市場研究的抽樣類型

市場研究對於任何想要瞭解其產品及服務銷售對象的企業來說都無比重要。不論是何種類型的企業,都能透過初步研究獲得一些有用的洞見、看出新商機,並找到方法以更有效、更均衡地分配資源。

抽樣調查是市場研究最有效的方法之一能讓市調人員從一小群人的資料 (例如簡單隨機抽樣的樣本) 推論整個目標族群的狀況。

為了讓市調研究有效率和影響力,您必須確保您從母體抽出的樣本確實能充分代表母體,而且也必須仔細斟酌每道問題的措辭是否適當。如果不做抽樣,您就只能猜測目標受眾的想法,這樣不僅效率低、可能使您錯失良機,還可能對您的品牌造成重大傷害。

幸好,只要您採用正確的抽樣類型,並有策略地使用各種抽樣技巧,就能有效瞭解您的目標受眾。在本文中,我們將回答市場研究人員和企業主對抽樣最常見的疑問。您如果願意花點時間瞭解抽樣,並認識各種常用的抽樣類型,便能知道您的組織是否應該進行抽樣調查。 

所謂抽樣,就是從一個小群組 (子群) 取得資料的過程。收集這些資料的目的是為了能應用到較大的群眾,像是一家公司的整個目標市場。

假設某家餐廳鎖定的消費者為 25-35 歲、住在市區的人士,而這家餐廳正需要決定 Logo 顏色。由於要詢問這個年齡層所有人的意見相當不切實際,公司可能會決定選出 100 個人來調查他們的意見。在這個由 100 人組成的樣本當中,若有超過一半的人表示覺得藍色最吸引人,該公司便能推定這應該是 25-35 歲大部分人的意見,然後運用這項資訊來做決策。

當然,藉由抽樣所獲得的結論品質,取決於抽樣結構本身是否優良。在上述的例子中,如果餐廳隨機問幾個路人喜歡什麼顏色,而非針對目標客群裡的人,最後獲得的結論可能就不怎麼可靠。但是在某些情況中,建立完全隨機的簡單抽樣 (SRS) 對研究反而比較有利。因此,在進行抽樣調查之前,最重要的任務是先認清您想要獲得什麼結論,以及想要調查的對象是誰。無論您要調查的主題是什麼,只要充分掌握這兩點,您就能夠使用小樣本來獲得大結論了。 

研究人員選擇用抽樣來做研究,是因為這麼做能快速瞭解整個群體,卻不需要實際調查群體中的每一位成員。舉例來說,在選舉期間,要對每一位可能會投票民眾做投票意向民調是不可能的,研究人員只會詢問特定一群投票人的偏好和意向,然後用收到的回覆來做出結論。這種民調雖然不是沒有缺點和挑戰,但卻能為許多人提供珍貴資訊,以做出適當行動。

抽樣調查可用來回答許多不同的問題,像是瞭解人們的日常生活、世界觀、使用產品或服務的方式等等,這些資訊都有助於企業開發更好的策略和方法來觸及其目標受眾。抽樣的方法有很多種,每一種方法各自能有效滿足不同的情境和市調需求。

in-article-cta
尋找完美的研究樣本
使用 SurveyMonkey 的 Audience 受訪群,從您的目標受眾獲得重要洞見。
瞭解更多

眾多的抽樣方法一般可以分成兩類,第一類是隨機抽樣,第二類則是代表性抽樣

隨機抽樣,顧名思義,就是用隨機選出的個體組成樣本,來代表整個母體。企業等組織可透過簡單隨機抽樣對一般大眾做出概括性的結論。如果某家公司想要賣的是一般人都會用到的產品,如牙膏,那麼簡單隨機抽樣就能幫助他們概括性的結論:民眾一般來說喜歡什麼口味的牙膏?他們通常在什麼時候刷牙?大部分的人使用哪種牙刷?這類問題要獲得有效的答案,需要廣泛徵求不同人的意見,而不能侷限於一小群人。

相對來說,當研究人員使用代表性樣本,是因為他們並不想要全體民眾的隨機樣本,他們想要的是能代表特定群體的隨機樣本。例如,如果某家公司想要賣的是只有某些人會用到的產品,如滑雪用具,那麼他們就必須從確實會使用這種產品的群體中抽取樣本。

