如何想出目標受眾會喜愛的品牌名稱

人們在與親朋好友談論您的產品時,會提到您的品牌名稱。顧客在向銷售員詢問或在網路上尋找您的產品時,會輸入您的品牌名稱。品牌名稱的重要性不言而喻,它不僅能用來辨識您的產品或服務,有時也是口碑行銷的推手之一。好的品牌名稱是成功的一大半。

如果您想開一家公司或預計推出新產品,一定會希望選一個能引發消費者共鳴的品牌名稱。藉由品牌名稱測試,您可以衡量、了解消費者的情感,以便選出能為您的企業或產品加分的好名稱。

測試品牌名稱的方法是把幾個品牌名稱選項呈現給目標受眾,然後詢問他們對這些名稱有什麼感覺。藉此,您就能比較每個選項的吸引力、順口程度,以及相關度等指標,然後選出效果最好的品牌名稱。

接下來,讓我們一起來探討為什麼測試潛在的品牌名稱這麼重要,以及如何進行品牌名稱測試。

如何透過品牌名稱測試選出最佳名稱

在一家公司或一項產品的眾多特徵當中,品牌名稱是黏著度較高的面向之一。您的廣告、產品和產品包裝可能會經常變化,但名稱大概會始終如一,所以建議您在決定品牌名稱以前先挑幾個選項作測試,以免出師不利。

品牌名稱測試能幫助您輕鬆做出正確決定的 4 大理由:

  1. 用調查結果凝聚各方共識。有了具體數據的支持,比較不容易遭到反對。如果調查證明了某個名稱最受喜愛,您就能輕易說服同事一同支持這個決定。
  2. 改良原本的名稱選項。目標受眾可能覺得某個名稱很棒,只不過唸起來有點拗口,這時您可以在拼字或選字上稍做修正,讓名稱唸起來更順口。
  3. 將目標受眾以人口統計屬性做區隔,觀察各個群組的反應有何不同利用篩選條件將調查結果分組,您就能看出不同群組 (年齡、性別、所在地等等) 對於您提出的各個品牌名稱選項有什麼看法。
  4. 透過概念測試讓貴公司對市場做出靈活反應。如果您進行敏捷的市場研究,持續蒐集資料,貴公司將能更迅速地對市場變化做出反應。
品牌名稱分析解決方案:協助您<br />取得專業的深度分析和詳細的客戶意見反應
瞭解更多

如何決定品牌名稱:4 個步驟

既然您已經明白測試品牌名稱的重要性了,就趕快來製作調查問卷吧!只要 4 個步驟就能輕鬆搞定:

測試任何品牌名稱都需要依循的步驟。

選擇要測試的一項或多項刺激物 (被測試的項目)

雖然您可以自由選擇要測試哪些名稱,但最好先參考同事等相關人士對候選名稱的反應,再選出您比較有信心的幾個選項作測試。把一個經過深思熟慮的名稱與同事順口講出來的名稱放在一起測試,這樣的比較結果可能不太公平也不太有意義。建議您把彼此位於相當發展階段的名稱拿來一起測試。

為了讓測試過程對各方而言都輕鬆順暢,請限制刺激物的數量。這個數量可以根據您是要進行單一測試 (monadic survey) 或序列性單一測試 (sequential monadic survey) 來決定。

單一測試的設計是將您的目標受眾分組,讓每一組分別看到單一項刺激物並對它做出評論。待每一項刺激物都收到足量的意見反應後,您就可以分析受訪者提供的資料,進而決定要用哪個名稱。

歡迎參考這份採取單一測試設計的品牌名稱測試範例

此類調查問卷設計讓您可以針對單一刺激物詢問更多問題,而且整份問卷還可能會比較短——這對回覆品質和問卷完成率都有加分的作用。不過,如果只對每位受訪者顯示單一項刺激物,就表示整體來說您必須調查更多人,成本和困難度也會提高。

