The Association for Play Therapy (APT) acknowledges outstanding organizational service to APT, its Foundation for Play Therapy, and/or its Chartered Branches that significantly develops, promotes, or advances the value of play, play therapy, and credentialed play therapists by an emerging leader.

The Emerging Leader Service Award is presented to a Nominee who:
  1. Is an APT Professional member in good standing.
  2. Has been fully licensed for 10 years or less from the date of this award nomination.
  3. Abided by the code of ethics, standards of practice, and all other legal standards or requirements promulgated by those authorities from which Nominee has been granted a license.
  4. Rendered outstanding voluntary service to APT, its Foundation for Play Therapy, and/or its Chartered Branches for which s/he received no financial or in-kind compensation during the most recent 36-month, January – December period (see assigned point values on Nomination Form).
  5. Is nominated by three or more APT Professional members in good standing.
  6. May not be awarded to any individual more than once.
The award recipient is honored during the next Annual Conference and is granted:

  1. One complementary 12-month APT Professional membership.
  2. Complementary registration to the APT Leadership Academy.
  3. Complementary registration to the APT Annual Conference.
Selection Process
  1. Nominator and at least two additional Endorsers, all of whom must be APT Professional members in good standing and have personal knowledge of the service of the Nominee, must include their contact information and be prepared to resolve any discrepancies. Nominator is required to attest on behalf of themselves as well as any identified endorsers by dating the attestation below. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  2. Nominator must post all of the Nominee’s service for which points are requested on the Nominations Form. APT will assign points for Service. Nominator must submit completed Nomination Form to APT by March 15.
  3. If Nominee is selected, Nominee and Nominator will be advised by April 19. If not selected, only Nominator will be advised.
  4. Although an annual award, it is presented to only one individual a year but is not presented if not merited.
Previous Recipients
2017 Renee Turner; 2018 Julie Nash; 2019 Rachel Altvater
Page1 / 8