Comment obtenir un échantillon représentatif pour vos sondages

Des sondages efficaces et rentables, pour des résultats statistiquement significatifs.

Quand vous réalisez un sondage, il est quasiment impossible de recueillir le feedback de toute votre population cible. Même si vous faites en sorte que chacun reçoive le sondage, il y aura toujours des personnes qui ne répondront pas.

Ne vous inquiétez pas pour autant : même sans sonder chaque membre de votre groupe cible, vous pouvez obtenir de précieuses données. À vrai dire, cela peut même vous faire gagner du temps et économiser de l'argent.

Grâce à un échantillon de sondage représentatif, vous pouvez analyser les résultats pour en extraire des données exploitables qui viennent appuyer vos efforts d’étude de marché et d’expérience client.

in-article-cta
Besoin de gagner en agilité ?
Découvrez nos méthodologies optimisées par l’IA pour vous aider à réaliser vos études de marché.
En savoir plus

Qu’est-ce qu’un échantillon représentatif ?

Un échantillon représentatif est un sous-ensemble de données, souvent issues d’un groupe plus large, qui présente les mêmes caractéristiques que le groupe initial. Dans le cas des sondages, l'échantillonnage représentatif vous aide à analyser de larges audiences, car les données générées sont moins volumineuses et plus faciles à gérer. C'est ce qui est utilisé par exemple dans les sondages d’intentions de vote réalisés avant les élections.

L’échantillonnage représentatif est souvent synonyme de gains de temps et d’économies considérables. L’analyse statistique des données vous permet d’obtenir une représentation précise d’une population cible plus large, ou d’un groupe spécifique de cette population, sans avoir à sonder chaque membre.

Attention : si l’échantillonnage représentatif présente des bénéfices incontestables, il s’accompagne aussi d’écueils potentiels et vous devez en avoir conscience pour obtenir des résultats précis et fiables. Armé de ces connaissances, vous serez à même de mieux comprendre vos clients, et puis d'améliorer leur expérience ou de prendre de meilleures décisions commerciales.

Un exemple d’échantillon représentatif

Imaginons qu’un groupe de 300 personnes (150 hommes et 150 femmes) a suivi un programme de formation. Vous aimeriez connaître leur avis sur le programme pour en identifier les points forts et les points faibles.

Si vous utilisez l’échantillonnage représentatif, vous n’avez pas besoin que toutes ces personnes participent à votre sondage, loin de là. Il vous suffit de créer un échantillon représentatif crédible, avec par exemple 30 hommes et 30 femmes.

Quand vous aurez reçu leurs réponses, vous pourrez analyser les résultats puis les généraliser à l’ensemble du groupe, pour obtenir une opinion représentative de la population initiale. Comme vous disposez du même nombre d'hommes et de femmes parmi les participants, vous pouvez aussi évaluer les réponses en fonction du genre.

Au lieu d'attendre que 300 personnes répondent à votre sondage, vous pouvez obtenir des résultats très précis en vous limitant à 60 participants, répartis également entre hommes et femmes. Vous gagnez du temps et de l’argent.

SurveyMonkey Audience peut vous aider à obtenir votre échantillon représentatif en vous présentant les participants idéaux, même si vous avez besoin de réponses des quatre coins du monde.

marketresearch-brandtracker-col2-fr-FR

Comment obtenir un échantillon représentatif ?

Il existe différentes méthodes établies, qui ont été testées et vérifiées par des recherches universitaires et scientifiques, ainsi que par des études de marché.

Parmi les méthodes les plus courantes, on trouve : 

  • L'échantillonnage probabiliste
  • L'échantillonnage aléatoire simple
  • L'échantillonnage non aléatoire
  • L'échantillonnage par quotas

Toutes ces méthodes permettent d’obtenir des résultats précis et fiables.

Qu’est-ce que l’échantillonnage probabiliste ?

Il s'agit de prendre un échantillon d’une population plus large à l’aide d’une méthode fondée sur les probabilités. Les participants sont choisis de manière aléatoire : chaque membre de la population initiale a autant de chances d’être sélectionné. Par exemple, si votre population initiale comptait 1 000 personnes, chacune d’entre elles aurait 1 chance sur 1 000 d’être sélectionnée.

La méthode probabiliste est le meilleur moyen d’obtenir un échantillon véritablement représentatif de la population : elle élimine le risque de biais humain ou d’erreur d’échantillonnage. En effet, cette méthode s’appuie sur les statistiques pour extraire au hasard un petit groupe de personnes d’un groupe plus vaste, en supposant que leurs réponses correspondent en proportion à celles de ce groupe plus vaste.