序列性單一測試的設計能讓您一次詢問受訪者對多項刺激物的意見。一旦獲得足量的回覆,您就可以分別檢視人們對各項刺激物最普遍的意見,進而選出要用哪個名稱。

歡迎參考這份採取序列性單一測試設計的品牌名稱測試範例。

此設計讓您能調查較小群的目標受眾,成本效率高,也比較容易完成。不過,如果您不希望調查問卷太冗長,就必須限制關於每項刺激物的問題數量,不能想問幾題就問幾題。

若要深入了解這兩種設計分別適合的使用時機 (以及不該使用的時機),以及如何建立這類的測試,請參閱這篇文章

選擇要測試的一項或多項指標

一個好的品牌名稱具有哪些特性?這些特性應該化為您要測試的指標。

根據不同的測試目的,您在品牌測試調查問卷裡提出的問題可以籠統一點,也可以具體一點。比如說,假設您的目標是想知道某個名稱是否能夠抓住閱聽眾的注意力,您可能會具體地詢問該名稱的哪些部分有吸引力或有獨特性。以下幾項是任何品牌名稱測試都應該涵蓋的關鍵指標:

  • 吸引力:您的品牌名稱對潛在客戶來說有吸引力嗎?
  • 可信度:您的品牌名稱所傳達的訊息可信度高嗎?
  • 購買意向:您的品牌名稱會讓客戶想要購買您的商品嗎?
  • 唸起來順口:您的品牌名稱唸起來會不會很拗口?
  • 相關性:您的品牌名稱能反映目標受眾的需求和渴望嗎?
  • 獨特性:您的品牌名稱在眾多品牌當中有多特別?

哪些指標比較重要、哪些屬於次要,要視您對品牌名稱的期望而定。如果您想找到一個能夠提升銷售的名稱,那購買意向會是比較關鍵的指標。但如果您的最高目標是在競爭激烈的市場中與他牌區別開來,那麼獨特性可能才是最重要的。

我們建議您用李克特量表來測試各項指標。這類量表非常直截了當,它提供一系列一致的答案選項供受訪者選擇,所以分析起來也會相當輕鬆。如果您決定使用李克特量表,您提出的問題可能會類似這樣:「這個名稱有多 [指標]?」而答案選項可能會是從「極度 [指標]」到「完全不 [指標]」。

舉例來說,假若您想測量的其中一個指標是唸起來順口,您可以這樣提問:

這個品牌名稱有多容易唸?

  1. 極度容易
  2. 非常容易
  3. 還算容易
  4. 不太容易
  5. 一點都不容易

有時候,受訪者給的答案不見得能清楚表示他們最喜歡哪個名稱,如果擔心發生這種情況,不妨在問卷的最後直截了當地詢問他們最喜歡哪個選項;這樣一來,您也可以利用這個問題來判斷各個指標對於整體喜愛度的影響。比方說,如果受訪者一致地把他們認為最獨特的名稱選為最喜愛,那麼您就可以合理猜測「獨特性」對於您的目標市場來說相當重要。

此外,您也可以用篩選問題、類別問題或人口統計問題作為問卷的開頭,讓您了解受訪者,並將他們分組。想認識人口統計問題,請參閱我們的概念測試終極指南

想要尋求市場研究專家的協助嗎?想要提升您的市場調查能力嗎?

下面這些資源都很有幫助!

專家品牌名稱分析:我們提供專家品牌名稱分析解決方案,透過專業方法和受信任的消費者受訪群協助您向目標受眾測試可能的品牌名稱。

市場研究終極指南:這篇指南會告訴您關於市場研究您應該知道的所有大小事,從調查問卷的設計到分析回覆的方法,應有盡有。 

品牌名稱測試調查問卷範本:這份專家認證的範本能讓您了解您該問哪些問題,您也可以自行編輯範本裡面的問題。

SurveyMonkey Audience:透過我們的全球消費者受訪群,您將能夠調查全世界超過 100 個國家的成人。 

市場調查服務:如果您使用 SurveyMonkey Audience,就能利用專家提供的各種專業服務,包括翻譯調查問卷、加速收集回覆等,確保您的研究能順暢進行!

