Cadastro em Português / Registro en español

Saturday, February 6, 2021 • 3 p.m.–4:30 p.m. 
(PST)
• Feb. 6 • 6 p.m. (EST)
• Feb. 6 • 1 p.m. (Honolulu)

• Feb. 6 • 11 p.m. (London)
• Feb. 7 • 12 midnight (Amsterdam)


• Feb. 7 • 7 a.m. (Davao)
• Feb. 7 • 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
• Feb. 7 • 10 a.m. (Sydney)
FREE
In the winter of 2018, The Nippon Foundation in collaboration with the Japanese American National Museum launched the Global Nikkei Young Adult Research Project to examine how young adult Nikkei around the world feel about and express their Japanese heritage. Analyzing the data from a worldwide survey and global regional focus groups, the project sought to obtain a deeper understanding of their similarities and differences, as well as their celebrations and challenges.

In this virtual program via Zoom, the project’s lead researchers—Dr. Curtiss Takada Rooks and Dr. Lindsey Sasaki Kogasaka—will share an overview of the final report findings and what it means for the future of the global Nikkei community. Participants will then have the opportunity to participate in small group discussions around the question: “What does it mean to be Nikkei in 2021?”

The main presentation will be in English with simultaneous translations available in Spanish and Portuguese. In addition to the breakout sessions, an optional opportunity for networking will be available following the program.

This program is FREE, but registration is required using the form below. Limited space is available, so sign up now!

Question Title

* 1. First Name

Question Title

* 2. Last Name

Question Title

* 3. Email address

NOTE: The opening presentation will be recorded for public distribution in the future. Breakout rooms will be recorded for note taking and internal use only. By clicking the box below, you consent to photography, audio recording, and video recording and its/their release, publication, exhibition, or reproduction to be used for news, webcasts, promotional purposes, telecasts, advertising, inclusion on websites, social media, or any other purpose, by the Japanese American National Museum (JANM), its affiliates, and representatives. You release JANM, its officers, and employees, and each and all persons involved from any liability connected with the taking, recording, digitizing, or publication and use of photographs, video and/or sound recordings. Please direct any concerns or questions about this policy to publicprograms@janm.org.

Question Title

* 4. By clicking this box you affirm your consent to being recorded (video & audio) during this event.

Question Title

* 6. Do you speak English, Spanish and/or Portuguese? (Please list all languages you are comfortable speaking for participation in a discussion.)

Question Title

* 7. What is your age group? (optional)

Question Title

* 8. Please provide your gender identification (optional)

Question Title

* 9. What about this event interests you most?

0 of 9 answered
 

T