Screen Reader Mode Icon
This award is sponsored by the Association of Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts and its foundation.
This scholarship has been established by the Association of Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts (AISWCD) to assist outstanding agriculture students in the completion of their education at any Illinois state college (University of Illinois, Eastern, Western, Southern and Illinois State). The student awarded the scholarship should demonstrate superior agriculture academic achievement, commitment to soil and water conservation and potential for innovation and/or leadership ability. The AISWCD Scholarship is awarded at the Annual Meeting & Summer Conference for the fall semester of the academic year
In the early 1960s no-till agriculture was not widely supported among farmers and agriculture specialists in the United States. George Elvert McKibben, however, made no-till the accepted farming technique that it is today. For thirty-seven years George McKibben was an agronomist for the University of Illinois. This work has been called the single most important contribution to corn production since the development and adaptation of hybrid seed corn.

In 1966 McKibben planted plots on which to conduct these experiments at Dixon Springs, Illinois. The plots are now named after George McKibben and are the oldest of their kind not only in Illinois, but also in the world. McKibben was recognized and given many awards during his lifetime. The best recognition he received was the fact that by 1985 more than 1M acres of farmland in Illinois were using no-till as a way of farming. McKibben died February 1, 1988, but the contributions that he made to no-till continue to be beneficial to this state as well as to the nation. He was a man dedicated to what seemed to many an impossible cause. However, McKibben believed in no-till and proved to the state, as well as the nation, that is was a success. This scholarship is made possible by the funds his family has donated
0 of 9 answered