Belohnungen für Umfragen

Wie und warum eine Umfrageteilnahme belohnt wird

Haben Sie schon einmal an einer bezahlten Online-Umfrage oder an einer Befragung teilgenommen, für die Ihnen eine Gegenleistung angeboten wurde?

Diese Gegenleistung ist ein Anreiz dafür, dass Sie an der Umfrage teilnehmen. Wenn Sie Ihren Teilnehmern auf intelligente Weise eine Belohnung anbieten (im Wissen darum, wann und wie Sie dies tun sollten), kann Ihnen dies beim Erfassen weitaus zuverlässigerer Antwortoptionen helfen.

Vor- und Nachteile von Belohnungen

Das Anbieten von Belohnungen für die Teilnahme an Umfragen mag kinderleicht erscheinen. Wenn Sie den Menschen eine Belohnung für die Beantwortung einer Umfrage anbieten, werden sie mit weitaus höherer Wahrscheinlichkeit teilnehmen, als wenn ihnen nichts angeboten wird.

Bedenken Sie aber: Ihre Belohnung kann die falschen Teilnehmer anlocken. Angenommen, Sie betreiben einen Zoofachhandel und möchten wissen, welche Dinge Haustierbesitzern wichtig sind, wenn es um die Pflege ihres Haustiers geht. Wenn Sie nicht genau wissen, an wen Sie Ihre Umfrage senden, erreichen Sie womöglich Menschen, die zwar Ihre Belohnung haben möchten, aber gar keine Haustiere besitzen.

Indem Sie jedem, der an Ihrer Umfrage teilnimmt, eine Belohnung anbieten, kann dies „Satisfizierer“ ermutigen – Menschen, die sich falsch darstellen oder die Fragen im Schnelldurchlauf beantworten und damit Ihre Umfrageergebnisse entwerten – nur, weil es ihnen um die Belohnung geht.

Belohnungen anzubieten ist jedoch nicht immer schlecht. Belohnungen für Umfragen können helfen, schwer erreichbare Zielgruppen zu einer Teilnahme zu motivieren. Sie können Ihren Teilnehmern sogar indirekte Gegenleistungen anbieten, die einer dritten Partei zukommen, etwa einer gemeinnützige Organisation. Sehen Sie sich daher bei der Entscheidung für oder gegen eine Belohnung für die Teilnahme an Ihrer Umfrage die Umstände sehr genau an.

Belohnungen anbieten: Stellen Sie die wichtigen Fragen

Auch wenn Belohnungen für Umfragen Nachteile haben können, so steigern sie doch Ihre Beantwortungsraten. Bringen Sie vor der Entscheidung für eine Belohnung in Erfahrung, ob sie notwendig ist. Stellen Sie sich die folgenden Fragen:

Was ist meine Zielgruppe? Wenn Sie wissen, dass Sie Zugang zu den Personen haben, die an der Umfrage teilnehmen sollen (z. B. bestehende Kunden oder eine von einem Fachdienst wie SurveyMonkey Audience bereitgestellte Zielgruppe), müssen Sie sich wenig Gedanken darum machen, ob es zielführend ist, wenn Sie eine Belohnung anbieten. Die Antworten dieser Teilnehmer sind sehr wahrscheinlich relevant, und Sie können diese Zielgruppe zusätzlich dazu motivieren, an Ihrer Umfrage teilzunehmen. Wenn Sie Ihre Umfrage aber an völlig beliebige Personen versenden, sollten Sie etwa ein Angebot eines Geschenkgutscheins über 20 € für alle, die Ihre Fragen beantworten, sehr genau überdenken.

Welche Beziehung habe ich zu meinen Umfrageteilnehmern? Wenn Sie hoffen, Personen zu erreichen, die Ihr Produkt gekauft haben, kann es sinnvoll sein, solchen Teilnehmern eine Kleinigkeit anzubieten, um sie zu motivieren, sich die Zeit zu nehmen, Ihnen Feedback zum Produkt zu geben. Es ist jedoch eher nicht notwendig, eine Belohnung für eine Umfrage anzubieten, bei der Sie etwa Ihre Studenten bitten, Ihren Kurs zu bewerten, da eine solche von einer übergeordneten Autorität stammende Aufforderung höchstwahrscheinlich so oder so ernst genommen wird.

