5 項結合線上測驗的教學技巧

儘管人們通常不喜歡接受測驗,研究顯示不論在傳統或線上學習環境中,頻繁的測驗確實能幫助學生記憶資訊。幸運的是,您不必為了運用測驗的力量而破壞您與學生之間的和睦關係。以下 5 項創新的教學技巧,能幫助您利用線上測驗,將令人焦慮的課堂評量變為有趣的學習體驗:

1. 在教學中頻繁地進行測驗

每週一次——或甚至每天一次——的測驗可幫助學生把學到的知識付諸應用。這種實際的重複練習可讓學生掌握重要知識,以面對更重要的考試,例如標準化測驗和期末考。頻繁的測驗也有助學生較輕鬆地面對大考帶來的壓力。

您不妨在課後用線上測驗的方式,了解學生對課堂內容的瞭解程度。您可以根據需求設計輕鬆、簡短的測驗,鼓勵學生在課堂中專注,並即時評估他們的學習狀況。

2. 透過有趣的課堂活動鼓勵互助合作

測驗一旦成為課堂活動,而非為學生打分數或排名的工具,他們就會更加願意互相合作。此外,在教學中納入測驗,也能鼓勵學生更認真學習,以成為團隊中的助力。

當然,每項協作測驗都必須在團隊與個人評量中取得平衡。要達到此目的,可考慮隨機挑選兩名學生,在測驗開始前在白板上建立一份「小抄」,他們必須互助合作,在三分鐘內寫好小抄,而且不能參考課本或筆記。然後學生們再各自利用這份小抄作為輔助,獨立完成測驗。

3. 在每道問題之後都提供有用的回饋意見

研究顯示,提供詳細的正解是教學中重要的一環,因為這樣能讓學生對正確資訊的印象更深刻。此外,教師即時的糾正能讓學生在往後更容易回想起正確答案,而線上測驗是提供 (和獲得) 即時回饋最方便的管道。

為線上測驗的每道題目加上您自訂的回饋意見,能幫助學生在下次遇到同樣問題時能給出正確答案。要獲得最佳效果,您的回饋意見中除了正確答案以外,最好也附上能鞏固印象的實用情境。您還可以在測驗過後查看分析資料,以瞭解貴班級的整體表現,然後在下次複習時,著重在同學表現較弱的部分。

4. 利用不同題型讓測驗充滿趣味

若您經常進行課堂測驗,善用不同題型是保持學生興趣的關鍵。不同題型也能協助學生練習將知識有效地應用於各類情況。在測驗中使用不同的題型來維持學生的參與度:

  • 選擇題和核取方塊問題可用來讓學生回想簡單的解決方案。這種題型適合用來進行輕鬆的測驗,因為它們比較容易作答。
  • 排序問題可用來測試學生是否了解重要事件或資訊的順序。這種題型適合用來測驗科學方法的步驟或戰爭事件的時間表等等。
  • 填充題可讓學生回想出簡短的答案。這種題型適合用來測驗學生是否掌握特定的重要事實。
  • 單一文字方塊問題可協助學生快速給出簡短的答案。這種題型適合運用在時間緊湊的測驗,因為不需多少時間就能完成作答。
  • 開放式問答題則會要求學生解釋複雜的概念。儘管這種題型較難評量,但卻能讓學生自由寫下他們實際掌握的知識和想表達的意見。

當然,有些題型會比其他題型困難,若您希望測驗結果能正確反映每個學生的學習成效,可以依據各個問題的難度設定加權。舉例來說,複雜的開放式問答題應該比簡單的選擇題得到更多的配分。

如果您有興趣瞭解家長對孩子在家中的學習付出多少幫助,請參閱我們的學習支援範本

5. 利用線上測驗終結作弊

您或許會對該不該使用線上測驗感到猶豫,因為學生可能會透過通訊軟體與他人分享答案。然而,線上測驗其實可以有效防止作弊行為。您可以透過 A/B 比較檢測讓問題隨機出現,或甚至建立兩份不同的測驗卷,來防止學生透過作弊獲得對其他人不公平的優勢。

