產品

SurveyMonkey 能滿足各種使用案例和需求。歡迎探索我們的產品,瞭解 SurveyMonkey 能為您提供什麼協助。

使用領先全球的線上調查問卷服務,獲得以資料為導向的深入解析。

可與超過 100 款應用程式和外掛程式整合,讓您事半功倍。

建立並自訂線上表單,以收集資訊並接受付款。

利用內建的 AI 打造更優質的調查問卷並快速獲得獨到見解。

量身打造的解決方案,滿足您所有的市場研究需求。

範本

測量客戶對貴公司的滿意度和忠誠度。

瞭解如何讓客戶滿意,使他們成為您忠實的擁護者。

取得可化為實際行動的深入解析,改善使用者的體驗。

向潛在客戶、受邀人等對象收集聯絡資訊。

輕鬆收集並追蹤下一場活動的邀請回函。

瞭解出席者的期待,使下一場活動更成功。

發掘能提升員工參與度並改善績效的深入解析。

收集出席者的想法和意見,把下一場會議辦得更好。

運用同儕的想法和意見來協助員工提升績效。

打造更好的課程並改善教學方法。

瞭解學生對課程資料和教學狀況的評價。

瞭解客戶對您的新產品構想有何看法。

資源

使用調查問卷和調查資料的最佳實務

有關問卷調查、商務技巧及更多其他內容,都在我們的部落格。

SurveyMonkey 的使用教學與指南。

頂尖品牌如何透過 SurveyMonkey 推動成長。

聯絡銷售人員登入
聯絡銷售人員登入

職場中的千禧世代 vs. X 世代:差異與共通點

千禧世代和 X 世代到底有什麼不同?

首先,出生在 1965 到 1980 年的 X 世代,經歷了行動電話、網路和社群媒體等從無到有的過程,而對大部分出生於 1981 到 1997 年的千禧世代而言,上述這些東西都是成長過程中日常生活裡的一部份。

這種成長環境迥異的經驗,造成了不同世代員工彼此之間巨大的差異,但即使如此,他們還是擁有某些共同點,值得我們詳細了解。

在這篇文章中,我們會檢視千禧世代與 X 世代員工的關鍵差異和共通點,並根據這些發現探討公司怎麼對待他們比較好。

此時此刻,他們在職場中佔據的份量,大於其他任何的世代。根據皮尤研究中心 (Pew Research Center) 的研究發現,美國千禧世代群體在職場中的人數,自 1995 年以來穩定增加,而從 2015 年第 1 季開始,他們便躍居美國職場上最大宗的勞動力人口。

也因此,了解千禧世代的員工以及他們的動機,對企業來說就成了很重要的事。為了協助您應付這個問題,我們最近和 Ladders 合作執行了一項研究,著重於千禧世代與 X 世代員工之間的比較。以下是依據我們研究得出的一些關鍵要點,以及市場上的其他參考資料:

78% 的千禧世代會用 LinkedIn 找工作,這比第二熱門的選項——透過朋友和家庭的人際網路找工作——高出了 20%。科技對這個世代而言非常自然而然,他們採用行動裝置的比例也大幅領先:根據尼爾森市調研究公司的調查,千禧世代當中超過 97% 的人都擁有智慧型手機,所以就算使用這些網站必須經常研究和更新資料,對他們來說也並不是問題。

而 LinkedIn 和社群媒體 (在千禧世代的熱門求職方式中位居第三,佔了 44%) 之所以會成為如此受歡迎的人際網路平台,另一個原因在於它們提供了社會和集體的連結。千禧世代喜歡感受到自己是某種更大群體的一部份,而他們也非常依賴網路,所以這些提供社群連結的平台也就趁勢崛起。

這件事實對您的組織機構有什麼用?您可以試著增進 LinkedIn 頁面和社群頻道的吸引力,隨時更新內容,清楚說明貴機構正在招聘哪些人員。

換公司、習慣新的上司、承擔新的責任,這些事情是否會令您惶惶不安?

