Below is the nominating form for the ASFPM Awards, which will be presented at the 2021 national conference in Raleigh, NC, May 9-13. The deadline for nominations is Feb. 10, 2021. Submissions entered after the deadline will not be considered for the 2021 awards.

Tom Lee State Award for Excellence
 is given annually to recognize an outstanding floodplain management program or activity at the state level (not an individual). 

James Lee Witt Local Award for Excellence recognizes outstanding local programs or activities at the front lines of floodplain management. Eligible entries include local units of government such as cities, towns and counties (not an individual).

Larry R. Johnston Local Floodplain Manager of the Year Award honors outstanding individual efforts and contributions at the local level. It recognizes an individual responsible for the development of a distinguished local program or activity, or one who struggles to implement flood hazard reduction at the local level in the absence of sophisticated programs and support.

John R. Sheaffer Award for Excellence in Flood Proofing is presented for completed work involving a particular project, work, research, design or publication that exhibits the incorporation of accepted procedures, practices and constraints of flood proofing, or promotes the field or knowledge of flood proofing by enhancing the awareness and use of new procedures, methods, designs and/or products. Individuals, private organizations or governmental units and agencies are eligible.

Outreach/Media Award acknowledges efforts of media to increase information and/or awareness of flood issues with the general public. It is also for an individual, agency or organization for exceptional outreach efforts.

John Ivey Award for Superior Efforts in Certification recognizes exceptional efforts to promote the professional certification of floodplain managers. 

Meritorious Lifetime Achievement in Floodplain Management Award recognizes individuals who, throughout their career, have achieved success in a significant aspect of floodplain management. These efforts include policy, outreach, implementation, education, government, research, litigation or other actions that demonstrate the advancement of flood loss and risk reduction within the nominee's professional realm. 

Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes an ASFPM chapter for exemplary practices and activities that deserve national recognition. It acknowledges distinguished works by a chapter in going above and beyond its mission in a way that can be shared and replicated by other ASFPM chapters.

Goddard-White Award is given to individuals who have had a national impact carrying forward the goals and objectives of floodplain management. Nominations for this award must be submitted directly to the Board of Directors. Click here to contact your regional director to make a nomination.

Jerry Louthain Distinguished Service Award is the highest award ASFPM gives to recognize individuals who, through their long-term efforts, have clearly influenced the work of the association. Nominations for this award must be submitted directly to the Board of Directors. Click here to contact your regional director to make a nomination.