如何為調查問卷取得有代表性的樣本

讓問卷調查有效率又符合成本效益,並獲得有統計顯著性的結果。

做問卷調查往往不可能收集整個目標族群或目標受眾當中所有人的意見,就算真的有辦法把調查問卷送到每個人面前,一定也會有人選擇不回應或沒興趣參加。

不過,好消息是,就算沒有調查目標群眾當中的每個人,您仍然可以獲得非常有用、值得深入分析的資料。事實上,調查太多人反而會浪費您的時間和金錢,甚至為調查過程增加不必要的複雜度。

透過代表性樣本,您便能將調查結果化為可採取行動的資料和有用的深入解析,以支援您的市場研究和客戶體驗管理工作。

in-article-cta
執行您自己的敏捷市場研究
讓引導式的方法架構和由 AI 支援產生的深入分析和見解,協助您進行市場研究。
瞭解更多

什麼是代表性樣本?

代表性樣本是一個大群體的子集,能夠相當程度地反映較大群體的特徵。進行代表性抽樣的目的是從大群體 (母體) 當中抽取一小部份做調查,以便於管理。常見的例子像是選舉期間的抽樣調查,民調中心會透過調查一小群代表性樣本,來預測哪個候選人的支持度比較高。

做代表性抽樣能為您省下可觀的時間和金錢,透過對代表性樣本的資料進行統計分析和審查,您可以準確地看出客戶群整體或其中特定群體的樣貌,卻不必詢問所有人或多數人的意見。

不過,要得到準確而可信的調查結果,您必須先充分瞭解代表性抽樣的主要優勢和潛在缺陷,如此一來,您才能有策略地使用這項工具來深入瞭解客戶,並使用所獲得之資訊提升客戶體驗,或為公司做出更合宜的決策。

代表性樣本範例

假設您推行的一項訓練計畫有 300 人參加,其中有 150 名男性和 150 名女性,而您想要詢問他們對於這項訓練計畫有何意見或建議,藉此瞭解課程的哪些部分需要改善、哪些部分讓學員覺得最有價值。 

如果能做到代表性抽樣,您就不必收集大部分學員的意見,而只需要從 300 名學員當中抽取 60 名學員 (30 名男性與 30 名女性) 就可以了。這些人的意見就足以代表整個群體的意見。

一但收到回覆之後,您就可以進行分析,以獲得能代表全體意見的深入見解。由於您有依照母體比例收集男女各半的樣本,因此也可以根據性別來進行評估比較。

從 300 名學員當中,您只要收集 60 份回覆,就能獲得高度準確且反映母體實際性別比例的調查結果,同時省下許多時間和金錢。

無論您理想中的受訪者是什麼樣貌,分布在世界的哪個角落,SurveyMonkey Audience 都能幫助您獲得具有代表性的樣本。

marketresearch-brandtracker-col2-zh-TW

如何獲得具有代表性的樣本?

經過學術界、科學界和市場研究領域長期以來的測試和驗證,我們已知可用來獲得代表性樣本的方法有很多種。 

其中最被廣泛使用的方法包括: 

  • 機率抽樣
  • 簡單隨機抽樣 
  • 非機率抽樣
  • 配額抽樣

只要使用其中一種方法獲得具代表性的樣本,您的調查資料的可信度和準確度就會有保障。

何謂機率抽樣? 

機率抽樣是以符合機率理論的方法,從一個較大的群體中進行抽樣。通過隨機選擇的過程獲得的樣本,才能被視為機率樣本。其實,隨機選擇的意思就是:母體當中每一個個體被選到的機率都已知且均等,也就是說,如果母體有 1,000 個人,每個人被選到的機率都必須是 1,000 分之 1。

在機率抽樣的過程中,由於研究人員不能對樣本挑三揀四,因此選出的對象最有可能真實反映母體的樣貌。簡言之,機率抽樣旨在排除人為偏誤和抽樣誤差,完全仰賴統計理論來隨機選出一小群人,並預測這些人的回覆會與母體的回覆相符。

