產品

SurveyMonkey 能滿足各種使用案例和需求。歡迎探索我們的產品,瞭解 SurveyMonkey 能為您提供什麼協助。

從全球首屈一指的線上調查問卷中,獲取以資料為導向的深入分析。

可與超過 100 款應用程式和外掛程式整合,讓您事半功倍。

建立並自訂線上表單,以收集資訊和付款方式。

利用內建的 AI 打造更優質的調查問卷並快速獲得獨到見解。

依實際需求量身打造解決方案,滿足您所有的市場研究需求。

範本

測量客戶對貴公司的滿意度和忠誠度。

瞭解如何讓客戶滿意,使他們成為您忠實的擁護者。

取得可化為實際行動的深入解析,以改善使用者的體驗。

向潛在客戶、受邀人等對象收集聯絡資訊。

輕鬆收集並追蹤活動邀請回函。

瞭解參加者的需要,使下一場活動更成功。

發掘能提升員工參與度並改善績效的深入解析。

瞭解與會者的想法和意見,把下一場會議辦得更好。

運用同儕意見回饋來協助員工改善績效。

打造更好的課程並改善教學方法。

瞭解學生對課程資料和教學狀況的評價。

瞭解客戶對您的新產品構想有何看法。

相關資源

使用調查問卷和調查資料的最佳實務

有關問卷調查、給企業的訣竅及其他主題的內容,都在我們的部落格。

SurveyMonkey 的使用教學與指南。

頂尖品牌如何透過 SurveyMonkey 推動成長。

探索型研究是什麼?(以及四種運用方式!)

挑選您要鎖定的目標受眾,幾分鐘內立刻獲取深入解析。

想像一下,假設您打算開發某個新產品,但不知道消費者會不會有興趣;或者產品已經開發完成,而您想知道市場上是否有競爭者、誰是競爭者。您可能會問,要怎麼進行這種研究呢?要如何知道該問什麼樣的問題呢?

答案就是探索型研究,這類研究專門被用來深入瞭解某個難題或議題、釐清或定義問題所在,或將某個點子化約為具體的研究題目。如果想進一步認識探索型研究、如何進行,以及研究方法,請繼續閱讀下去。

探索型研究是研究者用來全面瞭解一項議題的工具。通常研究人員會先進行探索型研究,才收集大量回覆做量化統計。

做探索型研究是為了深入瞭解一項未被明確定義、未被徹底研究,或很少有人去理解的問題。這種研究也經常被稱做扎根理論研究或詮釋型研究,因為它不能用來獲得結論性的結果,但卻能用來一點一滴廣泛收集資訊、建立基礎,以期在將來變成更具體的研究主題。探索型研究所揭示的資訊,有助於為往後的調查工作發展研究假設和研究問題,並為您縮小需要的資料範圍。正因如此,若要使探索性研究發揮最大效用,您必須心胸開放,勇於改變,不執著於任何一種研究方法或方向。

換一個方式想:當您詢問封閉式問題 (例如:選擇題) 的時候,您列出的答案選項必須涵蓋所有的可能性。 

強迫受訪者從不詳盡的答案選項中做選擇是代理資訊偏差 (對研究十分不利的一種偏誤) 的主要肇因。當然,您可以加上「其他,請進一步說明:」來收集預期外的答案,但用這種方式獲得的資料並無統計上的一致性,如此一來也就喪失封閉式問題的最大優勢。

除此之外,如果沒有用探索型研究來引導調查問卷的設計和問題的建構,您的整個研究方向都可能出錯。舉例來說,假設我們想要建立一份餐廳意見調查問卷,目標是要找出我們餐廳的弱點,以進一步改善。我們可能會決定讓受訪者評估他們對我們餐廳的客戶服務、菜單豐富度,集食物品質的滿意度。這些項目看起來似乎已相當充足,但如果有一大部分的受訪者其實對餐廳的氛圍或地點最不滿意,那我們就收集不到那些資訊了。

