The Southern Tier Regional Economic Development Council (REDC) supports the development of the regional economy for eight counties in the Southern Tier Region of New York State: Steuben, Schuyler, Chemung, Tompkins, Tioga, Broome, Chenango and Delaware. Our 2011 Strategic Plan established an economic development strategy with the goal of supporting job growth and investment in communities across the region.

The REDC is updating this strategy to keep pace with a shifting regional and national economy. The updated Strategic Plan will:
  • Provide an updated vision and focus for efforts to develop the Southern Tier’s economy
  • Analyze recent economic and demographic trends
  • Highlight major regional assets to build upon
  • Identify specific projects to fund that can advance an established vision
  • Craft a proposal for economic development strategies aimed at a specific area of focus to respond to the State’s call for proposals for awards of up to $10 million in State funding

Thank you for taking this survey to help shape the new Strategic Plan!

Please visit for additional information and resources.