Introduction and Background

You have been identified to receive this survey because you are a key leader within your city, county or regional government. The California PEV Readiness Survey is being administered by the California PEV Collaborative (PEVC) in partnership with the South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) and the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) to assess plug-in electric vehicle (PEV) readiness at the community level throughout the state.

While this survey is geared toward California communities participating in the United States Department of Energy (US DOE) and California Energy Commission (CEC) community readiness grant programs, all regional/local government leaders in California are encouraged to respond. Your response to this survey will help California stakeholders better support local planning and ensure a strong, enduring transition to a PEV market, one that will help California meet its economic, energy and environmental goals.

Each community throughout California may be embarking on various activities to support the emerging PEV market. This survey will help clarify the range of existing efforts between communities. The survey may be used a second time at a later point to determine progress in communities across the state. The facilitators greatly appreciate your help in this effort!

PEV Readiness Elements Covered in this Survey – Different city/county representatives may complete various portions of the survey. You will skip sections of the survey that do not apply to your work.

1. Streamline Construction Permitting and Inspection Process

2. Implement Training and Education Programs

3. Update Building Codes

4. Update Zoning and Parking Rules

5. Create and Implement a Plan for Effective Marketing, Outreach

6. Public charging station site selection

7. Encourage local employers to provide workplace charging

8. Addressing multi-unit dwellings

9. Purchase PEVs for local government fleets

10. Create new incentives and expanded outreach efforts

11. Encourage renewable energy

As a participant in this survey, combined survey responses may be shared with the US DOE and CEC as part of the final grant report. For more information or questions regarding this survey, please contact the following regional leads:

Patricia Kwon, SCAQMD, pkwon@aqmd.gov

Joshua Cunningham, PEVC, jcunningham@pevcollaborative.org

Karen Schkolnick, BAAQMD, kschkolnick@baaqmd.gov

David Almeida, CCSE, david.almeida@energycenter.org

Raef Porter, SACOG, rporter@sacog.org

Melissa Guise, C5, mguise@co.slo.ca.us

Colette Kincaid, SJVAPCD, colette.kincaid@valleyair.org

If you are interested in learning more about the California PEV Readiness Program funded by the DOE Clean Cities please click here

If you are interested in learning more about the Regional Plans to Support PEV Readiness Program funded by the California Energy Commission please click here

Report a problem

T