簡單隨機抽樣

很多時候,簡單就是好。而簡單隨機抽樣就是一個很好的策略,讓您以直截了當的方法獲得可行的樣本群。

簡單隨機抽樣的執行方式很簡單,例如您可以將群體中的每一個個體都標上編號,然後用自動化的過程來隨機選號,以決定您要抽取的樣本。您可以用彩票系統或隨機亂數產生器這類軟體來選號。

這是避免抽樣誤差最好的方法。抽樣誤差是進行概念測試時最常見的錯誤。當母體當中有特定一類人被選中的機率特別高,抽樣誤差就無意間產生了,而它可能會讓您的調查結果看起來對您有利,或支持特定觀點,間接導致您做出錯誤的假設或不良的決策。

簡單隨機抽樣能確保母體當中每一名成員被選中的機率都均等,因此能大幅降低抽樣誤差發生的機會。

非概率抽樣

非機率抽樣是研究人員根據自己的主觀判斷抽取樣本,因此是不隨機的。而主觀判斷也不是參考既定的公式或統計分析的結果,而是仰賴專家的意見或經驗來判定誰適合作為樣本。

進行非機率抽樣時,母體中的每個成員參與研究的機會並非都均等。這表示母體中每一名成員被選中的機率都已知。

相信您看得出來,非機率抽樣與機率抽樣相比之下較不嚴謹,因為涉及到人為判斷,可能產生人為失誤或抽樣誤差;但它的優點在於,如果您希望讓最可能提供有用資訊的對象來參與調查,非機率抽樣可說是既省時又有效。 以質性研究來說,非機率抽樣是十分常用也相當重要的工具,因為這類研究主要是透過非數值的數據來獲得深入解析和結論。

可是,如果非機率抽樣既不夠嚴謹又不一定可靠,那麼它對調查研究來說有用嗎?在某些情況下是的。非機率抽樣對探索型的研究特別有用,像是前導性研究 (把調查問卷發送給比正式調查樣本數量更小的一個群組)。此外,有時候因為時間限制、成本考量或其他因素的關係,要做隨機抽樣可能很困難或根本不可能,這時就只能採用非機率抽樣了。

配額抽樣

如果您的組織想要深入瞭解目標群眾當中一群特定的對象,而經費有限,可以透過配額抽樣的方式獲得具有代表性的結果,以做出資料導向的決策。 

配額抽樣是一種非機率抽樣,調查人員會先將研究母體按特定方式分群,再從中抽樣。這麼做是希望使樣本的組成盡可能與目標群體的組成相近,以確保獲得的調查結果真的能用。配額抽樣的風險和效益與非機率抽樣相同,但能夠有效地從特定目標群眾收集到可化作行動的資料和深入解析。

何謂具代表性的樣本數量?

如果您的樣本數量太大,往後的分析工作不但複雜,而且又貴又花時間。在理想的情況中,認真收集並分析大量回覆確實能增加資料的準確度和預測的確定性,但這些額外的好處通常不值得您承擔執行昂貴、耗時又龐大的問卷調查所帶來的風險。很多時候,抽取有代表性的樣本既快速又簡單,能讓您輕鬆獲得有效又具統計顯著性的結果。

如果樣本數量太小,您獲得的結果很可能不會具有統計顯著性。例如,您的樣本當中離群值或不具代表性的數值可能會太多,使調查結果產生偏斜,造成資料失真或不完整,最終導致您做出不合宜的決策。因此,您應該以找到「恰到好處」的樣本數量為目標,這麼做不但能節省時間和成本,還能產生可靠、具代表性的統計數據。您可以使用 SurveyMonkey 的樣本數量計算器算出對您來說最理想的樣本數量。這個簡單的工具能協助您快速得出具代表性的樣本數量。

當心抽樣誤差

當母體當中有特定一類人被選中的機率特別高,就可能產生抽樣誤差。舉例來說,每當政治民調結果有爭議,通常都是因為民調單位選出的樣本太偏向特定的政治傾向,造成抽樣誤差。

有時候,抽樣誤差可能會讓調查結果看起來對您有利,或支持您的理論、想法或行動方向,然而,若調查結果因此沒有準確反映現實,您根據這些資料所做出的決策便可能有缺陷,傷害公司或您自己的名聲。