  1. 當問題還在早期階段。如果您還未確切掌握某個問題的來源或樣貌,甚至還不確定該議題是否值得進一步研究,您可以考慮進行探索型研究。例如,假設您不確定某個產品為什麼賣得不好,可以先做用初步的探索型研究找到銷售成績差的幾個潛在原因,然後再針對特定目標受眾,用更進一步的探索型研究深入比較這些不同原因之間的相對重要性。
  2. 當您要研究的議題很新,且資料收集不易。假設您想研究如何為一個新產品或服務定價,最常見的方法可能是瞭解市面上類似商品的價格,以之為準則。但是,如果您的產品是市面上前所未見的新發明呢?在這種情況下,您可以用探索型研究作為第一步,先瞭解客戶可能願意支付的價格,或他們覺得這項產品有多少價值。之後,您可再用更具體的方式 (如 Van Westendorp 價格敏感度測試),進一步定出最理想的價格。 
  3. 為了提出正式的假設。如果您想做假設檢驗,但不確定要如何提出假設,探索型研究提供的初步資訊可以協助您做預測,以凝聚研究焦點。

為了進一步認識探索型研究,讓我們來看看這類研究的幾個關鍵特點:

無特定結構。探索型研究鮮少使用像封閉式問題這種有系統性或標準化的資料收集工具,那是因為這類資料收集方式會限制所收集到的資料性質。反之,非結構式的研究方法 (如使用開放式問題) 有助於探索一個議題的各個維度,讓您有機會發現預期之外的全新資訊。

成本低、互動多。探索型研究的方法通常不會花很多錢,而且執行起來也不難。此外,它讓研究人員有機會與研究對象 (受訪者) 進行高度互動,促使後者願意提供較深度的資訊。

可能會很耗時。由於探索型研究的目的是尋找全新的見解或深度的資訊,因此可能會相當耗時。其中最花時間的一項工作就是尋找適合的人來參加研究,並且讓他們分享出您真正需要的資訊。如果您打算使用調查問卷,SurveyMonkey Audience 能在幾分鐘之內就為您選出最適當的研究對象。 

選好您的調查問卷受訪群,幾分鐘內就能收到回覆,免去數個月的漫長等待。

重點是「什麼」,而不是「為什麼」。探索型研究回答的是「問題點在哪?目的是什麼?」它不能解釋現象 (那是解釋型研究的範疇),但可以讓您看清某個現象。

通常是定性的,偶爾是定量的。由於探索型研究通常不會使用標準化的方法,因此獲得的結果通常是定性的。不過,在部份情況下,研究人員也可能透過調查問卷或利用實驗,收集到較大樣本的定量資料。

是研究過程的第一步。一般來說,需要做探索型研究,就是因為沒有現存的相關研究結果可供參考,或現存的研究結果無法精準回答您的問題。因此,探索型研究通常是漫長研究旅程的第一步,而後面通常會接著做解釋型研究或其他使用結構化工具收集資料的研究。您也應該找幾個理論來解釋探索型研究的發現,這樣才比較容易評估資料並進行往後的研究。

程序上無規則。探索型研究的執行方式沒有硬性規定。只要研究本身有重要性和價值,您可以用任何方法收集資料。關鍵在於研究人員在執行這類研究時,必須保持機動、務實,並且隨時願意接納新觀點。

探索型研究若運用得當,應能夠提供豐富而優質的資訊,幫助您辨別出研究主題中最需要被解決的主要問題,並大幅降低研究計劃的偏差度。本文將用接下來的篇幅介紹研究人員可用哪些方法,把探索型研究納入自己的研究專案中。

初級研究可能是研究人員本人或委託他人代為執行的研究,旨在尋找值得深入研究的特定問題。讓我們來看看幾個運用初級研究方法進行探索型研究的具體策略。 

焦點小組通常是由 8 到 12 名符合特定族群描述的樣本所組成,研究人員會拿一些與研究主題相關的具體問題來詢問他們的意見。有時,焦點小組的主持人也會要求成員做出互動式的行為,並且要求他們對所提供的答案提出進一步解釋。實際活動安排會視研究性質而定,例如速食連鎖店可能會讓成員試吃,而拒菸宣導組織可能會讓成員觀看拒菸廣告等等。

焦點小組能幫助研究人員有效掌握目標對象對於特定議題的一般立場,因此一直都是探索型研究最常用的方法之一。透過焦點小組這種開放而自然的討論形式,研究人員能夠在短時間內認識到廣泛的觀點。

針對自己不熟悉的領域,我們可以利用專家問卷調查,向他們詢問必要資訊,或藉由聽他們暢談自己豐富的知識,大量收集與研究主題相關的內容。舉例來說,假設我的任務是調查一般大眾對於環境議題的立場和意識,我可以先對幾位環境權威人士做初步的專家調查。我可以問幾個比較廣的開放式問題,事先瞭解所謂的「環境議題」有哪些不同面向值得探討。