從目標受眾收集回覆

要判定一個品牌名稱會受歡迎的程度,最準確的方法就是讓目標群眾來評估。建議您找到符合您目標市場特性的人們,然後用下列 2 種方法之一來收集他們的意見:

  • 您可以舉辦焦點團體訪談,讓成員透過討論的方式提出他們對某個品牌名稱的深度意見反應。焦點團體的缺點是成本高昂,而且所收集到的意見不會有統計顯著性。
  • SurveyMonkey Audience 讓您能夠指定目標受眾和樣本數量,不用幾分鐘,您就能開始從一群有代表性的樣本收集意見了!這種方法與焦點團體比起來不僅速度快,還更符合成本效益,但缺點是收集到的意見將不如焦點團體詳細或深入。

檢查調查結果

收集完回覆之後,就得決定要選用哪個品牌名稱了!為了簡化分析過程,不妨試試觀察前兩個選項方塊的得分。這種評分法是把每個問題所獲得的正面回覆都化為一個百分比,這樣一來要比較各項指標會更容易。

如果您的問卷中包含了開放式問題,請務必好好研究它們收集到的回覆。您可以用「文字雲」來找出各個品牌名稱主要喚起了受訪者的什麼感受。

文字雲顯示出針對特定品牌名稱最常見的評論字詞。

我們在品牌名稱中只談論到概念測試的皮毛而已,想要深入了解,請參閱「概念測試終極指南」。

品牌名稱測試是產品生命週期的一部分

建議您在產品的整個生命週期 (發展期、成長期、飽和期和衰退期) 都進行品牌名稱測試,包括在要準備推出新產品或重塑品牌的時候。

圖表呈現出在產品生命週期的各個階段應該進行哪些測試。

在發展和成長階段,您可能會尋求廣泛的意見反應,以協助您做出概括所有產品和服務的重要決定。您可藉此機會讓受訪者從一系列差異較大的品牌名稱中做選擇。由於這時您的品牌還很新,不妨趁這個時候廣泛收集意見,以確保您往後的方向正確。

在飽和和衰退的階段,您可能會尋求較具體的品牌名稱意見反應。這時您可以把重點放在拼寫方式、用字、縮寫或名稱主題等是否需要更改;而此時也是向忠實客戶詢問對品牌重塑有什麼意見的最佳時機。

您不需要單打獨鬥
我們提供品牌名稱分析解決方案,能為您打理所有步驟,讓您省下大量時間來仔細挑選優勝的品牌名稱。
瞭解更多

品牌名稱測試的 4 個最佳實務

進行品牌名稱測試時,請將以下 4 件事銘記在心。這些最佳實務能確保您收到的回覆和最終的分析結果都有品質保證。

  1. 針對每項刺激物都詢問相同的問題。每個候選的品牌名稱都必須用相同的指標來衡量,這樣互相比較起來才公平公正。
  2. 確保樣本數量有統計顯著性。為了確保您的調查結果符合標準,您可以使用我們的受訪群
  3. 調查問卷要簡潔而切題。我們建議您不要在一份調查問卷中詢問超過 30 個問題。若問太多問題,受訪者就不太會多花心思回覆,甚至可能因為不耐煩而放棄作答。
  4. 選項中要有控制組。如果您打算重塑現有公司或產品的品牌名稱,別忘了也要在調查問卷中納入目前的品牌名稱,這樣的調查結果才能有助於判定重塑品牌是否會帶來效益。您也可以在問卷裡納入幾個主要競爭品牌的名稱,藉此了解您的潛在名稱在市場上會不會有競爭力。

恭喜!您已經大略掌握要如何透過測試選出理想的品牌名稱了,趕快開始設計調查問卷吧

利用專家解決方案,為您的產品或公司快速找到完美的品牌名稱。

SurveyMonkey Logo
Plans & Pricing

How to come up with a brand name your target audience will love

When someone tells their friends or family about your products, they use your brand name. When repeat customers talk to a sales representative or look for your products with an online search, they use your brand name. Your brand’s name is a powerful identifier and the driving force behind word-of-mouth marketing. It can make or break your business.

If you’re starting a new business or launching a new product, you probably want to know how customers will react to a potential brand name before you pick it. With brand name testing, you can gauge consumer sentiment and select the right name for your business or product.

Brand name testing presents your target audience with several brand name options and asks them to provide feedback on each. With brand name testing, you can compare metrics like appeal, ease of pronouncing, and relevance to identify the most effective brand name.

