如何進行縱向研究: 持續追蹤工作績效

趨勢調查問卷就像快照: 一份調查問卷只能就特定時間、地點以及消費群體得出一個結論。 這往往就是您所需要知道的資訊。

有時,您還想瞭解受訪消費者的變化情況。 因此,單靠一份調查問卷(或快照)是遠遠不夠的。因此,我們需要重複問卷調查,以追蹤及瞭解持續的發展趨勢。

如果您希望瞭解消費者的動態變化,您可以採取兩種方法: 第一種,設定基準,即在特定時段內就不同的受訪群體提出相同問題,以此觀察其評價的變化。 第二種,也是本文的主要論點,即縱向調查問卷。

縱向研究或問卷調查實際上是對同一組人群進行長期的追蹤,時間可長達數週、數月甚至數年。

縱向調查問卷有別於橫向調查問卷。簡單地說,橫向調查問卷受訪者只需完成一次問卷,但您也可能會進行多次問卷調查以收集部分基準資料。 (這就是快照式調查問卷。)

但為何要進行縱向研究? 您可能希望監測受訪者整個階段的動態變化,藉此從某個受訪群體得出(連貫)的結論。

重複問卷調查如何幫助明智決策

雖然說您無法在市場上進行為期數十年的研究,但您可以透過重複的調查問卷並持續追蹤受訪者的態度及行為變化而從中受益。 (此外,對同一類人群進行的多次問卷調查稱為「固定樣本追蹤調查」。)

例如,您是一名希望瞭解讀者對新版電郵通訊設計反應的網上行銷人員。

與其在變更設計後向讀者傳送電郵,不如向他們傳送一份電郵調查讀者對當前版本設計的可取(或不可取)之處(即 制定一份概念測試)。 此外,您還可運用讀者的意見反應來公佈最新的設計!

向讀者傳送新版設計電子通訊,並隨附一份追蹤調查問卷。 對同類人群進行問卷調查期間,您可就新舊版設計對比讀者的態度及意見,以及 重要統計意義的細微變化。 如果您決定對不同組別的人群進行兩次橫向問卷調查,只有加大變化的幅度,才能反映顯著的差異。

若能根據讀者的意見反應不斷修改,那麼您的設計就能日臻完善,並確保新版設計的滿意度評分不低於原版設計的評分。

縱向固定樣本調查的備選方案

同類固定樣本重複調查問卷適用於追蹤受訪者的態度及行為變化,但有時您無法對完全相同的人群進行反復調查。

這種情況下,即使您向同樣的讀者傳送電子通訊,也不可能獲取完全相同的意見。 讀者可能會取消訂閱電子通訊,與此同時,新的讀者也可能接踵而至。

因此,您需要進行輪流固定樣本調查。 您需逐步輪換固定樣本調查原有的受訪者樣本,並補充新的讀者群體。 (此時,您便可輕易地 追蹤電郵清單中填寫調查問卷的具體人員。)

這樣,您的調查問卷將如實反映整個讀者群體(不論新舊)的意見評價。同時還能瞭解同一組讀者群體的意見變化。

制定縱向調查問卷的三大技巧

制定縱向調查問卷時,切記三大原則:

1. 盡量保持調查問題一致。 研究表明,改變發問方式可能導致同類受訪者的答案出現顯著變化。 為了掌握準確的調查趨勢,您應盡量在重複的調查問卷中提出相同的問題。

2. 在制定固定樣本調查問卷時,切記一點,接受過問卷調查的讀者不一定願意接受下一次調查。 如果您希望對同一組人群進行三次固定樣本調查,且第三次調查的樣本不得低於一千名。那麼首次調查時的受訪者人數必須大於一千名,並將不願意接受第二、第三次訪問的受訪者計算在內。

3. 您需要決定所需調查的頻率。 由於不可能有足夠的時間調查每一次變化,因此,調查次數過於頻密可能會浪費資源和時間。 然而,如果調查頻率不足,受訪人群將因為不願意接受頻繁的問卷調查而紛紛退出固定樣本調查。換而言之,越到調查後期,留下來的受訪者會越少。

仔細想想,縱向研究的用途可謂多不勝數。 您既可以觀察 新版產品廣告對購買者的實際影響 ,亦可以 追蹤產品購買者動向 ,並觀察其產品體驗是否良好。

雖然一個資料集就能明確反映顯示單次事件的情況,但一段時間內對個案情況進行重複的問卷調查能幫助您作出全面的決策及改善。

mingnanl撰文:Mingnan Liu(SurveyMonkey 調查問卷學家)。

How to Perform a Longitudinal Study: Tracking Your Performance Over Time

trendsA survey is like a snapshot: From one survey, you can only draw conclusions about a single time, place, and group of people. And often, that’s all you need to know.