調查問卷中的開放式問題其實都具探索性質。當您容許受訪者自由寫下意見回饋,其實就等於為自己開拓一個機會,用他人的洞見來理解一個您未曾仔細思考過的主題。在調查問卷中加上開放式問題後,如果回覆數量又很大的話,調查結果的分析過程顯然會比較困難又耗時,但是這些資訊將提供您寶貴的意見並呈現重要的趨勢,成為將來研究工作的根基。

例如,假設我們架設了一個新網站,然後詢問訪客這道開放式問題:「您最希望我們的網站做哪些改善?」分析完回覆之後,我們發現以下這三項最多人提到的:

1) 網站的架構或動線

2) 資訊的品質

3) 視覺的呈現方式

我們接著便可以拿這三個主題來做為主要研究目標,設計新的調查,用封閉式問題把人們對這些議題的意見做量化統計。

探索具備引導式方法架構及 AI 深入解析的彈性解決方案,讓您快速看出有意義的趨勢。

觀察指的是實地觀察您要研究的主體或現象,過程中也可能會用上一些定性或定量的方法。這個方法通常不涉及與被觀察主體進行互動。舉例來說,假設您想要為一項新的零售商品設計陳列策略,您可能會到當地超級市場觀察購物者通常如何在各個走道和貨架間穿梭遊走。您可以記錄他們在每條走道花了多久時間 (定量方法),或記錄他們行進的路線方向 (定性方法)。 根據您觀察到的現象,您也可能再發展出進一步的研究。

次級研究是分析現存的數據資料,這些資料可能是自然產生 (如某特定產品在 eBay 上的賣出價格歷史記錄),也可能是別人或別的單位為了不同目的所收集來的。 

要想出一個從來沒有人做過任何研究的全新題目,其實幾乎不可能。此外,設計調查研究計畫時,有時候自己埋頭苦思其實多此一舉。對所有研究來說,回顧類似文獻並從中學習,幾乎是百益而無一害。您可以參考自己的組織先前做過的研究,這麼做應該能帶給您更明確的研究方向和目標。舉例來說,假設您正要進行第二次的年度客戶意見調查,您可以回顧去年的調查結果,找出哪幾道問題產生了最有用的資訊,然後把它們放進新的問卷中再次使用。

參考外部的次級研究也可能讓您的研究設計更精進。除了回顧其他組織的研究計劃以外,您也透過社交媒體平台 (如部落格、論壇等) 上的貼文和留言,深入瞭解與您研究主題相關的議題、意見和行為。次級研究的重要來源包括:

  • 聯合資料來源,如專門提供零售或市場資訊的機構
  • 特定組織針對特定議題所做的案例研究
  • 相關領域的商業報導
  • 報章雜誌
  • 政府單位,包括如世界銀行這類的跨政府機構

文獻研究是從教科書、期刊、雜誌等這類已發表的資料來源收集資料,這些可能是紙本書籍,也可能是您從網路上找到的資訊。舉例來說,如果您想要為公司提出永續宣言,您可以參考同產業中其他公司發表的年度報告,這些資料通常都會公開在網路上。

其他線上資料來源包括統計資訊網站、競爭對手的網站,以及社交媒體平台 (潛在顧客很可能會在網路上討論您的產品或其他相關產品)。線上研究是最不耗資金又最簡單的研究方式。 

執行探索型研究有許多不同的方法,但我們建議您可大致按照以下三個階段進行:

首先,找出您想解決的問題,或您想要解釋的研究問題。請記得,這個問題不需要太具體。探索型研究的目標不在於回答具體的問題,而是在於獲得知識和洞見。

在您執行完研究之後,用您的發現來提出假設。例如,假若您想瞭解客戶對您的產品和競爭對手的產品有何不同觀感和認知,您可能會需要先用探索型研究判斷出市面上那些產品被客戶認為是您的主要對手,然後再針對客戶的喜好提出假設。

最後,根據前一步獲得的洞見做後續研究。在上述的例子中,為了測試您的假設,您可能會設計一份市場研究調查問卷,來瞭解客戶對不同產品的認知。

探索型研究有許多優點。 

  • 彈性化。彈性化是探索型研究的一大優勢,因為研究人員可以隨時根據收集到的資訊和洞見,調整研究方向和方法。
  • 成本低。探索型研究沒有標準的工具或流程,因此也是成本較低的研究方法之一。
  • 具洞察力。探索型研究旨在為某個題目立下研究基礎,將來可以從中衍伸出進一步的研究。
  • 穩當的投資。它能幫助您在研究早期先深入探究該主題是否確實值得您投資時間和資源。