Let’s take a closer look at why testing potential brand names is important and review how to create a brand name by testing.

How testing your brand name helps you find the strongest option

Your brand name is one of the stickier aspects of branding a business or product. While your ads, products, and product packaging might change over time, your name probably won’t. Get it right the first time by testing several potential brand names before you settle on one option.

By testing several options, you make it easier to choose the right brand name for 4 reasons:

  1. You have the data you need to get everyone on board. It’s hard for others to counter your hard numbers. Testing proves which brand name is the most liked, empowering you to choose a name and convince coworkers to get behind that choice.
  2. You know how to make your options stronger. Maybe your audience liked one name the best, but found it a little difficult to pronounce. You can improve its ease of enunciation by changing its spelling.
  3. You can segment your audience by demographic to see how different groups react to each option. By filtering your survey responses, you can see how different groups (age, gender, location, etc.) feel about each of your potential brand names.
  4. With concept testing, your business can iterate quickly. By frequently collecting data through agile market research—a type of research that involves continuously gathering data —, your business can react more quickly to changes in the market.

Come up with a brand name by taking these 4 steps

Now that you know the importance of testing your brand names before settling on one, you’re ready to start working on your survey. Simply follow these 4 key steps:

Each step that goes into testing any brand name.

Select one or more stimulus to test

Though you can test any brand name you’d like, you should pick stimuli that you’re somewhat confident in based on the reactions from people, like coworkers, who’ve already heard the options. Choose brand names in a similar stage of development. If you’re testing a name you’ve put a lot of thought into against a throw away, it isn’t a fair or useful contest.

To make the testing process easier for everyone involved, limit the number of stimuli in your survey. The total number to include in your test depends on whether you want to adopt a monadic survey design or a sequential monadic survey design.

A monadic survey design splits up your audience and presents each with a survey that asks for input on a single stimulus. After you’ve gotten enough feedback on each stimulus, you can pick a winning name by pooling the feedback from all your respondents.

Using this survey design, you can ask more questions on each stimulus. In addition, there’s a higher likelihood it results in a relatively short questionnaire, which benefits the quality of your feedback and your survey’s completion rate. However, by only displaying a single stimulus to respondent, you’ll have to survey a larger audience. This can be costly and difficult to carry out.

A sequential monadic survey design asks for feedback on multiple stimuli. Once you’ve gathered responses from enough respondents, you can choose a winning name by looking at the most common responses to each stimuli.

Here’s how a sequential monadic test for a brand name might look.

This design allows you to survey a smaller audience, making it more cost-effective to carry-out. However, if you’re looking to limit the length of your survey, you won’t be able to ask as many questions about each stimulus.

Read more about the reasons to use—and avoid—each design, and how you can set them up.

Choose one or more metrics to test

What makes for a good brand name? The metrics you choose to measure will help you decide.

The questions you ask in your brand name testing survey can be as general or specific as you’d like, depending on your goals for the test. If you want to know whether a certain name will catch people’s attention, for example, you might ask about appeal and uniqueness in specific. Here are some key metrics you might want to include in any brand name testing survey:

  • Appeal: Is your brand name attractive to potential customers?
  • Believability: Is the message that your brand name conveys credible?
  • Purchase intent: Will your brand name motivate people to buy your product?
  • Pronounceability: How easy is it to pronounce your brand name?
  • Relevance: Does your brand name reflect your audience’s needs and wants?
  • Uniqueness: How different is your brand name from others?

The relative value of each metric you measure depends on your goals for the brand name. If you want to find a name that’ll increase sales, purchase intent will be the most vital metric. But if your top goal is to differentiate your brand in a highly competitive market, the uniqueness of your name might be most important.

We suggest using the Likert scale to test your metrics. This scale is straightforward, provides consistent choices, and makes it easy for you to analyze the results of your test. If you choose this scale, your questions can use the formula, “How (metric) is the name?” with your answer options going from “Extremely (metric)” to “Not at all (metric).”

For instance, if one of your metrics is pronounceability, here’s how you can measure it:

How easy is it to pronounce the brand name?

