Récompenses en fin de sondages

Pourquoi et comment rémunérer les participants aux sondages

Avez-vous déjà participé à un sondage avec une récompense à la clé ?

Lorsqu'elles sont utilisées à bon escient et au bon moment, les récompenses représentent un puissant levier pour inciter les participants à répondre à votre sondage et peuvent vous aider à obtenir des réponses plus fiables.

Avantages et inconvénients des sondages rémunérés

La stratégie d'offrir une récompense en fin de sondage peut sembler tout à fait logique : les participants seront plus enclins à répondre à des sondages rémunérés qu'à des sondages qui n'offrent aucune contrepartie.

Cette méthode a pourtant un inconvénient : vous risquez d'attirer des participants qui n'appartiennent pas à votre population cible. Imaginons, vous dirigez une animalerie et souhaitez savoir ce qui compte le plus aux yeux des propriétaires d'animaux de compagnie. Si vous ne savez pas exactement à qui vous envoyez votre sondage, certains participants qui ne possèdent pas d'animal de compagnie répondront à votre sondage juste pour la récompense.

Ces participants attirés par l'appât du gain risquent de fausser vos données parce qu'ils ne correspondent pas au marché que vous ciblez ou répondent rapidement et sans réfléchir à vos questions.

Cela étant dit, les récompenses présentent aussi de nombreux avantages : elles encouragent notamment les populations difficiles à atteindre à participer au sondage. Vous pouvez même proposer des récompenses indirectes aux personnes interrogées, un geste qui va profiter à un tiers, comme un don à une association caritative par exemple. C'est l'analyse de chaque situation qui vous permettra de déterminer s'il est judicieux de rémunérer les participants à votre sondage.

Sondages rémunérés : se poser les bonnes questions

Malgré les potentiels inconvénients liés aux récompenses en fin de sondage, celles-ci vous permettent d'espérer un taux de réponse plus élevé. Avant de vous lancer, posez-vous les questions suivantes pour décider de la nécessité de rémunérer vos participants :

Quelle est ma population cible ? Si vous savez que vous allez atteindre les participants que vous voulez interroger (par exemple, vos clients existants ou une catégorie sociodémographique ciblée par un service expert comme SurveyMonkey Audience), vous serez sans doute moins réticent à l'idée de rémunérer votre sondage. En effet, les réponses de ces participants seront probablement pertinentes, et la récompense peut être un encouragement supplémentaire pour qu'ils répondent à toutes les questions du sondage. Par contre, si vous envoyez votre sondage sans ciblage particulier, réfléchissez à deux fois avant d'offrir un bon d'achat de 20 € à tous ceux qui répondent à vos questions...

Quelle est ma relation avec les participants à mon sondage ? Si vous ciblez des acheteurs de votre produit, il est sans doute bien vu de leur offrir un petit quelque chose qui les encouragera à donner leur avis sur leur expérience. En revanche, vous n'avez probablement pas besoin de récompenser vos étudiants pour répondre au sondage d'évaluation de votre cours, au risque qu'ils ne le prennent pas au sérieux ou ne considèrent pas qu'il vient d'une source d'autorité.

Les personnes interrogées sont-elles intéressées par le thème de mon sondage ? Si vous envoyez votre questionnaire de voisinage aux habitants de votre quartier qui ont participé à une réunion sur l'intérêt d'un nouveau centre communautaire, vous n'avez pas besoin de leur proposer quoi que ce soit pour participer à votre sondage. Le problème les intéresse déjà et ils n'ont besoin d'aucun encouragement pour partager leurs opinions.

Quelle est la longueur de mon sondage ? Quelle est la complexité des questions posées ? Vous voudrez peut-être offrir un petit extra à vos participants si vous leur demandez de remplir un sondage de 10 pages ou un sondage qui requiert plus de concentration que pour une question du type « Avez-vous une voiture ? ». Vous leur montrez ainsi que vous savez que leur temps est précieux et que vous appréciez qu'ils en consacrent une partie à votre sondage.

Récompenses directes

Vous avez décidé d'offrir une récompense directe aux participants à votre sondage. Il est maintenant temps de choisir sous quelle forme vous souhaitez les remercier. Prix ? Bon d'achat ? Participation à un tirage au sort ? Vous avez l'embarras du choix.

Demandez-vous quelle récompense sera plus susceptible d'attirer l'attention de votre audience cible. Ne perdez pas de vue votre budget, plus particulièrement si vous offrez une récompense à tous les participants. Notez que vous pouvez définir votre option de fermeture du sondage pour cesser de recueillir des réponses après une période et un nombre de réponses définis.

Enfin, l'un des aspects les plus importants en cas de sondage rémunéré est de s'assurer d'être en règle sur le plan légal. Rédigez vos conditions légales et n'hésitez pas à les faire vérifier par un juriste professionnel compétent.

En savoir plus sur la façon de récompenser les participants aux sondages lorsque vous utilisez SurveyMonkey pour créer et envoyer des sondages en ligne.

Récompenses indirectes

Nous avons donc vu que les sondages rémunérés présentaient des avantages (taux de réponse plus élevé) et des inconvénients (risque d'attirer des participants uniquement intéressés par la récompense). Il existe cependant un moyen simple de minimiser ces derniers : les récompenses indirectes.

Nous en connaissons un rayon en matière de récompenses indirectes, puisque c'est la base de notre service de réponse aux sondages, SurveyMonkey Contribute. Au lieu de rémunérer les participants à nos sondages, nous reversons 50 centimes à l'association caritative de leur choix chaque fois qu'ils répondent à un sondage. Ils sont ainsi moins enclins à répondre vite et n'importe comment au sondage par pure considération personnelle.

