Recognizing Excellence Among OHS Professionals Begins with You! The Canadian Society of Safety Engineering (CSSE) is made up of over 4,500 dedicated members who commit their days (and in many cases …nights) to the protection of millions of Canadian workers. The CSSE Recognizing Excellence Awards program provides a framework to pay special recognition to the extraordinary efforts and achievements of CSSE members.

The awards for Outstanding Service to the Safety Profession (Safety Professional of the Year) are given to CSSE members whose careers have been distinguished by a sustained commitment to excellence in the field of occupational health and safety.   

This is a progressive award that starts with winners in every chapter chosen by the Regional Vice Presidents from the nominations submitted. From the chapter winners the Awards Committee will elevate one winner in every region for the regional awards. From the regional award winners, the Awards Committee will select one applicant as the Safety Professional of the Year.

You may wish to view our guideline prior to proceeding, as it outlines all the information required for the nomination submission.

Nominations Deadline: April 30, 2018

More information on the CSSE Awards program can be found at Should you have any questions, please contact

* 1. Name of individual being nominated:

* 2. Nominee's chapter:

* 3. Years of CSSE membership:

* 4. Nominee's email address:

  • Please provide information in each of the areas below, as these are the basis of the scoring. All fields require a response, with the exception of the additional information field.
  • Please note that there is a 500 word limit in each section response. If a response is over the word limit you will be asked to edit your response before being able to proceed.
Nominee Profile

Details on the nominee's professional career and how they have achieved a distinguished and sustained commitment to excellence in occupational health and safety. It must include an established profile in the health and safety community. Demonstrated and sustained exceptional performance that consistently exceeds goals and work expectations in quantity and/or quality.

Evidence must include professional education/designations/degrees, continued education and number of years of service in the field.

* 5. Please enter a nominee profile:

Professional Accomplishments

Details on accomplishments that promote public understanding of, interest in and support for health and safety. Examples may include innovation in program, project or policy development. Details on past awards/recognition should be given and volunteer activities should be highlighted.

Evidence must include non-CSSE activities, i.e. committee work, public speaking and other volunteer activities.

* 6. Please enter professional accomplishments:

Leadership Qualities

The nominee must set a high standard of integrity by leading though example and maintaining high personal standards.

Strong evidence of how the nominee fosters a supportive and collegial team environment, including motivating and inspiring others. Evidence to include work and community involvement.

* 7. Please enter leadership qualities:

* 8. Please provide any additional information to support your nomination:

* 9. Your name:

* 10. Your Chapter affiliation:

* 11. Your email address:

Thank you for nominating a deserving CSSE member.

Next Steps:

Both nominators and nominees will receive an email confirming receipt of the nomination.

Once nominations close on April 30th, 2018, the Awards Committee will be working with Chapter Chairs, Regional Vice-Presidents and select Board members to review the nominations and select the winners at each level. The same scoring matrix will be used to review the nominations at every stage of progression, where applicable. 

All award winners will be announced at the annual conference, but only National awards will be presented at that time. Chapter and regional awards will be presented locally following the annual conference.

If you have any questions regarding the awards program or the process, please contact