不過,任何一種研究都有缺點。 

  • 經常不會有結論。很多時候,研究人員會因為無法從探索型研究中獲得結論而感到懊惱,不過,別忘了探索型研究不應該被用來尋求絕對的答案。它的主要目的是協助您定義出您的研究方向。
  • 主觀性強。由於探索型研究收集的資料通常屬於定性資料,而定性資料的詮釋會比較主觀,且帶有一定的批判和偏見,因此難以保持客觀。
  • 樣本數量少。大部分的情況下,探索型研究的樣本數量比較少,因此研究結果可能無法準確代表整個母體。

現在您已經對探索型研究有基本瞭解,也知道其用途和執行方式了如果您也有想要研究的問題,SurveyMonkey Audience 可為您籌組研究小組,短時間內就能為您收集到回覆。立即開始進行

客戶滿意度調查問卷範本

從眾多的客戶滿意度調查問卷範本中隨意挑選,既節省時間又能獲得靈感。馬上就開始收集您需要的意見回饋。

瞭解 Box 如何運用客戶資料,以增強團隊能力

探索 Box 如何使用 SurveyMonkey 建立 360 度的客戶歷程視角,並在同一處收集意見反應。

透過客戶的成功故事和見證心得,提升品牌知名度

直接擷取客戶的故事與見證,並將意見回饋轉化為個案研究、使用心得和評論,為業績和行銷提供助力。

如何用 CSAT 衡量客戶滿意度

測量客戶的滿意度有助於企業邁向成功。瞭解如何藉由 CSAT 調查問卷測量客戶滿意度。

SurveyMonkey Logo
Plans & Pricing

Exploratory research: what is it? (And 4 ways to implement it into your research!)

Pick your target audience and gather insights—in minutes.

Imagine you’re considering developing a new product and want to find out whether there’s any interest in it. Or, your product is already developed, and you want to find out whether there are any existing competitors (and who they are!). How would you start with research like this? How would you even know what kinds of questions to ask?

The answer is exploratory research, which is research undertaken to gain a better understanding of a problem or issue, to clarify or define parameters of the problem, or to refine a general idea into a more specific research problem. Read on to learn more about exploratory research, how to conduct it, and the research methods used to perform it. 

What is exploratory research?

Exploratory research is the researcher’s tool to understand an issue more thoroughly, before attempting to quantify mass responses into statistically inferable data.

Exploratory research is research conducted to investigate a problem that is not clearly defined, has been under-investigated, or is otherwise poorly understood. Often described as grounded theory research, or interpretive research, the approach is not designed to derive conclusive results, but rather to glean insights that can form the foundation of future, more specific research. Using the revelations provided through exploratory research, you can develop research hypotheses and questions for future investigation, and narrow down the data that you need. For this reason, for exploratory research to be of the best use, you will need to adopt an open mind, and be willing to change your research approach and directions accordingly.

Look at it this way, when you ask a closed-ended question (ex: multiple choice) your list of options should be exhaustive to any possible answer a respondent may have. 

Forcing respondents to pick between the options the researcher comes up with off the top of their head is one of the leading causes of surrogate information bias (a nasty form of researcher bias). Adding an “Other, please specify:” option may help pick up any outside answers, but its answers probably won’t be statistically useful and therefore defeat the purpose of using a closed-ended question.

Furthermore, without using exploratory research to guide the survey design and question building process, your entire research goal may be heading in the wrong direction. Let’s say we are creating a restaurant feedback survey with the end goal of identifying and improving upon our restaurant’s weak points. We may decide to make respondents rate their level of happiness with our restaurant’s customer service, menu selection, and food quality. Though this list may seem extensive to us, it is completely possible for a significant portion of respondents to be most dissatisfied with ulterior issues like the restaurant’s atmosphere or location.

  1. When problems are in their preliminary stages. If you haven’t yet quite gotten a handle on a problem, or are not even sure whether an issue is worthy of detailed research, consider an exploratory approach. For instance, if you’re unsure why a certain product isn’t selling, you could first perform some preliminary exploratory research into possible reasons for poor sales before conducting deeper, explanatory research that compares the relative importance of different factors among a target audience.
  2. When the issue being investigated is new and it is difficult to gather data. Imagine you want to conduct research on how to price a new product or service. A common approach might be to look at how competitors are pricing comparable goods and to use that information as a guideline. But, what if your product is brand new, innovative and never before seen on the market? In cases like this, exploratory research can be used as a starting point to capture insights into things like the prices that customers might be willing to pay, or their perceptions of the value of the product. You then might use a more specific procedure like a Van Westendorp Price Sensitivity Meter to further narrow down the optimal price. 
  3. To generate formal hypotheses. If you want to do some hypothesis testing, but aren’t quite sure how to formulate your hypothesis, exploratory research can help you to narrow your focus, by giving you preliminary insight that be used to generate predictions and expectations.

