Regional Deadline: March 30, 2023

Dear Fellow Commissioner:

As you may know, each year, NAHRO bestows upon a commissioner the Commissioner of the Year Award (formerly known as the Elizabeth B. Wells Memorial Award). The award honors a current commissioner, or one who has served within the past 12 months, who has demonstrated excellence in advocating for and developing the financial, political, and community support necessary to ensure the continuation and expansion of housing or community development programs. Each nominee must be an individual or associate member of National NAHRO, has contributed to the areas of community leadership, advocacy, and public relations, as well as the activities of NAHRO, and cannot be employed by the housing authority and serve as a commissioner simultaneously.

This year your region is seeking nominations by March 30 for the MARC NAHRO Commissioner of the Year Award. The region’s honoree will be submitted to national NAHRO for consideration for the National Commissioner of the Year Award. The national honoree will be recognized during the DE/MARC NAHRO Annual Conference and Trade Show, Wilmington, DE May 8-10, 2023.

I encourage you to nominate a deserving regional commissioner for this recognition. Your nominee’s name could be added alongside previous regional recipients of the award: 2017 Shola Olatoye (NY); 2016 Richard Y. Nelson, Jr. (MD); 1999 Marjorie Murphy (PA), and in 1996, I was the honoree.

Have questions about the Award, contact Regional Service Officer Sylvia Bowen.

Dorothy Carty-Daniel
MARC NAHRO Vice President-Commissioners
Commissioner-Perth Amboy (NJ) Housing Authority