The Emily Sopensky Intelligent Health Association (IHA) Awards were established in 2012 to champion those healthcare providers and institutions that use technologies in health care systems for the betterment of patient safety, supply chain and asset management. Nominations for Emily Sopensky IHA Intelligent Health awards may recognize any healthcare provider organization, such as hospitals, integrated delivery networks (IDNs), clinics and nursing homes, specifically the end users who are implementing these technologies.

Sponsor:  The Intelligent Health Association 

Presented to:   An individual, an organization, or a team of individuals.

Nominators:  Except for IHA Board of Directors and staff and judges, any person may nominate a candidate for an Emily Sopensky IHA Intelligent Health award.

Deadline: Nominations must be completed by Midnight ET Wednesday January 15, 2020.

Notification: FEBRUARY 7, 2020, the award recipients are notified and invited to receive their awards at the HIMSS19 Exhibition Conference in Orlando Tuesday March 10, 2020. The nominators are copied on these notifications. All entries are kept confidential to IHA  staff and the judges until the recipient is notified. If less than 3 nominations per category, no award will be made in that category.

Inquiries:  Paul Frisch, Awards Chair email:

Eligible healthcare systems will employ any of the following technologies:  Auto-ID, BAP (all frequencies of battery-assisted passive systems) Biometrics, BLE, BYOD (bring your own device), Nano, NFC, Mobile devices (e.g. iPhones/Droids/iPads) Mobile Apps, RFID (all frequencies), RTLS (all technologies), Sensors, Telecommunications, Voice technologies,  Wireless (all technologies)

Prize : Each award will receive a  trophy at the awards event on Tuesday March 10, 2020.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on healthcare; improvement in the patient experience; succession of significant technical or other contributions; leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s) such as an organization’s performance; previous honors; and other achievements as evidenced by measurable data, (including a video or website link) patents or other evidence; quality of nomination. The solution addresses industry challenges. The results of the solution are documented. Permission has been granted and the application content is certified by the appropriate officer(s) of the entry’s organization.To ensure that these awards demonstrate competition for high achievement, no fewer than three nominations must be received for each category. Otherwise no award will be given for that category.​

Award Categories and Scope.  There are five categories. The sixth award is selected from the recipients of the five. Submitting an application in more than one category is discouraged. If more than one nomination is submitted with identical content, only one will be accepted. 

1. Improving Patient Care and Health Delivery. This award recognizes efforts to:
  • Make healthcare compliance easier to administer.
  • Better and safer patient experience.
  • Data-driven optimization of operations/workflow.
  • Cost containment or lowered costs of healthcare deliver.
  • Effectively and efficiently manage patients at home.
  • Engage patients in affordable intelligent health care.
2. Innovative Healthcare. Innovative use of technology in a healthcare facility that addresses problems, such as:

  • Simplifying healthcare regulatory compliance 
  • Protecting property (e.g., high cost and/or quantity distributions)
  • Using data analysis to craft new solutions to old problems.

Question Title

* 1. AWARD CATEGORY (please select one of the following.)  One category per entry: 

Question Title


Question Title

* 3. If nomination is for an institutional solution, please complete.

Question Title

* 4. If nomination is for an institution, please list up to five relevant team members.

Question Title

* 5. Technology associated with this application.  Select ALL that apply.


In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered:

1) impact on healthcare

2) improvement in the patient experience 

3) succession of significant technical or other contributions 

4) leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s) such as an organization’sperformance 

5) previous honors and other achievements as evidenced by publications (including a video or website link), patents orother evidence; quality of nomination 

6) the solution addresses industry challenges  

7) the results of the solution are documented 


Question Title

* 6. What was the problem(s) the technology(ies) employed helped to resolve?   (≤ 250 words)

Question Title

* 7. How was the solution(s) determined?  (≤ 250 words)

Question Title

* 8. Who Implemented it? e.g., existing team(s); new team created; ad hoc team; etc. in house; vendor; mixed? (≤ 250 words)

Question Title

* 9. What worked?  What didn't?  (≤ 250 words)

Question Title

* 10. What next? (≤ 250 words)

Question Title

* 11. SUPPORTING MEDIA (Optional)

A YouTube link to a video (up to 2 minutes) and/or a link to a website may also be included, but not required.

Alternatively, you may supply a link to a slide presentation (this will not be posted publicly unless explicit permission is provided.)

For those submitting media as part of the nominating entry:

If providing video, upload it to YouTube at, and include the link in the space provided below.

For tips on how to make a video on YouTube, see Be sure to test your video.


Question Title

* 12. Indicate that the IHA has the right to use the visual media (video, slide presentation, etc.) for public use.

Question Title


An email from the appropriate official of the nominated organization, certifying and granting permission to use the application content, has been sent to

Question Title


Except for IHA Board of Directors, Staff, and Judges, any person may nominate a candidate for an IHA award.