代表性樣本有無數種可能。以上面的例子來說,您可以把「有在滑雪的人」當作一個獨特群體,從廣大的民眾中將沒在滑雪的人排除。在其他情況下,您可能會考慮將整體大眾以年齡、地點、收入、興趣、職業或其他特徵細分。只要找得到足夠的受訪人數,以確保獲得的結論具有統計顯著性,其實您在決定代表性群體時可以很彈性。

立即獲得代表性樣本。使用 SurveyMonkey Audience 來確保人口統計上的平衡,或選取更彈性的鎖定標準。

用來選擇性別比例的滑桿

抽樣類型也可以被分為機率或非機率抽樣。基本上,機率抽樣的意思是目標群體當中 (無論是隨機群體或代表性群體) 每一名成員被選為調查樣本的機會都均等。

而所謂的非機率抽樣,意思則是目標群體當中,有些人被選中的機率比其他人高。例如,如果您想要獲得的是關於美國成年人的資訊,但您做調查的地點卻是密蘇里州的一間商場,這就是非概率抽樣的一種。在這種情況下,您隨機抽樣的對象並不是美國成年人,而是只有「密蘇里州某家商場的顧客」而已。這類調查方式被稱為便利抽樣 (更多資訊請見下文),雖然調查這些商場顧客的結果,有可能碰巧與整體美國成年人的意見相似,但我們不能不意識到這種抽樣方法全面排除了一大部份的目標受眾。 

如同剛剛所講的,機率抽樣的宗旨是群體中的每個成員被選為調查對象的機會都均等。機率抽樣也可以在篩選過的群體 (如美國成年人) 內部進行,只要這個子群體當中的每一名成員被選中的機會都均等即可。

常見的機率抽樣有四種類型。 

簡單隨機抽樣既簡單又隨機,也就是說,在一個群體或子群當中,每一名成員都有相同的機會被選為受訪者。建立簡單隨機抽樣的方法很多,例如,發給每個人一張號碼牌,然後用亂數產生器或摸彩箱隨機抽出幾個號碼就可以了。簡單隨機抽樣的好處是會產生一組「純」隨機數據組,讓研究人員能迅速得出結論。可惜在很多情況下,簡單隨機抽樣算是比較沒效率的方式。 

系統抽樣是先從母體中隨機選擇一個個體作為起始點,然後按照一定的間隔取出足夠的個體作為樣本。舉例來說,假設某名研究人員取得了一座城市所有居民的名單,總共有 30 萬人,他可以以 100 人作為間隔 (每次選出一個人就跳過接下來 99 個人)。以這個例子來說,他將能選出 3000 名受訪者。 

只要這個名單沒有會扭曲挑選結果的隱形趨勢 (排序方式與間隔數之間沒有任何關聯性),用這種系統抽樣方法建立的樣本,彼此之間理應沒有共同點。系統抽樣保留了隨機抽樣大部分的優點,因為只要運用得當,基本上與隨機挑選沒有什麼差別,而且手法直截了當,往往比其他抽樣方式還省力。 

分層抽樣是從幾個子群裡面隨機選出個體來形成最終樣本。假設研究人員想了解美國成年人的意見,除了任意選出 500 名成年人以外,也可以在 50 個州當中各取 10 名成人,以此做為「隨機」樣本。如果每個子群的標準差 (誤差率) 都低於整體,那麼就能全面降低誤差範圍。 

群集抽樣是將母體分為多個子群,然後再從多個 (不一定是每個) 子群當中抽出個體來形成樣本。在理想的情況下,每個子群 (或群集) 都是整個母體的代表性樣本,能反映出母體的多樣性,且子群彼此之間在結構上相似。在所有類型的概率抽樣當中,群集抽樣算是成本較低的形式,也相對適合用來對較大的人群做抽樣。要成功使用這類抽樣方式,最重要的條件是每個群集的結構要一致,且在各個群集中進行挑選時必須維持隨機。 