Échantillonnage aléatoire simple

Rien ne vaut la simplicité. L’échantillonnage aléatoire simple est un moyen direct d’obtenir un groupe d'échantillon fiable.

Un numéro est attribué à chaque membre de la population initiale. Ensuite, un processus automatisé choisit au hasard les numéros qui seront inclus à votre échantillon. Vous pouvez attribuer ces numéros par tirage au sort, par exemple à l’aide d’un logiciel qui génère des numéros.

Cette méthode est très efficace pour éviter les biais dans vos échantillons, risque inhérent aux tests de concept. On parle de biais d’échantillonnage quand certains membres d’un groupe ont systématiquement plus de chances d’être sélectionnés que d’autres pour votre échantillon. Ce genre de biais peut produire des résultats faussés, qui étayent un certain point de vue. Par la suite, cela peut mener à des suppositions erronées et de mauvaises décisions stratégiques.

Avec un sondage aléatoire simple, chaque membre du groupe a les mêmes chances d’être sélectionné pour participer au sondage, et le risque de biais est considérablement réduit.

Échantillonnage non aléatoire

L’échantillonnage non aléatoire porte bien son nom. Avec cette méthode, les organisateurs du sondage ne s’en remettent pas au hasard, ils choisissent les participants de manière subjective. Ils s’appuient sur leur expérience, ou sur l’avis d’un expert chargé d’identifier les personnes qui feront partie de l’échantillon.

Avec cette méthode, les membres du groupe n’ont pas tous les mêmes chances de participer au sondage. Les chances d'être sélectionné sont définies en amont pour chaque membre.

L’échantillonnage non aléatoire est moins rigoureux que l’échantillonnage probabiliste, car il introduit un jugement humain, donc potentiellement un risque d’erreur ou de biais. Par contre, cette approche peut s’avérer efficace pour garantir que les personnes choisies pour participer au sondage pourront fournir des informations utiles et pertinentes. Elle est souvent utilisée dans le cadre de recherches qualitatives qui se concentrent sur des données non numériques pour générer de nouvelles idées.

Si l’échantillonnage non aléatoire n’est ni aussi rigoureux ni aussi fiable que les autres, pourquoi l’utiliser ? Il peut être très utile par exemple pour des sondages pilotes (les sondages envoyés à un échantillon beaucoup plus petit que prévu). Il est aussi utilisé dans le cas où l’échantillonnage probabiliste serait difficile, voire impossible, à cause de restrictions temporelles ou budgétaires, par exemple.

Échantillonnage par quotas

L’échantillonnage par quotas peut aider votre entreprise à prendre des décisions informées, lorsque vous avez besoin de plus amples informations au sujet d’un sous-ensemble de votre population mère et que vous disposez d’un budget restreint.

Il s’agit d’une méthode non aléatoire dans laquelle les organisateurs du sondage créent un échantillon composé d’individus qui représentent un groupe spécifique. Ainsi, vos résultats reflètent votre population mère. Les risques et les avantages de l’échantillonnage par quotas sont semblables à ceux de l’échantillonnage non aléatoire simple, mais c’est un moyen très efficace de recueillir des données exploitables auprès d’un public spécifique.

Quelle taille devrait faire un échantillon représentatif ?

Si votre échantillon est trop grand, le sondage risque d’être coûteux et fastidieux à analyser. Dans un monde idéal, plus l’échantillon est grand, et plus le nombre de réponses est élevé, avec des données toujours plus précises. Pourtant, les risques liés à un sondage trop volumineux l’emportent sur les avantages. L'échantillonnage représentatif est souvent plus rapide et plus simple, et permet d’obtenir des résultats tout aussi valides sur le plan statistique.

Si votre échantillon est trop petit, vous augmentez le risque d’obtenir des résultats qui ne sont pas statistiquement significatifs. Vous risquez par exemple d'inclure un nombre disproportionné d’individus qui ne sont pas représentatifs de la population initiale. Cela peut fausser vos résultats et entraîner de mauvaises décisions stratégiques. Il est donc important de trouver une bonne taille pour votre échantillon représentatif. Ainsi, vous obtenez des statistiques fiables, vous gagnez du temps et faites des économies. Grâce à la calculatrice de taille de l'échantillon de SurveyMonkey, trouver l'échantillon idéal devient un jeu d’enfant.