評量學習成效的方式不斷在變化,您可以透過線上測驗,幫助學生更有自信地面對標準化測驗,並在各種問題和狀況中應用新知,讓他們隨時做好應付任何評量的準備。這幾項運用線上測驗的教學技巧,能讓您的學生了解到受教育的真諦不在於出席,而在於學習尋找解決方案。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

5 teaching techniques for using online quizzes

While tests have a bad rap these days, research shows that frequent quizzing definitely helps students retain information in both traditional and online learning environments. Luckily, you don’t have to give up a good rapport with your students to harness the power of the quiz. Here are 5 innovative teaching techniques that use online quizzes to turn stressful evaluations into fun learning experiences for your class:

1. Use quizzes frequently as part of your teaching techniques

Weekly–or even daily–quizzing helps students put what they’ve learned into practice. This practical repetition drives home important facts so that students are prepared to take on higher-stakes exams like standardized tests and final exams. Frequent quizzing also takes the edge off these stressful evaluations. 

Consider having your students complete online quizzes that test the students’ understanding of the subjects you’re covering in class. These quizzes, which can be as short and informal as you’d like, encourage students to pay attention in class while helping you gauge the level of learning in real time.

2. Encourage collaboration with fun classroom activities

When quizzes are a classroom activity–rather than, say, a way to measure or rank your students–they open up opportunities for student collaboration. In addition, using collaborative quizzes as a component of your teaching techniques encourage students to study harder so that they can help others succeed.

Of course, every collaborative quiz must balance group work with individual evaluation. To balance the 2, consider randomly selecting 2 students to create a “cheat sheet” on the board before each quiz. These students must work together, without consulting their books or notes, to build a cheat sheet in 3 minutes or less. The students would then proceed to take the quiz on their own, using the cheat sheet as an aide.

3. Give helpful feedback on every question in the quiz

Research shows that detailed corrective feedback is a critical part of instructors’ teaching techniques as it improves information retention. Also, when a teacher provides corrective feedback right away, the student is more likely to remember that feedback later on. Luckily, online tests make it easy to give (or get) immediate feedback.

Help your students get the right answer the next time they encounter the question by adding custom feedback to your online quizzes. For best results, include both the correct answer and useful context that cements that answer. You may also want to check out the quiz analytics for a holistic view of your class’s performance. Then, go over the weak spots with a review class.

4. Make every quiz interesting using different types of questions

If you’re quizzing your class frequently, using a variety of questions is the key to holding students’ interest over time. These questions also help students learn to apply their knowledge effectively in various situations. Keep your students engaged by using these different types of questions in your quizzes:

  • Ask your students to recall simple solutions with multiple choice and checkbox questions. These types of questions are great for low-stakes quizzes, since they’re easy and don’t take long to complete.
  • Test your students’ ability to order important events and other information with ranking questions. This type of question is great for unit overviews on subjects like the steps of the scientific method or the timetable of the American Revolution.
  • Ask your students to retrieve short answers with fill-in-the-blank questions. These questions are great for driving home specific facts.
  • Help your students give short answers quickly with single textbox questions. These questions are great for time-crunched quizzes, since they don’t take long to complete.
  • Ask your students to explain complex concepts with open response questions. Although they’re more difficult to evaluate, these questions give your students the freedom to tell you exactly what they know.

Some types of questions will, inevitably, be more difficult than others. If you want your quiz results to reflect each student’s learning accurately, make sure that you weight each question based on its difficulty. For example, complex open response questions should always be worth more than simple multiple choice questions.

Interested in understanding how the parents are supporting their child’s learning at home? Check out our ‘learning support template.’

5. Put a stop to cheating with online quizzes

You may be hesitant to assign online quizzes to your students because messaging apps make it easy for students to share answers with one another. However, online quizzes can actually prevent–rather than promote–cheating. Keep cheating students from gaining an unfair advantage over others by using A/B testing to randomize questions or, even, to build 2 separate quizzes for your class.

The way we evaluate learning changes constantly. Prepare your students for any evaluation with online quizzes that teach students how to approach standardized tests with confidence and, also, apply their new knowledge to a wide range of questions, problems, and situations. These teaching techniques for online quizzes can help your students realize that education isn’t about showing up, it’s about finding solutions.