Interessieren sich meine Teilnehmer für mein Umfragethema? Wenn Sie eine Onlinebefragung an Personen in Ihrer Nachbarschaft senden, die an einem Treffen teilgenommen haben, bei dem es darum ging, ob im Viertel ein neues Kommunikationszentrum benötigt wird, dann müssen Sie diesen Personen nichts anbieten, um zu erreichen, dass sie an Ihrer Umfrage teilnehmen. Sie interessieren sich bereits für das Problem und müssen nicht dazu motiviert werden, ihre Meinung zu äußern.

Wie umfangreich ist meine Umfrage? Wie komplex sind meine Fragen? Eventuell möchten Sie Ihren Teilnehmern eine kleine Belohnung anbieten, wenn Sie sie bitten, eine 10-seitige Umfrage zu beantworten, deren Fragen etwas komplexer sind als die Frage nach dem Besitz eines Autos. Diese Belohnung zeigt, dass Sie die Bereitschaft, Ihrer Umfrage die nötige Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit zu widmen, wertschätzen.

Direkte Gegenleistungen

Nachdem Sie entschieden haben, ob Sie Ihren Teilnehmern eine direkte Gegenleistung wie eine Prämie, eine Geschenkkarte oder eine Gewinnspielteilnahme anbieten, müssen Sie die Methode auswählen, nach der Sie Ihre Teilnehmer belohnen möchten.

Wählen Sie eine Belohnung, die Ihren Teilnehmern mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit gefallen wird. Behalten Sie dabei stets das Budget im Auge, v. a. wenn jeder Teilnehmer eine Gegenleistung erhält (hierbei bietet sich die Nutzung der Option geschlossene Umfrage an, mit der das Erfassen von Antworten nach einer bestimmten Zeitspanne oder Anzahl an Beantwortungen eingestellt wird).

Einer der wichtigsten Aspekte beim Anbieten von Belohnungen für die Umfrageteilnahme besteht darin, dass dies juristisch einwandfrei erfolgen muss. Schreiben Sie Ihre Teilnahmebedingungen nieder und lassen Sie sie von einem Fachanwalt prüfen, damit Ihr Angebot absolut korrekt ist.

Erfahren Sie alles über das Schaffen von Anreizen für Umfragen, wenn Sie SurveyMonkey zum Erstellen und Senden von Online-Umfragen verwenden.

Indirekte Gegenleistungen statt bezahlte Umfragen

Mit Belohnungen für die Teilnahme an Umfragen lassen sich also die Beantwortungsraten steigern (toll!) – es können aber auch die falschen Personen zu einer Teilnahme motiviert werden (nicht so toll). Um die Anzahl der Personen gering zu halten, die an Ihrer Umfrage nur teilnehmen, um einen Preis zu erhalten, können Sie gegebenenfalls indirekte Gegenleistungen nutzen.

Wir wissen alles über indirekte Gegenleistungen, da sie die Grundlage unseres Umfragebeantwortungsservice SurveyMonkey Contribute bilden. Anstatt unsere Umfrageteilnehmer für ihre Teilnahme zu bezahlen, spenden wir jedes Mal, wenn sie eine Umfrage ausfüllen, 50 Cent an eine wohltätige Organisation ihrer Wahl. Dies verringert die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sie aus reinem Selbstinteresse durch Umfragen hetzen.

Wir erhalten Antworten. Die Teilnehmer spenden ihre Zeit. Und wohltätige Organisationen profitieren von ihrer Großzügigkeit. Das nennt man eine Win-Win-Win-Situation!

Starke Tools für Neugierige – SurveyMonkey

Survey Rewards

The how and why of incentivizing surveys.

Create a Survey Today

Have you ever taken a survey that offers you a reward at the end?

That reward is an incentive to get you to take the survey. When you’re smart about offering survey respondents a reward (by knowing when and how to do it) it can help you collect responses that are more reliable

The pros and cons of incentivizing

Incentivizing surveys may seem like a no-brainer. If you offer people a reward to take your survey, they’ll be even more likely to do so than if you offered them nothing at all.

But consider this: Your reward may be attracting the wrong kind of respondent. Imagine you run a pet store and you want to know what kinds of things pet owners value when it comes to their pet’s care. If you don’t know exactly who you’re sending your survey to, you may reach people who want your reward but don’t have pets.

By offering everybody a reward to take your survey, it can encourage satisficers—people who misrepresent themselves or rush through surveys to the detriment of your survey results—just to collect a reward.

However, incentivizing isn’t all bad. Offering survey rewards can help you encourage hard-to-reach audiences to take your survey. You can even offer indirect rewards to your respondents to benefit a third party, like a charity. Decide whether or not to incentivize your survey by carefully considering the circumstances.

