Field Instrumentation in Process Safety Systems

 
Thursday, April 26 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m. CT/11 a.m. PT

When can the process control and safety systems share field devices? An SIS and BPCS can sometimes share components, but not without careful analysis. What are the relevant safety standards, and how do they answer this question? Given the high cost of many field devices, companies want to save money wherever possible but sometimes it’s at the expense of safety. Ed Marszal, president and senior engineer at Kenexis, examines this question with case study examples of correct and incorrect approaches.

This webcast will also answer the following questions:
• What is a safety sensor?
• An SIS and basic control system use the same types of devices, but what makes a safety sensor special?

Exida, a company that tests and certifies devices from all manufacturers, explains the safety certification process and why it matters in critical applications.

Speakers:
• Peter Welander, Content Manager and Moderator, Control Engineering
• Ed Marszal, President and Senior Engineer, Kenexis
Image as described above
*
1. Please fill out the following:
*
2. Company website:
*
3. Title:
*
4. Please choose your two main criteria for safety systems:
Webcast registration policy: The participation of our sponsors in this Webcast enables us to provide this event free of charge to our registrants. Part of the value we are able to provide our sponsors is information they can use to more effectively market their products and services. Accordingly, by agreeing to register for this event, you agree that we may share your registration information with our sponsors. We do not permit these companies to use your personally identifiable information without your permission for any purpose other than to send you information about their own products and services. Read the entire Privacy Policy click here.
Powered by SurveyMonkey
Check out our sample surveys and create your own now!