機率抽樣是使用隨機 (雖然有時會稍加調整) 的一群人來獲取結論,但非機率抽樣則是使用結構被故意調整的一群人。非機率抽樣可以有助於降低隨機偏差,而且在很多情況下,可以確保母體中最關鍵的部分人士被包含在樣本裡面。 

配額抽樣讓研究人員可以操控抽樣的比例,以確保樣本能充分代表母體的某些特性。當母體包含許多不同類型的個體時,此抽樣方法特別有用。 

舉例來說,假設某個調查的目的是要獲得關於美國成年人的某項結論,與其採用隨機抽樣,冒著讓某些群組 (種族、性別、年齡、地理位置等) 被過度代表或代表不足的風險,研究人員可能會故意從設定好的幾個子群裡,挑出特定比例的個體來組成樣本。像是假若非裔美國人佔母體的 13%,研究人員可以刻意確保抽出的樣本中有 13% 是非裔美國人,然後對母體中的其他族群也進行一樣的操作。如果直接採隨機抽樣,抽出來的非裔美國人比例可能會是 5-20%,而配額抽樣可以避免這種不準確性。配額抽樣通常用來研究人口龐大且內部組成多元的母體 (如美國民眾)。 

您可能從字面上就看的出來,便利抽樣是以研究人員最容易接觸到的一組人作為研究對象。這是最容易執行的抽樣方式,成本往往也較低。做便利抽樣時,研究人員可能會前往某個擁擠的公共場所,到處邀請人們接受調查。雖然用這種方式找到的受訪者不算是隨機選出的樣本,但對於某些研究來說,是否隨機可能根本不重要。試驗性研究經常會用到便利抽樣,比如說,公司如果想要發起試驗性研究來瞭解某個產品提案的可行性和潛在人氣,通常會做便利抽樣。 

滾雪球抽樣也是一種非機率抽樣,其設計目的是要揭露母體中較難發現的「隱藏」資訊。在滾雪球抽樣當中,研究人員會鼓勵既有的研究樣本透過自己的人脈網路,像滾雪球般一個介紹一個,直到資料量足夠為止。雖然這種方式會導致系統性偏差,但當您想要研究的對象是會傾向避免接受調查的人士時 (如非法活動人士),這就成了最好的方法之一。市場研究人員鮮少使用滾雪球抽樣。不過,雖然這種方式顯然存在許多問題,但它曾在其他所有抽樣方法都宣告無效時收集到重要資料。 

立意抽樣是由研究人員直接 (而非隨機) 選取一群應該要能充分代表母體的子群體。這種抽樣方式又稱為「判斷抽樣」或「專家抽樣」,因為涉及某個熟悉特定人群及其特徵的研究人員所做的判斷。立意抽樣與其它非機率抽樣 (如配額抽樣) 擁有類似的性質,但多了一層人為干預。

想深入瞭解抽樣的最佳實踐嗎?請參閱我們的市場研究終極指南。

做市場研究時,研究人員和組織可以使用像 SurveyMonkey 的整合性全球受訪群這類提供市調受訪群的服務,快速觸及廣大、隨機的人群。這種受訪群服務給予調查員很大的自由度能控制問卷上的題目、鎖定的群眾,以及採用的調查類型。

一個群體可以用很多不同的方式做劃分。人口統計資料、地理位置、專業背景等多重面向的因素經常必須同時考慮進去,以獲得關於基本市調、產品開發、品牌追蹤和消費者行為等方面的寶貴洞見。利用這類受訪群,企業能夠有效地以特定一群人的資料,推斷出關於全體目標受眾的重要結論。 

每一種抽樣方法都有其優缺點,舉例來說,雖然「簡單隨機抽樣」能有效降低偏誤,有助於獲得概括性的結論,但要達到真正的隨機卻往往很沒效率。此外,您想瞭解的對象可能只限於某個子群體,而不是全部的人。而「便利抽樣」雖然能快速取得資料,但這種樣本可能會存在嚴重的偏誤,影響結論的公正性。

顯然,世界上沒有所謂「最好」的抽樣方式。您必須先確定您想從問卷調查中瞭解什麼,才有辦法判斷哪一種抽樣方式最恰當。接者,您還需要考慮其他相關變數,像是時間和預算限制、問卷題目的措辭方式、您想要調查的對象是否容易接觸到等等。

