Victim Rights Law Center Share and Learn Call Conversation Series
 
Please join the VRLC for its new Share and Learn Conversation Series. Each week, a guest attorney will join a member of our TA team to discuss a topic related to current challenges faced by OVW-funded legal services providers and the survivors they serve. The first half of the call will feature an interview with the guest attorney and the remaining time will be opened up to questions and discussion with attendees. 
 
Space is limited, so we do ask that you only register for calls you know you plan to attend. Please feel free to contact Mary at mdarcy@victimrights.org  for more information.
 
 

Question Title

* Contact Information

Question Title

* Does your organization receive funding under the following OVW grant programs?

Best Practices for Working with Immigrant Survivors of Sexual Assault
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
11:30am PT / 12:30pm MT / 1:30pm CT / 2:30pm ET

On this call, Leslye Orloff, Director of the National Immigrant Women’s Advocacy Project, will discuss how current events including Covid-19 and pandemic-specific benefits impact immigrant survivors of sexual assault. The discussion will cover best practices and emerging issues in victims’ immigration cases, including how VAWA confidentiality protections can best help sexual assault survivors, public charge concerns, how remote state court proceedings can particularly benefit immigrant survivors, and how screening and early filing of victim-based immigration cases continues to enhance protection for immigrant survivors of sexual assault. Participants will have the opportunity to ask questions, discuss the challenges they’re facing, and share strategies for serving this particularly vulnerable population. 

Question Title

* Do you plan to join this call?

T