Characteristics of exploratory research 

To better understand what exploratory research is, let’s take a look at some of its key characteristics:

Unstructured in nature. Exploratory research rarely uses structured or standardized data collection tools like closed-ended surveys. That’s because those forms of data collection restrict the nature of the data to be collected. A more unstructured approach, for example involving open-ended questions, will facilitate the exploration of different dimensions of interest, and allow you to find out novel information you might not have expected to learn.

Low cost and interactive. Exploratory research methods tend to be cheap, and simple to carry out. At the same time, they facilitate a high degree of interactivity between the researcher and the research subjects or participants though prompting or motivation them to provide in-depth information.

May be time consuming. Since exploratory research is looking for new insights, or depth of information, it may be time consuming. One of the most time consuming aspects involves finding the right people to take part in the research and motivating them to share the level of insight you’re looking for. If you’re planning to use a survey, SurveyMonkey Audience can construct a suitable audience in a matter of minutes. 

Millions of people are ready to tell you what they think—quickly
Put together your survey panel, then get the insights you need in minutes—not months.
Get an estimate

Focuses on the what rather than the why. Exploratory research enables you to answer questions like “what is the problem? What is the purpose?”. It does not seek to explain phenomena (that is the main purpose of explanatory research), but rather to elucidate them.

Usually qualitative, but sometimes quantitative. Since standardized approaches tend not to be used, exploratory research is often qualitative in nature. However, in some cases, quantitative data can be gathered and generalized for a larger sample through use of surveys and experiments.

The first stage in the process. Generally, there is no prior research done or the existing research that has been carried out does not answer the problem precisely enough. Therefore, exploratory research is usually the first step in a longer research journey. Usually, exploratory research is followed up with explanatory research or research involving more structured tools of data collection. Exploratory research should also have a few theories which can support its findings as that will make it easier for you to evaluate the findings and move ahead with further research.

Has no processual rules. There are no hard and fast rules to carrying out exploratory research. As long as the research has importance or value, any approach, or combination of approaches can be used to gather the data. What is crucial is that you are flexible, pragmatic and open-minded when carrying out this kind of research. 

Types and methodologies of exploratory research 

Used properly, exploratory research will provide rich quality information that will help identify the main issues that should be addressed in our surveys and significantly reduce a research project’s level of bias. For the rest of the article, we’ll go over the different ways people can incorporate exploratory research in their projects.

Primary research methods

Primary research is research carried out by you, the researcher, or someone working on your behalf, to explore a certain problem which requires an in-depth study. Let’s take a look at some of the specific strategies you can use to carry out exploratory research using primary research methods. 

Focus groups

A focus group most commonly contains 8 to 12 people fitting the description of the target sample group and asks them specific questions on the issues and subjects being researched. Sometimes, focus groups will also host interactive exercises during the session and request feedback on what was given. This depends on what is being researched, like a food sampling for a fast food chain or maybe a presentation of potential advertisements for an anti-smoking campaign.

Focus groups continue to be one of the most common uses of exploratory research, providing researchers with a great foundation on where people stand on an issue. The open and natural discussion format of a focus group allows for a wider variety of perspectives in a shorter period of time.

Surveys 

Expert surveys allow us to gain information from specialists in a field that we are less qualified to understand, or to gather large amounts of content, while providing the freedom for the experts to demonstrate their knowledge. For example, if I was tasked with surveying the public’s stance and awareness on environmental issues, I could create a preliminary expert survey for a selected group of environmental authorities. It would ask broad open-ended questions that are designed to examine different sides of the issues.

Open-ended questions

All open-ended questions in your survey are exploratory in nature. The mere fact that you allow respondents to provide any feedback they please, gives you the opportunity to gain insights on topics you haven’t previously thought of. Adding a few open-ended questions in surveys with large amounts of respondents can be somewhat difficult and time-consuming to sort through, but it can indicate important trends and opinions for further research.

For example, let’s say we own a news website and asked our visitors the open-ended question, ‘What would you like to see improved most on our website?’ After analyzing the responses, we identify the top three discussed areas:

1) Navigation

2) Quality of Information

3) Visual Displays

We can then use these three topics as our main focus or research objectives for a new survey that will look to statistically quantify people’s issues with the website with closed-ended questions.

