Public Review

Proposed Extended Core Science with Engineering Education (Extended Core SEEd) Standards
Thank you for your interest in the Extended Core SEEd Standards for students with significant cognitive disabilities. The current Extended Core Science Standards have been reviewed by USBE staff and were found to not align with the new Core SEEd standards for grades 6-8.
A workgroup has written a draft of new standards under the direction of the Utah State Board of Education. The workgroup consisted of local experts including curriculum experts, special educators, general educators, and university educators.
The draft of the Extended Core SEEd Standards are available for public review for 45 days ending on January 30, 2018. Please complete the following survey to have your voice heard.
The full text of the standards with the exception of the introduction is included in the survey. If you would like to read the full text of the standards before taking the survey please visit the USBE Special Education webpage

Three Dimensions of Science
Science education includes three dimensions of science understanding: science and engineering practices, crosscutting concepts, and disciplinary core ideas. Every standard includes each of the three dimensions;
Scientific and Engineering Practices (bolded)
  • Asking questions or defining problems
  • Developing and using models
  • Planning and carrying out investigations
  • Analyzing and interpreting data
  • Using mathematics and computational thinking
  • Constructing explanations and designing solutions
  • Engaging in argument from evidence
  • Obtaining, evaluating, and communicating information

Crosscutting Concepts (underlined)
  • Patterns
  • Cause and effect: mechanism and explanation
  • Scale, proportion, and quantity
  • Systems and system models
  • Energy and matter: flows, cycles, and conservation
  • Structure and function
  • Stability and change

Disciplinary Core Ideas (Normal font)
  • Earth and Space Science
  • Life Science
  • Physical Science
  • Engineering
Standards with specific engineering expectations are italicized.

Access Points for the Extended Core SEEd Standards
Every alternate achievement standard in the Extended Core SEEd standards is comprised of various levels for instruction and assessment called Access Points: proficient, developing, approaching, and emerging. These access points are helpful to guide to instruction as they outline the different knowledge, skills, and understandings that students need to master in order to be proficient in the Extended Core SEEd standards.
The proficient level is the desired access point for instruction and assessment but some students who have not yet reached the proficient access point may instead be instructed or assessed at other various access points. Those access points are:
  • Proficient- Most closely aligned with the knowledge, skills, and understanding described by the Extended Core SEEd Standard.
  • Developing- Knowledge, skills, and understanding that are the final skills necessary to acquire before entering the proficient level.
  • Approaching- Knowledge, skills, and understanding that move the student beyond the emerging access point toward the proficient level.
  • Emerging- Entrance point to the standard, the most basic knowledge, skills, and understanding necessary to access the given standard.