But sometimes, you also want to understand how the people you surveyed are changing. In that case, one single survey, or snapshot, is not enough—so we need to repeat surveys in order to track and understand trends over time.

If you want to see how people are changing, there are two ways you can do so. First is benchmarking, which means that you are asking different groups of people the same question over time to see how views change. The second way, and the focus of this post, is a longitudinal survey.

When you run a longitudinal study or survey, you’re essentially following the same group of respondents over a long period of time, for weeks, months, or even years.

This differs from a cross-sectional survey, which is a fancy way of saying that each of your survey respondents only completes the survey once, but you might conduct the survey multiple times to collect some benchmarking data. (That’s your snapshot survey.)

But why would you want to run a longitudinal study? Well, just like this study that began in 1968 and still runs today, you might want to monitor changes over the course of your respondents’ lifetimes to be able to draw conclusions from a (very consistent!) group of respondents.

How repeating surveys will help you make smarter choices

While you may not be in the market for running a decades-long study anytime soon, you can benefit from repeating surveys and tracking changes in your respondents’ attitudes and behaviors over time. (By the way—when you survey the same people time and time again, you’re running what’s also called a panel survey.)

For example, say you’re an online marketer who wants to know how your readers will react to a new email newsletter design.

Instead of just sending your readers a survey after you’ve changed your design, send them a survey asking them what they like (and don’t like) about the current design (i.e., create a concept test). You can even use their feedback to inform your newest design!

Then, send them a follow-up survey after you’ve sent them the newly designed newsletter. Because you’re surveying the same people, you can compare their attitudes and opinions of the first design against how they react to the second design and smaller changes will be statistically significant. If you decided to do two cross-sectional surveys with different groups of people, you would need to see a larger change in order to see a significant difference.

If you make more changes to the design based on your readers’ feedback, you can continue to refine your design over time and make sure that satisfaction ratings don’t dip below the initial satisfaction ratings with the first design.

Reach Your Target Audience

We’ve got millions of qualified people ready to take your survey.
Learn more

An alternative to the longitudinal panel survey

Repeating surveys with the same panel works well when you’re tracking changes in your respondents’ attitudes and behaviors, but sometimes, you’re unable to survey the exact same people time and time again.

In this case, even if you are sending your newsletter out to the same people, you may not be able to capture the same opinions. People may unsubscribe from your newsletter, and newer readers may come along.

That’s when you conduct something called a rotating panel survey. All you need to do is gradually rotate a portion of your initial sample out of the panel survey and supplement them with new readers. (In this case, you could easily track who from your email list is filling out your surveys.)

This way, your survey will provide a good estimate of the opinions of your entire readership, old or new, while at the same time capturing the changing opinions of the same group of people.

3 tips for creating surveys for a longitudinal study

Here are three things you need to keep in mind when creating your longitudinal study:

1. It’s better to keep the questions identical for all the surveys. Research has shown that changing the way a question is asked can result in substantially different answers, even from the same people. So to examine trends with the most accuracy, you should try your best to ask the same questions in every survey you repeat.

2. When planning a panel survey, remember that not everyone who responded to the first survey will respond to the second survey. So if you want to do a panel survey where you survey the same group of people 3 times and want at least 1000 respondents for your third survey, you’ll need to survey more than 1000 respondents in your first survey to account for people who probably won’t respond to your second or third survey.

3. You need to decide how frequently you want to run your survey. If you conduct surveys too frequently, you could waste your resources and time, since not enough time may have passed for any change to occur. However, if you conduct surveys too infrequently, more people may drop out of your panel survey because they are sick of taking too many surveys, which means that you’ll have fewer respondents in your later surveys.

When you think about it, the applications for a longitudinal study are endless. You can see whether your new ad actually influenced people purchasing your product or follow up with product purchasers to see if they’ve enjoyed using your product.

Even though one dataset can shed light on a single occurrence, the context that comes from repeating surveys over time will help you make informed decisions and improvements.

mingnanlAuthored by Mingnan Liu, Survey Scientist, SurveyMonkey.