About the Coalition

This Charter is entered into among the Members of the Central Florida Disaster Medical Coalition (CFDMC or the Coalition).

The CFMDC mission is to develop and promote healthcare emergency preparedness and response capabilities in the East Central Florida Domestic Security Task Force Region 5 (RDSTF Region 5), including the following nine counties: Brevard, Indian River, Lake, Martin, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, St. Lucie, and Volusia Counties. The CFDMC will facilitate healthcare and other partners in working together collaboratively to build, strengthen and sustain a healthcare preparedness and response system within Central Florida and to assist Emergency Management and ESF8 (Health and Medical) with preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation activities related to healthcare disaster operations.

The major goals of the CFDMC are:
1) facilitate information sharing among participating CFDMC Members and with jurisdictional authorities to promote common situational awareness;
2) facilitate resource support by expediting the mutual aid process or other resource sharing arrangements among CFDMC Members and support the request and receipt of assistance from local, State, and Federal authorities;
3) facilitate the interface between the CFDMC and appropriate jurisdictional authorities to establish effective support for healthcare system resiliency and medical surge; and
4) build and/or strengthen local health capacity and capabilities in the event of an emergency or disaster.

The CFDMC Membership shall be comprised of individuals and organizations that represent the health care and emergency preparedness disciplines in all communities in the nine counties included within the boundaries of the CFDMC. Membership will be representative of both the geographic diversity of Central Florida, and representative of the diverse health care and other essential partners.