  1. Extremely easy
  2. Very easy
  3. Somewhat easy
  4. Not so easy
  5. Not at all easy

Sometimes, your respondents’ answers won’t make it clear which name they like best. You can fix this issue by used a forced-answer question that asks respondents to choose their favorite option at the end of the survey. This question can also help you rank the value of each metric to the overall likeability of your name. If respondents consistently choose the most unique name as their favorite, for example, you can assume uniqueness is important to your target market.

Also, you can preface your survey with screener, category, or demographic questions. These questions help you learn more about your respondents and allow you to group them. Learn about demographic questions in our robust page on concept testing.

Looking for assistance from market research pros? Want to refine your skills?

Here are some resources that can help!

Ultimate guide to running market research: This guide includes everything you need to run market research, from designing your survey to analyzing your responses. 

Brand name testing survey template: This expert-certified template can help you pinpoint the questions you want to as. You can also edit the questions however you want.

Surveymonkey Audience: Our global consumer panel lets you survey adults in over 100 countries. 

Market Research Services: From translating your survey to delivering your responses faster, our experts will ensure that your research on SurveyMonkey Audience runs smoothly.

Get responses from your target audience

The only way to determine the real likeability of any potential brand names is to have your target audience evaluate them. Find your target profile of individuals and give them an opportunity to provide feedback in one of 2 ways:

  • With a focus group, you can collect in-depth feedback on potential brand names through personal discussions. Focus groups are expensive, however, and you probably won’t be able to get input that’s statistically significant.
  • SurveyMonkey Audience lets you to specify your target audience and sample size, and start collecting feedback from a representative sample within minutes. This option is faster and more cost-effective than a focus group, but there’s a chance the feedback won’t not be as detailed or in-depth.

Examine your results

Once you’ve collected responses, you’re ready to pick a winning brand name. To make your analysis easier, try using Top 2 Box scores. This scoring method combines positive responses to each question into a single percentage, which makes it easy to compare stimuli across metrics.

If your survey included open-ended questions, make sure you examine the results of these questions as well. To spot the key takeaways from each brand name option, use a word cloud.

A word cloud that shows the top words that appear for a particular brand name.

We’ve only scratched the surface of concept testing with brand names. To better understand  each step, take a look at “The ultimate guide to concept testing.”

Brand name testing is part of the product life cycle

Perform brand name testing during the development, growth, saturation, and decline stages of the product life cycle—when you’re either launching new brands or rebranding existing ones.

A chart that displays the different steps of the product life cycle and the tests to run during each of them.

In the development and growth stages, you’ll probably be looking for broad feedback that’ll help you make overarching decisions about your business or products. This is your opportunity to ask respondents to choose between several very different brand names, for example. Because your brand is new in this stage, it’s the best time to field directional feedback on your brand name.

In the saturation and decline stages, you’ll probably be learching for more specific feedback on your brand name. This is the time to ask respondents focused questions about changes to the spelling, abbreviations, or theme of your name, for example. It’s also the time to think about sampling your loyal customer base to see if they’re on board with a rebranding.

You don't have to go it alone
Our Brand Name Analysis solution takes care of each step so you can save loads of time and pick a winning brand name.
Learn more

4 best practices for brand name testing

By adhering to the best practices for brand name testing, you can improve the quality of your feedback and the and analysis. Here are 4 things to keep in mind as you test your brand name:

  1. Ask the same questions about each stimulus. The only way to compare your options fairly is to measure the same metrics for each potential brand name.
  2. Make sure your sample pool is statistically significant. To ensure your results meet your criteria, you can always use our panel.
  3. Keep your survey to the point. We recommend asking no more than 30 questions in your brand name testing survey. More questions increase the chance that respondents put less thought into their responses or drop out of your survey.
  4. Put your results in perspective with control options. If you’re rebranding an existing business or product, include your current brand name in your survey. The results will help you decide whether or not a rebranding will be beneficial. You might also want to include the brand names of one or more competitors to show you how your potential names measure up to the competition.

Well done! Now that you have a good grasp on how to come up with a brand name via testing, you’re ready to get started on your survey.

See how SurveyMonkey can power your curiosity