Application Details and Instructions

Thank you for your interest in applying for the 2023 AACVPR L. Kent Smith Award of Excellence. The L. Kent Smith Award of Excellence is AACVPR’s most prestigious award and is given in recognition of outstanding contribution by an individual to the fields of cardiac and/or pulmonary rehabilitation. 

Note: if one discipline (cardiology or pulmonary) receives the award in two consecutive years, a focused effort to identify an awardee in the other discipline will be enacted.

Applications Must Be Submitted By Friday, March 10, 2023.

To be considered, applicant must fill out ALL fields. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed.

  • A nominee should have made significant and unique professional contribution(s), which have had a major impact on cardiac and/or pulmonary rehabilitation.
  • A nominee could be recognized for expertise in the areas of clinical practice, research, or professional education, or a combination of these.
  • Nominee(s) would have earned a national prominence in his/her field as a result of contributions made over many years.
  • A nominee should be a senior level professional in the field of cardiac and/or pulmonary rehabilitation.
  • A nominee may or may not be a current member of AACVPR.
  • The nominee's current curriculum vitae