Screen Reader Mode Icon
Inscrição em Português / Registro en español

Saturday, December 3, 2022 • 3 p.m.–4:30 p.m.
(PST)
(Optional post-program chat with chefs: 4:30 p.m. - 5 p.m.)
Dec. 3 
• 1 p.m. (Honolulu)
• 3 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle / Vancouver)
• 5 p.m. (Mexico City / Chicago)
• 6 p.m. (Lima / New York / Toronto)
• 8 p.m. (São Paulo / Buenos Aires)
• 11 p.m. (London)
  Dec. 4
• 12 a.m. (Amsterdam)
• 7 a.m. (Manila)
• 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
• 10 a.m. (Sydney)


 
FREE

Join us for a conversation with noted Nikkei chefs—Niki Nakayama of n/naka (Los Angeles, CA, US), Telma Shiraishi of Restaurante Aizomê (São Paulo, Brazil), and Roger Arakaki of Sushi Ito (Lima, Peru). The program will be moderated by Gil Asakawa, author of the recently published book, Tabemasho! Let’s Eat!: A Tasty History of Japanese Food in America. Carole Iida-Nakayama, co-owner and sous chef of n/naka and n/soto, will also be joining us for the program.

The chefs will discuss their cultural backgrounds and how it has influenced their culinary styles, their thoughts on “Nikkei food,” and more! They will also answer questions from the audience. Following the program, there will be an optional opportunity to chat informally with the chefs in breakout rooms. (Learn more)

The program will be presented via Zoom with simultaneous translation in English, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Registration is required using the form below. Limited space is available. 

*This program is presented by the Japanese American National Museum’s Discover Nikkei project in partnership with the Japanese American Cultural & Community Center, JCI Brasil-Japão, and Asociación Peruano Japonesa. Additional support provided by Onigiri Producciones.

Question Title

* 1. First Name

Question Title

* 2. Last Name

Question Title

* 3. Email address

Question Title

* 5. Do you speak English, Spanish and/or Portuguese? 

Question Title

* 6. What is your age group? (optional)

Question Title

* 7. What about this event interests you most?

0 of 7 answered
 

T