在您下工夫好好規劃您的問卷調查後,就能比較輕鬆地判斷出哪種抽樣方式對您來說最有用。只要確實瞭解不同的抽樣方式,並善加運用寶貴資源——如 SurveyMonkey 超過 8 千萬名受訪員的目標受眾——您一定能夠發起更有效的市場研究專案,深入認識您的目標群眾。

in-article-cta
需要聯繫您的目標受眾嗎?
利用 SurveyMonkey Audience 強大的目標鎖定功能,準確觸及您最需要調查的群眾。
瞭解更多

把您的問卷寄給具有代表性的樣本,收集有效的市調資料

讓我們的專業調查團隊協助您進行市調計畫

利用自動化的分析和報告程序來完成創意和產品概念測試

SurveyMonkey Logo

Types of sampling for market research

Market research is crucial for any business that wants to understand the people it is selling its goods and services to. With preliminary research, businesses of all kinds can gain useful insights, identify new selling opportunities, and find ways to allocate their resources efficiently and equitably.

One of the most effective ways to conduct market research is sampling. Sampling utilizes data from a small group, such as a simple random sample, and allows marketers to draw conclusions about a much larger target population.

By ensuring that your representative group is actually representative of the population, and that the questions you are asking are effectively worded, you can pave the way for impactful and productive research. Without sampling, you will inevitably be forced to guess how to reach your audience. Not only will this be inefficient and cause you to miss out on valuable opportunities, but lack of sampling can also cause significant damage to your brand.

Fortunately, you can gain critical insights into your target audience by using the right types of sampling and strategically employing various sampling techniques. In this article, we will answer some of the most common questions that market researchers and business owners have about sampling. By taking the time to understand what sampling actually is, along with the different types of sampling that are currently in place, you can decide if committing to a broader sampling campaign makes sense for your particular organization. 

What is sampling?

Sampling is a term used to describe the process of obtaining data from a small group (or subgroups). Once this data has been gathered, it can then be applied to a larger audience, such as a company’s target market.

Suppose a restaurant is targeting people between the age of 25 and 35 living in an urban area. The restaurant wants to decide what color it should make its logo. Rather than asking everyone in that age group what color makes them most likely to visit the restaurant, the company might take a sample of 100 people from that group and gather their opinions. If more than half of the people say blue is the most appealing color, the company can draw conclusions about 25 to 35-year-olds in general, and adapt their marketing approach in response.

Of course, the conclusions that can be drawn from sampling will only be as good as the sampling frame itself. In this instance, if the restaurant were to just ask random people about their favorite color, rather than those within its target audience, the conclusions it made might not be as reliable. In other instances, creating a pure, simple random sample (SRS) might be more beneficial. Before conducting sampling research, it is important to identify what conclusions you hope to draw and who you are hoping to survey. Once these things have been adequately identified, you’ll be able to use small samples to help you draw big conclusions about almost any topic. 

Why are samples used in survey research?

Researchers use sampling because it helps them efficiently learn about a group in general, without needing to survey the entire group. During an election, for example, it would be impossible to survey every likely voter about who they plan to vote for. Instead, a researcher would ask a specific group of voters about their preferences and attempt to draw broader conclusions from the responses they receive. While this sort of polling certainly presents its own unique challenges, it can still provide valuable—and actionable—insights for all involved.

Sampled surveys can be used to answer many different questions. Learning about how people typically live their lives, how people view the world, and how people use a product or service can help businesses develop better strategies and methods for reaching their target audience. There are many different types of sampling and each of these methods can be effectively applied in different situations, for different market research needs.

in-article-cta
Find the perfect sample for your research
Use SurveyMonkey’s Audience panel to get insights from your target audience.
Learn more

Representative sampling vs. random sampling

The various types of sampling methods will generally fall into one of two categories. The first category is random sampling while the second category is representative sampling.