Offering incentives: Ask the important questions

Although incentivizing surveys can have its drawbacks, it will increase your response rates. Before you decide to offer survey incentives, figure out if it’s necessary. Ask yourself the following questions:

What is my target population? If you know that you have access to people who you want to take your survey (for example, existing customers or a target demographic from an expert service like SurveyMonkey Audience) you may feel more comfortable offering an incentive. Those respondents’ answers are probably relevant–and you may want to give them extra encouragement to complete your survey. If you’re sending out your survey to just about anybody, you may want to rethink offering a $20 gift card to everybody who answers your questions.

What’s my relationship with my survey respondents? If you’re hoping to reach people who have purchased your product, it may be worth it to offer them a little something to encourage them to take the time to give you product feedback. However, you probably don’t need to incentivize your survey if you ask your students to evaluate your course–because they’re more likely to see that it comes from a place of authority (and they’ll take your survey more seriously).

Are my respondents interested in my survey topic? If you send out an online neighborhood questionnaire to people in your neighborhood who attended a local meeting on whether or not there should be a new community center nearby, you don’t need to offer them anything to take your survey. They’re already interested in the issue and don’t need any encouragement to share their opinions.

How long is my survey? How complex are my survey questions? You may want to offer your respondents a little something extra if you’re asking them to fill out a 10-page survey or a survey with questions that require more thought than “Do you own a car?” It shows you value their time–and appreciate their willingness to spend it on your survey.

Direct rewards

After you decide whether or not you’re going to offer your survey respondents a direct reward–like a prize, gift card, or sweepstakes entry–choose which method you’ll use to reward your survey respondents.

Choose rewards that are most likely to appeal to anybody responding to your survey. And don’t forget to keep your budget in mind, especially if you’re offering everybody a reward. (You may want to set up your close survey option to stop collecting responses after a defined period of time or number of responses.)

And one of the most important aspects of offering survey incentives is to get your legalese in order. Write up your legal terms and conditions, and run it by a trained legal professional to make sure your offer is on the up-and-up.

Learn all about how to incentivize surveys when you use SurveyMonkey to create and send online surveys.

Indirect rewards

So incentivizing surveys can increase response rates (great!)–but may encourage satisficing (not great). In order to cut down on people who only take your survey just to earn a prize, you may want to try using indirect rewards.

In fact, we know all about indirect rewards–it’s the basis of our survey response service, SurveyMonkey Contribute. Instead of paying our survey respondents to take our surveys, we donate 50 cents to the charity of their choice every time they fill one out. That way, they’re less likely to rush through surveys out of pure self-interest.

We get responses. They donate their time. And charitable causes benefit from their generosity. It’s a win-win-win!

You May Also Like:

Customer Satisfaction Survey Template

Want to know what your customers are saying about you? Customer satisfaction surveys can help you find out what people think of your company, get feedback on customer service, and more.

Visit Page

Employee Engagement Survey Template

When you listen to your employees, you can make decisions that build a happier workplace. Find out how employees really feel about their jobs. Get the feedback you need to keep them happy.

Visit Page

Event Planning Survey Template

Organizing an event is tough work. Who’s coming? What’s their schedule? Event surveys can give you a clearer picture. When you’re done, get post-event feedback to improve for next time.

Visit Page

3 quick tips to improve survey response rates

Here are some ideas to ensure that respondents will answer your surveys.

1. Be quick

If your survey is short and sweet, there's a greater chance that more respondents will complete it.

2. Offer incentives

Little incentives like small discount or an entry into a drawing can help ensure respondents complete your survey.

3. Buy a targeted audience

With SurveyMonkey Audience, you can purchase access to an audience who meets specific demographic criteria for your survey. It's a great way to get targeted responses from a specific group.

Why do 25+ million people use SurveyMonkey?

Free

Send an unlimited amount of surveys and polls with our FREE plan

Easy to Use

Create and monitor your survey directly over the Internet - we've made it easy to get started, learn and use.

Intuitive Design

There's no need to be a programmer or an engineer - if you can check email or use Facebook, then you can use SurveyMonkey.

Real Time Results

You can view your data as it comes in, keeping it to yourself or allowing others to see it.

Trustworthy & Experienced

SurveyMonkey has helped over 20 million satisfied customers gather information online.

Expands with Your Needs

SurveyMonkey PRO plans enhance your ability to gather & interpret information with advanced analytics and more.