千禧世代可不會這樣。一項由美國教育顧問委員會 (Education Advisory Board) 執導的研究發現,千禧世代在職業生涯中換工作的次數可能高達 20 次!這個數字顯著高於任何其他世代,而且是嬰兒潮世代的兩倍

如果您想要避免流失員工,您可以在公司內部宣導轉調其他職位的可能性,這對留住千禧世代的員工可能會有幫助

如果您想知道有多少員工想換工作或換職位,可以每一季寄送一次參與度調查問卷給他們。這份調查問卷應該匿名,讓他們可以坦率地回答,也應該詢問他們在目前職位上是否感到快樂、是否有興趣追求其他職位等問題。後面這題不妨設為開放式問題,不要限制作答選項。

收到回覆之後,請務必讓各個團隊、部門和甚至整個組織個別檢討這些回覆。依照需求適度傳達貴公司的內部轉調政策,讓適當的部門知道哪些職位目前有空缺。

根據調查,有 66% 的員工會優先尋求內部轉調,因此將公司內部轉調政策列為重點之一並加以推廣,對全體員工都有益處。

他們為什麼想在貴公司工作?公司如果展現出對整體員工福祉的關心,對於吸引千禧世代會有很大的加分效果。美國的獨立智庫機構皮尤研究中心的研究就發現,千禧世代覺得扮演好父母的角色、擁有成功的婚姻、幫助他人這類成就比工作更重要。

為了配合這些觀念,營造千禧世代嚮往的工作環境,組織機構必須透過彈性工時和支薪假等福利,表達和展現公司對員工工作與生活平衡的關懷。

幸好,千禧世代和 X 世代在求職方法和留職原因這兩方面似乎沒有重大的差別,這可讓公司吸引和招募新人的流程單純許多。與更年長的世代相比,X 世代在找工作和換工作時也比較依賴網際網路,但他們與千禧世代還是有幾點值得一提的關鍵差異:

X 世代員工在著手解決問題之前,會比千禧世代更迫切地想先知道別人對他們的期望,這個程度大約高出 25%。

為了滿足這項要求並確保團隊上下的期望一致,在展開專案之前不妨先安排一場會議和/或發出相關文件。

貴公司是否對客戶有實質幫助?

希望您有自信說:「當然!」如果真的是如此,請務必讓您的 X 世代員工知道。X 世代員工當中,只有 40% 對於公司能有效處理客戶體驗的問題這件事有信心 (這個數字比千禧世代少了 50%),因此他們對工作的熱情會有一直遞減的風險,直到換工作為止。

請在您的員工調查問卷中加入一、兩道相關問題,除了可以避免員工對公司的客戶體驗有負面的觀感以外,還能即時辨識出公司的 X 世代是否有此疑慮。例如,您可以問:

1a) 如果以 0 到 10 分的方式評分,您覺得本公司的解決方案/服務對客戶的影響力有多大 (0 分代表影響力極小,10 分代表影響力極大)?

1b) 請用一、兩句話解釋您為何會選擇這個分數。

雖然我們也希望前述有關千禧世代與 X 世代員工的分析和差異是放諸四海而皆準的公理,但我們知道事實並非如此。每個人終究都不一樣,如果硬是要將整群員工一概而論,對任何組織機構都會造成傷害。

請務必就個人層面去了解每個員工的特質。建議您常常到辦公室走走,花多一點時間和員工親身相處,並利用員工調查問卷詢問他們的想法,以及他們對工作有什麼期待。長遠來看,您投資在了解員工上的時間,最終必定會改善組織機構的員工參與度和留任率。

想要深度了解貴公司的員工參與度嗎?趕快調查您的團隊吧!立即開始 →

人力資源主管

人力資源主管可使用此工具組創造出色的員工體驗。

利用線上職場表單取得您需要的員工資訊

利用自訂的職場表單來招募頂尖人才、加快入職流程並管理公司勞動力。立即開始使用我們的職場表單建立器和範本建立表單吧!

利用線上評量表單收集可付諸行動的意見回饋

SurveyMonkey 的線上評量表單能讓意見回饋發揮強大力量。立即使用我們的表單建立器!

提供最理想的工作環境福利

SurveyMonkey 能提供必要工具,讓您瞭解員工對目前福利有何想法,以便設計出更理想的方案。

Millennials vs. Gen-X in the workplace: differences and similarities

What’s so different between millennials and Gen-Xs?

For starters, Gen-Xs—born between 1965-1980—came in on the cusp of cell phones, the Internet, and social media, while most millennials—born between 1981-1997— grew up when these things were a regular part of daily life.

The experiences of growing up in dissimilar environments have produced generations of employees who vary greatly from the other. And yet, they share certain similarities that are worth understanding in more detail.

Throughout this article we’ll review key findings on millennials vs. Gen-X employees and explore how their relative similarities and differences impact the ways that your organization should treat them.