A random sample, as the name suggests, is a sample of randomly selected individuals, designed to represent the population as a whole. Simple random samples can help companies and other organizations draw broad conclusions about people in general. If a company is trying to sell a product that essentially everyone might use, such as toothpaste, a simple random sample can help them draw broad conclusions. What flavors of toothpaste do people typically prefer? When do people typically brush their teeth? What type of toothbrush do most people use? These are questions that can be effectively answered by asking a wide range of people for their opinion, rather than limiting the survey to a deliberately narrow group.

In contrast, researchers using representative sampling don’t want a random sample of all people. Instead, they want a random sample of people that are representative of a specific group. For example, if a company is selling a product that only some people use, such as skiing equipment, they’d want a sample of individuals that actually use that particular product.

Representative samples can be broken down in myriad different ways. In the example above, “people who ski” could be a distinctive group that helps filter the broader population. In other instances, you might consider breaking the population down by age, demographics, location, income, hobbies, profession, or other traits. As long as you can find enough survey takers to generate statistically significant conclusions, you will have a considerable amount of flexibility when creating a representative group.

Get instant access to a representative sample. Use SurveyMonkey Audience to tap into demographic balancing or choose more flexible targeting.

Slider choosing gender percentage targeting

Probability sampling vs. non-probability sampling methods

The different types of sampling can also be distinguished as either probability sampling or non-probability sampling. Essentially, with probability sampling, every single individual within the target group (which can be either random or representative) has an equal chance of being selected for the survey.

With non-probability sampling, on the other hand, some people within this group will be more likely to be selected than others. For example, if the group you hope to draw conclusions about is American adults, but you conduct a survey at a mall in Missouri, you are using a non-probability sampling method for your survey. In this case, you are not randomly sampling American adults because your broad group has been filtered down to “mall shoppers in Missouri.” This particular type of survey is known as a convenience survey (more info below). While it is indeed possible that these mall shoppers might happen to produce results that are similar to the opinions of the American adult population as a whole, it is important to recognize which portions of the broad group are systematically excluded by your sampling methods. 

Probability sampling methods

As suggested, probability sampling is a type of sampling in which every single member of a group has an equal probability of being selected for the survey. Probability sampling can still exist within a filtered group (such as American adults), as long as every representative of this subgroup has an equal chance of being selected.

There are four primary types of probability sampling methods. 

Simple random sampling

Simple random sampling is both simple and random. That means that within a group or subgroup, each member of the population has an equal chance of being selected as a respondent. There are many ways in which a simple random sample can be created. For example, every person within the group might be given a number and then a specific portion of these numbers is selected entirely at random (using a random number generator, drawing from a hat, etc.). Simple random sampling offers the benefit of a “pure” random data set, enabling researchers to draw sweeping conclusions. However, simple random sampling is also criticized for being relatively inefficient. 

Systematic sampling

Systematic sampling is a type of sampling that involves selecting a random starting point in the overall population and choosing sample members at regular intervals. For example, if a researcher has a list of every resident of a city with a population of 300,000, they might choose to generate a random sample of people by surveying every 100th person featured on the list. In this instance, 3,000 people will be surveyed. 

As long as there is no hidden pattern in the list that might skew the selection process, systematic sampling creates a sample where members of the selected population don’t appear to have anything in common. Systematic sampling still provides most of the benefits of random sampling because, when properly applied, the population essentially is randomly selected. At the same time, this straightforward method requires considerably less effort than other sampling methods. 

Stratified random sampling

Stratified random sampling randomly selects from several subgroups in order to create the final sample. Suppose the researcher wants to gain insight about the opinions of American adults. Rather than simply selecting 500 random adults, the researcher might select 10 adults from each of the 50 states to create the “random” sample population. If each of the subgroups has a lower standard deviation (possibility of error) than the total group, then the margin of error can be systematically decreased. 

Cluster sampling

Cluster sampling creates a sample by pulling people from multiple (but not necessarily all) subgroups of a population. Ideally, each of these subgroups, or clusters, will be a diverse representation of the population as a whole and will also be structurally similar to the other subgroups. Cluster sampling is one of the least expensive forms of probability sampling and is also ideal for sampling relatively large populations. To successfully use this particular type of sampling, it is crucial for the clusters to be consistently structured and for the selections within each cluster to remain random. 

