tip #3:  Survey for new competitors. Are there new competitors in your industry? Market research survey templates will make it easy to quickly get a read on how those new competitors are performing. Your competitor's brand perceptions may have changed and you will need to know how their brands stand out to compete effectively.

Tip #4: Reposition your competitor. Reposition your brand by repositioning your competitor. ”

For instance, when Tylenol was first introduced, it needed to change the minds of consumers who depended on aspirin, their competitor, for pain relief. Tylenol focused not on their own features and benefits, but on aspirin’s tendency to irritate the stomach lining and cause bleeding. The brand became a market leader by pointing out problems with the competitor and showed how Tylenol solved customer’s problems, and quickly became the preferred pain reliever.

Tip #5: Ask where you are a leader.  You can lead with your cost, products, or customer relationships. Has your leadership position changed, affecting your brand? It may be time to evaluate your leadership position. Remember, being first, memorable, and unique are critical to your brand’s success. Your target audience will quickly tell you what they think with surveys, helping you to stay competitive.

Using surveys to help develop your positioning strategy

Surveys are a cost effective way to get quick responses and relevant data and insights from your target audience about your market position.

Panel study surveys track your target audience’s perceptions over time. By surveying your target audience at different points in time, also known as a longitudinal study, you will be the first to know about their changing perceptions.  Your brand identity, competitor brands, packaging, and pricing are just a few of the market trends you can track over time. When surveyed correctly, you can trust that the results you get are clear and actionable. 

Concept testing surveys will let you quickly test your new idea to see if you have a winning product that will sell. It’s been noted that nearly 95% of new product launches fail each year. Early insights save you time, money, and prevent damage to your brand’s identity.

Market research is critical to positioning your company and brand as a leader. You can use interviews, market research surveys, observations, customer comments, and other data that give you clear insights on how to succeed and stay in the minds of your customers.

The first step is knowing your customer, in detail, so you can understand and solve their problems. It starts by identifying your target audience, asking the right questions, and ensuring that you have high quality data you can rely upon.

No doubt, developing a strong market positioning strategy takes effort and focus. But the payoff can be huge. By clearly establishing a distinctive and recognizable position, you can leverage your strengths, address weaknesses, and build a brand that customers love.

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting

To read more market research resources, visit our Sitemap.