Do you know a great candidate? Hall of Fame nominees are practicing or retired librarians who have made at least a ten-year sustained, substantial contribution to advancing the cause of Massachusetts librarians or librarianship. They may work or have worked in school, public, special, or academic libraries, library education, agencies, or associations. Their contributions reach regional, statewide, or national levels.

The Public Relations Committee takes the following criteria into consideration in judging applications:

Public Service – how has the nominee affected library services to the public on a regional, statewide, or national level?
Education – how has the nominee influenced students of library science?
Mentoring – how has the nominee guided other librarians, library technicians, and students of library science?
Advocacy – how has the nominee informed decision-makers, public officials, and citizens of the importance of librarianship and its issues?
Service to the profession – how has the nominee served on regional, state or national library organizations, committees and associations?
Past MLA Hall of Fame Inductees:

2014: Nancy Aberman, Debby Conrad, Mary King, Rob Maier, Linda Watkins
2012: Bonnie Isman, Leane Ellis, Maureen Killoran, Jacqueline Rafferty
2010: Tamson Ely, Corinne Fisher, Bonnie O’Brien, James Sutton
2008: Ruth Kowal, Krista McLeod, Sharon St. Hilaire
2006: Joseph Hopkins, Christine Kardokas, Anne M. O'Brien
2004: Louise Brown, Kim Charlson, Marjorie Judd
2002: Keith Michael Fiels, Lois Kane, James Matarazzo, Anne Reynolds
2000: Donna Guerin, Professor Ruth Leonard, Edward J. Montana
1998: Maggie Bush, Audrey Friend, Shelley Quezada, Jan Resnick
1996: Kay Bader, Connie Clancy, Virginia Tashjian

Please contact MLA PR Committee Co-chair, Jocelyn Tavares for further information: (508) 669 - 6421 or email at

Question Title

* 1. Nominee Information

Question Title

* 2. Please describe the nominee's contributions to furthering the cause of Massachusetts librarians or librarianship in 500 words or less, using the judging criteria mentioned above.

Question Title

* 3. Please send at least two letters of support to the address below. You may also email your nomination and letter of support to All nominations and letters will be acknowledged. If you do not receive an acknowledgement, please contact us.

Send all materials to:
Nancy Sheehan, Co-Chair MLA PR Committee
Lucius Beebe Memorial Library
345 Main Street
Wakefield, MA 01880-5093

All materials must be received by Thursday, December 31, 2015.

Other comments:

Question Title

* 4. Nominator Information