Keep pace with your markets with an AI-Powered solution
Explore flexible solutions that incorporate guided methodologies and AI-Powered Insights to uncover meaningful trends, quickly.
Get started

Observations

Observation means observing subjects or a research phenomenon of interest in the field, and may involve the use of qualitative or quantitative methods, or both. There is usually no direct interaction with the subject. For example, if you are trying to develop a placement strategy for a new retail product, you might observe the way that shoppers interact with the aisles and shelves at a local supermarket. You could count how long they spend in each aisle (a quantitative approach), or take notes on the direction they take when walking around the store (a qualitative approach).  Based on your observations, you might then develop some follow-up research.

Secondary research methods

Secondary research involves the analysis of data that is already in existence, either through being naturally generated (such as historical sold prices of a certain item on eBay), or having been collected by another individual or institution for a different purpose. 

It is almost impossible to come up with a research topic that hasn’t been conducted before. Beyond this, when it comes to designing your survey and research plan, it is usually best not to reinvent the wheel. All research strategies can benefit from reviewing similar studies taken and learning from their results. Consider your organization’s previous research as free direction on how you should design your present research goals. For example, if you are running your second annual customer feedback survey, look at the questions that were provided the most useful information and reuse them in your new survey.

External secondary research can also help you perfect your research design. Beyond reviewing other organizations’ research projects, social media like blogs and forums can give you a better sense of the issues, opinions and behaviors that go along with your research’s subject matter. Key sources of secondary research include:

  • Syndicated data sources like agencies that provide retailer and market information
  • Case studies of specific organizations or issues
  • Business journals in the relevant field
  • Newspapers
  • Government agencies, including intergovernmental agencies like the World Bank

Literature research

Literature research is the process of gathering data from published sources like textbooks, journals, magazines, and the like. This information might be available in hard copy, or you may be able to conduct your research through the Internet. For example, if you want to develop your own sustainability statement, you might gather the annual reports of a few businesses operating in your industry as these reports are usually readily available online.

Online research

Other online sources of information include statistical information, the websites of competitors, and social media platforms, where prospective customers might be talking about your products or those like it. Online research sources are the cheapest and easiest method of research. 

Steps to conduct exploratory research

While there are several different methods for undertaking exploratory research, we recommend the following broad, three-phased approach:

Identify the problem

First, identify the problem you are trying to solve, or the research question you want to address. Remember: this doesn’t need to be very specific. Exploratory research is not about specifics, but more about generating knowledge and insight.

Create the hypothesis 

After you have conducted your research, use the findings to create a hypothesis. For instance, if you’re interested in learning how customers perceive your product relative to competitors’, you might first conduct some exploratory research to identify the products that customers view as rivaling yours, and then develop a hypothesis about customers’ preferences for yours versus those goods.

Conduct further research

Finally, conduct follow-up research based on the insights gleaned earlier. In our above example, you might develop a market research survey on customers’ perceptions of the various products in order to test your hypothesis. 

Advantages and disadvantages of exploratory research

Exploratory research has many advantages. 

Advantages 

  • Flexible. The flexibility of exploratory research is a huge advantage, since you can change direction and approach depending on the insights you pick up on the way.
  • Low cost. There are no standard tools or processes for conducting exploratory research, which makes it one of the lower cost approaches to research.
  • Insightful. Exploratory research helps lay the foundation of investigation, which can lead to further research.
  • Sound investment. It also helps you to understand at an early stage if the topic is worth investing the time and resources.

As with all kinds of research, there are also disadvantages. 

Disadvantages

  • Often inconclusive. Oftentimes, researchers are frustrated with exploratory research because they don’t reach firm conclusions. However, remember that exploratory research should never be pursued when looking for definite answers. The main purpose of exploratory research is to help you define what you should be looking for.
  • Subjective. Since qualitative data is often gathered, objectivity may not be possible, because the interpretation of qualitative data can be subjective, judgmental, and biased.
  • Small sample sizes. Most of the time, exploratory research involves a smaller sample, hence the results cannot be accurately interpreted for a generalized population.

Craft a research panel for exploratory research

So now you know what exploratory research is, what is used for, and how to conduct it. Have a research question or two ready to go? SurveyMonkey Audience can craft a research panel to help you address them in just a flash. Get started today.

See how SurveyMonkey can power your curiosity