The Dr. S. Lawrence Librach Award for Palliative Medicine in the Community (2021)

This award is given annually to a physician who demonstrates excellence and leadership in palliative care and advances palliative care in their communities through mentorship of family physicians.

The award was created to honour Dr. Larry Librach who began his medical career in 1970, and became an early presence in the field of palliative care in 1978 and was instrumental in shaping the Canadian approach to palliative care and palliative medicine. Throughout his 35 years in palliative care, Dr. Librach was a teacher and mentor, an encouraging and enthusiastic colleague and friend who embraced every opportunity to give of himself, and who consistently inspired others to do the same.

A $2,500 cash award.

Nomination Deadline:
The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2021.  

To the considered for this award, the nominee must:
• Be a physician licensed to practice in the Province of Ontario
• Work primarily in community settings (non-institutional)
• Demonstrate leadership in advancing palliative care in community settings
• Be recognized by his/her peers as a mentor

Selection Process:
HPCO will appoint an adjudication committee to review candidates and recommend the recipient.

The recipient will be notified of the award in early April and will be publicly announced at the Hospice Palliative Care Ontario Annual 2021 Conference.

Nominations must be made electronically via a link provided on the Awards page at