Cadastro em Português / Registro en español

Saturday, February 26, 2022 • 3 p.m.–4:30 p.m. 
(PST)
Feb. 26 
• 1 p.m. (Honolulu)
• 3 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle / Vancouver)
• 5 p.m. (Mexico City / Chicago)
• 6 p.m. (Lima / New York / Toronto)
• 8 p.m. (São Paulo)
• 11 p.m. (London)
  Feb. 27
• 7 a.m. (Davao)
• 12 a.m. (Amsterdam)
• 7 a.m. (Manila)
• 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
• 10 a.m. (Sydney)
 
FREE

What differentiates “Nikkei food” from “Japanese food”? Is it how Nikkei families and communities combine traditional foods with local ingredients? How does the food you eat express your cultural identity? How does food help to connect your community and bring people together? What kinds of recipes have been passed down from generation to generation in your family?

Join us as we explore what is “Nikkei food” and the role that it plays in our families and communities around the world in this virtual program via Zoom. Japanese American writer, Gil Asakawa, will introduce and moderate the program. Shigeru Kojima, researcher at the Japanese Overseas Migration Museum in Yokohama, Japan, will make a presentation about Nikkei food. Participants will then have the opportunity to participate in facilitated small group discussions about the topic.

The main presentations will be in English with simultaneous translations available in Spanish and Portuguese. Small group sessions will be led by facilitators in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. In addition to the breakout sessions, the virtual rooms will be kept open for an hour following the formal program for an optional networking opportunity.

This program is FREE, but registration is required using the form below. Limited space is available. 

*This program is presented in partnership with JCI Brazil-Japan and Nikkei Australia.

Question Title

* 1. First Name

Question Title

* 2. Last Name

Question Title

* 3. Email address

NOTE: The opening presentation will be recorded for public distribution in the future. Breakout rooms will be recorded for note taking and internal use only. By clicking the box below, you consent to photography, audio recording, and video recording and its/their release, publication, exhibition, or reproduction to be used for news, webcasts, promotional purposes, telecasts, advertising, inclusion on websites, social media, or any other purpose, by the Japanese American National Museum (JANM), its affiliates, and representatives. You release JANM, its officers, and employees, and each and all persons involved from any liability connected with the taking, recording, digitizing, or publication and use of photographs, video and/or sound recordings. Please direct any concerns or questions about this policy to publicprograms@janm.org.

Question Title

* 4. By clicking this box you affirm your consent to being recorded (video & audio) during this event.

Question Title

* 6. Do you speak English, Spanish and/or Portuguese? (Please list all languages you are comfortable speaking for participation in a discussion.)

Question Title

* 7. What is your age group? (optional)

Question Title

* 8. Please provide your gender identification (optional)

Question Title

* 9. What about this event interests you most?

0 of 9 answered
 

T