Nous obtenons des réponses. Ces personnes donnent de leur temps. Des associations caritatives profitent de leur générosité. C'est une situation gagnant-gagnant-gagnant !

Réveillez votre curiosité avec SurveyMonkey

Survey Rewards

The how and why of incentivizing surveys.

Create a Survey Today

Have you ever taken a survey that offers you a reward at the end?

That reward is an incentive to get you to take the survey. When you’re smart about offering survey respondents a reward (by knowing when and how to do it) it can help you collect responses that are more reliable

The pros and cons of incentivizing

Incentivizing surveys may seem like a no-brainer. If you offer people a reward to take your survey, they’ll be even more likely to do so than if you offered them nothing at all.

But consider this: Your reward may be attracting the wrong kind of respondent. Imagine you run a pet store and you want to know what kinds of things pet owners value when it comes to their pet’s care. If you don’t know exactly who you’re sending your survey to, you may reach people who want your reward but don’t have pets.

By offering everybody a reward to take your survey, it can encourage satisficers—people who misrepresent themselves or rush through surveys to the detriment of your survey results—just to collect a reward.

However, incentivizing isn’t all bad. Offering survey rewards can help you encourage hard-to-reach audiences to take your survey. You can even offer indirect rewards to your respondents to benefit a third party, like a charity. Decide whether or not to incentivize your survey by carefully considering the circumstances.

Offering incentives: Ask the important questions

Although incentivizing surveys can have its drawbacks, it will increase your response rates. Before you decide to offer survey incentives, figure out if it’s necessary. Ask yourself the following questions:

What is my target population? If you know that you have access to people who you want to take your survey (for example, existing customers or a target demographic from an expert service like SurveyMonkey Audience) you may feel more comfortable offering an incentive. Those respondents’ answers are probably relevant–and you may want to give them extra encouragement to complete your survey. If you’re sending out your survey to just about anybody, you may want to rethink offering a $20 gift card to everybody who answers your questions.

What’s my relationship with my survey respondents? If you’re hoping to reach people who have purchased your product, it may be worth it to offer them a little something to encourage them to take the time to give you product feedback. However, you probably don’t need to incentivize your survey if you ask your students to evaluate your course–because they’re more likely to see that it comes from a place of authority (and they’ll take your survey more seriously).

Are my respondents interested in my survey topic? If you send out an online neighborhood questionnaire to people in your neighborhood who attended a local meeting on whether or not there should be a new community center nearby, you don’t need to offer them anything to take your survey. They’re already interested in the issue and don’t need any encouragement to share their opinions.

How long is my survey? How complex are my survey questions? You may want to offer your respondents a little something extra if you’re asking them to fill out a 10-page survey or a survey with questions that require more thought than “Do you own a car?” It shows you value their time–and appreciate their willingness to spend it on your survey.

Direct rewards

After you decide whether or not you’re going to offer your survey respondents a direct reward–like a prize, gift card, or sweepstakes entry–choose which method you’ll use to reward your survey respondents.

Choose rewards that are most likely to appeal to anybody responding to your survey. And don’t forget to keep your budget in mind, especially if you’re offering everybody a reward. (You may want to set up your close survey option to stop collecting responses after a defined period of time or number of responses.)

And one of the most important aspects of offering survey incentives is to get your legalese in order. Write up your legal terms and conditions, and run it by a trained legal professional to make sure your offer is on the up-and-up.

Learn all about how to incentivize surveys when you use SurveyMonkey to create and send online surveys.

Indirect rewards

So incentivizing surveys can increase response rates (great!)–but may encourage satisficing (not great). In order to cut down on people who only take your survey just to earn a prize, you may want to try using indirect rewards.

In fact, we know all about indirect rewards–it’s the basis of our survey response service, SurveyMonkey Contribute. Instead of paying our survey respondents to take our surveys, we donate 50 cents to the charity of their choice every time they fill one out. That way, they’re less likely to rush through surveys out of pure self-interest.

We get responses. They donate their time. And charitable causes benefit from their generosity. It’s a win-win-win!

You May Also Like:

Customer Satisfaction Survey Template

Want to know what your customers are saying about you? Customer satisfaction surveys can help you find out what people think of your company, get feedback on customer service, and more.

Visit Page

Employee Engagement Survey Template

When you listen to your employees, you can make decisions that build a happier workplace. Find out how employees really feel about their jobs. Get the feedback you need to keep them happy.

Visit Page

Event Planning Survey Template

Organizing an event is tough work. Who’s coming? What’s their schedule? Event surveys can give you a clearer picture. When you’re done, get post-event feedback to improve for next time.

Visit Page

3 quick tips to improve survey response rates

Here are some ideas to ensure that respondents will answer your surveys.

1. Be quick

If your survey is short and sweet, there's a greater chance that more respondents will complete it.

2. Offer incentives

Little incentives like small discount or an entry into a drawing can help ensure respondents complete your survey.

3. Buy a targeted audience

With SurveyMonkey Audience, you can purchase access to an audience who meets specific demographic criteria for your survey. It's a great way to get targeted responses from a specific group.

Why do 25+ million people use SurveyMonkey?

Free

Send an unlimited amount of surveys and polls with our FREE plan

Easy to Use

Create and monitor your survey directly over the Internet - we've made it easy to get started, learn and use.

Intuitive Design

There's no need to be a programmer or an engineer - if you can check email or use Facebook, then you can use SurveyMonkey.

Real Time Results

You can view your data as it comes in, keeping it to yourself or allowing others to see it.

Trustworthy & Experienced

SurveyMonkey has helped over 20 million satisfied customers gather information online.

Expands with Your Needs

SurveyMonkey PRO plans enhance your ability to gather & interpret information with advanced analytics and more.