Attention au biais d'échantillonnage

Un biais d'échantillonnage survient lorsque certains membres d'un groupe ont systématiquement plus de chances d'être sélectionnés que d'autres. Les sondages politiques sont parfois sujets à controverse, car certains sondeurs interrogent parfois trop de personnes avec les mêmes opinions politiques.

Ce genre de biais peut produire des résultats qui étayent un point de vue spécifique. C'est le cas aussi en entreprise. Si les résultats ne reflètent pas la réalité, vous risquez de prendre de mauvaises décisions ou de porter préjudice à la réputation de votre entreprise.

Avec l’échantillonnage aléatoire simple, tous les membres de votre population ont exactement les mêmes chances d’être sélectionnés pour participer au sondage. Si vous réalisez un échantillonnage non aléatoire, dans lequel un ou plusieurs individus sélectionnent des participants, assurez-vous que ces individus soient suffisamment expérimentés pour éviter des biais qui pourraient fausser les résultats.

Il est parfois difficile d’éviter une certaine forme de biais dans les sondages qui utilisent l’échantillonnage représentatif. Par exemple, les gens très occupés ont tendance à moins répondre. Ils sont donc souvent sous-représentés dans les résultats.

Vous cherchez à réduire le biais de vos sondages ? Les modèles de sondage d’étude de marché SurveyMonkey incluent différentes questions pour encourager les participants à donner des réponses franches.

Pourquoi est-il si important d’obtenir un échantillon représentatif ?

Cela permet de garantir que votre échantillon inclut un maximum de typologies d’individus pertinentes. Ainsi, vos résultats ont moins de chances d’être faussés par un biais quelconque. Cette méthode vous aide aussi à éviter que certains groupes soient surreprésentés.

Avec un échantillon représentatif, vous bénéficiez des avantages suivants :

  • Une précision prouvée : cette méthode est reconnue à la fois dans le monde universitaire, scientifique et commercial. Vos résultats sont donc fiables et statistiquement significatifs.
  • Simplicité et efficacité : il est beaucoup plus simple de réaliser des études de marché avec cette méthode. Vous pouvez obtenir des résultats précis et exploitables sans perdre de temps, et à moindre frais.
  • Crédibilité : les données et les résultats que vous partagez avec votre équipe de direction ou toute autre partie prenante sont valides et justifiés.
  • Résultats exploitables : vous pouvez analyser des segments spécifiques de votre population de manière plus approfondie, puis faire des comparaisons, et enfin tirer des conclusions. Tout cela constitue une base solide pour votre programme d’expérience client. Vous pourrez prendre des décisions informées, échanger avec vos publics les plus fidèles, mais aussi atteindre des clients qui découvrent à peine votre entreprise.

Commencez à tirer parti de l’échantillonnage représentatif

Cette méthode vous aide à exploiter vos sondages au mieux, en générant des données précieuses qui viennent appuyer vos études de marché, votre programme d'expérience client et vos objectifs commerciaux.

Les solutions d’étude de marché SurveyMonkey sont conçues pour vous aider lorsque vous réalisez des sondages auprès d’échantillons représentatifs. Si vous avez besoin de calculer la taille de votre échantillon, la calculatrice SurveyMonkey Audience vous simplifiera la vie.

Lancez-vous dans votre étude de marché

Panel de sondage mondial

Recueillez des données d'étude de marché grâce à un sondage ciblé et un échantillon représentatif.

Services

Notre équipe d'experts vous accompagne dans votre projet d'étude de marché

Solutions d'experts

Testez vos concepts créatifs et de produits à l'aide d'analyses et de rapports automatisés

Pour plus de ressources sur les études de marché, consultez le plan de notre site.

SurveyMonkey Logo

How to get a representative sample for your survey

Execute efficient and cost-effective surveys that generate statistically significant results.

When you’re conducting a survey, it is often all-but-impossible to capture feedback from every person in the group or audience you're targeting. Even if you manage to get a survey in front of all of them, you'll undoubtedly have some people who do not respond or aren’t interested in participating.

The good news? You don’t have to survey everyone in your target survey group to get extremely useful and insightful data from your survey. In fact, you can needlessly go overboard when you're surveying large groups of people, which can cost you time and money and add complexity to the process.

Through representative sampling, you can then analyze the results to deliver actionable data and useful insights to support your market research and customer experience efforts.

in-article-cta
Conduct your own agile market research
Get guided methodologies and AI-powered insights to help launch your market research studies.
Learn more

What is a representative sample?