要避免抽樣誤差,最好的方法就是採用簡單隨機抽樣,完全讓機率來決定。這麼做可讓母體中的每個成員都有均等的機會雀屏中選,成為被研究的一員。如果您還是決定使用非機率抽樣,以人為判斷來挑選受試者,請務必確保相關的執行人員都有足夠經驗、有公信力,且知道應該避免抽樣誤差,以免讓抽樣誤差玷汙您的調查結果和最終結論。

對於任何仰賴代表性抽樣的調查而言,要完全避免抽樣誤差幾乎不可能。舉例來說,工作很忙的人通常沒有時間參與問卷調查,所以問卷調查往往無法充分反映這群人的觀點;也就是說,在問卷調查的領域當中,忙碌的人通常屬於代表性不足的群體。

想知道其他減少誤差的方法嗎?SurveyMonkey 的市場研究調查問卷範本內包含許多題型,能幫助受訪者在作答時如實回應而不偏袒。 

獲得具代表性的樣本為何如此重要?

代表性樣本之所以重要,是因為它會盡可能將母體中各種類型的人納入樣本,確保您面談和調查的對象是一群理想的組合。如此一來,您的調查結果才不會被誤差影響,也能避免特定群體的意見被過度放大 (過度代表)。

使用代表性樣本的好處包括:

  • 準確性已被證實:代表性抽樣是學術界、科學界和市場研究領域公認的研究方法,因此您對調查結果的可信度和統計顯著性可以相當有信心。  
  • 簡單又有效率:代表性抽樣讓市場調查變得容易進行。您不需要花大把的金錢或時間就能獲得準確的結果,並將實用的見解化為行動方針。
  • 可信度高:這個方法能保證您呈現給公司高層或利益相關人的資料和建議都是有根據、有道理的。
  • 調查結果有採取行動的價值:代表性樣本讓您可以深入了解目標受眾中的特定群體,將他們互相比較並根據分析得出結論,這麼做能為客戶體驗改善計畫打下堅實的基礎,讓您做出資料導向的決策,以便與最熱忱的客戶有效互動,同時尋找方法觸及對您公司的產品或服務較無感的目標受眾。

充分發揮代表性抽樣的效益

做代表性抽樣有助於獲得有用的資料和深入解析,以支持您的市場研究、客戶體驗改善工作和其他商業目標,可說是讓問卷調查更有效的關鍵工具。

當您在做代表性樣本的問卷調查時,SurveyMonkey 的市場研究解決方案能夠提供協助。不確定要如何觸及有代表性的樣本嗎? SurveyMonkey 的目標受眾計算器能為您快速找到適當的人群。

開始進行您的市場研究

全球調查問卷受訪群

把您的調查問卷寄給具有代表性的樣本,收集有效的市場研究資料。

研究服務

讓我們的專業調查團隊協助您進行市場研究計畫。

專家解決方案

利用自動化的分析和報告程序來完成創意和產品概念測試。

如要閱讀更多市場研究資源,請造訪我們的網站地圖

SurveyMonkey Logo

How to get a representative sample for your survey

Execute efficient and cost-effective surveys that generate statistically significant results.

When you’re conducting a survey, it is often all-but-impossible to capture feedback from every person in the group or audience you're targeting. Even if you manage to get a survey in front of all of them, you'll undoubtedly have some people who do not respond or aren’t interested in participating.

The good news? You don’t have to survey everyone in your target survey group to get extremely useful and insightful data from your survey. In fact, you can needlessly go overboard when you're surveying large groups of people, which can cost you time and money and add complexity to the process.

Through representative sampling, you can then analyze the results to deliver actionable data and useful insights to support your market research and customer experience efforts.

in-article-cta
Conduct your own agile market research
Get guided methodologies and AI-powered insights to help launch your market research studies.
Learn more

What is a representative sample?

A representative sample is a subset of data, usually from a larger group, that can portray similar characteristics. Representative sampling helps you analyze larger populations because the data generated contains smaller, more manageable versions of the larger group. We see representative sampling in action during elections, when pollsters survey representative samples of voters to learn which candidates are getting support.