Millennials  

Their presence in the workplace is now greater than any other generation. According to the Pew Research Center, the population of American Millennials in the workplace has steadily increased since 1995 and since Q1 of 2015, they’ve been the most populous generation in American companies.

Given their consistently increasing presence in the office, understanding who these employees are and what they want from your organization is crucial. To help you tackle this question, we ran a recent study with The Ladders, focusing on Millennials vs. Gen-X employees. Here are some key insights based on our research, in addition to other data points in the market:

1. The job hunting happens online

78% of Millennials use Linkedin for job hunting, which is 20% higher than the second most popular option, networking through friends and family. As this generation is comfortable in using the latest technology and leads the pack in mobile adoption—over 97% own a smartphone according to Nielsen—using a site that often demands research and constant updates isn’t an issue.

Another reason why Linkedin and social media—ranked third in job hunting for millennials, at 44%—  are such popular platforms for networking is because of the social and communal ties they offer. Millennials want to feel as though they are part of something bigger than themselves and given their constant reliance on the web, these platforms provide them with that opportunity.

So what does this mean for your organization? Put a focus on making your Linkedin page and social channels engaging and up to date, with clear descriptions of the roles that your organization is currently hiring for.

2. They are unafraid of changing jobs

Daunted by the prospect of working for a new manager, having new responsibilities, and switching employers?

Millennials aren’t. A study done by the Education Advisory board, found that millennials change jobs up to 20 times in their career! This figure is significantly more than any other generation and twice as much as baby boomers.

Looking to stem turnover? Try helping your millennial employees by promoting the possibility of transferring into other roles internally.

To identify how many of your employees are looking to change jobs and what they are looking to transfer into, send them an engagement survey on a quarterly cadence. The survey should be anonymous to let them answer with candor and should include a few questions around their happiness in their current role and other opportunities they’d be interested in pursuing. The latter question can be free response as we don’t want to limit the respondent’s options.

Once the responses come back, make sure to review them at the team, department and organizational level. Depending on the level of demand, it may be worth communicating your internal transfer policies and letting the appropriate segments know which positions are currently open.

With 66% of employees looking to transfer internally first, prioritizing and promoting your internal transfer policies will ultimately benefit your entire base of employees.

3. Quality of life and self-fulfillment is crucial

Why would they want to work at your company? Demonstrating that you care for the overall well being of your employees goes a long way in attracting Millennials. Research by the Pew Center found that Millennials prioritize being a good parent, having a successful marriage, and helping others over work related agendas.

To accommodate these preferences and become a desirable place to work, organizations need to effectively communicate and demonstrate their commitment to work-life balance through flexible work hours and generous paid time off.

Gen-X

For the sake of making things less complicated when attracting and retaining workers, we’re fortunate that there aren’t significant differences when looking at millennials vs. Gen-X employees. For example, Gen-Xs also rely on the Internet when job hunting and change jobs more often than older generations. However, there are a few key differences worth mentioning for millennials vs. Gen-X employees:

1. Clearly Defined Goals and Expectations

Gen-X employees are approximately 25% more eager than millennials to know in advance, what’s expected of them before they go on to tackle their problems.

To meet their demands and align on expectations, it may be worth scheduling a meeting and/or sharing a document before they begin time consuming projects.

2. Concern for the customer experience

Is your company really helping its customers?

Hopefully the answer to this question is a resounding yes, and if it is, make sure that your Gen-X employees know. With only 40% of Gen-X employees confident that their company is effectively addressing their customer experience, –50% less than millennials– their motivation in their role is at risk of dwindling until they find a new job.

Prevent and identify Gen-X’s who take this viewpoint by adding a question or two in your employee survey/s. The questions can look as follows:

1a) On a scale of 0-10 (with 0 being lowest impact and 10 being highest), how would you rate the impact that our solution/service provides to our customers?

1b) In a sentence or two, please explain why you chose that rating.

Keep the employee relationship personalized

As much as we’d like to assume that everything we’ve said about millennials vs. Gen-X employees is accurate, we can’t. Individuals ultimately vary from each other and forcing generalizations among groups of employees can lead to negative consequences for any organization.

Make sure that you truly understand who your employees are at the individual level. This may require more face time, walks around the office, and employee surveys that ask questions about who they are and what they are hoping to accomplish at work. Ultimately, the time invested in understanding your employees will allow your organization to improve engagement and retention over the long run.

Looking to understand employee engagement in depth? Survey your team today and find out. Get started →