Scholarship Information

The HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) Minnesota Chapter annually awards scholarships to graduate students studying in the healthcare information or management systems field. The Nursing Informatics Standing Committee of HIMSS (Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society) Minnesota Chapter is offering a scholarship to students who focus their education and career on nursing informatics.

The goal of the scholarship is to reward future healthcare professionals investing their careers in the development of innovative system design, evaluation or implementation to improve the healthcare delivery system.

Scholarships are awarded for academic excellence and the potential for future leadership in the healthcare information and management systems industry. Review criteria include as a core foundation: scholastic achievement and demonstration of leadership potential, including communication skills and participation in HIMSS activities.

The scholarships are awarded to the students deemed most deserving as determined by the HIMSS Minnesota Chapter board.

- Membership in HIMSS is not required in order to apply for the scholarship. However, if you are not a member, and you are awarded a scholarship the HIMSS Minnesota Chapter will provide a complimentary one-year local student membership for the HIMSS Minnesota.

- Applicants are expected to have a Bachelor’s degree in nursing and enrolled in a graduate certificate, masters, or doctoral program with an emphasis in nursing informatics.

- The candidates must either be a Minnesota resident or a resident of a bordering state (Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, or South Dakota) and enrolled in a Minnesota higher education institution.

- Previous Minnesota Chapter scholarship winners are ineligible.

- Participating students must declare any affiliation, outside support, or conflict of interest in completing the contest.

Completed applications must be submitted no later than April 1, 2018. Winners will be notified no later than May 1, 2018.