Take Five Purpose/Description

Take Five is a mini clinical education session designed to take 5 minutes to complete. Each Take Five includes 5 questions related to the topic being highlighted. The participant is asked to answer a simple multiple choice question in a survey format. After the answer is submitted, the correct answer for each question along with the rationale and information on how to link with the source information if you would like a more in-depth review of the information. The topics will be varied and may not apply to every person, every time, but they are designed to be shared within your organization as you wish.

Patient-Centered Medical Home (PCMH): Team-Based Care

All of the material for this review comes from the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) 2014 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards (accessed July 27, 2015), Section 2: Team-Based Care, Elements A, B, C and D (Page 38-46).

Practices must obtain 86 points or more to be considered a Level 3 practice. As a result, not every listed factor must be met by every practice to obtain NCQA PCMH recognition. Each section has its own point value, as well as each element. Critical Factors must be met for practices to receive a score on that element. If the element is a must pass element, failure to meet a critical factor will result in denial of recognition.

Element A: Continuity – 3.00 points
Element B: Medical Home Responsibilities – 2.50 points
Element C: Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services – 2.50 points
Element D: The Practice Team (must-pass) – 4.00 points

Standards are available from NCQA at the following link after completion of a no cost account. http://store.ncqa.org/index.php/2014-pcmh-standards-and-guidelines-epub-single-user.html