Representative sampling can save you considerable time and money. Through statistical analysis and review of the data, you can capture an accurate representation of a broader customer audience, or specific group within that audience without having to get input from everyone–or even the vast majority of those who could be surveyed.  

Yet making sure you get accurate and credible results takes a good working knowledge of the clear benefits and potential pitfalls associated with representative sampling. When armed with this knowledge, you can strategically use this tool to gain better insights into your customers, and use that information to enhance customer experience or inform better decision making regarding your business.

A representative sample example

Imagine you had a group of 300 people–150 men and 150 women–who went through a specific training program. You want to get their feedback about the program to identify any issues and find out which elements of the program participants found most valuable. 

By relying on representative sampling as part of your survey process, you don’t need responses from the majority of those who participated in the training. Instead, from the full group of 300 participants, you could generate a credible representative sample that might include 60 people—30 men and 30 women. Those responses would be representative of the larger group.

Once you receive their responses, you can analyze the results to gain insights that represent the opinions of the full group. Because you have a representative split of men and women who completed the program, you can also assess the responses based on gender.

Instead of having to rely on 300 people to respond to your survey, you can get highly accurate results from just 60 total responses, with an even split between men and women. In turn, you save time and money.

SurveyMonkey Audience can help supply your representative sample by connecting you to your ideal respondents—even if they’re all over the world.

Global consumer panels

How do you get a representative sample?

There are a number of established methods to get a representative sample that have been tested and verified over time through academic, scientific, and market research. 

The most common methods include: 

  • Probability sampling
  • Simple random sampling 
  • Non-probability sampling
  • Quota sampling

By using one of these methods of capturing representative samples, you'll assure credibility and accuracy of your results.

What is probability sampling? 

Probability sampling is a sampling technique in which you choose samples from a larger population using a method based on the theory of probability. For participants to be considered for a probability sample, they must be selected using what’s called random selection. Random selection simply means that everyone in the population you're surveying has a known and equal chance of being selected. So, if you had a population of 1,000 people every person would have odds of 1 in 1,000 of being selected.

Because those conducting the survey or research can’t cherry-pick who is selected to be part of the sample, probability sampling gives you the best chance to capture a sample that is truly representative of the population. In short, probability sampling removes the potential for human bias or sampling error and relies on statistical theory to randomly select a small group of people from the larger population and then predict that all of their responses will match that of the larger population.

Simple random sampling

It’s always great to keep things simple. And simple random sampling does just that by offering a straightforward path to getting a viable sample group.

Simple random sampling is as easy as assigning numbers to each individual in your group or sample and then randomly choosing numbers through an automated process to determine who will be included in the sample. You can choose your sample numbers via a lottery system or by using number generating software that randomly selects them for you.

This method is one of the best ways to avoid sampling bias, which can often happen with conducting concept testing. Sampling bias can sneak its way into your survey when some members of a population are systematically more likely to be selected in a sample than others. Sampling bias may get you results that look favorable or support a particular viewpoint—and could lead to sampling error, false assumptions and poor decisions.

Simple random sampling greatly minimizes the chance for sampling bias by providing equal odds for every member of the population to be chosen as a participant in the study at hand.

Non-probability sampling

Non-probability sampling is not so random. Rather, non-probability sampling is a technique in which those conducting the research select samples based on subjective judgment rather than random selection. Subjective judgment isn’t driven by established formulas or statistical analysis. Instead, it relies on an individual’s expert opinion or experience to identify those respondents who will be included in the sample.

When you conduct non-probability sampling, not all members of the population have an equal chance of participating in the study. This means each member of the population has a known chance of being selected.

As you may have guessed, non-probability sampling is a less stringent method than probability sampling because it introduces human judgment–and potentially human error or sampling bias. On the positive side, the approach can be a more efficient and effective way to assure that the people who will be surveyed or included in a study are likely to provide the most useful information  Non-probability sampling is a frequent key tool for qualitative research that focuses on nonnumerical data to generate insights and conclusions.

So if it is not as rigorous or reliable, does using non-probability sampling make sense? In certain circumstances, the answer to that question is yes. Non-probability sampling can be especially useful for exploratory studies like a pilot survey (deploying a survey to a smaller sample compared to pre-determined sample size). Further, it is often used in situations in which random probability sampling would be difficult or impossible due to time limits, cost constraints, or other challenges.