Non-probability sampling methods

While probability sampling can be used to draw conclusions from random (though sometimes slightly modified) groups, non-probability sampling uses groups that are a bit more deliberately structured. Non-probability sampling can help reduce random biases and, in many instances, ensure that key portions of a broader population are included within the sampled population. 

Quota sampling

Quota sampling is a sampling method in which the researcher manipulates the sampling population in order to represent the population as a whole. This type of sampling is especially useful when the broader population includes many different types of people. 

For example, suppose the survey is designed to draw conclusions about American adults. Rather than risking a random sample in which one group (race, gender, age, geographic location, etc.) is either overrepresented or underrepresented, the researcher might deliberately select a proportioned number of individuals from each of the conceivable subgroups. So if Black Americans represent 13% of the population, the researcher would deliberately ensure that the sampling population is actually 13% Black—and adjust other populations to be proportionally representative as well. By doing this, they would avoid a less accurate simple random sample, which might only be between 5-20% Black. Quota sampling is typically used for large, clustered populations, such as the population of the United States. 

Convenience sampling

Convenience sampling, as you might guess, is a type of sampling that is done by surveying a group of people that is easiest to reach. This sampling is often the easiest to conduct and is often very affordable. During a convenience sample, a researcher might go to a crowded public area and ask people if they are willing to be surveyed. This population is by no means randomly selected, but depending on the type of data the researcher is hoping to gather, that might not really matter. Convenience sampling is often used during a pilot study in which a company is trying to learn about the feasibility or popularity of a proposed product. 

Snowball sampling

Snowball sampling is a non-probability sampling method that is designed to help reveal information about populations that are difficult to reach or are “hidden.” With snowball sampling, researchers will encourage their already existing population to reach out to additional members of the population in order to help bolster the underlying data set. While this does create systematic biases, it is one of the best methods for reaching populations that tend to avoid answering random surveys, such as individuals engaging in illegal activity. Snowball sampling is only occasionally used by market researchers, but though it might be problematic, it has helped deliver data where other sampling methods were proven to be ineffective. 

Purposive sampling

Purposive sampling is a type of sampling in which researchers will directly (rather than randomly) select a subpopulation that is supposed to be representative of the population as a whole. This type of sampling is often called “judgment sampling” or “expert sampling” because it involves the judgment of someone who is familiar with the group and its basic characteristics. Purposive sampling is often characteristic of other non-probability sampling, such as quota sampling, but involves an additional layer of human intervention.

Want to learn more about sampling best practices? Read our Ultimate Guide to Market Research.

Survey sampling with a market research panel

Survey sampling with a market research panel, such as SurveyMonkey’s integrated global panel, can help researchers and organizations quickly access a large, random population. When using these sorts of panels, surveyors will have the freedom to control the questions they are asking, the populations they are drawing from, and the types of surveying they choose to use.

Populations can be divided in many different ways. Demographics, geography, professional profile, and more might all be actively considered. These panels can be used for valuable insights, including basic market research, product development, brand tracking, and consumer behavior. By using a panel to look at a specific group of people, businesses can draw crucial conclusions about their broader target audience. 

Which sampling method should you use?

Every type of sampling method will have both pros and cons that come with it. For example, while a simple random sample can decrease bias and help you draw broad conclusions, generating a truly random sample can often be very inefficient. Furthermore, you might want to learn about a specific subgroup, rather than the population as a whole. At the same time, while convenience sampling can help you quickly generate data, these sample populations can be extremely biased and may cloud your final conclusions.

Clearly, there is no universally “best” type of sampling. To determine which type of sampling makes sense for your campaign, you will need to begin by determining what—exactly—you are hoping to learn by conducting the survey. From there, you will need to consider other relevant variables, such as time and cost constraints, the ways in which survey questions will be worded, and whether the population you want to survey can be accessed with ease.

By making an effort to better plan your survey, it will be easier to determine which type of sampling will be most useful for you. With a firm understanding of the different types of sampling and access to valuable resources, such as SurveyMonkey’s audience of more than 80 million people, you can learn a lot about a population and conduct better market research.

in-article-cta
Need to connect with your target audience?
Reach the exact people you need with the powerful targeting capabilities of SurveyMonkey Audience.
Learn more

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting