影響員工士氣的因素有哪些?

人力資源專業人士都知道,想要讓公司的勞動團隊保持愉快、高效又穩定,員工士氣有多麼重要。但是,要如何提升公司員工的士氣呢?SurveyMonkey 最近進行了一項研究,想知道哪些因素會影響員工士氣。我們把人力資源專員和其他部門的員工當做研究對象,透過這兩個群體且跨世代研究的結果,我們得到了一些可能令人大開眼界的答案。

 1. 在工作與生活之間取得滿足的平衡

根據我們的調查,在工作與生活之間取得滿足的平衡對兩個群體來說都是最重要的職場要素,其中 53% 的受訪職員認為這點「極為重要」,而 60% 的人力資源職員對此表示同意。要讓公司員工能在工作與生活之間取得滿足的平衡,可以參考以下建議:

  • 提供彈性的工作時間。彈性的工作時間對員工在選擇工作和是否留職這兩方面都有重大影響。事實上,它被千禧世代、X 世代和嬰兒潮世代列為最重要的工作福利。有超過一半的職員表示他們會願意為了彈性工時而換工作。
  • 允許員工遠端工作。將此列為第二重要福利的各個世代員工比例為:X 世代 32%,嬰兒潮世代 31%,千禧世代 25%。
  • 提供休假。員工總會需要休息或度假、請病假和處理私人事務。暫時離開工作崗位也可以減輕壓力、促進健康,讓員工更快樂、生產力更高

2. 有意義的工作內容

現代員工將「有意義的工作內容」列為職場中第二重要的要素。人力資源專員則將其排在第 12 名。這表示人力資源部門需要重新思考他們招募新員工及讓現有員工滿意的方法。給予員工有意義的工作內容還有其他好處:我們發現,具備強烈目標意識和重視價值的公司,通常都有比較積極的工作文化和較低的員工倦怠率。資料顯示:

  • 在認為自己的工作有意義的員工當中,有 96% 在過去 6 個月內從未經歷過工作倦怠,而在認為自己的工作沒意義的員工當中,卻有 75% 經歷過。
  • 在對自身工作感到自豪的職員裡,有 93% 在過去 6 個月內從未經歷過工作倦怠,而在對自身工作不感到自豪的職員裡,卻有 80% 經歷過。

3. 職場福利

大多數的人力資源職員將職場福利列為影響員工士氣的第二重要因素,而其他職員則將其列為第三。這表示在考慮要換工作或留任現職時,雇主給的福利都很重要。根據員工福利研究所的調查顯示:

  • 健康保險是最重要的。在 2015 年和 2016 年的調查中,有64%的人將此福利列為第一,而 2014 年則有 65% 的人將該福利列為第一。
  • 退休儲蓄計劃位居第二。2016 年有 45% 而 2014 年和 2015 年均有 40% 的人將其列為第二。
  • 牙齒和/或視力保健則排在第三位。員工將這些福利的重要性排在第三位,其中 2016 年有 37% 的人認為它們「極為重要」,2015 年有 33%,2014 年則有 30%。

4. 薪酬津貼

關於這點,人力資源專員和其他員工皆將其擺在第四位,其中有 54% 的人力資源職員和 42% 的其他員工將其視為「極為重要」。然而,整體上來說,薪水高低為是否接受新工作最重要的因素,其中 X 世代有 33% 而嬰兒潮世代有 34% 將其列為第一位。只有千禧世代將其排在第二名 (有 28% 的人認為最重要),而第一名為職涯發展機會 (有 36% 的人認為最重要)。

5. 意見受到重視

在接受調查的員工中,這項因素的重要性被排在第五位,有 39% 的員工將其列為「極為重要」。對於人力資源專員來說,它位居第三,有 56% 的人認為它「極為重要」。雖然現今的職員確實希望能在工作上發表意見,但前述其他因素目前對他們面對工作的態度影響更大。

6. 晉升展望

人力資源專員將其列為第五重要,其中有 52% 的人認為它「極為重要」;但它在員工整體排名為第 13 名,只有 27% 的員工覺得它「極為重要」。這顯示出在保留現有員工和僱用新員工的時候,人力資源部門還需要考量其他因素。

如果您有意願提升員工士氣,就一定得瞭解各個因素對您的員工影響多大。我們的調查結果能提供您很好的參考點,但還是建議您為您的員工打造專屬的調查問卷,以準確評估影響貴公司員工士氣最重要的因素。只要您願意聆聽員工的心聲,且根據回饋意見採取行動,就一定能成功提升員工士氣,並讓貴公司成為令人嚮往的企業。

不知道如何開始嗎?歡迎看看我們的員工調查問卷範本,從中尋找適合的調查問卷問題。

讓 SurveyMonkey 滿足您的好奇心

What influences employee morale?

Human Resource professionals understand how important employee morale is to having a happy, productive, and stable workforce. But how do you go about improving employee morale at your company? Here at SurveyMonkey, we recently conducted a study on the factors that influence employee morale for HR professionals and employees in other departments. By examining the results of these two groups across generations, we came up with some answers that may be eye-opening.

 1. Satisfactory work-life balance

In our survey, a satisfactory work-life balance came out as the most important workplace element for both groups, with 53% of surveyed workers considering it extremely important and 60% of human resources employees agreeing. To ensure a satisfactory work-life balance at your organization, consider these tips:

  • Provide flexible schedules. Flexible scheduling can have a big impact on an employee’s decision to take a job and whether or not they choose to stay at a company. In fact, this ranks as the most important job perk among millennials, Generation-Xers, and baby boomers. And more than half of all employees say they would actually be willing to change jobs for flextime.
  • Allow employees to work remotely. Employees rank this as the second most important benefit across generations: 32% for Generation-Xers, 31% for baby boomers, and 25% for millennials.
  • Offer time off. Your workers need time off for vacations, sick days, and to manage personal issues. Time off from work lowers stress, increases health, and leads to happier, more productive employees.

2. Meaningful work

In the modern workplace, employees rank meaningful work as the second most important workplace element; HR representatives, on the other hand, rank it 12th. This indicates that Human Resource departments need to rethink their approach on soliciting new hires and keeping current employees happy. Giving your employees meaningful work has additional benefits as well. We’ve found that companies that offer a strong sense of purpose and a values-driven culture are more likely to have a positive work culture and a lower rate of employee burnout. Here’s what the data tells us:

  • 94% of employees who feel their work is meaningful have not experienced work burnout within the last 6 months, while 75% of those who don’t feel they have meaningful work have.
  • 93% of workers who feel proud of the work they do haven’t experienced work burnout within the last 6 months, while 80% of those who aren’t proud of the work they do have.

3. Workplace benefits

Most HR workers rank workplace benefits as the second most important element for influencing employee morale while workers rank it third. This shows that when considering whether to take a new job or stay at an existing one, employer benefits still matter a great deal. According to the Employee Benefit Research Institute:

  • Health insurance is most important. 64% of those surveyed in both 2015 and 2016 ranked this benefit first, while 65% did so in 2014.
  • Retirement savings plans come in second. Employees ranked this as second highest, at 45% in 2016 and 40% in both 2014 and 2015.
  • Dental and/or vision care comes in third. Employees ranked these benefits as third in importance, with 37% considering them extremely important in 2016, 33% in 2015, and 30% in 2014.

4. Compensation package

Here, employees and HR representatives agree, both placing the compensation package as fourth in importance, with 54% of HR and 42% of employees ranking it as extremely important. Salary however, ranks as the most important factor overall when accepting a new job, with 33% of Generation-Xers and 34% of baby boomers placing it first. Only millennials rank it second, at 28%, with opportunities for career growth coming in first for them at 36%.

5. A valued voice 

This came in fifth in importance among employees surveyed, with 39% ranking it as very important. For HR representatives, it came in third, with 56% ranking it as extremely important. While today’s workers do want to have a voice at work, the previous factors mentioned above are currently more important in shaping their attitude toward their job.

6. Path for advancement

Human Resource representatives clearly rank this fifth in importance, with 52% feeling it is extremely important. However, its overall rank among employees is 13th, with just 27% saying it is extremely important. This indicates that Human Resource staff need to consider other factors when it comes to keeping current employees and hiring new ones.

If you are interested in improving employee morale, understanding how these factors influence your employees at work is crucial. While our survey results provide a starting point, you may want to create your own survey to evaluate the specific factors that your employees feel have the most impact on their morale in the workplace. Listening and taking action on this feedback ultimately puts you in the best position possible for improving morale and making your organization a desirable place to work.

Need help getting started? Check out our employee survey templates and find the right questions to put in your questionnaire.