A representative sample is a subset of data, usually from a larger group, that can portray similar characteristics. Representative sampling helps you analyze larger populations because the data generated contains smaller, more manageable versions of the larger group. We see representative sampling in action during elections, when pollsters survey representative samples of voters to learn which candidates are getting support.

Representative sampling can save you considerable time and money. Through statistical analysis and review of the data, you can capture an accurate representation of a broader customer audience, or specific group within that audience without having to get input from everyone–or even the vast majority of those who could be surveyed.  

Yet making sure you get accurate and credible results takes a good working knowledge of the clear benefits and potential pitfalls associated with representative sampling. When armed with this knowledge, you can strategically use this tool to gain better insights into your customers, and use that information to enhance customer experience or inform better decision making regarding your business.

A representative sample example

Imagine you had a group of 300 people–150 men and 150 women–who went through a specific training program. You want to get their feedback about the program to identify any issues and find out which elements of the program participants found most valuable. 

By relying on representative sampling as part of your survey process, you don’t need responses from the majority of those who participated in the training. Instead, from the full group of 300 participants, you could generate a credible representative sample that might include 60 people—30 men and 30 women. Those responses would be representative of the larger group.

Once you receive their responses, you can analyze the results to gain insights that represent the opinions of the full group. Because you have a representative split of men and women who completed the program, you can also assess the responses based on gender.

Instead of having to rely on 300 people to respond to your survey, you can get highly accurate results from just 60 total responses, with an even split between men and women. In turn, you save time and money.

SurveyMonkey Audience can help supply your representative sample by connecting you to your ideal respondents—even if they’re all over the world.

Global consumer panels

How do you get a representative sample?

There are a number of established methods to get a representative sample that have been tested and verified over time through academic, scientific, and market research. 

The most common methods include: 

  • Probability sampling
  • Simple random sampling 
  • Non-probability sampling
  • Quota sampling

By using one of these methods of capturing representative samples, you'll assure credibility and accuracy of your results.

What is probability sampling? 

Probability sampling is a sampling technique in which you choose samples from a larger population using a method based on the theory of probability. For participants to be considered for a probability sample, they must be selected using what’s called random selection. Random selection simply means that everyone in the population you're surveying has a known and equal chance of being selected. So, if you had a population of 1,000 people every person would have odds of 1 in 1,000 of being selected.

Because those conducting the survey or research can’t cherry-pick who is selected to be part of the sample, probability sampling gives you the best chance to capture a sample that is truly representative of the population. In short, probability sampling removes the potential for human bias or sampling error and relies on statistical theory to randomly select a small group of people from the larger population and then predict that all of their responses will match that of the larger population.

Simple random sampling

It’s always great to keep things simple. And simple random sampling does just that by offering a straightforward path to getting a viable sample group.

Simple random sampling is as easy as assigning numbers to each individual in your group or sample and then randomly choosing numbers through an automated process to determine who will be included in the sample. You can choose your sample numbers via a lottery system or by using number generating software that randomly selects them for you.

This method is one of the best ways to avoid sampling bias, which can often happen with conducting concept testing. Sampling bias can sneak its way into your survey when some members of a population are systematically more likely to be selected in a sample than others. Sampling bias may get you results that look favorable or support a particular viewpoint—and could lead to sampling error, false assumptions and poor decisions.

Simple random sampling greatly minimizes the chance for sampling bias by providing equal odds for every member of the population to be chosen as a participant in the study at hand.

Non-probability sampling

Non-probability sampling is not so random. Rather, non-probability sampling is a technique in which those conducting the research select samples based on subjective judgment rather than random selection. Subjective judgment isn’t driven by established formulas or statistical analysis. Instead, it relies on an individual’s expert opinion or experience to identify those respondents who will be included in the sample.

When you conduct non-probability sampling, not all members of the population have an equal chance of participating in the study. This means each member of the population has a known chance of being selected.

As you may have guessed, non-probability sampling is a less stringent method than probability sampling because it introduces human judgment–and potentially human error or sampling bias. On the positive side, the approach can be a more efficient and effective way to assure that the people who will be surveyed or included in a study are likely to provide the most useful information  Non-probability sampling is a frequent key tool for qualitative research that focuses on nonnumerical data to generate insights and conclusions.

