Every year, the Harrisburg Regional Chamber & CREDC presents the Catalyst Awards to the most visionary organizations and individuals in the Harrisburg region. The Catalyst Awards honor those making a difference in our communities, creating more opportunities for businesses, and building a brighter future for our region. Award recipients are judged by a panel of local business and community representatives, and recipients are chosen by their impact and facilitation of change of our area.

Deadline for early submission is August 9, 2019.
Submit a nomination form by August 9, 2019 for the opportunity to receive feedback from a Catalyst Awards Committee member to check if your application meets minimum requirements. Nominations can then be edited and resubmitted by August 29, 2019. This is optional.

Deadline: All applications must be submitted by August 29, 2019 to be considered.

Government Leader of the Year Award Criteria

An individual or group of individuals whose leadership in governmental activities, public administration or legislative leadership best exemplified the organization’s goal of good government, to good public policy, leadership on an issue of interest to the membership of the Chamber & CREDC or the region in general toward making our region a better place to live, work and play. In short, it is special recognition for someone who has made a difference over the past year, or perhaps even over a lifetime of service to the region.

I. Bold Leadership in Problem Solving

II. Noteworthy Attention to Details of Problems or Issues

III. Public Policy (Has this person or organization made a difference in the last year?)

IV. Demonstration of Vision Toward Long Term Solutions vs. Short Term Fixes

V. Impact of Actions on the Regional Business Community

  • Be sure to answer each question clearly and concisely by telling the story of your nominee.
  • If this is an unsolicited or surprise nomination, please consider soliciting feedback from other sources to ensure that your nomination form is complete.
  • If you would like to speak with a member of the committee regarding best practices for completion of the nomination form, please contact Stacy Klann (Catalyst Awards Committee Chair) at klann.s@harrisburgacademy.org or 440-821-3911.
Past Government Leader of the Year Award Recipients
2018 - Bob Reilly, Former Deputy Chief of Staff for former Congressman Todd Platts and Congressman Scott Perry
2017 - Fred Reddig, PA Department of Community & Economic Development (Retired)
2016 - Mike Folmer, Senator, Pennsylvania General Assembly
2015 - Eugene DePasquale, Auditor General, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
2014 - Patricia Vance, Senator, Pennsylvania General Assembly
2013 - Capital Region Council of Governments
2012 - Glen Grell, Representative, Pennsylvania General Assembly
2011 - Jeff Haste, Commissioner, Dauphin County
2010 - Ron Buxton, Representative, Pennsylvania General Assembly

Question Title

* Please provide the following information about the nominee:

Question Title

* Why should the nominee be selected as the Government Leader of the Year Award recipient? (Minimum 500 words)

Question Title

* Nominator Name

Question Title

* Nominator phone number and email address

Question Title

* Check here if you would like your submission to be reviewed by a committee member to check if your nomination meets minimum requirements.

Feedback can only be given if submitted by or before August 9, 2019.

If you encounter any errors while submitting your nomination, please contact us at events@hbgrc.org.