Quota sampling

Quota sampling can deliver representative results that help your organization make strong data-driven decisions when you need to know more about a specific subset of your target population and don’t have a big budget. 

This method is a nonprobability sampling method in which researchers create a sample involving individuals that represent a specific population. With quota sampling, you can make sure your survey results closely resemble your target population. That way, you’ll get results you can really use. Quota sampling carries similar risk-reward as nonprobability sampling, but it is a very effective way to capture actionable data and insights from a specific audience.

What is representative sample size?

If your sample is too big, your survey and the ensuing analysis can become complex, expensive and time-consuming. In a perfect world, properly conducting a larger survey and getting a higher percentage of responses increases the accuracy and certainty of the resulting data. Yet those added benefits typically aren’t worth the risks presented by taking on a costly, time-devouring and unwieldy survey. More often, representative sampling offers a faster, easier, and accessible way to get valid and statistically significant results.

If your sample is too small, you're more likely to get results that are not statistically significant. For instance, you may end up including a disproportionate number of individuals who are outliers, or not representative of the larger group. This can skew your results and lead to flawed or incomplete data, and, ultimately, poor decisions.So, your aim should always be to find the ‘just right’ representative sample size. When your sample is the right size, it allows for time and cost efficiency while also giving you reliable representative sample statistics. SurveyMonkey makes it easy for you to determine the right sample size with its sample size calculator. By using this simple tool, you can quickly determine your representative sample.

Beware of sampling bias

Sampling bias can occur when some members of a population are systematically more likely to be selected in a sample than others. When you hear controversy over the validity of certain political polls, it often focuses on potential sampling bias in which the pollster ends up polling too many individuals who have a particular political leaning.

Sampling bias may get you results that look favorable or support a preferred theory, idea or effort. Yet if those results are skewed and don’t reflect reality, you can end up making poor decisions or harming your organization’s reputation—and potentially yours, as well.

The best way to avoid sampling bias is to conduct simple random sampling, in which samples are chosen strictly by chance. This provides equal odds for every member of the population to be chosen as a participant in your study. If you're going to do nonprobability sampling in which participants are selected based on judgment, be sure that those involved have experience, credibility, and awareness of the need to avoid sampling bias that would taint results and conclusions.

It’s all but impossible to avoid some element of sampling bias in surveys that rely on representative sampling. For instance, people who are extremely busy tend to participate less in surveys. As a result, surveys often don’t fully capture the perspectives from really busy people, meaning the super busy are often underrepresented.

Looking for more ways to reduce bias? SurveyMonkey’s market research survey templates include a variety of question types to help your respondents answer more truthfully. 

Why is obtaining a representative sample important?

Representative samples are important because they ensure that as many relevant types of people as possible are included in your sample, and that the right mix of people are interviewed or surveyed. This helps ensure your results aren’t tainted by bias. It also helps guard against overrepresenting certain groups.

Representative samples provide the following benefits:

  • Proven accuracy: Because representative sampling methods are established and recognized across scientific, academic and market research, you can be confident that your results are credible and statistically significant.  
  • Ease and efficiency: Representative sampling makes it easier to conduct market research. It allows you to get accurate results and gain actionable insights without busting your budget or chewing up all of your time.
  • Credibility: This method can help assure that data and recommendations you're sharing with senior leaders or relevant audiences are valid and justified.
  • Actionable results: Representative sampling allows you to efficiently take deeper dives into specific segments of your audience—and make comparisons and draw conclusions based on your analysis. This, in turn, can serve as a strong foundation for your customer experience program. You can make data-driven decisions, connect more effectively with your most engaged audiences and find ways to reach customers who don’t feel as much love for your company’s products or services.

Start making the most of representative sampling

Representative sampling can be a key element of getting the most out of surveys by generating useful data and insights to support your market research, customer experience, and other business goals.

Check out SurveyMonkey’s Market Research Solutions for help when you conduct surveys using representative samples. Looking to identify a representative sample? SurveyMonkey’s Audience Calculator makes the process quick and easy.

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting

To read more market research resources, visit our Sitemap.