The Pennsylvania Library Association Awards Committee Seeks Nominations

Each year, the Pennsylvania Library Association recognizes members from our state who have contributed significantly to the library profession and the betterment of libraries. The Awards Committee chooses award recipients based on nominations from the membership and award criteria. The awards are presented at the Pennsylvania Library Association Annual Conference or another appropriate venue.

The deadline for submitting a nomination is July 26, 2019 at 5:00 PM.
The information you'll need to nominate is:

   *Nominee's contact info
   *100-1000 words on why you are nominating this person or library
   *Nominee's profession and/or biographical info (except for Library of the Year)
   *Your contact info

NOTE: Nominators for all awards must be individual Pennsylvania Library Association members. With the exception of the Trustee of the Year, Elected Official, and Library of the Year Awards, nominees must also be individual members of the Association.

While the information below contains descriptions of the award for your reference, you can see full descriptions and past winners here.

Scroll to the bottom of this page and click next to start the nomination process.

Description of Awards:

Distinguished Service Award: This is the highest award the Association gives. It may be awarded annually to one person in recognition of exceptional meritorious statewide service to libraries of the Commonwealth and service to the Pennsylvania Library Association.

Certificate of Merit: These awards may be given to individuals making outstanding contributions to libraries and the Pennsylvania Library Association during the past five years.

Elected Official Award: This award may be given annually to an elected official or officials for exemplary support of library service in Pennsylvania.

New Librarian Honors Award: This award honors a librarian who has been in the profession for fewer than six years. It recognizes the originality and inventive ability of a new librarian who devises new and improved methods in library service on a statewide or local level and who demonstrates promise for continued growth in librarianship.

Trustee of the Year Award: This award is presented to a public library trustee in recognition of outstanding leadership and service to library development at the local, system, district, and/or state level.

Library of the Year Award: This award is presented to an individual library that has exhibited excellence in the following areas over the previous year:

   1. Service to public or academic community
   2. Advancing staff development
   3. Innovation in a special project, partnership, or challenge overcome
   4. Leadership in and support of Association activities such as the Pennsylvania Library Association Academy of Leadership Studies (PALS) and the PA Forward initiative. Organizational membership of the Pennsylvania Library Association or the library’s support for individual members of the Association will be considered.

Note: Previous winners must wait 3-5 years before reapplying for the Library of the Year Award.