So if it is not as rigorous or reliable, does using non-probability sampling make sense? In certain circumstances, the answer to that question is yes. Non-probability sampling can be especially useful for exploratory studies like a pilot survey (deploying a survey to a smaller sample compared to pre-determined sample size). Further, it is often used in situations in which random probability sampling would be difficult or impossible due to time limits, cost constraints, or other challenges.

Quota sampling

Quota sampling can deliver representative results that help your organization make strong data-driven decisions when you need to know more about a specific subset of your target population and don’t have a big budget. 

This method is a nonprobability sampling method in which researchers create a sample involving individuals that represent a specific population. With quota sampling, you can make sure your survey results closely resemble your target population. That way, you’ll get results you can really use. Quota sampling carries similar risk-reward as nonprobability sampling, but it is a very effective way to capture actionable data and insights from a specific audience.

What is representative sample size?

If your sample is too big, your survey and the ensuing analysis can become complex, expensive and time-consuming. In a perfect world, properly conducting a larger survey and getting a higher percentage of responses increases the accuracy and certainty of the resulting data. Yet those added benefits typically aren’t worth the risks presented by taking on a costly, time-devouring and unwieldy survey. More often, representative sampling offers a faster, easier, and accessible way to get valid and statistically significant results.

If your sample is too small, you're more likely to get results that are not statistically significant. For instance, you may end up including a disproportionate number of individuals who are outliers, or not representative of the larger group. This can skew your results and lead to flawed or incomplete data, and, ultimately, poor decisions.So, your aim should always be to find the ‘just right’ representative sample size. When your sample is the right size, it allows for time and cost efficiency while also giving you reliable representative sample statistics. SurveyMonkey makes it easy for you to determine the right sample size with its sample size calculator. By using this simple tool, you can quickly determine your representative sample.

Beware of sampling bias

Sampling bias can occur when some members of a population are systematically more likely to be selected in a sample than others. When you hear controversy over the validity of certain political polls, it often focuses on potential sampling bias in which the pollster ends up polling too many individuals who have a particular political leaning.

Sampling bias may get you results that look favorable or support a preferred theory, idea or effort. Yet if those results are skewed and don’t reflect reality, you can end up making poor decisions or harming your organization’s reputation—and potentially yours, as well.

The best way to avoid sampling bias is to conduct simple random sampling, in which samples are chosen strictly by chance. This provides equal odds for every member of the population to be chosen as a participant in your study. If you're going to do nonprobability sampling in which participants are selected based on judgment, be sure that those involved have experience, credibility, and awareness of the need to avoid sampling bias that would taint results and conclusions.

It’s all but impossible to avoid some element of sampling bias in surveys that rely on representative sampling. For instance, people who are extremely busy tend to participate less in surveys. As a result, surveys often don’t fully capture the perspectives from really busy people, meaning the super busy are often underrepresented.

Looking for more ways to reduce bias? SurveyMonkey’s market research survey templates include a variety of question types to help your respondents answer more truthfully. 

Why is obtaining a representative sample important?

Representative samples are important because they ensure that as many relevant types of people as possible are included in your sample, and that the right mix of people are interviewed or surveyed. This helps ensure your results aren’t tainted by bias. It also helps guard against overrepresenting certain groups.

Representative samples provide the following benefits:

  • Proven accuracy: Because representative sampling methods are established and recognized across scientific, academic and market research, you can be confident that your results are credible and statistically significant.  
  • Ease and efficiency: Representative sampling makes it easier to conduct market research. It allows you to get accurate results and gain actionable insights without busting your budget or chewing up all of your time.
  • Credibility: This method can help assure that data and recommendations you're sharing with senior leaders or relevant audiences are valid and justified.
  • Actionable results: Representative sampling allows you to efficiently take deeper dives into specific segments of your audience—and make comparisons and draw conclusions based on your analysis. This, in turn, can serve as a strong foundation for your customer experience program. You can make data-driven decisions, connect more effectively with your most engaged audiences and find ways to reach customers who don’t feel as much love for your company’s products or services.

Start making the most of representative sampling

Representative sampling can be a key element of getting the most out of surveys by generating useful data and insights to support your market research, customer experience, and other business goals.

Check out SurveyMonkey’s Market Research Solutions for help when you conduct surveys using representative samples. Looking to identify a representative sample? SurveyMonkey’s Audience Calculator makes the process quick and easy.

Get started with your market research

Global survey panel

Collect market research data by sending your survey to a representative sample

Research services

Get help with your market research project by working with our expert research team

Expert solutions

Test creative or product concepts using an automated approach to analysis and reporting

To read more market research resources, visit our Sitemap.