Application for Participation

Description:
According to recent estimates from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), diabetes (diagnosed and undiagnosed) diabetes prevalence for the Asian American (AA), Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (NH/PI) population ranks relatively higher when compared to other racial/ethnic groups such as African Americans, European Americans, and Hispanic Americans. Given the high prevalence, there is an increased need for early detection, prevention, and management efforts. This learning collaborative will address diabetes and social interventions for the Pacific Islander populations. The learning collaborative aims to discuss social, cultural, and medical determinants of health and how the built environment, language access, mental health, and reproductive health, to name a few examples, impact chronic disease management. These sessions will also promote culturally and socially appropriate resources in order to support health center performance improvement and transformation efforts that help health centers manage diabetes and other chronic diseases for Pacific Islander communities.

Session 1: State of Diabetes Prevention, Early Detection, and Management in Pacific Islander Communities
Session 2: Collaboration and Relationship Building to Enhance Diabetes Management Education Programs and Diabetes Prevention Programs
Session 3: Cultivating Data Warriors for Quality Improvement and Fundraising
Session 4: Next Steps: Opportunities and Resources to Start a Diabetes Prevention Program
Dates: Weekly on Thursdays starting Thursday, May 30th (US)/Friday, May 31st (USAPI) for 4 weeks

Continental U.S. and Hawai’i
Thursday, May 30
Thursday, June 6
Thursday, June 13
Thursday, June 20
Times:
1:00 pm Hawaii Daylight Time
2:00 pm Hawaii-Aleutian Time
3:00 pm Alaska Daylight Time
4:00 pm Pacific Daylight Time
5:00 pm Mountain Daylight Time
6:00 pm Central Daylight Time
7:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time

USAPI
Friday, May 31
Friday, June 7
Friday June 14
Friday June 21
Times:
8:00 am Republic of Palau
9:00 am Chuuk, FSM; CNMI, Guam
10:00 am Kosrae, FSM
11:00 am Republic of the Marshall Islands


Learning Objectives:

Upon completion of this learning collaborative, participants will be able to:

1. Understand the significant factors related to prevention, early detection, and short term and long term management of diabetes in Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities
2. Explore steps in setting up a diabetes prevention program and engaging community partners in enhancing program goals and resources
3. Discuss next steps and funding opportunities in maintaining a sustainable program


Intended Participants:
Health Center administrators, care managers, supervisors, and other health center workforce stakeholders

Selection Criteria:
Health centers and health center look-alikes will be prioritized for selection.
Fee:
No cost/free

Commitment:
Accepted LC participants are asked to attend a total of 4 learning sessions in May and June 2024.

Application deadline:
Wednesday, May 22 by 5pm local time.
Please contact training@aapcho.org if you have any questions or need additional information.

Question Title

* 1. Contact Information

Question Title

* 2. Organization name

Question Title

* 3. Job title

Question Title

* 4. Which of the following best describes your organization type?

Question Title

* 5. Which Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and/or Pacific Islander subgroup(s) does your health center or organization serve?

Question Title

* 6. What is your organization's biggest challenge(s) in providing diabetes prevention and management services?

Question Title

* 7. One a scale of 1-5, how would you rate your organization's awareness of diabetes prevention and management for PI patients?

Question Title

* 8. Where would you say your organization currently is in supporting PI patients with diabetes prevention and/or management?

Question Title

* 9. By submitting this application, you agree to attend all sessions with permission from your supervisor.

Please check the box to be eligible for this application.

T