Question Title

The City of Saskatoon is divided into ten wards.  The Cities Act stipulates that each ward must contain – as nearly as is reasonably practicable – the same population, with ward populations varying by no more than 10% from the average ward population (the City's total population divided by the 10 wards).

The populations of Ward 7 and Ward 10 currently exceed the 10% variance while the populations of Ward 5 and Ward 8 fall below the threshold.  Accordingly, the Municipal Wards Commission will establish new ward boundaries to be in effect for the city's municipal election and school boards' elections in fall 2020.  Of note, reconfiguring the ward boundaries to ensure all ten comply to the legislated population range could affect the boundaries of other wards as well.

You can find more detailed information on the Ward Boundary Review process by clicking HERE.